Finally! India to Sign Rafale Deal by December! Draft Contract Prepared!

Actually it fits precisely with what both the IAF and Dassualt have been saying- the end of 2014 OR end of 2014-15 financial year. The IAF would only have to pay around $1.6BN upfront (not the full $16BN) and it is possible the Rafale deal has been budgeted for from the start of this FY (as was the case last year) s......

Don't think there is money for this year. the capital expense budget for the IAF this year was about Rs.21000 crores. Don't think they will have 10-12000 crores (depending on final arrived cost) left. Next year is probably a better bet.

Too much imbalance unfortunately we even cancelled our J10B

If we had bought 36 J10B I would say ok some improvement in Pakistan airforce

But our purchase of 10 F16 used ones vs 120 Rafael or another 100 Sukhoi is no real comparison

Our airforce is behind 100-200 jets

We will just have to go Nuclear weapon first sign of invasion, it is what it is , first sign of agreesion with this imbalance Nuclear weapons would be used
Actually that gap will be closed by another 200 JF-17s, plus some F-16s, and most likely J-20Cs or better yet co-production of J-31 as soon as JF-17 production ends, with the two first squadrons delivered by/from China while setting up the production facilities. The production of the JF-17 will continue if there are foreign orders or JVs.

The IAF sources complained about efforts by some Indians to sow doubts and make the IAF leadership ‘weak-kneed’ by publicising wrong information in sections of the media ‘at the behest of a foreign competitor’.

This was long suspected. With Rafale winning the competition, other participants weren't amused and hence all those oblique efforts of de-railing the negotiations.

Don't think there is money for this year. the capital expense budget for the IAF this year was about Rs.21000 crores. Don't think they will have 10-12000 crores (depending on final arrived cost) left. Next year is probably a better bet.

they dont have to pay all the money upfront. Even if the deal is signed by end of this year, some advances will be given and actual payments (pro-rata basis) should only start once these birds are ready o arrive in India. This effectively should be the next financial year and i'm sure suitable allocations will be done.

IAF needs Rafale,
Because its Ground Attack fleet is dwindling
we have 120 Jaguars , 80 Mig 27 and 50 Mirage 2000 for ground attack missions
Barring 60 Jags and 50 Mirage, rest will retire in next 10 years
Rafale will replace them
Dont say that Su30MKI will do Ground attack missions, i mean it can if it is required, but its primary aim is to shoot down enemy aircraft, and Ensure Air Superiority over theater of operations

they dont have to pay all the money upfront. Even if the deal is signed by end of this year, some advances will be given and actual payments (pro-rata basis) should only start once these birds are ready o arrive in India. This effectively should be the next financial year and i'm sure suitable allocations will be done.

I was only talking about the initial advance......10-15% of the deal value.

I wonder what Pakistan Air Force will come up as a response to this deal. Upgraded J-10Bs or a customized PAF version of J-10C fighter aircraft will do.

JF-17 Block-III by 2016. The upgrades are still on the table, which means we will see what capabilities.we need to counter the Rafale deal.

At 270 Su-30MKIs, 126 Rafales, and hundreds of Mig-29s....Indian Air Force will definitely be a force to reckon with.

Yes it will be. But it also would be a force which has 2 enemies, Pakistan and China, rather than one for PAF. In any state of conflict the IAF will not be able to field, full strength of its assets against Pakistan. We saw that in 65 as well.

Pakistan, in comparison, will also have a massive air force with 80+ F-16s, 150+ JF-17 Thunders block II and block IIIs, and may be J-10Bs (as counter to Rafale deal)

100+ F-16s (More coming)
250 Thunders (Block-1/2/3)
No J-10B
J-31 most likely around 2020.
Force multipliers i.e AWACs, Netcentric SAMs, Electronic Jamming ranges etc.

As fifth generation fighter jets will enter subcontinent, it will become the most concentrated and contested battle-space for aerial warfare in 21st century....as I see no other area where such massive, sophisticated, and larger air forces have a very good chance to entering a larger scale destructive conflict..

PAF doesn't need parity - but we won't be a pushover either.

I think @Bang Galore is also getting paid by Boeing...lately he is very vocsl about US fighter jets:p::what:

Are we going for 188 of them or did we reduced the number

I think @Bang Galore is also getting paid by Boeing...lately he is very vocsl about US fighter jets:p::what:

Are we going for 188 of them or did we reduced the number

That's because the French already had enough chaps......:D By default....anyone else.....:lol:

Any updates on what is the final contract value agreed upon?

Nope. One of the great mysteries. Only educated guesses. News stories by India Today put it around $20 billion but the supposed counter offer by EF was about $17.5 billion (again supposedly). Hopefully that means any deal signed with the French would have hammered the price below that.

To counter Indian Airforce J31 will be best answer... but the deal maybe after 2018 IMO

JF-17 Block-III by 2016. The upgrades are still on the table, which means we will see what capabilities.we need to counter the Rafale deal.

Yes it will be. But it also would be a force which has 2 enemies, Pakistan and China, rather than one for PAF. In any state of conflict the IAF will not be able to field, full strength of its assets against Pakistan. We saw that in 65 as well.

100+ F-16s (More coming)
No J-10B

PAF doesn't need parity - but we won't be a pushover either.
100+ F-16s (More coming)
No J-10B
:woot::woot::woot:

Kya baat hai lagta hai pakistan ka defence budget india se bhi jayada speed se increase ho raha hai