Getting a new car in Uk?

https://www.gq-magazine.co.uk/article/average-uk-salary

Last year, the UK’s median earnings went up by 3.5 per cent, meaning that the average person took home about £569 per week, which works out at around £29,588 a year. Before you start either celebrating or consoling yourself, this data was taken by the Office For National Statistics and the figures,

Most of my friends are getting 110k per year.

I work in the NHS and probably in another 10-12 years I would cross the 100k mark but honestly I wouldn't stay in Uk for that long,your friends are really lucky that they're earning that much because in NHS only the very senior doctors earn more than 100k a year.

https://www.gq-magazine.co.uk/article/average-uk-salary

Last year, the UK’s median earnings went up by 3.5 per cent, meaning that the average person took home about £569 per week, which works out at around £29,588 a year. Before you start either celebrating or consoling yourself, this data was taken by the Office For National Statistics and the figures,

I work in the NHS and probably in another 10-12 years I would cross the 100k mark but honestly I wouldn't stay in Uk for that long,your friends are really lucky that they're earning that much because in NHS only the very senior doctors earn more than 100k a year.
Four of my friends are Doctors (two cousins) and they have been practising for the past 7-8 years and all of them have done specialisations. While others are senior engineers or CTOs in BAE, RR, etc..Rest are doing business and most them report incomes in excess of 110k per year

I'm a thoracic surgeon,already done specialization from Pakistan and got 8 years experience in Surgery, hardly seen any surgeon earning that much yet.Only those ones who do private surgeries but the risk of litigation is way too high so very few actually do that.

Most of my friends are getting 110k per year.

You have rich friends.

The average salary is £25,000 a year but is skewed by the large number of people on minimum wage. Most educated professionals with 5-10 years experience are making 35-45,000 a year. The better your qualifications the more you make.

MashaAllah. That makes sense.

Hello everyone,
I have been working in Uk for 3 years now and have been using a 2013 model Vauxhall corsa but now am thinking of upgrading my car,problem is I don't have the finances to outright buy a new car so what's the better option then.Shall I look for a slightly used car through PCP deals or shall I try to get a car lease?
Would really appreciate anyone's guidance on this.

Bhai ji, I would suggest getting another second hand car. On lease you can get a car for £200-300 a month, but at the end of the year you've spent £2500-3000. You'll spend that every year you have the car.

If you buy a reliable second hand car, you'll not spend more than £3000, maybe wear and tear every now and then.

@Verve mentioned German cars, those are lovely cars but not always reliable, especially at older age.

What sort of driving do you when you do drive? Is it all inner city or do you use it regularly on the motorway? If it is all inner city usually then avoid diesel cars, as DPF filters get clogged up easy if you don't rev them high regularly. Give us a bit more information about your budget and the types of journeys you regularly do and InshaAllah we can reccomend some decent options for you.

I'm a thoracic surgeon,already done specialization from Pakistan and got 8 years experience in Surgery, hardly seen any surgeon earning that much yet.Only those ones who do private surgeries but the risk of litigation is way too high so very few actually do that.
They all studied in UK & West... one is specialised in cardiac surgery, the other is endocrinologist. I think the salaries vary from hospital to hospital. Because they all have different salaries.

You have rich friends.

The average salary is £25,000 a year but is skewed by the large number of people on minimum wage. Most educated professionals with 5-10 years experience are making 35-45,000 a year. The better your qualifications the more you make.

I live in a town and work nearby so hardly drive more than 3-4 miles a day,exception is going to a different hospital which is 25 miles away once a week for work and that's about it.
Personally I would prefer a Toyota as I still use a 2005 model Corolla X in Pakistan and that has hardly given me trouble even though it has 300k km on it,I was looking for a Toyota in range for upto 5k but Corollas seem to be more expensive in Uk that's why thought of leasing a car as atleast that way I would free myself from MOT and maintenance hassle.

MashaAllah. That makes sense.

Bhai ji, I would suggest getting another second hand car. On lease you can get a car for £200-300 a month, but at the end of the year you've spent £2500-3000. You'll spend that every year you have the car.

If you buy a reliable second hand car, you'll not spend more than £3000, maybe wear and tear every now and then.

@Verve mentioned German cars, those are lovely cars but not always reliable, especially at older age.

What sort of driving do you when you do drive? Is it all inner city or do you use it regularly on the motorway? If it is all inner city usually then avoid diesel cars, as DPF filters get clogged up easy if you don't rev them high regularly. Give us a bit more information about your budget and the types of journeys you regularly do and InshaAllah we can reccomend some decent options for you.

I live in a town and work nearby so hardly drive more than 3-4 miles a day,exception is going to a different hospital which is 25 miles away once a week for work and that's about it.
Personally I would prefer a Toyota as I still use a 2005 model Corolla X in Pakistan and that has hardly given me trouble even though it has 300k km on it,I was looking for a Toyota in range for upto 5k but Corollas seem to be more expensive in Uk that's why thought of leasing a car as atleast that way I would free myself from MOT and maintenance hassle.

Median average income in UK is £23k!

£110k is in top 2-3%! Statement of saving £50k per annum doesn't apply to 97% earners in UK!
chalo yara, thori bargain kar lo GBP 40k per annum

Median average income in UK is £23k!

£110k is in top 2-3%! Statement of saving £50k per annum doesn't apply to 97% earners in UK!
Well, that's the median income of the whole population right? But what about professionals with 7-10 years of experience after university degrees?

Do you have family, or are you a single man? If a small car is ok then, 5 door Toyota Yaris is a good option, especially the 1.3 litre petrol. They're not particularly beautiful, but are economic, reliable and also the 1.3 petrol is not slow, so you can do your motorway journey comfortably.

chalo yara, thori bargain kar lo GBP 40k per annum

Well, that's the median income of the whole population right? But what about professionals with 7-10 years of experience after university degrees?

I would guess between 35-45,000. Depends on the Degree. If you are a Doctor you can be doing locum work earning £90,000 a year, i know people who are. I have a friend who is a civil engineer and makes £60,000 a year, he's not completed his chartership yet.

I just searched it and this
8. Medical Practitioners
Average Annual Salary: £78,386
https://www.careeraddict.com/top-10-highest-paid-jobs-in-the-uk

And this is the average for all medical practitioners including MBBS (general physicians) of all experience levels so definitely the specialists with higher degrees and 7-10 yrs of experience have higher incomes.
Furthermore, all Pakistanis are smart, they have invested their savings in different businesses so they all have additional incomes.

I just searched it and this
8. Medical Practitioners
Average Annual Salary: £78,386
https://www.careeraddict.com/top-10-highest-paid-jobs-in-the-uk

And this is the average for all medical practitioners including MBBS (general physicians) of all experience levels so definitely the specialists with higher degrees and 7-10 yrs of experience have higher incomes.
Furthermore, all Pakistanis are smart, they have invested their savings in different businesses so they all have additional incomes.

When I started my annual salary was just above 50k which was considered good enough for a new comer in the system and now it's in the middle 60's,highest earning doctors are mostly GP's in Uk who although are seriously dumb creatures but still they earn the most. At times of shortage they charge upto 150£ an hour for a locum shift while a surgeon whose more qualified gets £60 an hour.

Bro I've already got a 2013 model car which is 50k driven and worth £3.5k but I'm thinking of changing it as it has started giving trouble

The first step is to determine what sort of "trouble" and the costs to fix it properly compared to the cost of a new car, no matter bought or leased, old or new, as a proportion of the disposal income available for such a change.

But my model has so far been to gather money before buying anything.. so I don't take credit and it keeps my life simple.

I try my best too. I own everything outright, including two cars and my houses.
Sometimes you don't have options but to borrow.

You must be kidding bro,I have been working my *** off for 2 years and haven't even been able to save 25k and I hardly have a luxury lifestyle

I have to struggle to buy a good car or spend on something like house improvements etc Despite having over £8000 a month net income, I mean disposable income after taxes.
That's why I always say to the supporter of PMLN that in his life Nawaz best income was around £100,000 in a year.
How in such income the whole family, dependents of Nawaz, i.e. his wife (now Expired) Maryam and her children (dependent on Nawaz) can even afford regular first class travel to and Pakistan. While I have not visited Pakistan for over 8 years. Cannot afford it. Not to talk about LV hand bags and other designer goodies by Maryam and her late mother.

The Butts are making the Pakistanis fool. I am more richer (I wish) than Nawaz Sharif according to his tax record.
This is how ridiculous they had been with Pakistani nation.
Wake up guys, you are taken for a ride by the corrupt thugs.