Build a Temple or a Gurudwara in place of Akbarabadi mosque:Hindu Mahasabha

Demolish Illegal Construction at Akbarabadi Mosque: HC | news.outlookindia.com

Warning against giving communal overtone to the issue of disputed structure near Jama Masjid, the Delhi High Court today permitted the ASI to demolish illegal constructions in the area to ascertain whether remains of a Mughal-era structure existed.

The court hoped that better sense will prevail over everyone and the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) will be allowed to perform its task.

Asking people not to take law onto their own hands or give "unnecessary communal overtone" to the issue, a full bench headed by Acting Chief Justice A K Sikri said they should not seek to draw their own conclusions when the court will be monitoring all aspects.

"Religion is said to be the opium of the masses.It can be both a great unifying factor, but also disruptive of social peace where in the name of a religion, extreme postures are taken.

"It is the bounden-duty of all sane members of the society to ensure that the lives of general public are not affected by posturing on matters of religion," the bench observed.

Issuing a slew of directions to ASI, New Delhi Municipal Council (NDMC) and police to ensure peace and harmony in the area, the court said, "We must note here with regret the endeavour of few miscreants who by their hostile action tend to create a surcharged atmosphere and damage public and private property."

The bench made it clear that such elements should not be allowed to go scot free.

"It is high time that such a group is made accountable both in civil law and criminal law for their misconceived actions."

The court directed the police to bring to book the miscreants, who damaged public and private property and attempted to create a communal incident at the site after the July 20 order.

The bench, also comprising justices S K Kaul and Rajiv Shakdher, asked the police to maintain vigil at the site and ensure that rumour mongering is prevented.

The bench's order came after taking cognisance of the allegation that at the instance of local MLA, a structure was built illegally near the historical monument.

The bench declined the local MLA's plea to allow people to offer prayer during the period of Ramzaan.

"At least, an elected member of the Assembly, who belongs to the ruling government and, thus, a part of the State, should not have resorted to illegal construction.

"The State has no religion. The State is bound to honour and to hold the scales even between all religions. It may not advance the cause of one religion to the detriment of another," the court observed.

"The State has to be neutral in all cases.It cannot be biased or inclined towards any sect on such a scenario," the bench observed.

While dealing with the plea of Akhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha's claim that there was a Hindu temple at the site, the court left it to the ASI to ascertain the facts.

"A claim is made that there are markings and symbols, which would show that the site was possibly a temple. These are conflicting claims and need to be verified."

"It will be open to the ASI to carry out further digging or any other activity at the site as they deem appropriate for verifying the site position and respective claims," it said.

Following purported discovery of the remains of a Mughal era structure Akbarabadi Mosque on the site near Red Fort during an ongoing work by Delhi Metro, locals led by MLA Shoaib Iqbal had begun building a mosque there earlier this month.

The NDMC had declined to grant permission to any party to carry out any religious rituals till a proper decision is taken and had warned that anybody indulging in construction was liable to prosecution as the said land belongs to the municipal body.

Yes I've 'seen' them......and if you're old enough to learn something about Indian History you could also 'see' them....
Let me explain how......
Let's take the example of the Taj Mahal.....It's obviously a beautiful structure....
Today when the Taj is standing....people are seeing it and appreciating its beauty....taking pictures, making paintings, writing about it......like this its fame is spreading throughout the world.....enhanced by the media....
NOW, When the Taj won't be there....how would people know about it without SEEING it.....will they discard its existence on the ground that its no longer there.......NO.
They'll obviously know about it by the records kept behind in the form of pictures, paintings, writings.... etc........isn't it.....
SIMILARLY, if you learn about Indian History a bit i.e if you go through the records kept behind by Great Historians, Philosophers of those times,discoveries made through excavations, ancient ruins etc...........you will be able to 'SEE' what existed then...
We've gone through these records in our History text books in school....FOR YOU, I've provided some links and recommended some books below....It's better late than never....;)

An example..........
The great Somnath Temple had been destroyed 6 times by the Islamic invaders......
In those days without media, the fame of this temple reached as far as the Middle East.....comparing this with the Taj Mahal you can only imagine its beauty....and logically conclude that its beauty was no less than the Taj...
Below is the picture of its ruins in 1869....
File:Somnath temple ruins (1869).jpg - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Fortunately, NO Islamic structure was built on the ruins of this temple so it could be restored 6 times but each with different style and architecture as you can see the ruins were beyond repair....so, one can only imagine the beauty of the temple when its fame reached far and wide throughout the globe.........
Unfortunately, the other Hindu architectures weren't so lucky......they were destroyed and Islamic structures built on them......few of the famous ones are shown below.....

Conversion of non-Muslim places of worship into mosques - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Hindu Temples – What Happened to Them(volume I&II): book by Sita Ram Goel, Arun Shourie, Harsh Narain, Jay Dubashi and Ram Swarup.......

I thought only young Pakistani fanboys talked this kind of bilge. I am glad to know that we can match them idiot by idiot.

First, there are records of the Taj Mahal, quite apart from the fact that we have seen it. I presume that you have pictures to show us even if you have no actual structures? Or is it your claim that something must have been better than the Taj, just because it was built by Hindus?

Second, you have shown a picture of a half-demolished wreck, and want us to believe that it is more beautiful than the Taj? Seriously? In Bengali, we say about this kind of self-delusion,"Kana chhele'r nam Padmalochan". Your son, even if he is blind, is lotus-eyed. Sure.

Third, on the basis of this, you think that it must have been very beautiful. On what grounds do you say this? Do you have a shred of evidence?

Fourth, all your schoolboy enthusiasm seems to have left you ill-educated. Are you aware that ancient Indian architecture could neither build an arch nor a dome? It did not have the technical capability.

There is of course no point in suggesting that you read Havell, when you are neck-deep in the writings that you have quoted. Those, incidentally, in case it has slipped your attention, were about Muslim forcible conversions of temples into mosques, NOT about architecture.

First, there are records of the Taj Mahal, quite apart from the fact that we have seen it. I presume that you have pictures to show us even if you have no actual structures? Or is it your claim that something must have been better than the Taj, just because it was built by Hindus?......

That is the point I was stressing on too....
There are records of beautiful ancient Hindu temples whose structures we see no more...
Below is the extract from the link I've already posted above....
"Soon the temple(Somnath) regained its old glory and wealth, the descriptions of which were carried to the Middle East. In particular, the accounts of the Arab Al Biruni impressed Mahmud of Ghazni. In AD 1025, Ghazni destroyed and looted the temple, killing over 50,000 people who tried to defend it. The defenders included the 90-year-old clan leader Ghogha Rana. Ghazni personally broke the gilded lingam to pieces. He took them back to his homeland and placed them in the steps leading to the newly built Jamiah Masjid, so that they would be stepped upon by those going to the mosque to pray........."

If you don't know who "Al Biruni" or "Ghazni" is, then I think I'm talking to you in vain....

Second, you have shown a picture of a half-demolished wreck, and want us to believe that it is more beautiful than the Taj? Seriously? In Bengali, we say about this kind of self-delusion,"Kana chhele'r nam Padmalochan". Your son, even if he is blind, is lotus-eyed. Sure.

Third, on the basis of this, you think that it must have been very beautiful. On what grounds do you say this? Do you have a shred of evidence?.....

I've explained everything logically....
Regarding evidence.....the best that could be done in an online debate is to provide links and suggest books......which I did....

Fourth, all your schoolboy enthusiasm seems to have left you ill-educated. Are you aware that ancient Indian architecture could neither build an arch nor a dome? It did not have the technical capability.......

I learnt what I was taught......If you don't have faith in Indian Education System.......that's not my problem......I said what I know and explained it logically with enough proof.....If you know anything different, then prove it logically like me...

And where did I say that Indians could build domes....OR do you think building domes is the ONLY way to create a beautiful structure....without domes a structure cannot be beautiful??....is this your logic??

There is of course no point in suggesting that you read Havell, when you are neck-deep in the writings that you have quoted. Those, incidentally, in case it has slipped your attention, were about Muslim forcible conversions of temples into mosques, NOT about architecture.

What....Temples are not architectures????
The link clearly states that several Hindu temples like the Somnath, Krishna Janmabhoomi,Kashi Viswanath etc were razed to the ground and Mosques(Islamic architectures) built in their places.....

At least go through the info. your opponent is providing(even if you think it is propaganda)....so that you can counter him logically...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conversion_of_non-Muslim_places_of_worship_into_mosques

Yes some illiterate Mullahs will create issue. Why are not you providing them education??

You actually need education for yourself before providing it to others :)

You are mad suggesting common place for idol worshipper and Muslims. Temple is not same as mosque or church. Hinduism and islam are two differnt religions and its insane to have one place of worship for two totally different religions

Taj Mahal Makes about 20 Crore ($3.5 Million) in ticket sales. Hardly a "sone ke anday dene wali murgi". Much more is spent on its upkeep.

well its not just about sales of ticket. Its attract many foreign tourists who spend money on travelling, foods and shopping in India

I thought only young Pakistani fanboys talked this kind of bilge. I am glad to know that we can match them idiot by idiot.

First, there are records of the Taj Mahal, quite apart from the fact that we have seen it. I presume that you have pictures to show us even if you have no actual structures? Or is it your claim that something must have been better than the Taj, just because it was built by Hindus?

Third, on the basis of this, you think that it must have been very beautiful. On what grounds do you say this? Do you have a shred of evidence?

Fourth, all your schoolboy enthusiasm seems to have left you ill-educated. Are you aware that ancient Indian architecture could neither build an arch nor a dome? It did not have the technical capability.

:lol:...........

well its not just about sales of ticket. Its attract many foreign tourists who spend money on travelling, foods and shopping in India

So you mean to say Tourists travel to India just because of Taj Mahal.. It sound similar to some nut saying people travel to China just for Great wall of China or they travel to U.K just to take a glimpse of Stonehenge ..

I have seen lots of Pakistanis think there is nothing in India except Taj.. I think it will seriously help you if you come out of your delusions..

So you mean to say Tourists travel to India just because of Taj Mahal.. It sound similar to some nut saying people travel to China just for Great wall of China or they travel to U.K just to take a glimpse of Stonehenge ..

I have seen lots of Pakistanis think there is nothing in India except Taj.. I think it will seriously help you if you come out of your delusions..

I have not said that tourists only come to see Taj Mahal , you assumed it yourself but surely Taj mahal is one of the main attraction for tourists. "Taj Mahal" is the first word which i heard from many foreigners when they were talking about India

The Taj Mahal attracts a large number of tourists. UNESCO documented more than 2 million visitors in 2001, including more than 200,000 from overseas.[43] A two tier pricing system is in place, with a significantly lower entrance fee for Indian citizens and a more expensive one for foreigners. Most tourists visit in the cooler months of October, November and February. Polluting traffic is not allowed near the complex and tourists must either walk from parking lots or catch an electric bus. The Khawasspuras (northern courtyards) are currently being restored for use as a new visitor center.[44][45]
The small town to the south of the Taj, known as Taj Ganji or Mumtazabad, was originally constructed with caravanserais, bazaars and markets to serve the needs of visitors and workmen.[46] Lists of recommended travel destinations often feature the Taj Mahal, which also appears in several listings of seven wonders of the modern world, including the recently announced New Seven Wonders of the World, a recent poll[47] with 100 million votes.
The grounds are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. weekdays, except for Friday when the complex is open for prayers at the mosque between 12 p.m. and 2 p.m. The complex is open for night viewing on the day of the full moon and two days before and after,[48] excluding Fridays and the month of Ramadan. For security reasons[49] only five items—water in transparent bottles, small video cameras, still cameras, mobile phones and small ladies' purses—are allowed inside the Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

I presume you have seen those spell-binding architectures. How old are you?

They do - in the Army. Ask Indian Army.
Perhaps you should history about the destruction of Hindu temples & other India based religions. How many temples were destroyed & sent to Muslim king's court stairs where they can come & go by putting their feet over it. Please allow me to educate you.
The Muslim conquest of the Indian subcontinent led to widespread carnage because Muslims regarded the Hindus as infidels and therefore slaughtered and converted millions of Hindus.The Mohammedan Conquest of India is probably the bloodiest story in history.The levies it had to pay were so crushing that one catastrophic harvest was enough to unleash famines and epidemics capable of killing a million people at a time. Appalling poverty was the constant counterpart of the conquerors' opulence.between the years 1000 AD and 1500 AD the population of Hindus decreased by 80 million. Even those Hindus who converted to Islam were not immune from persecution, which was illustrated by the Muslim Caste System in India as established by Ziauddin al-Barani in the Fatawa-i Jahandari. where they were regarded as "Ajlaf" caste and subjected to severe discrimination by the "Ashraf" castes.Records from the campaign recorded in the Chach Nama record temple demolitions, and mass executions of resisting Sindhi forces and the enslavement of their dependents.the great civilization fell back and Sind entered the darkest period of its history. There was a fearful outbreak of religious bigotry in several places and temples were wantonly desecrated. At Debal, the Nairun and Aror temples were demolished and converted into mosques.[Resistors] were put to death and women made captives. The Jizya was exacted with special care.[Hindus] were required to feed Muslim travellers for three days and three nights.Mahmud of Ghazni was an Afghan Sultan who invaded the Indian subcontinent during the early 11th century. His campaigns across the gangetic plains are often cited for their iconoclast plundering and destruction of temples such as those at Mathura and he looked upon their destruction as an act of "jihad".

Perhaps you should history about the destruction of Hindu temples & other India based religions. How many temples were destroyed & sent to Muslim king's court stairs where they can come & go by putting their feet over it. Please allow me to educate you.
The Muslim conquest of the Indian subcontinent led to widespread carnage because Muslims regarded the Hindus as infidels and therefore slaughtered and converted millions of Hindus.The Mohammedan Conquest of India is probably the bloodiest story in history.The levies it had to pay were so crushing that one catastrophic harvest was enough to unleash famines and epidemics capable of killing a million people at a time. Appalling poverty was the constant counterpart of the conquerors' opulence.between the years 1000 AD and 1500 AD the population of Hindus decreased by 80 million. Even those Hindus who converted to Islam were not immune from persecution, which was illustrated by the Muslim Caste System in India as established by Ziauddin al-Barani in the Fatawa-i Jahandari. where they were regarded as "Ajlaf" caste and subjected to severe discrimination by the "Ashraf" castes.Records from the campaign recorded in the Chach Nama record temple demolitions, and mass executions of resisting Sindhi forces and the enslavement of their dependents.the great civilization fell back and Sind entered the darkest period of its history. There was a fearful outbreak of religious bigotry in several places and temples were wantonly desecrated. At Debal, the Nairun and Aror temples were demolished and converted into mosques.[Resistors] were put to death and women made captives. The Jizya was exacted with special care.[Hindus] were required to feed Muslim travellers for three days and three nights.Mahmud of Ghazni was an Afghan Sultan who invaded the Indian subcontinent during the early 11th century. His campaigns across the gangetic plains are often cited for their iconoclast plundering and destruction of temples such as those at Mathura and he looked upon their destruction as an act of "jihad".

Thank you for your education. I now know what I missed in four years of study at Presidency College, and another forty years of reading history subsequently.

Eventually all mosques will be converted into temples in India, Jaay hind

Mahmud of Ghazni sacked the second Somnath Temple in 1026, and looted it of gems and precious stones and the famous Shiva lingam of the temple was destroyed. Later the temple was demolished by Mughal Emperor Aurangzeb in 1706. Muhammad Ghori committed genocide against Hindus at Kol (modern Aligarh), Kalinjar and Varanasi, according to Hasan Nizami's Taj-ul-Maasir, 20,000 Hindu prisoners were slaughtered and their heads offered to crows. Historical records compiled by Muslim historian Maulana Hakim Saiyid Abdul Hai attest to the iconoclasm of Qutb-ud-din Aybak. The first mosque built in Delhi, the "Quwwat al-Islam" was built after the demolition of the Hindu temple built previously by Prithvi Raj and certain parts of the temple were left outside the mosque proper. Another ruler of the sultanate, Shams-ud-din Iltutmish, conquered and subjugated the Hindu pilgrimage site Varanasi in the 11th century and he continued the destruction of Hindu temples and idols that had begun during the first attack in 1194.

Hindus who were forced to pay the mandatory Jizya tax were recorded as infidels in the time of Firuz Shah Tughlaq, their communities monitored and, if they violated Imperial ordinances and built temples, they were destroyed. In particular, an incident in the village of Gohana in Haryana was recorded in the "Insha-i-Mahry" (another historical record written by Amud Din Abdullah bin Mahru) where Hindus had erected a deity and were arrested, brought to the palace and executed en-masse.

The reign of Aurangzeb was particularly brutal. No aspect of Aurangzeb's reign is more cited - or more controversial - than the numerous desecrations and even the destruction of Hindu temples. Aurangzeb banned Diwali, placed a jizya (tax) on non-Muslims and martyred the ninth Sikh guru Tegh Bahadur.
During his reign, tens of thousands of temples were desecrated: their facades and interiors were defaced and their murtis (divine images) looted. In many cases, temples were destroyed entirely; in numerous instances mosques were built on their foundations, sometimes using the same stones. Among the temples Aurangzeb destroyed were two that are most sacred to Hindus, in Varanasi and Mathura. In both cases, he had large mosques built on the sites.The Kesava Deo temple in Mathura, marked the place that Hindus believe was the birth place of Shri Krishna. In 1661 Aurangzeb ordered the demolition of the temple, and constructed the Katra Masjid mosque. Traces of the ancient Hindu temple can be seen from the back of the mosque. Aurangzeb also destroyed what was the most famous temple in Varanasi- the Vishwanath Temple. The temple had changed its location over the years, but in 1585 Akbar had authorized its location at Gyan Vapi. Aurangzeb ordered its demolition in 1669 and constructed a mosque on the site, whose minarets stand 71 metres above the Ganges. Traces of the old temple can be seen behind the mosque. Centuries later, emotional debate about these wanton acts of cultural desecration continues. Aurangzeb also destroyed the Somnath temple in 1706.
Hindu nationalists claim that Mughals destroyed the Ram Mandir in Ayodhya, located at the birthplace of Rama, and built the Babri Masjid on the holy site, which has since been a source of tension between the Hindu and Muslim communities.
Writer Fernand Braudel wrote in A History of Civilizations , Islamic rule in India as a "colonial experiment" was "extremely violent", and "the Muslims could not rule the country except by systematic terror. Cruelty was the norm – burnings, summary executions, crucifixions or impalement, inventive tortures. Hindu temples were destroyed to make way for mosques. On occasion there were forced conversions. If ever there were an uprising, it was instantly and savagely repressed: houses were burned, the countryside was laid waste, men were slaughtered and women were taken as slaves."

And if anyone still dare to say that Muslims were persecuted,let them see this. We will see what they have to say after reading this. And our Muslim elders say this was the Ganga Jamuni tajeeb in Varanasi. They only destroyed our top two religious temple & other numerous temple. Still we didn't touch their religious site. Babri Mosque was built upon some type of structure. Muslim in India claim it was plain land. While 1(Muslim) of the 3 judges in high court said there was indeed a structure which was destroyed but he didn't name it. If you people still want to rant,keep it going,nothing changes. That was the only time when Hindus attacked a mosque for religious region if I am not wrong.

Not to come into the beauty contest :-)lol:) , but IMO before the majestic temple architectures in South India like Tanjavur big temple, Rameswaram Aayirangal mandapam, Madurai meenakshi Amman temple or even the Ranakpur Jain temple, Taj doesn't hold a candle.

But beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder.

Enough with these mosques no need for more terror training facilities in india.
VHP and Hindu Mahasabha must put in full efforts as this akbarbadi nonsense is a ploy by islamists to create mughalistan.