Girl allegedly killed by PTI district president's nephew in Kohat over marriage refusal

See what her sister told

KP police was aware of life threats to Asma, says sister

By
Murtaza Ali Shah
Wadood Mushtaq

Tuesday Jan 30, 2018

LONDON: Safia Rani, the sister of murdered Kohat medical student, has claimed that Asma Rani's murder was pre-planned and that the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) police was aware of life threats to her.

In an interview with Geo News in London, Safia claimed that both the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) police and Pakistan Tehreek-eInsaf (PTI) Kohat chapter president Aftab Alam knew about life threats to Asma Rani, but did nothing to stop Mujahid Afridi from killing her.

During the interview, she shared details of the terror her family has had to face over a long period of time at the hands of Mujahid Afridi, nephew of PTI Kohat district president Aftab Alam.

Asma Rani, a third-year medical student, was shot on Saturday afternoon in Kohat, 120 miles west of the capital Islamabad.

Footage showed Asma Rani in hospital shortly before her death, naming Mujahid Afridi as her killer.

The victim's family claims Mujahid Afridi comes from an influential family and used his clout to openly threaten Asma for turning down a marriage proposal.

Kohat medical student shot dead after rejecting marriage proposal

Safia said her sister faced a constant campaign of harassment and threats from Mujahid Afridi, but no one came to their rescue despite the fact that she, her sister, and her family spoke to Aftab Alam, begging for help at least three times.

“Mujahid Afridi came to our house and issued threats to me, my family and my sister. We informed the police about these threats but no action was taken because he belongs to a rich family and we are a poor family. I have heard that policemen have been talking how rich Mujahid Afridi is,” said Safia, adding that the “Tabdeeli” slogan by the PTI is just a slogan and KP police takes action only against poor people who have no clout and resources.

She said the KP police could have arrested Mujahid Afridi if they had wished, but they chose not to.

Safia said that, on the death bed, her sister named Mujahid Afridi as the killer.

“I asked Asma to speak to Aftab Alam and tell him what his nephew was doing. She told who her killer was and she never recovered after that. Aftab Alam should have asked the hospital staff if she spoke after that or not.

“The police had 6 hours to act before Afridi took flight to Saudi. The name of the killer was known but no action was taken,” said the sister of the murdered girl.

Safia claimed her sister called Aftab Alam and cried for help against his nephew, but nothing was done.

“Asma told me that Mujahid Afridi harassed her, chased and terrorised. She told Aftab Alam she faced death threats from his nephew, told him she didn’t want to marry him. I got number of Mujahid Afridi and family, and from London I called them and requested them to stop harassing my sister. Instead, they threatened that they will harm me in London. He told me not to interfere.

“My sister told Aftab Alam that his nephew will kill her but he didn’t move,” she said. “Asma told how she was going to Abbotabad one day, when Mujahid Afridi made attempt on her on the way and snatched her purse. We told Aftab Alam but we didn’t get a response. My mum even spoke to a police officer. We didn’t know she will be killed. We could never think that Asma will be killed in the cruellest manner in front of our family home.”

Kohat police arrest accomplice in Asma Rani murder case

Safia said her sister didn’t want to get married because she aspired to be a medical specialist. “She wanted to fulfil her dreams of becoming a doctor, she had big plans; she dreamt for us too and wanted to come to UK for specialisation after getting medical degree. She didn’t want to get married.”

She said Asma’s murder was pre-planned and Mujahid Afridi had support and planning and that’s the reason why he already had visa for Saudi Arabia.

Safia said: “We voted for Imran Khan because we thought he’s our Pashtun brother and he will do something for us but he has done nothing for us. Look at what happened to Naqeeb and then to my sister. If these leaders can’t give us justice, they shouldn’t ask for our votes.”

She appealed to the chief justice of Pakistan, army chief and Imran Khan to play their role in getting her family protection. She said Mujahid Afridi must be brought back from Saudi Arabia and her family in Kohat must be provided protection because Mujahid Afridi’s family is influential and powerful.

Mujahid’s brother Sadiqullah has been arrested by the police and Mujahid is believed to have travelled straight to Benazir Bhutto International Airport in Islamabad after committing the crime, boarding a flight to Saudi Arabia that evening.

A red notice has been issued by the Interpol for his arrest on the request of Pakistani police.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/tribune.com.pk/story/1622716/1-asma-murder-case-accused-threatened-victim-previously-reveals-sister/?amp=1

https://www.geo.tv/latest/179509-to...-received-no-help-murdered-kohat-girls-sister

Read this

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/20...s-made-after-mashal-khans-murder-says-father/

LONDON: Mashaal Khan’s father on Saturday said that the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) government in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) has failed to fulfil a single promise made to him after the brutal murder of his son.

He said this while delivering the annual Bacha Khan Lecture at the Brunei Gallery of the London University’s School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS). Nobel Prize winner Malala Yousufzai’s father, Ziauddin Yousufzai, was also present with him on the stage.

People get murdered even after injunctions by the courts. Police in UK makes a call at the one threatening and usually an injunctions is placed.

What fools like you do not realise that this murder was thoroughly planned with an escape. No police force, even in the Western world, could have stop it even with a court injunction in place.

Read post #58
I will believe in what sister of Asma and father of Mashal telling me. You being fan of Ik will give all sort of excuses and justification for their failure

So you don't believe that the Co-Accused has been arrested and there is a RED warrant issued for the arrest of Mujahid Afridi. And you also don't believe that the verdict is being announced on the 7th of Feb on Mashal Khan case?

Also what promises were made by PTI, there is no mention of these in your post?

@Long.Live.Pakistan

you shared the sister's video and said you would believe her over anything i say because i follow IK. Check this video of the brother

Now what do you have to say?

Bhai, zara tanda ho jao. Kyun ke ghussay ka koi faida ne. I agree with your points, but ye bhi socho. Apka maqsaad kya he? Logon se larna, ya logon ko ilm dena.

Sofia told Geo News that both the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) police and Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) Kohat chapter president Aftab Alam knew about the life threats being given to her sister by his nephew, but turned a blind eye to the matter.

“Mujahid Afridi came to our house and issued threats to me, my family and my sister. We informed the police about these threats but no action was taken because he belongs to a rich family and we are a poor family. I have heard that policemen have been talking how rich Mujahid Afridi is,” Sofia said, adding that the “Tabdeeli” slogan by the PTI is nothing but a slogan, and KP police take action only against poor people who have no clout and resources.

She stated that the KP police could have arrested the murderer if they had wanted to, however, they let him slip out of the country despite the fact that her sister had named Mujahid Afridi as the shooter.

“The police had 6 hours to act before Afridi took a flight to Saudi. The name of the killer was known but no action was taken,” lamented the sister of the murdered girl.

So the polices and PTI knew that, yet they chose not to take action against the culprit due to his influential background. The girl's life could have been easily averted but sadly, PTI and polices chose not to stand up to the influential people from PTI/ANP until they were put into pressure to deliver after Zainab case.

First, cover up on raped minor girl in Mardan from polices and now this.

CM KPK while addressing a press conference with IK yesterday said these are minor things and do happen. Its no big deal.

You are much older and wiser than me Khan saab. I just think that we Pakistanis should come together instead of becoming apart. Your thoughts would be appreciated. Maybe I am saying something wrong??

No you are absolutely correct, instead of showing them the truth, my intentions had changed to prove how right i am and my wrong they are, which defeats the purpose of having an educated discussion.

Asma murder case: KP police ‘pressurising’ victim’s sister to withdraw statement

LONDON: The family of Asma, an aspiring doctor who was shot dead in Kohat, has said that the Khyber Pakhtwnkha police is pressurising them to withdraw statement that the law enforcers were aware of the threats against her.

Safia Rani, the sister of the deceased MBBS student spoke to Geo News in London regarding the pressure being put on her by the KP police.

She had told the channel that Asma was facing death threats from the accused Mujahid Afridi – a nephew of PTI Kohat President Aftab Alam and that the police did nothing for their safety nor did it prevent the killer from fleeing abroad.

Safia added that more than a week has passed but the murderer was still free.

‘I have been approached by the provincial government several times during the past seven days pressuring me to not to comment on the police performance and withdraw the statement issued earlier, in this regard,’ she noted.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/178025-kp...made-after-mashal-khans-murder-laments-father

So called perfect police of KPK has not provided justice to father of Mashal Khan yet and i dont expect they will provide any justice to father of Asma. How did they let him escape after crime

Here you go, all your expectations have flopped

Mashal Khan case

Baby Asma Case

Read post #58
I will believe in what sister of Asma and father of Mashal telling me. You being fan of Ik will give all sort of excuses and justification for their failure

Failure huh?

Family seeks shifting of medical student murder case

PESHAWAR: The brother of medical student Asma Rani, who was killed in Kohat last month, on Monday requested Peshawar High Court that the ‘killers’ and their family members were influential, therefore, the bail petition of arrested suspects and the trial may be shifted to Peshawar from Kohat district.

A petition filed by Asma’s brother Mohammad Irfan in the high court stated that the suspects had committed brutal murder of his sister by firing at her on January 27.

The prime suspect in the case, Mujahidullah, had along with his brother Sadiqullah, allegedly opened fire at Asma as she had turned down his marriage proposal. Following the occurrence, the prime suspect fled to Saudi Arabia. Now Interpol has issued his red warrants placing him in the list of wanted persons.Asma had named Mujahidullah as her killer in her dying declaration. The petition is filed through senior advocate Ghulam Mohiuddin Malik and Mohammad Farooq Malik.

The petitioner states that his sister was a student of third year at a medical college in Abbottabad and on the day of occurrence she had come to Kohat on weekend.

He states that the suspects are permanent residents of Kohat and belong to influential political family as one of their close relative is the district president of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf, the ruling party in the province, whereas another one is an MNA.

The petitioner claims that several of the relatives of the suspects are practicing lawyers and the petitioner tried his level best to engage a counsel in Kohat but no one accepted his case.

“The accused party is holding field in the area, they are mighty, influential and possessing great strength in the local area,” the petitioner claims. He states that on each date of hearing they are hostile, come to the court with number of their supporters, putting petitioner and his relatives under pressure. He adds that they have been creating hostile atmosphere and life threat to the petitioner.

He states that it has become difficult for him and his family to pursue the bail petitions filed by the arrested suspect as well as the trial of the case, which would start later. Therefore, he requests the high court to transfer all the cases related to the murder of his sister to Peshawar from Kohat.

It is worth mentioning that after the occurrence, Kohat police arrested the co-accused, Sadiqullah, and also allegedly recovered a 30 bore pistol from his possession, which was used in the offence.

Subsequently, police arrested another suspect named Shahzeb, who had allegedly helped Mujahidullah in escaping to Saudi Arabia. Police claimed that on his pinpointing they recovered a motorcycle used in the offence from his house as well as the vehicle in which Mujahidullah had escaped.

Following the occurrence, police approached Interpol through FIA for issuing red warrants of Mujahidullah.

Published in Dawn, February 20th, 2018

https://www.dawn.com/news/1390577/family-seeks-shifting-of-medical-student-murder-case