dude its not your universities that are producing lame population, its your culture that produces youngster who have no confidence, they are discouraged to do anything by their parents. Everything you do in life increases your knowledge and confidence. How many times you hard parents saying to their kids, "Beta tum bus perho abhi kam ne kerna hum mer gye hain aur log kya kahain gye". You are suppose to agree to every bullshit your elders give you with "Ji han". Same situation when you go to school, you teacher shut you up everytime you open your mouth and worst even make fun of you in front of class if you say something they dont agree with. The only thing different in the western universities is that the teacher encourages student to have a different point of view, otherwise I studied the same Math and Physics in US as I did in Pakistan and just like in Pakistani university there were some exceptional teacher and some lame. The best ever Math teacher I ever had was in Pakistani college.
This.
My parents brought us here for better education. But when I tell them I want to do Ph.D., they aren't too happy considering it's going to take 8+ years to complete and rather have me do 5 years masters.
My parents are still progressive (I can still do Ph.D. If I wish to). But some parents will be, as you put, just so high school, or some arts degree that lands you no where. People who do 4 year degree in Canada also don't find jobs easily. Masters is a minimum. And you have to get a degree for which there is demand. I mean would you get a degree, example, in oil when oil prices are crashing and people are being laid off? Yes, it will be cheap to get degree, because people wouldn't want to study this field and hence there will be ample of space. Then when student is finished studying, he will come on ARY and say Nawaz govt hasn't given him a job despite him doing 4-8 years of degree.
The problem with pakistanis are, they're too backwards and all their problems are due to the govt, corruption, etc etc. I mean look at their workplaces. Here you get 1 hour break for lunch, but in Pakistan, it's lunch all day. Oh this client has come, time for tea or kabab. All day it's abut food. A bit off topic, but Pakistan outgoings are also "oh let's go to murree, let's go window shopping, let's go and eat." But not "let's go hiking, let's go skiing, surfing, body building" etc etc.
We can't progress until we let go of our backwardness and employ some of western ideas. Eating all day or going to another city isn't everything, and blaming others for everything also isn't the solution.