Dhaka to Delhi: crack down on drug factories near border

EjazR

Dhaka to Delhi: crack down on drug factories near border

Dhaka, Sep 27 (IANS) Bangladesh has urged India to crack down on factories that make the banned Phensedyl syrup near the border. Two million bottles of Phensedyl were seized last year.

Popular with drug addicts, the banned syrup is being smuggled by organised drug peddlers and individuals visiting India. Its consumption and smuggling have increased in the recent months, New Age newspaper said Monday.

The syrup, the ingredients of which include codeine phosphate and ephedrine, has been smuggled into Bangladesh, according to the narcotics control department.

In March, Bangladesh Rifles handed over to its Indian counterparts a list of 32 Phensedyl factories on the Indian side of the border and sought action against them. But BDR sources claim that steps were yet to be taken to address the issue.

Senior border guard officials of both sides, who met here Sunday, expressed concern over continued smuggling of different types of drugs, including heroin and Phensedyl, said a Bangladeshi official who attended the meeting.

Bangladesh Rifles Deputy Director General, Brigadier General Obaidul Haque, told New Age: 'We have provided the Indian side with a list of the Phensedyl factories on the other side of the border marking their locations, so that the Indian authorities can take action in order to save their youth as well as ours from the curse of drug abuse ...but powerful cartels control the drug smuggling.'

Bangladesh authorities believe the actual quantity of Phensedyl smuggled into the country during the period was five times the quantity seized.

India should show its goodwill towards BD by cancelling the operating licenses of these factories that produce phensidyle for smuggling to BD.

Blasphemy!! Don't complain about india. Dadas find it insulting. Just support initiatives like getting rid of all Anti-India elements in BD and building roads for india with indian "loan", and only then you can be called a patriotic Bangladeshi. Oh I should add the title "non-jihadi" too, no?

Saving my indian brothers some effort at typing. :smitten:

Blasphemy!! Don't complain about india. Dadas find it insulting. Just support initiatives like getting rid of all Anti-India elements in BD and building roads for india with indian "loan", and only then you can be called a patriotic Bangladeshi. Oh I should add the title "non-jihadi" too, no?

Saving my indian brothers some effort at typing. :smitten:

You tried but failed miserably.. any way thanks.

If Bangladeshis cannot get cough syrup to get high, they will get petroleum or something else.

How about Addiction treatment or legalizing alcohol instead of blaming India?

You tried but failed miserably.. any way thanks.

If Bangladeshis cannot get cough syrup to get high, they will get petroleum or something else.

How about Addiction treatment or legalizing alcohol instead of blaming India?

Cmon yaar, don't get pissed. I'm on your side.

To BD members: please don't blame India. Our friend had to write 3 full effort wasting sentences to protest.

Jeez! Bengalis should behave.:hitwall:

Cmon yaar, don't get pissed. I'm on your side.

To BD members: please don't blame India. Our friend had to write 3 full effort wasting sentences to protest.

Jeez! Bengalis should behave.:hitwall:

Dude, I was having little fun with it.

OK, may be it is the right request, and I hope the "babus & netas" will take a decision that is in the common interest.

But come on, Cough Syrup to get high... damn!!!

You are entering the area of Law enforcement.
India has major corruption issues with this stuff. They Have to work with local Babu's who will procrastinate till they get their cake.
Just because center says do this does not mean they will.

In all likely hood the local babus can be in the pockets of these cartels.
It's basically a quagmire , until someone uses their political capital nothing happens.

Even when the factories close new ones may open up , or they will **** to another state bordering BD or enter BS itself if India cracks down to hard

Don't you see similar situations in BD political system , if not then it would be our envy.

Is this Phensedyl syrup Banned in India? If not, then legally producing it is ok. The problem is its illegal smuggling to BD, am I right?

India & BD border forces & custom officials should jointly work to stop its smuggling if this is the case. Closing factories, because some BD's are using medicine for getting high is sort of absurd request.

If it is banned in India too, then its a serious matter and in this case, these factories need to be closed immidiately and their owners need to be tried in court.

Well this is not only a problem in Bangladesh but also in India and the NE. I was not aware of this before but this is a very lucrative and relatively risk free drug smuggling racket that defintely involves powerful people.

I won't be surprised if some Indian and Bangladeshi border officials are also involved in this racket. HEre is a 2005 article on this issue but you can see the extent of drug smuggling. GoI should take a serious note of this but not just target the racketeers but also the addicts. The Bangaldeshi govt. and Indian govt. in consultation shoul launch an awareness program to tackle the addicts and their families so that the demand itself is curtailed as well.

www.outlookindia.com | Narco Hiccough

Hehe cough syrups. Gives you very sticky high, there are better alternatives around! ;-)

Drug addicts will find something else much more dangerous than the cough syrup.

There could take to sniffing Glue or Petroleum. It would be better if the authorities try to wean away the addicts from these drugs by educating them.

I'd support that. India should take the lead and stop the illegal trade of drugs. A neighbor's problem should be our problem as long as its origins are in our country. We should provide whatever help possible.

Drug addicts will find something else much more dangerous than the cough syrup.

There could take to sniffing Glue or Petroleum. It would be better if the authorities try to wean away the addicts from these drugs by educating them.

Let the drug addicts find some substitutes for 'dyle. But, first thing first. India should demolish all the 'dyle factories that produce it to supply to BD.

I agree with you in this case.