Contrary to popular belief, one way time machines exist.

nope.......it depend the duration of your time travelling mean as long as you move with the or near to the speed of light theoretically you will be as deep in your future.

In actual terms time does not stop it will be you who will be a sort of confined in a particular time interval during your journey.....

Yaara ab main apni back main fire laga kar speed of light say travel karnay say tu raha or travel bhi kidhar ko karoon ga?, So - this discovery is useless

lagta hai Iranio ka asar ho gaya hai.........:omghaha:

tu na kar mere bhai travel......but it is one of the biggest dreams of mankind......:ashamed:

spaghettification would be a problem with smaller black holes since their event horizon is very close to their core but massive black holes ( though this may seem to be paradoxical ) have their event horizons far away from their cores so in case on massive black holes, the person may theoretically survive.

And yes all addition of time occurs according to outside world. in other words observer would be moving into future but not his future but into others.

You're right. I remember reading that somewhere.

I think it was "How to build a time machine", where they wrote down multiple theories on how to create a working time machine. Mostly involving Einstein-Rosen Bridges, i.e. wormholes.

Super massive black holes are interesting for this purpose, because the tidal forces are much more survivable, due to the significant distance to the singularity. So theoretical space ships are less likely to have to endure lethal levels of spaghettification.

All theories of course. Though it makes a lot of logical sense.

You're right. I remember reading that somewhere.

I think it was "How to build a time machine", where they wrote down multiple theories on how to create a working time machine. Mostly involving Einstein-Rosen Bridges, i.e. wormholes.

Super massive black holes are interesting for this purpose, because the tidal forces are much more survivable, due to the significant distance to the singularity. So theoretical space ships are less likely to have to endure lethal levels of spaghettification.

All theories of course. Though it makes a lot of logical sense.

Still doesn't satisfy my query. Would you rather strap yourself in to a theoretical device and risk erasure as opposed to sending an inanimate message to your past self?

Why are time travel theories associated solely with the human element superimposed on them? It certainly would make sense to send over a burning bush(excuse the religious connotations) than to send over a George.W. Bush. Why? Because it is presumably easier to convey digital information(akin the 'message in a bottle' impregnated within the Voyager series) than to hope for an actual biospecimen to withstand the rigors of time travel.

You're right. It makes much more sense to convey "digital information" across space-time, rather than our physical bodies.

In fact scientists today are already successfully doing experiments like quantum teleportation, so it's not that much of a stretch to imagine that data could be sent this way.

Science fiction and human discourse is obsessed with the idea of sending our bodies across space-time, because it is a much more exciting idea to think about. But in practical terms that would be extremely difficult and costly in terms of energy, even IF we had the technology. Several contemporary theories require the energy equivalent of multiple nuclear explosions just to open a small wormhole.

Whereas conveying digital information across space-time would present a much easier and infinitely more cost-effective approach.

All in theory of course.

It is commonly believed that time is a uniform entity throughout the universe. Newtonian mechanics is based on the paradigm that time is same for whole of universe and moves at a constant speed in forward direction, one of the entrenched belief that was proved wrong by Einstein in his seminal paper on special relativity which was so controversial for it's time that he was not awarded for his work on relativity.

The story begins with the curious situation that came to fore by the incompatibility of Maxwell law of electromagnetism and Newton's law of mechanics. There was an effort to bridge this gap by proposing ether theory which hold sway for close to a century before being proved wrong by Michelson–Morley experiment. The idea behind ether theory was that earth like any other celestial body was moving in an ether medium, a medium which help light waves to propagate like water allows transverse mechanical waves to propagate. The falsifiable aspect of this theory was that , if ether existed it would cause difference vis-a-vis speed of light when measured from different directions. This aspect was tested and proved wrong by Michelson–Morley in his experiment. Work over coming decades would lead to substantial revision of Newtonian mechanics which come to be known as Lorenz transformations of Galilian equation of motion.

And here comes the contribution of Einstein. Even though Lorenz transformations have existed for sometime, they were not given much importance as their theoretical underpinning was weak.They could not explain the results that they gave by application of mathematics.Einstein provided a theoretical framework and above all had a revolutionizing impact as it uprooted the very paradigm that time is same for every point in universe.For this he gave forth two postulates

1. The laws of physics are the same in all inertial frames of reference
2. The speed of light in free space has the same value c in all inertial frames of reference.

The results of Einstein theory of relativity were tested in an experiment conducted using atomic clocks over Chesapeake bay and were found to be true.

The basic derivation that explains the time dilation concept is as follows.

Imagine a large array of clocks on all three dimensions with you standing at origin. The time in your clock is 0:00. Now you want to synchronize all clocks wrt to your position so you emit a light signal in all directions. The observer at some clock receives the signal and since light signal can't travel at infinite speed, he adds the time that light has taken to travel to his station to get a proper value of time at his co-ordinate.

Now conduct a small experiment.

Imagine you are in a train moving forward with a velocity u. You conduct an experiment in which a photon is emitted by a photon emitter (whatever) and it goes up till a mirror after which it is reflected back. The height is h

now since photon travel at speed of light, time as measured by someone inside the train t' is 2h/c.

Now consider an observer who is standing on stationary platform.

To him the photon would appear to travel in a triangular path. let the total distance travelled by train during this whole event is 2l and the time measured by a fellow on ground be t.

so 2l= u.t

also by Pythagoras theorem, distance travelled by photon wrt to an stationary observer is 2.[ l[SUP]2[/SUP] + h[SUP]2[/SUP]][SUP]1/2[/SUP]

Also since speed of light is constant, distance travelled by photon would be c.t

putting the values of l and h in equation 1 and equating both equations we get

ct = 2 [ (ut/2)[SUP]2[/SUP] + (ct'/2)[SUP]2[/SUP]][SUP]1/2[/SUP]

c[SUP]2[/SUP]t[SUP]2[/SUP]= u[SUP]2[/SUP]t[SUP]2[/SUP] + c[SUP]2[/SUP]t'[SUP]2[/SUP]

t[SUP]2[/SUP]( 1- v[SUP]2[/SUP]/c[SUP]2[/SUP])= t'[SUP]2[/SUP]

t= t' / ( 1 - v[SUP]2[/SUP]/c[SUP]2[/SUP])[SUP]1/2[/SUP]

Above derivation is one of the easiest one of theory of relativity and gives some curious results

Suppose you hop in an space craft travelling at 99.8% of the speed of light ant take a tour on 10 years and then decide to return to earth retracing your path.Though only 20 years have passed on your spaceship,but how many years have passed on earth? Calculations show that 488 years would have passed on the earth during same time.

And this is not a fluke mind experiment. Time dilation is observed in atomic clock whenever they are moved from one point to another and also on GPS satellited which are nothing but miniaturized atomic clocks.

There is and another method of time travel. Parking yourself next to event horizon of a black hole after finding one massive enough to rip you apart by gravity waves. due to time and space being weaved together, time itself stops at even horizon of black hole.and if are able to return back to earth in future you would find that everything on earth has aged more than you.

I did that calculation when I was in college !!!! The main issue is the speed, atleast was in my calculation.

Time travel is BS, time is not a geographical location, where one can go and come back from.

Assume that if time travel is possible someone goes back in time and kills his parents before his birth, then how do you explain the murder of those two people? who murdered them because then that person (who travelled back in time and killed) couldn't have born?

Time travel is BS, time is not a geographical location, where one can go and come back from.

Assume that if time travel is possible someone goes back in time and kills his parents before his birth, then how do you explain the murder of those two people? who murdered them because then that person (who travelled back in time and killed) couldn't have born?

The topic is not about "going back in time".

It's about Time Dilation. Which means that from the perspective of an observer, time appears to move more slowly for the subject.

Basically it is going forward in time, just more slowly than usual.

No going back in time, and therefore no time paradoxes.

It's about Time Dilation. Which means that from the perspective of an observer, time appears to move more slowly for the subject.

Exactly. :tup:

And exactly how can that be achieved? Time itself is nothing but a measure associated with movement of celestial bodies (the sun), how do you control something which is just a concept not a tangible thing

You can achieve the same effect by cryogenically freezing yourself and thawing out after 200 years. No spaceships or black holes needed.

P.S. In case it's not evident, the atoms in your body will have aged "normally" but, as long as the biological processes are arrested, the net biological effect will be the same as time dilation.

Time itself is nothing but a measure associated with movement of celestial bodies

It's more fundamental than that: "time" is the rate at which quantum interactions unfold.

When people talk of "going forward in time", what they are really saying is that those processes have been slowed down.

Gabriel then ascended with me to the third heaven and requested that it be opened. .. and there I was with Joseph, who was given a great portion of beauty. He welcomed me and prayed for my well-being.

Why was he given great portion of beauty? Why are there seven heavens? Are there corresponding seven hells also?

Given great portion of beauty is figure of speech, means he was very handsome.

Why was he given great portion of beauty? Why are there seven heavens? Are there corresponding seven hells also?
Mistake here is that you are thinking of "Heavens" as "Paradise".
No they are different things. Heaven here is translation of the word "sky".
What is "Sky".??? Sky means a "Layer"

When u dig up the earth what do u see?
Lets say one layer of soil>>>then next layer of clay>>>then next layer of pure sand>>>then another layer of different colored soil>>>then layer of water-soaked sand>>> Just like there are "Layers" in earth, similarly space has "Layers".

7 skies(heavens) mean there are 7 layers of space. All the stars\planets are part of the just the 1st layer. Other six layers are beyond that.

So 7 heavens = 7 layers.

one way time machine....
You will never come back

A-Glock-19-gun-007.jpg