Dr Hafeez Pasha: 8million people may go below poverty line in next 2 fiscals

Look at the infographic below -

lnUXJK2.png

Tell me, are we supposed to pull $40 billion from Nawaz's fat a*ss? Unfortunately that is going to come from ordinary Pakistani's.

No point posting figures because these patwaris don't know the difference between past, present and future and will still call PTI the government that destroyed Pakistan.

You know loans by themselves are not bad per se. It is how you use them that is critical. If you borrow $50 billion and raise literacy rate to 90%, increase university participation across the country in particular produce engineers, scientists in vast numbers, improve health indicators across the country, build few dams then fine because that is investment in human resources which will triple if not more the initial $50 billion you invested with returns in $100s of billions.

However borrowing billions, creating artificial booms, looting some of it and building a few show piece projects as cover for your loot will bring inevitable disaster. And you see that today.

Absolutely, well spent loans are great - it's just ours are never well spent. Look around in the UK, most people making real money are doing it based on at least some part investment that came in the form of loans.

Pakistan to repay 27 Billion Dollars to IMF in next two years

Another 8 Billion Dollars to be repayed this year Alone

From all this money repayment not a single penny was taken by PTI's Government

However borrowing billions, creating artificial booms, looting some of it and building a few show piece projects as cover for your loot will bring inevitable disaster. And you see that today.

You forgot wasting it on a grand military. It's the second largest part of our budget after debt servicing. That's why whenever articles about the economy are posted you have people like @Enigma SIG calling it foreign propaganda and demanding the press be muzzled. They don't like it when people shine a light on our economic statistics and government budget.

I would hardly call that wasting. What do you propose? That defense spending is what kept you safe and still does. Reducing it won’t fix anything when you don’t question what happens to the rest. Where does the rest of the budget go? Atleast this part is being utilized properly. Just sloganeering won’t get you anything. Also i advise you to read the economic statistics and the budget before jumping to conclusions .

All these phateechar economists in pakistan are just experts of economic problems, none of them is expert of economic solutions.

I would hardly call that wasting. What do you propose? That defense spending is what kept you safe and still does. Reducing it won’t fix anything when you don’t question what happens to the rest. Where does the rest of the budget go? Atleast this part is being utilized properly. Just sloganeering won’t get you anything. Also i advise you to read the economic statistics and the budget before jumping to conclusions .

I suggest you practice what you preach and read statistics before dismissing what I wrote. We have the highest military spending in the region relative to our GDP. We also spend the least on health and education. It is bankrupting the country and destroying its future.

And BTW what do you mean by keeping us safe? The country has terrible security. It's only been a few weeks since the last terrorist attack and you talk about the military keeping us safe? The military has totally failed at its job despite the billions thrown its way.

The responsibility to ensure the safety and security within the country primarily lies on the police all over the world. Military is primarily responsible to secure the country from the external threats from the other countries.

The responsibility to provide safety and security within the country primarily lies on the police all over the world. Army is responsible to secure the country from the external threats from the other countries.

Except in Pakistan the army created these proxy forces to use against india and then lost control over them. So army bears responsibility for their actions.

Anyway even if what you say is correct we should reduce defence budget and increase spending on law enforcement right? I would be ok with that.

I suggest you practice what you preach and read statistics before dismissing what I wrote. We have the highest military spending in the region relative to our GDP. We also spend the least on health and education. It is bankrupting the country and destroying its future.

What statistics do you think i have not read? Defence spending was 1.1 trillion against a 5.92 trillion budget last year. We need highest spending to keep threats at bay. And why do we have the lowest spending? Because we can’t spare any money in the remaining 4.8 trillion? Quote statistics when talking about statistics. It’s the convenient excuse of consecutive incompetent governments that we couldn’t spend enough on Health and education.

And i mean what you saw over the past decade. You see no improvement? You didnt see what happened on 27th Feb? The military is the only one doing their jobs. They are not superhuman. They are doing reasonably well all things considered. If you can’t see that then I can’t help you.

What statistics do you think i have not read? Defence spending was 1.1 trillion against a 5.92 trillion budget last year. We need highest spending to keep threats at bay. And why do we have the lowest spending? Because we can’t spare any money in the remaining 4.8 trillion? Quote statistics when talking about statistics. It’s the convenient excuse of consecutive incompetent governments that we couldn’t spend enough on Health and education.

And i mean what you saw over the past decade. You see no improvement? You didnt see what happened on 27th Feb? The military is the only one doing their jobs. They are not superhuman. They are doing reasonably well all things considered. If you can’t see that then I can’t help you.

It's the second largest portion of our budget. We spend more relative to our GDP than any other country in the region. We spend the least on health and education relative to our GDP compared to other countries in the region barring afghanistan. These are the things that matter. By quoting nominal figures instead of relative ones you are trying to mislead people.

We wouldn't have terrorism problem in the first place if not for the military.

It's the second largest portion of our budget. We spend more relative to our GDP than any other country in the region. We spend the least on health and education relative to our GDP compared to other countries in the region barring afghanistan. These are the things that matter. By quoting nominal figures instead of relative ones you are trying to mislead people.

Merely repeating the second largest , second largest doesnt sound like a good argument. We spend alot of money on white elephant projects. I don’t see people criticising them or their subsidies. I am quoting only the figures for which we have proof. The rest is just hot air being blown by the anti-army brigade. I see you still didn’t quote anything but the second largest spending. What about the third and fourth and fifth? Have you stopped to ask about those.

Please repeat that slogan. Yeh jo dehshatgardi hai is k peechay wardi hai. So we know to which group you belong to.Because that’s what you just said. If you think these TTP were army proxies then you have not a clue of what’s happening. Just passing gas .

Edit:
Also ,
Debt servicing is DOUBLE the amount of defence spending and close to HALF the budget. Thus you are one deceiving people on how big an impact defence spending makes. 2.6 trillion (correction) goes to the provinces and they can spend it on **** all. Only making defence spending the scapegoat is very indicative of your narrative.

You forgot wasting it on a grand military.
Abhinandan would have visited your house on 27th feb for some "fantastic tea" if we weren't "wasting" money on our defense budget.

its really shameful that some of you people are speaking against the state just to defend your corrupt leaders.

You forgot wasting it on a grand military. It's the second largest part of our budget after debt servicing.

You make valid points, in particular about education. I agree that post 1998 nucear tests the defence budget should have been capped. I have raised this point, in particular that we don't need a navy, just a coastguard would do. Hell we hardly export much anyway so it's like we have huge trade routes to defend. And our stamina/finances are so low that we won't fight India longer then weeks. The good thing being this applies to India as well which is why Indo-Pak wars are short, weekly affairs. This means even if Indian Navy blockeded Pakistan before the it would bite the war would be over.

Also I think the days of huge armoured battles are over. Thus we have no need for huge armoured corps. I guess what I am saying there is certainly scope for downsizing the conventional military. I also agree the army/security apparatus has utterly failed to create a safe, stable Pakistan. The recurrent acts of terrorism are a reminder of that and blaming outsiders is just childish escapism.

On the other hand we have to understand that Pakistan is nothing without the military. Think about this. What unites Pakistan? Leaving that joke about "Pakistan kya Matlab" the reality is it is just the army. Every major city has it's own culture, cuisine, ethnic group. To people in Karachi Pakstan is Indian Biryani and Lucknow, Indian culture conveniently flogged as 'desi'. Peshawar has it's own culture etc. This reality is reflected in politics. Each ethnic group is vying for power and a say in this Pakistan. The northern Punjab centred on Lahore have stood firm by PML-N. Rural Sindh centred on Larkhana have rallied around PPP. PTI was until recently more a K-Pk force that has spread out from it's Pashtun base. Each group will call the other traitor. In this mess the only central gravity is provided by the army. Or K-Pk along with Pashtun areas would have broken off from Pakistan. Sindh would have cracked along the Sindhi/Mohajor divide with civil war to make Syria look like a nursery. Punjab would have gone it's own direction.

So maybe it's not such a bad thing that Pakistan has a huge military. It acts like a huge anchor that holds the chaos together.