Bollywood is killing our film industry, say Pakistan’s actors

JonAsad said:
No- Lollywood is killing their own film industry, no one is interested in Kill Bill type gujjar any more

Being a gujjar myself I have to agree with you. Lollywood ruined our gujjar people's reputation.

Move the industry to karachi and give it a try

Good idea. Let the urdu speaker karachiites take control of Pakistan's movie industry like they did in the glory days of our movie industry in the 60's.

LOLLYWOOD ORIGINAL..................... BOLLYWOOD COPY

LOVE STORY (83)............................. DILWALE DULHANIA LE JAYENGE (96)

GHAR PYARA GHAR (68)......................HUM AAPKE HAIN KOUN (94)

TAQAT KE TOOFAN (89).......................KHALNAYAK (92)

EK DIN BAHU KA (82)....................................GHAR HO TO AISA (90)

BEQARAR (86)....................................DEEWANA MUJH SA NAHIN (90)

HAQ MEHR (85)....................................SANAM BEWAFA (91)

ROTI (88)....................................ROTI KI KEEMAT (90)

PYAASA (69)....................................SAAJAN (91)

LAAKHON MEIN AIK (68)....................................HENNA (91)

DUSHMANON KE DUSHMAN (89).................................... SAATHI (92)

PARWANA (84)....................................INTEHA PYAR KI (92)

ZID (91)....................................SAHIBAN (95)

KHWAB AUR ZINDAGI (77)............SAPNE SAJAN KE (92)

BEEWIAN HI BEEWIAN (82)....................................BEWAFA SE WAFA (92)

AAMNA SAAMNA (77)....................................ZINDAGI AIK JUA (92)

ANNDATA (76)....................................ZULM KI HUKUMAT (92)

SAURA TE JAWANI (80)....................................HONEYMOON (92)

DIL KISI KA DOST NAHIN (97)....................................ZID (98)

BAKHTAWAR (91)....................................SAAJAN KA GHAR (94)

DILLAGI (74)....................................MOHABBAT KI AARZOO (94)

SARGAM (96)....................................HUM DIL DE CHUKE SANAM (99)

MUTHI BHAR CHAWAL (79)....................................AIK CHADAR MAILI SI (98)

PLAYBOY (78)....................................JAB PYAR KISISE HOTA HAI (98)

BADALTEY RISHTAY (83)....................................JAWAB (96)

TADAP (1953).................................... GHAMAND (1955)

HASRAT (ྲྀ).................................... DIL EK MANDIR (ཻ)

JAAN BAHADUR (ྲྀ).......................... LAJWANTI (ཷ)

HEERA AUR PATTHAR (ོ)...................DHARTI KAHAY PUKAR KE (ཱྀ)

KHAMOSH RAHO (ོ)....................................PRABHAAT (྅)

BEWAFAA (69)....................................TOOTAY PUNKH (75)

EHSAAS (72)....................................ANAND ASHARAM (77)

CHORI MERA KAAM (78)....................................QURBANI (80)

ANMOL (73).................................... JYOTI (81)

MEHNDI LAGE MERE HAATH (80)....................................BEERA (81)

BABUL (74)....................................WOHTI HATH SUEE (76)

JAWAB DO (74)....................................NIKAH (82)

ANJAAN (70)....................................AVTAR (83) / Swarg (86)

JEERA SAEEN (77)....................................KAALIA (83)

NAUKER WOHTI DA (74)....................................NAUKER BIWI KA (83)

AJNABI (75)....................................SHEESHAY KA GHAR (84)

DUSHMAN (74)....................................BADLE KI AAG (84)

SANGDIL (82)....................................JHOOTA SUCH (84)

MAULA JAT (79)....................................JEENAY NAHIN DOONGA (84)

AINA (77)....................................PYAR JHUKTA NAHIN (85)

BAAGHI SARDAR (66)....................................MADAT (85)

BANDISH (80)....................................SAAGAR (85)

PEHCHAAN (76)....................................NAMAK (96)

BAAZI (70)....................................BANDHAN ANJAANE (85)

MEHRBANI (82)....................................ALAG ALAG (86)

LAZAWAL (84)....................................ZIDDI LARKA (86)

QURBANI (81)....................................ADKHIKAAR (85)

AANSOO (71)....................................MAZLOOM (86)

SHAHEEN (77)....................................KARMA (86)

BENAZIR QURBANI (85)....................................SWARAG SE SUNDAR (86)

INSAF KA TARAZU (83) ....................................SASTI DULHAN MEHNGA DULHA (86)
BOBBY (84)....................................DADAGIRI (87)

DEHLEEZ (83)....................................OONCHAY LOG (87)

SHER KHAN (81)....................................AAG HI AAG (87)

BAZAR E HUSN (80).................................PATI PATNI AUR TAWAIF (90)

BIWI HO TO AISI (82) ............................BIWI HO TO AISI (88)

TERE BINA KYA JEENA (82)........................HUM TO CHALE PARDES (88)

WADERA (85)....................................DHARM YUDH (88)

KEEMAT (86)....................................GUNAHON KA FAISLAH (88)

DOORIAN (84)....................................AANDHIAN (89)

FAISLA (86)....................................PAAP KI DUNIYA (89)

SALAAKHEIN (77)....................................BEGUNAH (83)

ANJUMAN (70)....................................SALMA (85)

BAAGHI QAIDI (86)....................................PALEY KHAN (87)

MANILA KI BIJLEEAN (87)....................................TEHELKA (88)

UMRAO JAAN ADA (72)....................................UMRAO JAAN ADA (78)

SEHRAY KE PHOOL (75)....................................DEEDAR E YAAR (84)

It is unfortunate.. It is fairly similar to india. some regional industries have also suffered due to bollywood. like, marathi cinema had become non existent until recently some films have come up...

But bollywood or hollywood is not to be blamed, Other cinemas are still able to keep up their clientele in india - tollywood, tamil, bengali, etc.

got to innovate or die... copying is not bad, seriously... so i guess lollywood can start copying stuff, gather momentum and sooner when money starts to me in, things will change...

It is unfortunate.. It is fairly similar to india. some regional industries have also suffered due to bollywood. like, marathi cinema had become non existent until recently some films have come up...

But bollywood or hollywood is not to be blamed, Other cinemas are still able to keep up their clientele in india - tollywood, tamil, bengali, etc.

got to innovate or die... copying is not bad, seriously... so i guess lollywood can start copying stuff, gather momentum and sooner when money starts to me in, things will change...

SURVIVAL OF THE FITTEST!

It is already killed. It was destined for this ever since it went into the hands of Illiterate producers and Kanjars.

rather than blaming bollywood .. they should rather use their eforts on good productions .. After all they have made good movies in the past. And as far as talent and money is concerned its out there .

SURVIVAL OF THE FITTEST!

It's not about fitness or talent or quality, but marketing dollars and distribution channels.

Hollywood routinely rips of Japanese and other Asian movies and makes far more money off them than the originals.

Similarly, Bollywood can make a copy of a Pakistani film withou giving credit and make millions, not because it does a better job of making it, but marketing it.

It's not about fitness or talent or quality, but marketing dollars and distribution channels.

Hollywood routinely rips of Japanese and other Asian movies and makes far more money off them than the originals.

Similarly, Bollywood can make a copy of a Pakistani film withou giving credit and make millions, not because it does a better job of making it, but marketing it.

ofcourse it is survival of the fittest.. fit means fit to operate in the market. hope u r aware of the marketing 5Ps - product, price, place, promotion and people..

get which P's lollywood is missing...

I don't totally agree with the part in bold,because we are much better at making films than pakistan.Marketing of films is a professional business in India.We are not running some small time industry here.Regional films in India are still doing well,because there is always a market for good films.So quit making excuses for poor quality work.

Similarly, Bollywood can make a copy of a Pakistani film without giving credit and make millions, not because it does a better job of making it, but marketing it.

India cannot even dream of touching our Music and TV industry though. Ours is in a completely different league.

Old but classic PTV drama.

ofcourse it is survival of the fittest..

:)

Ironic that you chose the one phrase that is discredited by evolutionary biologists and is only used by laymen. As an aside, species do not survive because they are 'fit'; they are considered 'fit' because they survive. Nature doesn't have a standard of 'fitness' and if a tiny proto-rodent survives where a mighty dinosaur couldn't, then the rodent is more 'fit'.

Of course, all of this is irrelevant to the movie debate. Bollywood, like Hollywood, is successful because it is better at selling its products. In the end, that's all that matters and, if Lollywood can increase prominence by forming an alliance with Bollywood, then so be it. As for the quality of movies, neither side has a monopoly on good or bad movies.

fit means fit to operate in the market. hope u r aware of the marketing 5Ps - product, price, place, promotion and people..

get which P's lollywood is missing...

Again, you reinforce my point. Product is only one aspect of a marketing campaign and, some would argue cynically, almost irrelevant in the right hands. A good marketer/salesman will sell ice to the Eskimos.

there is always a market for good films.So quit making excuses for poor quality work.

I claim that if you took a Pakistani film and marketed it as a Bollywood product, it would be more successful. Conversely, if any of the Bollywood movies were marketed by Lollywood, they would be flops. I will grant you that, because of the decades of languishing, the Pakistani film industry no longer has top notch talent, but that can be revived in due time, given favorable circumstances...

Buddy you missing the point.. If the new copied movie is not better than original, then who will watch that crab !!!!! instead of watching the original one.
Even if lollywood copy Bollywood the technical inefficiency will again make them unprofitable. That is the point where pakistani Film industry lacks. That is the called SURVIVAL OF FITTEST.. You copy and make better than the original..

Buddy you missing the point.. If the new copied movie is not better than original, then who will watch that crab !!!!! instead of watching the original one.

'Better' is subjective. If you talk to film critics, they are almost unanimous that the original Japanese movies by Kurasawa and others were 'better' than the Hollywood remakes.

Yet nobody, other than film buffs, even knows the original Japanese movies. The masses watch the Hollywood version because it is good enough and keeps them entertained. And Hollywood makes money. It doesn't mean Hollywood is bad -- they are providing a service that people are buying -- and the issue of 'better or worse' never comes in the picture.

In the end, like I said, it's all about marketing and distribution channels.

:)

I claim that if you took a Pakistani film and marketed it as a Bollywood product, it would be more successful. Conversely, if any of the Bollywood movies were marketed by Lollywood, they would be flops. I will grant you that, because of the decades of languishing, the Pakistani film industry no longer has top notch talent, but that can be revived in due time, given favorable circumstances...

That is because of the performance of your lollywood industry in last decades. The common people has a conception what lollywood can deliver in compared to Bollywood. and we too. So Bollywood products getting sale like HotCake..!!

Even if lollywood copy Bollywood the technical inefficiency will again make them unprofitable. That is the point where pakistani Film industry lacks. That is the called SURVIVAL OF FITTEST.. You copy and make better than the original..

The copy always sucks and can never compete with the original.

Just look at your own devdas movie the original is still classic despite known cast of the new one.

Almost all those Indian movies copied from Hollywood when come to fore that its a copy suck