He Called A Woman 'Chhammak Challo', Was Scolded, Fined By Court

thesolar65

Thane: Calling a woman 'chhammak challo' is illegal, says a court in Maharashtra. A Thane court noted that its use amounts to "insulting a woman's modesty". A magistrate last week sentenced a Thane resident to simple imprisonment "till the court rises" for using the expression for a woman and imposed a fine of Re 1 on him.

According to the woman's complaint, on January 9, 2009, while returning from a morning walk with her husband, she stumbled on a garbage bin which the accused had kept on the staircase. The accused got furious and shouted at the couple, and, among other things, called the woman "chhammak chhallo".

The Hindi expression can be roughly described as "a hot sexy girl who is on the flashy side", according to Samosapedia, a language and culture website. In 2011, it was made popular by a song from a Hindi superhero film Ra.One that saw Shah Rukh Khan and Kareena Kapoor Khan in the lead.

As the woman found it offensive, she went to the police, but the cops refused to register a complaint. So she approached the court. Eight years later, magistrate RT Ingale upheld her case, saying that the accused had indeed committed an offence and charged him under section 509 of IPC (word, gesture or act intended to insult the modesty of a woman).

"It is a Hindi word. There is no word for it in English. The said word is to be understood in the Indian society by its use. Generally, this word is used to insult a woman. It is not a word for appreciating... it causes irritation and anger to any woman," the magistrate said in his order.

http://www.ndtv.com/india-news/call...llo-insulting-causes-irritation-court-1745754

You wanna be my chhamakk Chhalloo..ooo..oo' :D reminded me of this song immediately

I dont know how these courts behave or these girls for that matter. They have become too sensitive. First they want to flaunt their beauty and when someone passes a comment they cannot tolerate it. Also if these are so offensive then courts should take a suo-motto case onto the film industry as well. Why are they making songs (which are played at hte every nook of the city) using these filthy language. There is a big gap between the social connects of judges sitting in the courts and in the film industry.

These girls? Returning from a morning walk with her husband in tow, and she's flaunting her beauty?

This comment smacks of the typical rapists' defence,"She was asking to be raped, the clothes she was wearing!" I thought any sensitive, informed human being would be beyond these stereotyped attitudes.

Please look at Blank Noise.

Edited just because you felt it offensive which I never meant to. and never called you a name. but you missunderstood.
Not disagreed just advising you to chill nothing much.
Hindi main bolay tau bhai ignore maar itna kiya sochta hai ... Maja ker bus .

These girls? Returning from a morning walk with her husband in tow, and she's flaunting her beauty?

This comment smacks of the typical rapists' defence,"She was asking to be raped, the clothes she was wearing!" I thought any sensitive, informed human being would be beyond these stereotyped attitudes.

[Off topic]

Good to see you lurking around, @SoulSpokesman.

I am commenting not on this particular incident. But over all general perception which are being formed in the society. I never said anything to show that this guy should not be punished or I am not defending any action of his. But I am saying from the perspective that if these words are so bad then these should not be allowed to be used in the songs as songs are sung by kids too. Most of the people don't understand the literal meanings of these words but just utter them because they are in the songs.
Does not the censor responsible to pass the films not only from the pictorial content but also the script and dialogue? If this is passed by the censor without any A certificate it means it is passed for general viewing and does not contain any content which cannot be uttered or repeated in the society.
Why there is so much of disconnect between the film industry, censor boards, courts, general public?

Unibiased,

Most people are intelligent enuff to realise that Bollywood movies are not real life.

Regards

Bro learn to handle the female.
Instead of being a (#{}^ ka chowkidar put some effort!
And enjoy the Meowwww!!!
You see what I mean pu$$. :devil:

You may not agree with my comment but you have no right to comment on me or name calling me?
Reporting for violating the terms and condition of the forum by attacking the member

Quoting the terms and conditions

You agree to not use the Service to submit or link to any Content which is defamatory, abusive, hateful, threatening, spam or spam-like, likely to offend, contains adult or objectionable content, contains personal information of others, risks copyright infringement, encourages unlawful activity, or otherwise violates any laws.

I am commenting not on this particular incident. But over all general perception which are being formed in the society. I never said anything to show that this guy should not be punished or I am not defending any action of his. But I am saying from the perspective that if these words are so bad then these should not be allowed to be used in the songs as songs are sung by kids too. Most of the people don't understand the literal meanings of these words but just utter them because they are in the songs.
Does not the censor responsible to pass the films not only from the pictorial content but also the script and dialogue? If this is passed by the censor without any A certificate it means it is passed for general viewing and does not contain any content which cannot be uttered or repeated in the society.
Why there is so much of disconnect between the film industry, censor boards, courts, general public?

On this allied aspect, I happen to share your views. The vulgarity and lewdness in our films, particularly Telugu and Tamil films, is completely out of control. And I agree that the Indian film industry, Bollywood included, has a long and utterly dishonorable tradition of promoting the harassment of women, to the point where the only legitimate courtship is shown to be the active hounding of single women in public by groups of obnoxious young men - young hooligans, yahoos, actually. How audiences, and especially the women sit through the dances, which are largely choreographed pelvic thrusts in all directions, is a bit difficult to understand.

I remain disturbed at male attitudes that claim to see women's clothing as provocative. Let us agree to agree on your point about the baleful influence of the film industry, and the impotence of the censors.

You may not agree with my comment but you have no right to comment on me or name calling me?
Reporting for violating the terms and condition of the forum by attacking the member

Quoting the terms and conditions

You agree to not use the Service to submit or link to any Content which is defamatory, abusive, hateful, threatening, spam or spam-like, likely to offend, contains adult or objectionable content, contains personal information of others, risks copyright infringement, encourages unlawful activity, or otherwise violates any laws.
Ohhh please accept my apology.
I didn't called you a name my friend and never meant to.
First of all I am absolutely agreed with what you have written but added some chill advice which may has taken a wrong meaning to you.

What ever I wrote there simply means nothing but chill out man.

and that pu$$ means to go take it not calling you one ... Kiya yaar samjho tau na mian ...

Unibiased,

Most people are intelligent enuff to realise that Bollywood movies are not real life.

Regards
Most people dont utter these words to comment on walking women with their husbands. Only few who dont understand speak these without thinking. Nirbaya happened because these guys were watching the movies with foul language used for women.

There used to be a dance show "Syed Jafree and his brothers" I forgot the name of that show..Been very popular and used to come on Sony. They had a season for kids aged between 4-8 years. This little girl aged 4 years danced on the song..."Saki Saki...o saki saki.." When one of the judge asked her did she know hte meanings of these words, she said no...when the judge asked her mother, she also denied. and when the judge told them the meaning her mother was shocked. and then the judge said, this should not be the song used for the kids.
So my point is these words become more prominent and enter in daily usage of our communication when are promoted by films specially in famous dialogues or songs. So the understanding of the influence of words used in the films should also be taken into the account by censor boards when giving certificates or passing anything. Because films have great influence onto the society and on the culture of that society.

Edited just because you felt it offensive which I never meant to. and never called you a name. but you missunderstood.
Not disagreed just advising you to chill nothing much.
Hindi main bolay tau bhai ignore maar itna kiya sochta hai ... Maja ker bus .

"Ja..maaf kiya..Tu bhi kya yaad rakhenga"....

Kaunsi movie ka dialogue tha yeh? :-?

Nirbaya happened because these guys were watching the movies with foul language used for women.

Gangrapes and murders have happened from time immemorial, lets not blame Bollywood (or any other random wood) for all of these.

Regards

"Ja..maaf kiya..Tu bhi kya yaad rakhenga"....

Kaunsi movie ka dialogue tha yeh? :-?

Es dialogue ka tau nahin maloom muger aik majay ki baat batata hoon. Luck movie daikhna ous main dialogue hai ... "Naseeb kharab ho tau aadmi ount per baithay tau wahan bhi kutta kaat laita hai" ... Yeh maira dialogue hai jo FB per mara tha aik Indian friend ko aur phir hindi film main suna :taz::woot: