Dhaka vs Kolkata

I've based it on my own observation, it's backed up as much as Rain Man's observation.

I didn't make any observation! Just read the article, the Bangladeshi writer himself claimed that foreign countries are flooded by the Bangladeshis working in jobs like Taxi drivers, Traffic guards, and in Indian restaurants, he met them everywhere, whereas the Bengalis (real ones:)) from West Bengal are mostly into jobs in corporate sector. So foreigners mostly meet Bangladeshis in their daily lives, not the Bengalis from West Bengal, and form a wrong assumption that Bangladeshis are Bengalis. :P That's the theme of the article another Bangladeshi posted here, I am as innocent as the early morning dew drops on lotus leaf! :)

Dhaka vs Kolkata | Page 25

I'm not travelling, I'm settled. Most corporate guys in America are mostly Tamils. Hardly any Bengalis there. And just so you know, these Bangladesh run "Indian" restaurants are high quality compared to Indian run restaurants. :tongue:
Then I think you just settled in the wrong america,most probably you are in south america.Tamils are south indians no wonder they went in south america...

I didn't make any observation! Just read the article, the Bangladeshi writer himself claimed that foreign countries are flooded by the Bangladeshis working in jobs like Taxi drivers, Traffic guards, and in Indian restaurants, he met them everywhere, whereas the Bengalis (real ones:)) from West Bengal are mostly into jobs in corporate sector. So foreigners mostly meet Bangladeshis in their daily lives, not the Bengalis from West Bengal, and form a wrong assumption that Bangladeshis are Bengalis. :P That's the theme of the article another Bangladeshi posted here, I am as innocent as the early morning dew drops on lotus leaf! :)

Dhaka vs Kolkata | Page 25

This is another false statement claiming Bangladeshis are uneducated. Why am I not surprised??

Rai Baboo - our Bangladeshi professionals in LA alone (real professionals with Engg. and Medical degrees - not H1B people with two month IT diplomas) outnumber your Kolkata professionals two to one (if not even higher).

The scenario is repeated all over the US. Don't know about other countries.

It is a proven fact. I know people from professional associations of both immigrant groups here (Engineers and Doctors especially). I also go to concerts for Nachiketa and Sumon Chatterjee where you can see both groups.

Nothing against West Bengal but the reason you find uneducated people from Bangladesh in Western countries and US in large numbers is that their impetus, drive and work ethic (to better their conditions in life) is somehow higher than those from West Bengal. But then again, PhD holders are fine being bus conductors in Kolkata. I will never understand that mindset....

BTW we have adopted Sumon Chatterjee (Kabir Sumon) completely (as our Sasural pe Damat) - he is not going back :-)

What kind of a brain dead troll is this ?

@Bilal9 Did you see what your 'Nabil bhai' has to say :omghaha:

Nabil is entitled to his own opinions. And not everyone is a genius like you :rolleyes1:

In BD or USA?

In BD - Sumon Baboo is settled in Dhaka now and got married to singer Sabina Yasmeen. He is quite involved in the local music scene. He used to live until ten years go in the US.

Please to explain "GPD"?

He means GDP - why are all of you guys picking on a obviously young person? Aur kaam nahi?

Nothing against West Bengal but the reason you find uneducated people from Bangladesh in Western countries and US in large numbers is that their impetus, drive and work ethic (to better their conditions in life) is somehow higher than those from West Bengal. But then again, PhD holders are fine being bus conductors in Kolkata. I will never understand that mindset....

Here is an example of the supposedly 'uneducated' Bangladeshis you guys look down on. Kudos to him :-)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bangladeshi taxi driver sets example of honesty in UAE
taxi_driver_0.jpg

Ever since he left a computer design job for that of a taxi driver at Dubai Taxi, Ariful Karim has been driving people around the UAE.

It is a job he thoroughly enjoys, even though it means staying away from his family in Bangladesh.

Two years into the job, Ariful is happy how his honesty beyond the call of duty has been recognised and applauded in the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

The UAE's news portal -- Emirates 24/7 picked a story about the Bangladeshi who is now a hero to many others.

Ariful, 28, proudly shows his badge, an honour he received from the Roads and Transport Authority (RTA) of the UAE for returning cash left behind by a forgetful passenger.

“It happened last year, just before the end of Ramadan, when a passenger forgot to take his belongings when he stepped out of the cab. I didn't notice it, and had a few passengers after that. It's when I was taking a breather that I found a paper packet that had slipped between the seats,” he told Emirates 24/7.

“It's when I slid my hand between the seats and pulled out the pack that I realised that it had cash in it. I counted it, and it totalled to 2,35,000 dirham. I called the RTA and deposited the pack with the office,” Ariful mentioned.

After a day, the passenger approached the RTA and was told his packet was intact.

“I was also called in the RTA and I met the passenger, who was from Iran. He rewarded me with 300 dirham,” Ariful said.

He was honoured by the RTA with a badge and certificate for his honesty.

He told the UAE news portal that this was not the first time that he had stepped out from the line of duty and helped. “Often, passengers leave behind their wallet or mobiles, and each time I make it a point to report to the office, and deposit it there.”

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have heard of many stories like this about Jackson Heights (NYC) taxi drivers too...

In BD - Sumon Baboo is settled in Dhaka now and got married to singer Sabina Yasmeen. He is quite involved in the local music scene. He used to live until ten years go in the US.

I thought he was doing good in WB politics. Man 5 times married. Lol. People like Kabir Sumon can be great asset for BD image branding. If we can understand how to utilize them in right way.

This is another false statement claiming Bangladeshis are uneducated. Why am I not surprised??

Rai Baboo - our Bangladeshi professionals in LA alone (real professionals with Engg. and Medical degrees - not H1B people with two month IT diplomas) outnumber your Kolkata professionals two to one (if not even higher).

The scenario is repeated all over the US. Don't know about other countries.

It is a proven fact. I know people from professional associations of both immigrant groups here (Engineers and Doctors especially). I also go to concerts for Nachiketa and Sumon Chatterjee where you can see both groups.

BTW we have adopted Sumon Chatterjee (Kabir Sumon) completely (as our Sasural pe Damat) - he is not going back :-)

Check again, I didn't say anything about anything, that Bangladeshi writer said it..! :P

I thought he was doing good in WB politics. Man 5 times married. Lol. People like Kabir Sumon can be great asset for BD image branding. If we can understand how to utilize them in right way.

Bia shaadi hoilo personal byapar. Ghorer moiddhey kachal hoiya geley korbota ki?

Better to separate than to hang on and make each other miserable....

BTW - with all this talk about GDP, here's a recent one from CNN Money,

10954551_944513708893346_7968932262401472796_n.jpg

LOL making a prediction about 2019 right now to the precision of 0.1%?

Iraq at 9.2% growth? Was this prediction made before ISIS?

Anyways they seem to have revised their estimates now:

The new global economy - CNNMoney

India stands at 7.7% comfortably till 2020 according to them. Bangladesh at 7.0%.

And they use Angola's flag for myanmar, or they have labelled Angola as Myanmar.

Either way real professional there CNN!

LOL making a prediction about 2019 right now to the precision of 0.1%?

Iraq at 9.2% growth? Was this prediction made before ISIS?

Anyways they seem to have revised their estimates now:

The new global economy - CNNMoney

India stands at 7.7% comfortably till 2020 according to them. Bangladesh at 7.0%.

And they use Angola's flag for myanmar, or they have labelled Angola as Myanmar.

Either way real professional there CNN!

Good! I am amazed to see however that China fell back to 6%.

These things change all the time it seems. Couple of months later - different story...