Cost of living comparison - Pakistan vs rest of the world (don't get triggered yet)

Canada will not give you anything expect for free health care and survival benefits :laugh:

But if you employed in the right sector and don't waste your time on PDF, then you can surely lead a comfortable life here. Key for successful immigrants is to have a transferrable skill - preferably in engineering. It is now common for engineering immigrants in GTA to make $150K + benefits in full time positions. Contractors will make considerably more with no benefits. :cheers:
The key here is to be skilled. As long as they are in a place with political stability, your kids will do fine. @Imran Khan

Canada will not give you anything expect for free health care and survival benefits :laugh:

But if you employed in the right sector and don't waste your time on PDF, then you can surely lead a comfortable life here. Key for successful immigrants is to have a transferrable skill - preferably in engineering. It is now common for engineering immigrants in GTA to make $150K + benefits in full time positions. Contractors will make considerably more with no benefits. :cheers:
nah dear we are ok here even duty timing is as per my wish i am free to go anywhere anytime . regarding transferable skills i think its not time to learn for me . sooner 5-7 years i will resign and sit down read books walk in parks and enjoy my life .

The key here is to be skilled. As long as they are in a place with political stability, your kids will do fine. @Imran Khan
i have one kid and he also have wealth in crores today . i will leave it on him where he want to live after growing up sir .

nah dear we are ok here even duty timing is as per my wish i am free to go anywhere anytime . regarding transferable skills i think its not time to learn for me . sooner 5-7 years i will resign and sit down read books walk in parks and enjoy my life .

i have one kid and he also have wealth in crores today . i will leave it on him where he want to live after growing up sir .
My advice would be to send the kid for bachelors or masters degree in Canada and then he can have nationality after just a couple of years.

In the worst case, crores mean little if you live without healthcare.

My advice would be to send the kid for masters in Canada and then he can have nationality after just a couple of years.

In the worst case, crores mean little if you live without healthcare.
it seems you are unaware for private health care in pakistan sir . if you have money there is best treatment avilable too . i think we better let kid decide where he want to go . i can advice him to go finland/ can/holland etc my periority is peaceful society only . i will just advice him rest its upon him .

As I said earlier, $250 per week for a family of 4. This is applicable to GTA. Minimum wage in province of Ontario is $15 per hour. That amounts to 16.67 hours of work for a weekly grocery bill in case of a family. Canadians don't find food affordability to be an issue. It is the housing affordability in urban areas like GTA that is a problem.

How much does one decent one-bed room apartment cost in Toronto? or other in the Greater Toronto area? How much rent could it fetch? Is there is possibility to get a decent home or apartment for $200,000 USD ?

TBH i did not liked it :P i am not against women jobs . but after kids a good family should be look like a man work . female control home . kids go school . and after all expenses family must save 30-40% of income to invest or future plans .

i cant damn live a single day where i work and spend and having no savings .

I agree, with both parents working the family system is ruined. Who gives time to the kids?
it seems you are unaware for private health care in pakistan sir . if you have money there is best treatment avilable too . i think we better let kid decide where he want to go . i can advice him to go finland/ can/holland etc my periority is peaceful society only . i will just advice him rest its upon him .
Make sure he gets a good career and teach him your business from a young age. You seem like an intelligent and resourceful man, passing that ability on is the greatest gift you can give your son.

In our part they say aag ni aulad saji. The West have a similar concept about generational wealth.

Make him a hard working man, someone familiar with business and has a decent education - InshaAllah he will achieve more than we could imagine.

Australia:

As of 1 July 2021 the National Minimum Wage is $20.33 per hour or $772.60 per week.

House rent - 1 small 1 bed apartment in Sydney - close to city area is 450$/week or 1800 p.m.

Typical fuel & toll charges are 200-250$ per month

Car insurance 100$ per month

Phone plan (no device) 50$ per month

Phone plan with device 100$ per month

Comfortable groceries for 2 - 1000$/month - cooking at home

Eat out for single person - 1000$/month - no cooking at home all eating out/ubereats
(Mcdonalds medium meal burger 15$ average, cheap shitty dine in restaurants 1 time meal 20-25$, Ubereats for 1 time meal average 25$)

You can barely survive on minimum income. You must do over time. Or have a 2nd job. Or if your wife earns, you save money.

********************************************************************************************************

Comparing this to Pakistan would be silly. Pakistan is much cheaper. Its still common in our country that 1 person ears and feeds 2 old parents, 1 wife, 2-3 kids, that person even has to spare money for things like sister's wedding! We need a huge societal shift in our thinking. No doubt our national gdp and local production is ZERO! Much much less than rest of the world. We will always be on the loosing side if we don't make our women productive.

How much does one decent one-bed room apartment cost in Toronto? or other in the Greater Toronto area? How much rent could it fetch? Is there is possibility to get a decent home or apartment for $200,000 USD ?
Yes, it is possible to get a condo for this money in the hood. But most professional immigrants from South Asia will not prefer that. Decent condo apartments in middle class areas can be found for $500k USD :-)

PS: Please note that Toronto hood is much better than an American hood :tup:

Australia:

As of 1 July 2021 the National Minimum Wage is $20.33 per hour or $772.60 per week.

House rent - 1 small 1 bed apartment in Sydney - close to city area is 450$/week or 1800 p.m.

Typical fuel & toll charges are 200-250$ per month

Car insurance 100$

Phone plan (no device) 50$

Phone plan with device 100$

Comfortable groceries for 2 - 1000$/month - cooking at home

Eat out for single person - 1000$/month - no cooking at home all eating out/ubereats

You can barely survive on minimum income. You must do over time. Or have a 2nd job. Or if your wife earns, you save money.

********************************************************************************************************

Comparing this to Pakistan would be silly. Pakistan is much cheaper. Its still common in our country that 1 person eats and feeds 2 old parents, 1 wife, 2-3 kids, that person even has to spare money for things like sister's wedding! We need a huge societal shift in our thinking. No doubt our national gdp and local production is ZERO! Much much less than rest of the world. We will always be on the loosing side if we don't make our women productive.
WTF IS THIS 50$ main phone itny main ghareeb ka gher chal jata hai bhai yahan :P

Phone sim plan (postpaid sim what we call in Pakistan). I get 40GB data, and additional 40gb data was the promo when I got it. So total I am getting 80 gb data, free local calling and msgs. No minutes for Pakistan direct calls but everyone uses whatsapp these days. In Canada same plan would cost 100+ $! In Canada sim plans are veryyyyy expensive due to harsh weather.

1. What is the minimum wage in your country?
2. How much does an average weeks groceries cost for a normal sized family?
3. How many days would a minimum wage worker have to work to earn that money?

1. Pakistan has no concept of minimum wage, some people earn 5k rs/28$ in a month, some 10k. Daily earners (mazdoors) earn 500-1000 rupees per day.

2. What is average week's groceries? Because there is sky and earth's difference between poor, middle class and rich people groceries. The poor people just eat basic food items or only eat one time (naan and onions etc), meat is a luxury and so is eating all day. Middle class fare better. The rich people groceries I would say equal the level that people in better world (USA, UK Europe etc.) have.

3. What amount of money? It would take a poor average person in Pakistan months to earn the weekly groceries of a middle class person. It would take a middle class person months to earn the weekly groceries of rich class.

I have personally seen how even an average poor person in US lives and his diet equals that of a rich person in Pakistan. This is what's called quality of life and there is night and day difference between a poor failed state like Pak vs US for example.

It is impossible for average Pakistanis to make ends meet so they don't school their children, rather they work too from a very young age. Even seriously sick and old people work hard jobs because starvation is the choice if they don't work. Heck, that's the whole reason Pakistanis procreate and have many children so that they can help earn money and survive. When a daughter is born, it's a burden on family since it's another mouth to feed that doesn't earn any money.

Well for a family of 4, the grocery bill ( including vegetables, lentils, cooking oil and 40 kg flour etc ) cost 14 thousand PKR per month

bhai kahan se milti hain ye groceries 14k / month mei , LOL

--

we are a family of 4, our food bill for a month is 50-60K PKR per month ( and we get rice and wheat from our village )

There is a way around it, I was a contractor I had my own Corp. that use to make way over 6 figures.. I was the only worker for my corp and use to take a minimum salary so no tax + benefits + expenses to run the company. It worked out quite well..

there is nothing in GTA for 200,000 USD nothing not even in small towns may be in the country. One bed in Toronto around 550 to 600K CDN
a 3 Bed 2000 to 2500 sq/ft is around 1.5MIllion CDN.

bhai kahan se milti hain ye groceries 14k / month mei , LOL

--

we are a family of 4, our food bill for a month is 50-60K PKR per month ( and we get rice and wheat from our village )

Can you mention all the requirements in kgs/# of bags, for each item ?