EU chides Jordan for hangings after pilot killed

Why not just look across the Gulf ,towards persians, for inspiration?

Scaphism - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

"The Persians outvie all other barbarians in the horrid cruelty of their punishments, employing tortures that are peculiarly terrible and long-drawn, namely the ‘boats’ and sewing men up in raw hides. But what is meant by the ‘boats,’ I must now explain for the benefit of less well informed readers. Two boats are joined together one on top of the other, with holes cut in them in such a way that the victim’s head, hands, and feet only are left outside. Within these boats the man to be punished is placed lying on his back, and the boats then nailed together with bolts. Next they pour a mixture of milk and honey into the wretched man's mouth, till he is filled to the point of nausea, smearing his face, feet, and arms with the same mixture, and so leave him exposed to the sun. This is repeated every day, the effect being that flies, wasps, and bees, attracted by the sweetness, settle on his face and all such parts of him as project outside the boats, and miserably torment and sting the wretched man. Moreover his belly,distended as it is with milk and honey, throws off liquid excrements, and these putrefying breed swarms of worms, intestinal and of all sorts. Thus the victim lying in the boats, his flesh rotting away in his own filth and devoured by worms, dies a lingering and horrible death."

Zonaras, Annals[2]

Scaphism - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Good thing that we put an end to those vandals and such practices once and for all 1400 years ago

Honestly I don't know of its a good thing or a bad thing that EU countries are holding us up to their standards, as if "we expect better from you" as they don't seem to bother with the rest and majority of the world that doesn't. Us GCC whatever sort of law or punishment or execution passes in our countries their media picks it up like a flashlight.

Maybe they want us to be part of them and see us as the "almost western" countries category. And honestly they wouldn't be lying, we are for all intents and purposes our popular culture and way of life is "almost western". And quite honestly western way of life is the best if you ask me.

They did the same with us; why do you think Pakistan suspended the Death Penalty for the past 6 years ? It reeks of arrogance when they tell us what to do or suffer the economic consequences !

Can't complain Butt Sahab, life's good. Busy as hell though but that's nothing new.
Dont worry about the Kashmir day thing too much, I did the same with my gym.

So whats the latest news ? Are we winning the War ?

I hate vegetarians.

http://english.alarabiya.net/en/New...s-Jordan-for-hangings-after-pilot-killed.html
The European Union combined a statement of solidarity with Jordan over the killing of one of its military pilots by Islamist fighters with criticism of its immediate execution of two Iraqi jihadists.

"While all efforts must be made to counter terrorism and hold the perpetrators accountable, our reaction to the threat posed by (Islamic State) needs to be consistent with our common values on justice and the rights of prisoners," foreign policy chief Federica Mogherini said in a statement on Wednesday.

"Our action has to be guided by the respect of international human rights law and humanitarian law. The European position against death penalty remains unchanged and we believe capital punishment does not serve any deterrent purpose."

Condemning the killing of captured F-16 pilot Mouath al-Kasaesbeh, she praised Jordan's role in the "front line in the battle" against Islamic State and taking in refugees from Syria and Iraq.

On Wednesday, Jordan hanged Sajida al-Rishawi, an Iraqi woman who took part in suicide bomb attacks 10 years ago, and a senior al Qaeda prisoner, Ziyad Karboli, also an Iraqi.

If EU is so in love with these b@st@rd terrorist then they should call of them to get settled in EU, there they can protect all the so called rights of those terrorist, not at our land in our country .....

I have stated about "conscript soilder" ie cannon fodder. Russia fielded 20 million strong army by the end of WWII.

Point is that even professional Russian Army is 400,000. Europeans are downsizing to a dangerously unsustainable level. 40,000 soilders in UK, and 60,000 in Germany is at dangerously low level. They could be easily swamped if Russia attacks and US does not come to rescue.

On top of it Europeans does not have very large technological edge over Russians.

Now,you've made a wikipedia freak out of me.

1.Those 400.000 standing Russian soldiers aren't all professionals ,many are still conscripts.

2.Combined EU states(without the UK)=800.000 active ,the vast majority of them professionals,and some 3300 MBT's....i repeat,only "continental Europe",i didn't add the UK

Pls,don't make me count artillery,fighter jets,helicopters,etc.:(

Pathetic:disagree:. Europeans are so obsessed with the rights of terrorist that they disregard rights of their victims.
(Nice work Jordan. :tup:)

Problem with EU is that they are judging it according to European standards of Human rights and Liberalism. There is a war going over in ME, and its getting really dirty.

Now,you've made a wikipedia freak out of me.

1.Those 400.000 standing Russian soldiers aren't all professionals ,many are still conscripts.

2.Combined EU states(without the UK)=800.000 active ,the vast majority of them professionals,and some 3300 MBT's....i repeat,only "continental Europe",i didn't add the UK

Pls,don't make me count artillery,fighter jets,helicopters,etc.:(

Ah I did that with Arab countries and GCC countries made Tables and Excel files about them calculating them, even going as far as counting flight time of each country's pilots and calculating a mean. I did a lot back in the day when I had some time in my hand.

They did the same with us; why do you think Pakistan suspended the Death Penalty for the past 6 years ? It reeks of arrogance when they tell us what to do or suffer the economic consequences !

EU has done a lot, arguably the most in service of global democracy, peaceful pressure is one the primary means of achieving this goal without being too in the face with other countries. Its meant to safeguard global interests, If you've read the Democratic Peace Theory, you'll know what I mean and what the EU stands to gain by promoting the spread of democratic values.

[/QUOTE]So whats the latest news ? Are we winning the War ?[/QUOTE]

Its a slow struggle, there is not so much as to who is winning and losing, both sides have divergent goals and thus there is no common position which can be determined as the winner's circle. However, we are working on overdrive and you might be catching news on the television, there's a dozen or so of these bastards dropping every day. The kinetic urban operations have never been this active before.

Add: @Armstrong Please teach me how to make multiple quotes from the same post, I never got the hang of it since the site got redone.

select the lines within a post and leave the mouse there.. a popup will appear with the option to add to quote.. it will be added in clipboard

upload_2015-2-6_13-24-0.png

you will see the message about the selected item added to multiple qoute

then simply click on insert quotes button on the left hand on your post message box
upload_2015-2-6_13-25-52.png

A popup window with your selected quotes will come up and you can choose what to post or remove or cancel the operation

upload_2015-2-6_13-26-41.png

you are done

YES I am not Armstrong but you can speak to me now and then.

EU has done a lot, arguably the most in service of global democracy, peaceful pressure is one the primary means of achieving this goal without being too in the face with other countries. Its meant to safeguard global interests, If you've read the Democratic Peace Theory, you'll know what I mean and what the EU stands to gain by promoting the spread of democratic values.

Be that as it may; I don't like to be told what I can or cannot do in my own country !

And the arrogance I was referring to is this misapprehension that there is only a single right way or a single right answer to these questions and its the one we come up with. In matters as normative as 'right or wrong' - something that even philosophers haven't been able to figure it out - putting your foot down and saying that XYZ is the only humane, progressive and right way to approach a particular problem and anyone who doesn't confirm to that is the opposite of those things, reeks of arrogance.

Its a slow struggle, there is not so much as to who is winning and losing, both sides have divergent goals and thus there is no common position which can be determined as the winner's circle. However, we are working on overdrive and you might be catching news on the television, there's a dozen or so of these bastards dropping every day. The kinetic urban operations have never been this active before.

Good to hear that; I miss the '90s and even the early '00s when none of this nonsense was around ! :argh:

About the multiple quote thing; click the insert icon (that plus sign) between the media icon (the film reel) and the drafts (the floppy disk). It gives you a Quote...add the information in between ! :)

select the lines within a post and leave the mouse there.. a popup will appear with the option to add to quote.. it will be added in clipboard

View attachment 190733

you will see the message about the selected item added to multiple qoute

then simply click on insert quotes button on the left hand on your post message box
View attachment 190734

A popup window with your selected quotes will come up and you can choose what to post or remove or cancel the operation

View attachment 190735

you are done

YES I am not Armstrong but you can speak to me now and then.

Thank You Baloch Sahab for the extremely detailed and very informative tutorial, I do believe this should be marked and added to the site's FAQs section!
Aur sir ji, jahan tak rahi baat cheet ki baat, hum th hazir hain janab, bas aisa hai kay Butt Sahab yaad kuch ziyada kasrat say kartay hain! :-)

I agree with your first statement. But disagree with your second statement.
Pacifism has nothing to do with different perspective of justice and false sense of superiority european governments exhibit.
As for pacifism, the most pacifist amongst them saved their citizens from world war 2.( sweden )

Also there is no reason to believe Europe is pacifist in the first place. They are making demands of Russia, they are vary of China and have imposed sanctions on Hamas and Hezbollah and are against Iran gaining a nuclear weapon. If that is not European assertiveness and aggressiveness, then I don't know what is. In Libya French and British elite military units were deployed. In Mali French forces are launching operation after operation against Mali militants. So these nations remain greatly aggressive and their interference has not subsided rather could have been increased after the fall of their empires and colonies. They have wanted to maintain these previously occupied states as satellites

The colonial mindset, which comes out of a superior economy and progressive society locally continues to afflict Europe. Hamas was indeed one of the first elected governments in palestine as naom chomsky pointed out. Just because they voted for the wrong party they are being punished.

Anyway that is a different debate. The murder of this pilot must severely be punished. I certainly believe in the death penalty, especially for people who burned and tortured muaz. Human brutality has no ends and only strong punishment can limit it. Also feeding and healthcare for terrorists costs the state. Hanging is the best option for terrorists.

Be that as it may; I don't like to be told what I can or cannot do in my own country !

And the arrogance I was referring to is this misapprehension that there is only a single right way or a single right answer to these questions and its the one we come up with. In matters as normative as 'right or wrong' - something that even philosophers haven't been able to figure it out - putting your foot down and saying that XYZ is the only humane, progressive and right way to approach a particular problem and anyone who doesn't confirm to that is the opposite of those things, reeks of arrogance.

Indeed there is no single way, but then again, by the same extension, the TTP and ISIS can argue for the same leniency in declaring their ideals to be any less poignant than those of their opponents. See, the thing is that everyone thinks that what they believe in, is the best policy. What they were born into, what they were lead to believe, that is the ultimate truth and the only true right way.

Good to hear that; I miss the '90s and even the early '00s when none of this nonsense was around ! :argh:

About the multiple quote thing; click the insert icon (that plus sign) between the media icon (the film reel) and the drafts (the floppy disk). It gives you a Quote...add the information in between !

I too miss those simpler times, we shall have them again god-willing though I am not sure if we can expect to see them in our lifetimes. This nation is wrought with conflict and decay, it is deep rooted and it is constantly spreading, apprehending or killing those responsible will only accomplish so much, it is the people who have to personally take initiative and wholly reject this cancer to end this once and for all.
We can't expect to defeat terrorists when their bodies exit jails on roads that are being showered with petals on their way to funerals to be attended by thousands of mourners, we will defeat these animals when the authorities are forced to bury their remains inside prison grounds because no community will accept their remains in their graveyards, when people will stone ambulances carrying their bodies, when people will shun the Imam who even slightly hesitates when declining to lead funeral prayers for these bastards.
We are fighting a mindset, it can only be killed by an opposing, stronger mindset, not with guns and bombs.