DRDO seeks nod for domestic AWACS

RPK

DRDO seeks nod for domestic AWACS - Indian Express

Buoyed by the success of its indigenous eye-in-the-sky last December, the Defence Research & Development Organisation (DRDO) has pushed for a homemade version of the advanced Airborne Warning & Control System (AWACS) that can peer deep into enemy territory from higher altitudes.
Days before testing the maiden flight of its Airborne Early Warning & Control system in Brazil, the DRDO shot off a proposal to the Defence Ministry seeking Rs 850 crore to “design and develop AWACS for the IAF”.

The DRDO’s proposal does not identify a technology partner but keeps open the option of taking on consultants as and when required. The aim is to develop long-range radars with onboard command, control and communications for both tactical and air defence forces from higher altitudes, says the proposal sent on November 21.

The AWACS is extremely useful for India in large conflicts as it surveys a wider expanse of airspace and coastlines, and can monitor large number of aircraft and warships from a greater height than the AEWCs. Moreover, it can provide a 360-degree coverage of aircraft movement and troop build-up nearly 400 km inside neighbouring terrains compared to normal 250 km (375 km extended) detection with a 240-degree vision of AEWCs.

The DRDO proposal highlights this ability of AWACS to track multiple targets through large distances, said sources.

So far, India has got three Phalcon AWACS, the last of which was delivered in mid-2011, from Israel’s Elta. A major follow-on contract has been rumored since April 2008 but the contract is yet to be signed.

Armed with more than double the number of control operator stations, AWACS can trap more electronic intelligence and communications intercepts from air as well as maritime and key border stations.

The Rs 1,800-crore AEWC development programme, approved by the Cabinet Committee on Security in October 2004, was “a major milestone” towards realising the dream of indigenous AEWC to put India into a select club of countries.

Our current E-145I has all the capabilities of AWACS except long range and 360 degree coverage. 400 km inside enemy territory means it needs atleast 600+ km range.

What a/c would we be looking at mounting it on? A330? 787?

Babus and netas should move their fat *** and provide full support and funds to the project at priority level.

I don't see why we need a "nod" even after so much development and successful testing. Either we should scrap MOD off by democratic means or simply remove at least 70% of ALL the procedures in TO FOLLOW list of the sarkaris. That's the only way we can modernize. And we should also drop at least 60% of MOD sarkari babus and CCS who waste people's money and risk national security with their pathetic decision making.

What a/c would we be looking at mounting it on? A330? 787?
Right now its EMB145 but this platform is being used for first 3-4 AWACS, later its possible that platform might be changed. There are unconfirmed reports that IAF needs total of 16-20 such smaller platforms and 5-6 Phalcons.

I believe EMB145 is used for AWECS and not for AWACS. Its IL 78 for our AWACS (Phalcon). If we are going with our own AWACS then it needs to be a bigger plane !

It wouldve been good if they made the Saras capable of taking off from the new AC. IMO mounting an AEW&C and ASW system on a Saras aboard the ACs will be awesome for maritime patrol. The same aircraft could be deployed in the border airfields for recce and air patrol. The heavier ones like the Embraer and Ils could be based deeper inside our territory.

If DRDO want 360 degree coverage then either they are going to need to fit a radome so a bigger a/c platform will be needed or follow the IAI model to fit it on a small business jet class a/c,

IrAF PHALCON on a Gulfstream:
1211110.jpg

well this aesa awacs is a big achievement, i am sure we got some help from isreal. just wait for next indegeneous aesa radar for lca..

---------- Post added at 02:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:54 AM ----------

honestly speaking saras is lost project, they are trying to revive it.. maybe the next rta 70 can serve this purpose

well this aesa awacs is a big achievement, i am sure we got some help from isreal. just wait for next indegeneous aesa radar for lca..

---------- Post added at 02:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:54 AM ----------

honestly speaking saras is lost project, they are trying to revive it.. maybe the next rta 70 can serve this purpose

Saras completed it's flight tests recently don't know what you are talking about ?? :what:

Typical for DRDO, ADA and also our forces, they didn't finished one development and start dreaming about the next one! :hitwall:
Not even a single EMB 145 AWACS even close to be operational, the final specs of the radar and avionics are very unclear, since it's in development stage only but they start they already want more. IAF also mentioned that the ceiling of the EMB 145 might not be enough for their requirements, but why did they buy in then?
Same silly thing about LCA and AMCA, LCA and N-LCA, Arjun MK1 and MK2..., when will they undertand that you have to finish things first, especially when you are developing things for decades!

i know thats why i said they are trying to bring back the project on track after crach.. but i dont think indian army has any intension of mounting awacs over saras..
Saras completed it's flight tests recently don't know what you are talking about ?? :what: