Dhruv helicopter crash-lands while rehearsing for air show

RPK

The Hindu : News / National : Dhruv helicopter crash-lands while rehearsing for air show

An advanced light helicopter Dhruv of the Indian Air Force crash-landed in Rajasthan’s Jaisalmer district while rehearsing for the ‘Vayu Shakti’ air power show to be held there on Sunday.

The helicopter was part of the Sarang helicopter display team of the IAF and was rehearsing for Sunday’s air show, when the incident occurred, IAF officials said here.

“Both pilots are safe after they had to make a controlled crash-landing due to loss of power in the chopper,” they added.

The IAF has ordered a Court of Inquiry to look into the reasons behind the incident, the officials said.

In 2005, the entire ALH Dhruv fleet had been grounded for several months after a similar incident in Andhra Pradesh and the subsequent probe had found a fault with the tail rotor blades of the choppers.

On whether the display team comprising four ALH Dhruvs will take part in the air show, for which the President and the Defence Minister are also coming.

LOOOOOOOOOL------- SORRY--- hope pilot is alright and has speedy recovery......

but food for thought

equador duruv crashed over there aswell right? some thing is very faulty :s

but food for thought

But the pilots are still alive after crash then and now also that's the great news :cheers:

80bc818b7c1da7820873ebfd4d52521d.jpg

The Hindu : News / National : Dhruv helicopter crash-lands while rehearsing for air show

An advanced light helicopter Dhruv of the Indian Air Force crash-landed in Rajasthan’s Jaisalmer district while rehearsing for the ‘Vayu Shakti’ air power show to be held there on Sunday.

The helicopter was part of the Sarang helicopter display team of the IAF and was rehearsing for Sunday’s air show, when the incident occurred, IAF officials said here.

“Both pilots are safe after they had to make a controlled crash-landing due to loss of power in the chopper,” they added.

The IAF has ordered a Court of Inquiry to look into the reasons behind the incident, the officials said.

In 2005, the entire ALH Dhruv fleet had been grounded for several months after a similar incident in Andhra Pradesh and the subsequent probe had found a fault with the tail rotor blades of the choppers.

On whether the display team comprising four ALH Dhruvs will take part in the air show, for which the President and the Defence Minister are also coming.

yeah man if pilots are safe thats what matters most :cheers:

Any updates on the reason for the crash ?

but food for thought

Yes. its the same Dhruv that saved the Equadors pilots aswell.
Unless it happened to be some other heli, they would have been having feast with angels in the heaven.

Dhruv is known for its highly safe landing gear.

P.S: before ranting,why dont you go through the crash reports of equadors dhruv?

bro iam just stateing what imran bhai said tum log koi kam ke cheez nahi bana sactey:rofl::rofl:
no hard feelings .. but thank god the pilots are safe from the vertical lift off coffin:rofl::rofl:
jokeing guys:cheesy:

bro iam just stateing what imran bhai said tum log koi kam ke cheez nahi bana sactey:rofl::rofl:
no hard feelings .. but thank god the pilots are safe from the vertical lift off coffin:rofl::rofl:
jokeing guys:cheesy:

Well...... Try making one by yourself then point your fingers at others, when you yourself dont have the capacity to build any aircraft all by yourself. :rofl: ... no hard feelings

How many times we disucsses that with superb tech, 70 B$ cost and 300 million a piece yet 3 crashes till now.

eqyador incident was investigated by a third body and concluded what HaL said in the first place after its own findings.

Well...... Try making one by yourself then point your fingers at others, when you yourself dont have the capacity to build any aircraft all by yourself. :rofl: ... no hard feelings

dont pull it too hard ... hehehe ..... true but you see we rather perfect than to just throw it on a assembely line:bunny: boooyaaa

i request to all my Indian friends....
please stick to the reality, its good to be petriotic but one should except the fact that there is an accident. Detail investigation must take place.
Accidents do happen let it be any country, so why do we feel offended. learn from the mistakes and improve.

dont pull it too hard ... hehehe ..... true but you see we rather perfect than to just throw it on a assembely line:bunny: boooyaaa

India is in the inetial stages of deveploment and i see many more such incidances in the indigenous projects. many will get delay, many wont see the light of the day.

but i am confident we will perfect the tech and will emerge as a hub of defenance equipment & component export.:cheers:

i was not pulling toooo hard :bunny: ... we are atleast developing.... Even F-22 raptor has had4 crashes, does that make it useless? F-22 is still one the fighter best Aircraft known to man.

India is in the inetial stages of deveploment and i see many more such incidances in the indigenous projects. many will get delay, many wont see the light of the day.

but i am confident we will perfect the tech and will emerge as a hub of defenance equipment & component export.:cheers:

inshallah and at that time we will get kashmi back beacuse india doing so swell that as a good gesture it gives kashmir back.... hehehehe......:argh: only in my wildest dreams:hitwall: