God, I miss Pakistan

You're right, but there are plenty of Pakistanis that manage to use electrical generators to solve the power outages, as well as many other things. There are plenty of people that live comfortably in Pakistan. For me personally, I am tired of living comfortably. I'd rather 'feel alive' than live comfortably. I feel it is a time for me to make differences in other people's lives, learn how to survive the scorching heat, trying to help people less fortunate than me. That is what gives true happiness to me. I'm sorry, I don't want to sound like a pretentious fool, but that's what I feel right now.

Yea generaters are very cheap now in Pakistan,you can buy a good generater in around 30000PKR, & fuel doesn't matters you can buy a gas generater. I have observe nearly every second house have a generater or UPS in Pakistan(Karachi).

Then what you are waiting for? Come back. I am sure it will not be that disappointing.

I also grew up in 90's. So i could understand what you mean. It was exactly this reason that i love my childhood more than anytime. Sometimes i wish it could come back and i could become the same care free girl who loves to bicycle around President house. Imagine there was no red zone back then. So carefree we people were. Now you can't even think of going near that area.

We Pakistanis miss that peace more than anything. We were poor but happy. Now that happiness and pride is gone because of what happened in the last decade. That's why i don't give up and neither my faith in my country ever wavered.So like you i miss that Pakistan.

I hope that by the time you come back we could have the same Pakistan again. Cheers!

I've been applying for jobs in Karachi for almost a year, & will most probably visit Karachi in December to talk to potential employers. I am very much in touch with the realities of Pakistan, but I still can't wait to get back. It's just that being far away from Pakistan each & every day is really hard for me.

Btw, why are you living in US? for job / business or bcaz of parents?

I had the opportunity to move to UK as well as Canada, but didn't go. For UK, my mom just asked me, "will you be able to attend my burial? (she was cancer patient and died bcaz of that). I decided not to go. Thereafter i had also the chance for canada. My wife is strictly against living abroad. Now I feel that I made a better decision for not going abroad. I lived with my parents especially in their last days when they were really in need of my company. Here in Pakistan, while roaming on the roads, I have a feeling that I am in MY country, and that feeling cant be substitute of anything.

"Ghar ki khatir 100 dukh jhelay, ghar to aakhir Apna hai"

I love America & the stable life here, I did my schooling here (Middle school, High school, college & grad school), & I've worked for almost 3 years now. While I admire & appreciate the stable life here, I just miss Pakistan. I've been applying for jobs in Karachi all year, & I'm hoping to hear back from them soon. My mom & dad are older now, & they don't want to live permanently in America either. We have a small house in Islamabad still that we've gotten rented out for all these years, so it's not like I wouldn't have a place to stay there either. So I'm hoping everything works out for the best. I'm very excited just thinking about the prospect of working in Pakistan.

I've been applying for jobs in Karachi for almost a year, & will most probably visit Karachi in December to talk to potential employers. I am very much in touch with the realities of Pakistan, but I still can't wait to get back. It's just that being far away from Pakistan each & every day is really hard for me.

i have seen many ppl saying same that they miss their nation & want to go back but they never do. the percentage of those ppl who actually do it is just 1% that too drops when some of them run back. hope ur are not one of those & will settle down in Pakistan.

Iss say tou behtar hai k aap US mein 4-5 saal job kar kay pesay ikhattay karein aur phir Pakistan jaen, aap ka experiance alag hojaiga aur phir un peson say aap Pakistan mein apna alag buisness ya industry khol saktay hain. I don't know what is your field but suppose if you got a software engeneering job in US, you can open your own software house/company in Pakistan, it will be like investment in Pakistan, plus instead of looking for jobs(which are'nt enough for locals there)you could offer jobs for many guys there.

Just my 2cents.

P.S If you don't like my post please inform me, so i will delete.

BTW i love loadshedding,:woot: lol. That was the time when we can hangout with friends.;)

I've worked almost 3 years here in industry right now. I am in manufacturing engineering: foods & beverages, as well as other products. Maybe I'll get to work in Shaan Masalas someday :yahoo:

Mujhe loadshedding aur power outages se koi masla nahi he, mein koshish kar raha hoon keh mujhe naukri Pakistan mein mil jae. Koshish jaari hai, dua kijye keh sab kuch theek rahe... mujhe idher naukri karte hue do saal se upar ho gae hein, kaam mein idhar maza nahi aa raha...

i used to think the same way,2 din guzaray tou saray jazbaat nikal gaye thay,Best of luck and try not to mess with Rangers and Police.

Pakistan is a great place to live if you can tolerate the lack of basic public utilities. I don't think I could survive 15 hours/day without electricity or running water.

I also eventually realize why I left Pakistan in the first place -- it is no place for people without 'connections'.

You need a lot of connections here in America as well. If you don't, it's very hard for you to get anywhere in life. This country has gone down the barrel over the years.

Lucky were those such as our Parents, Aunts and Uncles who lived life during the greatest era of Pakistan's history. This new generation including me and you have to sacrifice a lot unfortunately, and all that to get a taste of what Life and fun added together are like.

Bilal, when I heard of coming to the U.S, I was the happiest kid on earth. Now that I think about it, I feel as If I have wasted all the years I have spent in America. I just want to sit next to my grandma and grandpa, listen to their stories, drink chai, go to the "dukaaan" (or those small convenient stores along the streets), and buy myself imli and those Pepsi candies, play cricket with my friends. Even the smallest, most careless experiences I had in Pakistan, values the most to me now that I think about it. Pakistani life is the best experience I have ever had in my life, and I don't care if its the most dangerous our deadliest country in the world, I will always love my country my Pakistan. It hurts a lot when I see its biggest institutions, who are suppose to represent Pakistan, do the very least for Pakistan.

May the new generation help Pakistan. and yes, God, I miss Pakistan too.

While looking at thread title, i thought it is about 'Miss Pakistan' :P
I read it as 'Good 1, miss pakistan'.

I don't have a problem with him missing all that. I have a problem with this though.

Why doesnt he leave US right now and head to pakistan then? Is he a US or Pakistan citizen? His parents obviously left Pakistan to give him a better life. He ought to appreciate that rather than moaning about it on an online forum.

Well, I've become a naturalized citizen here now, but I am a Pakistani citizen as well, as I didn't have to surrender my passport here. I'm a dual citizen. My parents are moving back to Pakistan as well, because they are getting old, & life in Pakistan is better for them than the life here is. No one is moaning about anything here, if you don't like what I said, don't moan about it on this thread.

Bro Bilal, man up! Don't get too emotional, since you're based in the U.S take advantage of the world class educational resources you have available at your doorstep. Pakistan is not a great place to live in unless you originate from Lahore, Karachi or Islamabad as every other city has poor healthcare and poor educational facilities. After WOT, Pakistan need's to concentrate heavily on education and it should be our top priority after security! I know you love Pakistan but get an education in an important field and experience in that field so that you can take your vast experience to Pakistan in order too help the nation you love!

I have an undergrad & masters from here, & worked 3 years in industry here. But I understand what you mean though.

Pakistanis living comfortably in a white man's country and moaning about missing Pakistan :rofl:

It's one thing to just say you miss Pakistan but saying America has truly sucked the life out of you?

Get a life. You after 14 years can still consider the times in Pakistan to be the best in your life, it just means you have failed miserably at integrating yourself with American society. If you really love your Pakistan, stop moaning and leave US immediately. Bet you have some excuses for not doing that.

You have no idea the amount of people who would die to be in your shoes living comfortably in US. Appreciate that first.

PS : Sorry if i come across as rude, but I can't stand people who leeched on another country while moaning and whining about missing their original country. We have a lot of Indians and Chinese who do that too in my country :angry:

Before I moved to the US when I was 14, I lived in Nigeria when I was 10. I lived there for 4 years. Life in a third world country is much more liberating & meaningful than a first world country, as opposed to a first world country where life is very 'mechanical'. You also have a much more rewarding life, making differences in people's lives than being a corporate sell-out.

Bilal, there is a big difference between the Pakistan of the 90's and the Pakistan we have today, things were just calm back then and there was this optimism that things will work out. Much like you and many others here, I have had the best and I mean the best time of my life while I lived in Pakistan during the 90's. Those days were just so great, the way things were, the way Pakistan was and how everything from playing with your friends outside to all the things we had to discuss on a daily basis.

Though I am not as fortunate as my parents and others who saw great times in Pakistan earlier, I and you only got to enjoy the 90's where things were progressively getting worse but the core values of the nation was as good as ever. The freedom to go anywhere, no fear of kidnapping, gun attacks or any bomb blasts. There used to be a lot of events and meeting where people used to come together for socializing. Our Ramazans were just so much fun, the way we used to run around the area being mischievous all day beats any day now.

Unfortunately much of what made Pakistan so much fun back then isn't there anymore. I was just walking around with my friend on a saturday night and he commented that ever since I went away, things have just changed a lot. Saturday nights used to be lively, people stayed up till late and there was a lot socializing, it just does not happen anymore. Add to that our social woes and the deepening crisis, its very painful to see everything you liked, you enjoyed, not exist anymore.

I hail from an extended family where everyone was in the military or civilian service of the nation. I would have liked to follow in their footsteps but the way things are and the how they suffered made me think otherwise.

I feel I can do better for the country by helping others than being part of any institution that is hurting Pakistan. There is hope that things will get better and I hope they do, but as of now, things aren't good.

I miss a Pakistan that does not necessarily exist anymore, which is very unfortunate, but it will always remain alive in me.

I do pray that things go back to being the way they were but I know that there isn't a magic wand which can do the trick.

P.S. Things used to be a lot more fun in the west too before all this nonsense extremism/terrorism/wot garbage started.