ECC approves firing all Pakistan Steel Mill employees

The mills haven't been functioning for years. These majority of which are political appointees are sitting idle and taking salaries. Quoting the article above.
Can't it be taken over by Military for 10 or 15 yrs, revive it and privatize at good value. It would win win position.

talking about efficiency. do you know how many people sit in cabinet and special assistants and all that.
different thing entirely. that has got nothing to do with a closed factory. you want that? change govt rules, constitution, esta code, ppra etc. that is another debate entirely. focus on steel mill right now.

so far this govt has failed to fix any institution other than steel mills,conditions of railway,pia etc is worst so how can we trust them that they are capable of fixing steel mills,ppp after bhutto is mostly involved in corruption but bhutto had done some major beneficial things for Pakistan which if continued after his removal might have brought very good results for us
PIA has hope under air marshal. Railways under sheikh rasheed only passion and lack of critical thinking, so I have very little hope, but if he is actually gunning for ML1 project as he shows we will reap the benefit of such project for decades.
But to understand the limitation we need to look at the deep rooted problems in these organizations. 1) No funds available for any major infrastructure/equipment upgrade 2) Filled with political appointees with little productivity and no merit under legal cover. 3)Running huge deficits 4) Politicized unions opposing and sabotaging any step taken in the right direction for political gains.

It is easy to point fingers but it will take a lot of time, patience to turn them around.

different thing entirely. that has got nothing to do with a closed factory. you want that? change govt rules, constitution, esta code, ppra etc. that is another debate entirely. focus on steel mill right now.

remember that bank that was sold sometime ago for 10 or 100rs? that wasnt sold for 10rs, the deal was that the buying bank paid off its liabilities. after paying it all off, the net profit that the sellers earned was rs 10 or 100.

i do not think people will let you sell these in midst of dam construction but sure try your best.

i say why not railways as well.

eenth by eenth sab khatam kardo. hum phir bana lenge jang kay baad

Can't it be taken over by Military for 10 or 15 yrs, revive it and privatize at good value. It would win win position.
who will pay off its debts? who will pay for buying new machinery? if the govt can finance it through military, it can do this on its own, which it cant in any case.

i do not think people will let you sell these in midst of dam construction but sure try your best.

i say why not railways as well.

eenth by eenth sab khatam kardo. hum phir bana lenge jang kay baad
railways is running and providing services. its issue is similar to pia: too many employees, and a top heavy structure. railways should be an autonomous organization or a semi govt one like ogdcl, pta, caa, ppl etc.

ye jo railway ka barham hai ye bhi do article me toot jayega. no tension.

PIA has hope under air marshal. Railways under sheikh rasheed only passion and lack of critical thinking, so I have very little hope, but if he is actually gunning for ML1 project as he shows we will reap the benefit of such project for decades.
But to understand the limitation we need to look at the deep rooted problems in these organizations. 1) No funds available for any major infrastructure/equipment upgrade 2) Filled with political appointees with little productivity and no merit under legal cover. 3)Running huge deficits 4) Politicized unions opposing and sabotaging any step taken in the right direction for political gains.

It is easy to point fingers but it will take a lot of time, patience to turn them around.
Well said.... I have similar opinion about Sheikh Rashid he is too old school/uneducated to positively impact PR and the result is showing

Even if a person is a political appointee they could be taught the skills required..these agencies are hardly producing and operating rockets and space crafts. The issue is the political appointees just sit on their behinds and do absolutely nothing, just browse the web all day or look at YouTube/Tik tok on their phones, and since they are political appointees they have the attitude that 'koi maai ka laal humara kuch nahi okhaar sakta' because they have the big powerful political parties backing them. That is a recipe for disaster and that is why we see these SOEs floundering.

If wishes were horses. Sigh... It will be good decision given military appoints capable people but the problem will be the woke democracy charlatan baboons with their usual motto ' democracy over state'. Private gov partnership with private management and majority ownership will do, that's my opinion though.

Well said.... I have similar opinion about Sheikh Rashid he is too old school/uneducated to positively impact PR and the result is showing

Even if a person is a political appointee they could be taught the skills required..these agencies are hardly producing and operating rockets and space crafts. The issue is the political appointees just sit on their behinds and do absolutely nothing, just browse the web all day or look at YouTube/Tik tok on their phones, and since they are political appointees they have the attitude that 'koi maai ka laal humara kuch nahi okhaar sakta' because they have the big powerful political parties backing them. That is a recipe for disaster and that is why we see these SOEs floundering.
I totally agree, the problem with political appointees is their sense of privilege. Lack of discipline as they are not afraid of consequences. No productivity and work ethics. Corruption as most of them will be thinking of recovering of their paid amount for the post and making most out of it.

Please fire members of national assembly and senate with ministers also.
They are bunch of useless persons doing nothing and burden on people of Pakistan.

Please fire members of national assembly and senate with ministers also.
They are bunch of useless persons doing nothing and burden on people of Pakistan.
sure, change the election rules, penal code and constitution of Pakistan. then you can. but, easier said than done. you need 2/3 votes in favor for an amendment. go ahead, ask ppp, pmln and their lota candidates in pti to do that. or, the other way is to just abrogate the constitution.

I totally agree, the problem with political appointees is their sense of privilege. Lack of discipline as they are not afraid of consequences. No productivity and work ethics. Corruption as most of them will be thinking of recovering of their paid amount for the post and making most out of it.
initially, when sheikh rasheed applied some pressure, nearly all of these employees agreed that they will deliberately start delaying trains. the application for 1 year leave by a official high up is evidence of this. sheikh rasheed himself is an idiot, he exacerbated the situation by suddenly bringing 10-15 new trains on tracks, which caused massive scheduling issues, causing delays, the old track was unable to cater to this extra load, plus trains exceeding limits on their speed to match the schedule, and derailments occurred.

The military's no better. The issue isn't petty corruption, but lack of capacity and competency to run a business.

These SOEs -- i.e., PSML, PIA, etc -- need to run at arms length from any government. You need to hard-code (in the law) that government (or military) can't interfere in these entities. Let them run like private sector businesses, but funnel profit back to the treasury (instead of shareholders). IIRC Umer Asad wanted to do this, but he thought of the extra step of sending profit to a sovereign wealth fund @JamD @Syed1.

we need material for dam construction.

the mill is important for us.

The people supporting this auction of state entities are beneficial owner of the fassad that is being created.
You think china will agree to that.
Forget. Steel even workers will come from china

It will be good decision given military appoints capable people
the military isnt qualified to run a factory either. none of them(civil and military) know anything about industrial engg, and next to nothing about marketing.

You think china will agree to that.
Forget. Steel even workers will come from china
not really, power china plant right next to steel mills is being run by pakistani engrs. entire batches were hired, trained in china for 6 months, and then employed at the power plant. some upper management may be chinese, but that will change as more Pakistani engrs rise through the ranks

The Economic Coordination Committee approved on Wednesday firing all employees of the Pakistan Steel Mills.

The Mills haven’t been functioning for years and the employees haven’t been doing anything, reasoned the committee. The meeting was chaired by Adviser to the PM on Finance Abdul Hafeez Sheikh.

There are 9,350 employees who will be fired within a month and another 250 will be let go within three months. The ECC approved a Rs18 billion package for the employees, which amounts to Rs2.3 million per person.

Though the Mills have been closed for years, they are running a Rs550 billion deficit and billions are being spent on debt servicing.

The government has made noise about wanting to restart the Mills but so far nothing has been done.

The move will not be finalised until it is approved by the federal cabinet.
https://www.samaa.tv/money/2020/06/ecc-approves-firing-all-pakistan-steel-mill-employees/
Right move.
Close and start from fresh give it private sector and they rehire who ever they want.
Mill is old and apart from few parts most is unusable

we need material for dam construction.

the mill is important for us.

The people supporting this auction of state entities are beneficial owner of the fassad that is being created.
Blast furnaces are out dated and inefficient. Only the rolling mill processing facility are of any real use. Those should be salvaged if possible....sold to a private steel mill operator in Pakistan. This action is a long time coming.