For the love of PTI
IRFAN HAIDER — UPDATED OCT 23, 2014 06:56AM
15 COMMENTS
ISLAMABAD: While the ongoing sit-in of the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) is thinning out by the day, DJ Asif Butt is as enthused as ever, even refusing to charge PTI for his services.
Butt’s talent and prowess for bringing crowds to fever pitch deserves appreciation; he is the one making calls for when to punctuate Chairman Imran Khan’s speeches with bursts of music.
“As a sound engineer, I was charging Rs35,000 per day until August 30. Since the clashes between police and PTI and Pakistan Awaami Tehreek workers, I refused to charge PTI anymore,” said Butt.
“Do you know why? It is because I am now part of the sit-in like any other supporter,” he declared.
DJ Butt no longer charges party management for sound services at the PTI sit-in
He explained that it is his association with PTI that shot him to fame and because of this he does not want to charge PTI for his services.
“I don’t mind working without any payment for PTI for the rest of my life but will of course charge other parties,” he quipped.
The sound equipment being used has also become less elaborate over time.
The show at the Constitution Avenue required 22 speakers, eight lights and six screens but now only eight speakers and eight lights are used.
DJ Butt clarified that while he is not being paid for his services, the PTI management is continuing to pay his staff.
“In the beginning, we needed 150 workers to operate the sound, generators, helpers, technicians and drivers but now the number has come down to 10,” he said.
He explained that the reduction in the amount of equipment and number of workers has automatically brought the cost down.
Published in Dawn, October 23rd, 2014
For the love of PTI - Pakistan - DAWN.COM
Delete "playing music" from your sentence and some make even more money.Rs 110 million for fcking playing music? :
Delete "playing music" from your sentence and some make even more money.
hahahahah
PTI wallas maza lay gay, up paisa nahin daitay.
Like Khan Sahib got done with a prstiute, and said,
--- Khu, Is 5 minute ka main 500 rupia kion doon
hahahah
Itunes bajana seekh ja JAWA course jesa hai hai yaarRs 110 million for fcking playing music? For what I did software engineering?
8 crore ka sawal hai bhaiya 5 crore 91 lakh as Said by DJ Butt he recieved that ramaing 8 Crore is Pending.....
I remember Javaid Hashmi saying that he cost 27 lakh to 35 lakh for 1 jalsa PTI gave 8 Crore till date it would be more then 20 Crore by now.....
This DJ has earned more then 25+ Crore for Sure 8 Crore as by Javaid Hashmi and 14 Crore as by DJ Butt himself...
8+14= 22 Crore
DJ Butt threatens to take PTI to court
By Web Desk
Published: July 6, 2015
Imran Khan with DJ Butt. PHOTO: @ALIKANCHWALA
Muhammad Asif aka DJ Butt, an entertainer whose beats punctuated political rhetoric at the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) sit-in in Islamabad last year, claimed on Monday that the party owes him Rs60 million.
“My total payment for playing music at the PTI sit-in was Rs110 million but I have only been paid Rs50 million so far,” DJ Butt said, while speaking to Express News.
Read: Press pause: Silence in the air as PTI’s DJ picked up
“I will go to court if my payment is withheld,” he said, adding the party still owes him Rs50 million.
Further, Butt, who has been working with PTI since 2010, said, “My daily pay was Rs0.6 million.” PTI leader Naeemul Haque said the party is settling Butt’s dues and will resolve the matter soon.
Read: Unfortunate: DJ Butt’s assistant dies of heart attack at PTI sit-in
In September 2014, during the sit-in, Butt was arrested by law enforcers on charges of abetment.
Soon after the news broke, [HASHTAG]#JusticeForDJButt[/HASHTAG] started trending on Twitter:
A copy of DJ Butt’s bills can be viewed here: