Gormint Aunty's life has taken a sad turn after she became a viral sensation

Chhatrapati

The Gormint Aunty'
The extent of her virality coined a new term 'Gormint'. People got new profile pictures and merchandises were getting sold at a crazy rate when an iconic parallel was drawn between her and Che Guevara.
But who is she?
Her real name is Qamar and she lives in the locality of Martin Quarters, Karachi. As per a report by Samaa TV, this area has been subjected to frequent power cuts due to load-shedding. This agitated the Gormint Aunty a lot and the entire incident happened when a private TV channel asked her thoughts on the frequent load-shedding.

People went all out in making jokes on her. Probably, the first person who went insanely viral in other countries before her own. The craze continued for long and now, Gormint Aunty has her own version of Despacito as well.

Samaa TV's reporter Shahla Mahmood got in touch with her son who talked about the repercussions of the entire 'Yeh bik gayi hai Gormint' saga. They are nothing but sad for the family. This is how her son described her.

My mother is very short-tempered. She hurls abuses whenever her blood pressure is high and she doesn’t even realise what she is saying. She uttered whatever came in her mind when the TV waale came in our area that day because she was extremely angry and her blood pressure was also high.

Her son then lamented over what this entire fiasco did to their family. He added,

Our extended family has socially boycotted us. Everyone makes fun of my mother. We have stopped attending family events because people, instead of enjoying the family functions, shift their focus on my mother. We have had many altercations with our relatives and neighbours over the issue. As a result, no one comes to our house anymore. Where can we go now? Society doesn’t let us breathe in peace. Even my father and brother become the target of jokes whenever they go out. My mother has become even more irritable after the incident.

In most cases, lives of internet celebs change for the good. But there are some who don't have the happiest of endings.

This raises an important point. Was it right for the reporter to post this 'inappropriate' footage online? All of us are guilty in some way or the other. Some for making jokes, some for sharing them. But that's the irony of the internet. An uncontrollable freedom of speech!

people will keep using her video no mater what.:(

This raises an important point. Was it right for the reporter to post this 'inappropriate' footage online? All of us are guilty in some way or the other. Some for making jokes, some for sharing them. But that's the irony of the internet. An uncontrollable freedom of speech!

Ethically a reporter is bound not to post any footage on social media sites if it is not aired by his concerned media house.

I think she is not well?

She was pretty healthy in the abusive video.

Then later (many months later) some people tracked her down. Seen those stills. Really looking frail.

Sad.

Cheers, Doc

This is a BS report, to warn others not to say anything against politicians.
No it is not. I can clearly visualize what they might be forced to face. This is how the society in lower middle class is. Every tom dick and harry must have become a moral teacher for the poor lady and the whole family would have lost whatever social standing they carried through their already tough lives

There was an old celebrity who used to do a program on Television where she gave desi solutions to various common problems from hair loss to cleaning the kitchen sink and increasing appetite in children etc. You might have heard 'Zubaida Aapa''s name (if not in real, you must have came across a few jokes). People made so many jokes that one day on TV she begged the masses to stop doing this. She almost broke into tears begging.

We exercise our right/freedom of speech so much that we forget that every human has a basic right of being respected as well. Without responsible behavior there can be no exercise of rights that will not end up hurting one person or the other

Feeling really sad for the family

Social villification and boycott are the worst things that can be done to another human being. Since the function of meanness is discharged by the group, individuals feel diffused responsibility and even moral certainty in doing such a villainous thing.

Wish they may get some from what others has get after showing her video over the internet.

Baqi humari society main sub munfiq hain bhen(#**& ... Aunti nay khul ker keh dia baqi saray ghar main baith ker kehtay hain kiya bari baat hai.