Bangaldeshi Armoured Corps: MBTs

Let me make it easier for you. After Bangladesh became a sovereign nation, A lot of officers were sent to UK and a lot of British advisors came to Bangladesh to help us developing our military. Our Lancers, Cavalry has nothing to do with your lancers or cavalry. In fact they were not named after your historical units. They were named in accordance with our necessaries. The motto of these units are also different. hence The rank structure, military formations, tactics everything has to do with commonwealth.

You won't find many 7 Horse or 12 Cav in any commonwealth army.. Because most of those armies themselves were extensions or born out of the British army which didn't have same names for their regiments.

The badges and insignias are also influenced by British army. replace our water lily with a crown and you will see these units will turn into a British one.

Even your military uses insignia similar to the our insignia (which isn't similar to any British regiment or Corps) same goes for ordinance etc.

PAF, "BAF", RAF;

image.png

image.png

image.jpeg

Tri services Logos;
image.jpeg

image.png

image.jpeg

However JCO ranks have been reorganised under American influence. And we don't use Khaki in our military academy, it's olive green. wearing Khaki is also a commonwealth tradition, it's not exclusive for Pakistan army. In fact our earlier khakis were similiar to British khakis than Pakistani one.
PMA;

image.jpeg

"BMA"; "olive green".
image.jpeg

And I don't know what's the meaning of "Bangladeshi or Bengalis were never recruited in British army in general" means, but
There were 170000 Bengali soldiers in the British Indian Army during the Second World War (Source: Colonel Brian Cloughley " A History of the Pakistan Army (Second edition, page 141). It was also mentioned in Asian Foundation History of Bangladesh series.

Do you think the "Bengal Presidency" army had bengalis? Cos that would be really foolish.. Try reading Sepoy and the Raj by official British military historian "David Omissi"... Bengalis were never recruited by the British who didn't consider them a "martial race"..

THE corps symbols are also commonwealth based

http://ns2.army.mil.bd/taxonomy/term/80

Bengal presidency had Bengali soldiers if you really read "Sepoy and the Raj." but it exists only till 1857. Bengalis lost the chance to join the presidency army because of the fact that the great rebellion started in Bengal. So the trust on Bengalis was obviously questioned. The famous Marathis lost their status as martial race when they joined the 1857 rebellion. Plus how many times that martial race myth has been debunked by the Brits themselves? Plenty of times

The symbol you're showing obviously has commonwealth influence, even if you argue that
Bangladesh military has only Pakistani influence but no commonwealth traditional values, may I remind you that Pakistani military itself is a mirage of commonwealth military, thus at the end of the day it's commonwealth.

There was a Bengali regiment under British army in WW1, it was called "49th Bengalees Regiment." In WW2, Bengali pioneer units served under 14th army of Britain. There were also three thousand sailors and aviators in the Royal Indian navy and Royal flying corps. So none of the claim you're making about Bengalis didn't serve British army doesn't make any sense. 1 lakh 80 thousand Bengali soldiers and officers in WW2 isn't a joking figure.

From head to toe, Bangladeshi military is a commonwealth military.

Currently there are ten artillery brigades (9th,10th,11th,17th,19th,24th,33th, 55th, 66th
and another ad hoc unit ), two field regiment (23,40) attached to 10 infantry division located at Ramu, One Self Propelled Howitzer regiment (11 SPR artillery) attached to 11 Mechanized Infantry Division located in Bogra, One field regiment artillery (18th FRA) attached to 17 infantry division located in Syleht, One medium regiment artillery (10 MRA) and one field regiment artillery (14 FRA) attached to 33 infantry division located at Comilla. So total 10 dedicared Artillery brigade, 4 Field Regiment artillery attached with different infantry/mech infantry division, 1 Self Propelled Regiment and 1 medium regiment artillery attached with a division. Gun numbers In each division varies and it's really hard to put a roundabout figure of guns in each brigade. however the formation should be similar with commonwealth artillery corps, specially Pakistan army artillery corps

BA lacks adequate Heavy and Med Arty regiments.

The nucleus of today's Bangladesh Armoured Corps was created by Bengali officers, soldiers and technicians of 29 Cavalry (Bengal Tigers), 29 Cavalry (today the unit is simply called "Tigers") was the one and only tank regiment of Pakistan army stationed in Bangladesh during liberation war. These men defected to Bangladeshi side during the war. Later men from 29 cavalry created the first armoured regiment of Bangladesh Army, 1st Bengal Lancers. 1st Bengal Lancers were armed with some M 24 Chaffes captured during the 71 war and 30 T 54 supplied by Egypt back in 1974. Later 1st Bengal Lancers took part in 1975 & 1976 coups (75 coup killed Sheikh Mujib). 1st BL was disbanded by President Ziaur Rahman back in 1980s.

It's no surprise that Bangladeshi armour corps shares names such as "Lancers," "Horse," "Cavalry" with their bigger formidable Pakistani counterpart. These are the unit names used by commonwealth army armoured corps across the world.

135, precisely. However the number may go up and down based on the budgets & spare parts allocated for Sajoa Corps.

On topic, the current Chief Gen Bilal had headed the committee that had selected MBT-2000 to equip three regiments forming an armored brigade. This was during MUA's time. But things stalled after delivery of one regt under BAL/SHW regime. We started reports - totally unsubstantiated, that MBT-2000 used some parts manufactured by Pak HIT. Now the entire project has been scrapped claiming that this tank has certain defects not detected earlier!?!

this is BMA uniform, Oliver green. Khali has been replaced a few years ago.

how to capture screen

This is a process of de-Pakistanization. But I wish they had selected some other color. Given our complexion, which gets further browned during the the rigors of the academy's routine, another lighter color could have been selected. Although as an old timer I must say khaki is still the best.

BA lacks adequate Heavy and Med Arty regiments.

On topic, the current Chief Gen Bilal had headed the committee that had selected MBT-2000 to equip three regiments forming an armored brigade. This was during MUA's time. But things stalled after delivery of one regt under BAL/SHW regime. We started reports - totally unsubstantiated, that MBT-2000 used some parts manufactured by Pak HIT. Now the entire project has been scrapped claiming that this tank has certain defects not detected earlier!?!

This is a process of de-Pakistanization. But I wish they had selected some other color. Given our complexion, which gets further browned during the the rigors of the academy's routine, another lighter color could have been selected. Although as an old timer I must say khaki is still the best.

There's no issue with MBT-2000. Problems with MBT-2000 is a rumor which is not willing to die, it was spreaded by someone online and has been repeated again and again.

However MBT-2000 was not selected with proper procedures. It was tested in Chinese ground, that too was a few days trials. Not an evaluation. We should have brought the tank to Bangladesh and tested it here. It was bought purely from economic prospective, otherwise who would want to get a downgraded Type 90II?

Our K-8W IJTs also have parts made of PAC. BAF still buys drop tanks from PAC for BG & BG1, so Pakistani originated equipments really isn't an issue for Awami League. In fact the data system of MBT-2000 (Rahbar) was bought from Pakistan, that too under PM's notice.

Back in 2010 during the 4th armour corps reunion and national standard awarding ceremony of 9th Bengal Lancers, it was mentioned in the invited speech released from Gonovobon that the government is planning to create two new tank regiments for armour corps, this is now 2016 and that plan is still going on. At the end of the day budget is the main problem.

About Khaki, I still like the British one. It has a unique class, can make anyone a gentleman.

You won't find many 7 Horse or 12 Cav in any commonwealth army.. Because most of those armies themselves were extensions or born out of the British army which didn't have same names for their regiments.

Even your military uses insignia similar to the our insignia (which isn't similar to any British regiment or Corps) same goes for ordinance etc.

PAF, "BAF", RAF;

View attachment 320341

View attachment 320342

View attachment 320343

Tri services Logos;
View attachment 320346

View attachment 320347

View attachment 320348

PMA;

View attachment 320350

"BMA"; "olive green".
View attachment 320349

Do you think the "Bengal Presidency" army had bengalis? Cos that would be really foolish.. Try reading Sepoy and the Raj by official British military historian "David Omissi"... Bengalis were never recruited by the British who didn't consider them a "martial race"..
Good post by you but here is where you are wrong. Bengalis have been downplayed as a weak link race since the bengal mutiny during British raj. That propaganda was enough for Pakistanis to believe when Pakistan was formed. Bengalis were in British army long time.

Bengal presidency had Bengali soldiers if you really read "Sepoy and the Raj." but it exists only till 1857. Bengalis lost the chance to join the presidency army because of the fact that the great rebellion started in Bengal. So the trust on Bengalis was obviously questioned. The famous Marathis lost their status as martial race when they joined the 1857 rebellion. Plus how many times that martial race myth has been debunked by the Brits themselves? Plenty of times

The symbol you're showing obviously has commonwealth influence, even if you argue that
Bangladesh military has only Pakistani influence but no commonwealth traditional values, may I remind you that Pakistani military itself is a mirage of commonwealth military, thus at the end of the day it's commonwealth.

There was a Bengali regiment under British army in WW1, it was called "49th Bengalees Regiment." In WW2, Bengali pioneer units served under 14th army of Britain. There were also three thousand sailors and aviators in the Royal Indian navy and Royal flying corps. So none of the claim you're making about Bengalis didn't serve British army doesn't make any sense. 1 lakh 80 thousand Bengali soldiers and officers in WW2 isn't a joking figure.

@DESERT FIGHTER

There's no issue with MBT-2000. Problems with MBT-2000 is a rumor which is not willing to die, it was spreaded by someone online and has been repeated again and again.

However MBT-2000 was not selected with proper procedures. It was tested in Chinese ground, that too was a few days trials. Not an evaluation. We should have brought the tank to Bangladesh and tested it here. It was bought purely from economic prospective, otherwise who would want to get a downgraded Type 90II?

Our K-8W IJTs also have parts made of PAC. BAF still buys drop tanks from PAC for BG & BG1, so Pakistani originated equipments really isn't an issue for Awami League. In fact the data system of MBT-2000 (Rahbar) was bought from Pakistan, that too under PM's notice.

Back in 2010 during the 4th armour corps reunion and national standard awarding ceremony of 9th Bengal Lancers, it was mentioned in the invited speech released from Gonovobon that the government is planning to create two new tank regiments for armour corps, this is now 2016 and that plan is still going on. At the end of the day budget is the main problem.

About Khaki, I still like the British one. It has a unique class, can make anyone a gentleman.

Shhhhh!!! The Dhaka-Delhi Syndicate will hear this.

I just gave a few examples above.

Nope .. Sepoy and the Raj gives details of British recruitment policies down to company level .... The Bengalis were never recruited and the Bengal presidency itself was composed of troops from Awadh state ... Mostly Biharis,Brahmins,Rajputs,Panjabis,Nepalis and Pashtun soldiers of the Sultan.
There were many other ethnic groups that were not part of the rebellion and even before them whose recruitment was stopped because of lack of discipline,Unwarlike qualities etc .. People like Coorgs or Nairs from south India whose recruitment was stopped because they werent considered good soldiers..

The British implemented the same martial theory among themselves aswell.. The scots were recruited because of their warlike nature etc.

Meanwhile you will find several examples of Panjabi & Pashtun mutinees even during 1857 aswell as during WWI at Singapore where the FF & Panjabi regiments mutineed and massacred their British officers when they were ordered to fight Ottomans and yet the recruitment never stop and rather it as boosted.
Don't get it wrong .. I'm not denying the commonwealth "influence" on Pak military because at the end of the day Pak military itself was formed of British military.. Although the we changed a lot of stuff with time be it the olive green uniform or many other traditions .. The traditions that we changed or created find their way in today's Bangladeshi military which itself was formed from Pak military .. Your officers who raised your military were all trained at Pak military institutions and its natural that they formed or copied the same style when raising the modern Bangladeshi military.

Again you think that those regiments had bangalis because of their names ?:lol:

Do you know Sepoy Khudadad Khan (he was a Panjabi from modern day Pak) was the first VC recipient from South Asia ? Which unit he belonged to ? He belonged to a "Baluch regiment" which comprised of not even 5% Baluch rather was composed of Panjabis and Pashtuns .. Despite Baloch being encouraged for recruitment not many turned up .. The local states of Balochistan retained the right to keep armies and recruitment for th British was frowned upon.

I can post compositions of the so called "bengalee" regiments and the tall claims of 1 lac 80,000 Bengalis serving in British army... (With British sources and data).. Can you prove otherwise?
image.jpeg

Which in reality has no link to the real commonwealth army.

Rahbar isn't a data system it's an IMBS - integrated battle management system .. Com system among other units/tanks & command and control system ,real time data transmission,topography & geographical awareness,real time UAV connectivity etc are its main features.

As for Type-90II.. You seem to have no knowledge about the MBT-2000.

MBT-2000 is the export version of AK.. It was born after the Chinese offered Type-90IIM venture to Pakistan in the 90s which failed short of our requirement .. However the under development tank became the basis of the AK.

Several variants were tested and produced at HIT.. Including one one powered by Condor engine,RM gun etc and others with Chinese subsystems...

AK was chosen for production featuring a mix of Pak systems like gun,era,NBC,NERA,Laser warning and detection systems,fire suppression and detection systems,laser disruption system,EMP for blinding enemy tanks,Rahbar IBMS,Sagem and Catherine sights,Hunter Killer (the same used on Lecrec),SESSM transmission,RCS and a 1200 HP Ukrainian Engine,upgraded Varta I APS etc.

Meanwhile it later gave birth to a more affordable system lacking several important features like the IMBS,Hunter Killer etc and other systems replaced by Chinese systems .. Marketed jointly by HIT & Norinco.. The high end was the MBT-2000 and the lower end became the VT-1A.

P.S; Today AK-II is in service (which is an upgrade of AK-- its claimed to be the most weaponised per ton tank in the world).. While AK-III is under development featuring a 1500 Ho engine,new turret and other major upgrades.

The khaki itself originated in modern day Pak .. First used by Guides - which today is Guides Cavalry of Pakistan Army.

33rd Panjab Regiment (again part of Pak army)
image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Today it is a ceremonial uniform replaced by the Multicam in field;
image.jpeg

Meanwhile the Olive Green itself is used only
For ceremonial purposes lik Guard of Honor;
image.jpeg

Northern Light Infantry -- that Beret is unique only to the NLI and worn by other other military unit in the world.

Khaki was first worn in the Corps of Guides that was raised in December 1846 as the brain-child of Sir Henry Lawrence (1806–1857) Resident at Lahore, and Agent to the Governor-General for the North-West Frontier. Lawrence chose as its commandant Sir Harry Lumsden supported by William Stephen Raikes Hodson as Second-in-Command to begin the process of raising the Corps of Guides for frontier service from British Indian recruits at Peshawar, Punjab.

Initially the border troops were dressed in their native costume, which consisted of a smock and white pajama trousers made of a coarse home-spun cotton, and a cotton turban, supplemented by a leather or padded cotton jacket for cold weather. For the first year (1847) no attempt was made at uniformity. Subsequently in 1848 Lumsden and Hodson decided to introduce a drab (khaki) uniform[4]which Hodson commissioned his brother in England to send them – as recorded in Hodson's book of published letters, Twelve Years of a Soldier's Life in India.[2]

It was only at a later date, when supplies of drab (khaki) material was unavailable, did they improvise by dying material locally with a dye prepared from the native mazari palm. Some believe the gray drab/khaki color it produced was used historically by Afghan tribals for camouflaging themselves. The mazari could not, however, dye leather jackets and an alternative was sought: Cloth was dyed in mulberry juice which gave a yellowish drab shade.[5]:537–539 Subsequently all regiments, whether British or Indian, serving in the region had adopted khaki uniforms for active service and summer dress. The original khaki fabric was a closely twilled cloth of linen or cotton.

I just gave a few examples above.

Nope .. Sepoy and the Raj gives details of British recruitment policies down to company level .... The Bengalis were never recruited and the Bengal presidency itself was composed of troops from Awadh state ... Mostly Biharis,Brahmins,Rajputs and Pashtun soldiers of the Sultan.
There were many other ethnic groups that were not part of the rebellion and even before them whose recruitment was stopped because of lack of discipline,Unwarlike qualities etc .. People like Coorgs or Nairs from south India whose recruitment was stopped because they were good soldiers..

The British implemented the same martial theory among themselves aswell.. The scots were recruited because of their warlike nature etc.

Meanwhile you will find several examples of Panjabi & Pashtun mutinees even during 1857 aswell as during WWI at Singapore where the FF & Panjabi regiments mutineed and massacred their British officers when they were ordered to fight Ottomans and yet the recruitment never stop and rather it as boosted.

Don't get it wrong .. I'm not denying the commonwealth "influence" on Pak military because at the end of the day Pak military itself was formed of British military.. Although the we changed a lot of stuff with time be it the olive green uniform or many other traditions .. The traditions that we changed or created find their way in today's Bangladeshi military which itself was formed from Pak military .. Your officers who raised your military were all trained at Pak military institutions and its natural that they formed or copied the same style when raising the modern Bangladeshi military.

Again you think that those regiments had bangalis because of their names ?:lol:

Do you know Sepoy Khudadad Khan was the first VC recipient from South Asia ? Which unit he belonged to ? He belonged to a "Baluch regiment" which comprised of not even 5% Baluch rather was composed of Panjabis and Pashtuns .. Despite Baloch being encouraged for recruitment not many turned up .. The local states of Balochistan retained the right to keep armies and recruitment for th British was frowned upon.

I can post compositions of the so called "bengalee" regiments and the tall claims of 1 lac 80,000 Bengalis serving in British army... (With British sources and data).. Can you prove otherwise?

Which in reality has no link to the real commonwealth army.

49th Bengalees were the only regiment during WW1 to have composed of completely Bengali soldiers. Please google yourself before throwing another assumption. The Indian pioneer corps also had Bengali units, by Bengali means Bengalis. Not X, Y,Z Bengal units. There's a friggin reason why they were called 49th Bengalee regiment/Bangla Paltan instead of 49th Bengal regiment.

And kindly learn to understand first before throwing another assumption.
The British themselves recorded that 1 lakh plus
ethnic Bengali soldiers faught for their side, they're not counting how many soldiers of Bengal army faught for England.

And this isnt what I think just by the name "Bengal." The Brits recorded these datas themselves. Many Bengalis also served different Indian regiments during the war, these are recorded actions by the Brits themselves.

Your logic is really poor. First you were claiming Bengalis never served under British army, than you brought Bengal army which was absorbed in the British Indian army and again you claim that 49th Bengalees had nothing to do with Bengalis( our national poet served in that unit). You're also talking about original commonwealth army (wtf is that?) which isn't making any sense at all.

Commonwealth militaries are those militaries whose countries were or still are under British rules, influenced largely by Britain from tradition to military and still has cultural ties with britian. Most of the brilliant officers of Bangladesh army from 1980s are graduates of Sandhurst and BMA, PMA generation ended a long time ago.

Seriously man, your logic is terrible.

and yes IMBS is a data system. IBMS integrate datas and put them together for combat management, thus it's a data system.

Bangladeshi MBT 2000 is a downgraded Type 90II, I repeat. The Chinese have downgraded the whole tank for export purpose, making it weaker than the original Type 90IIM proposed for Pakistan. Go and talk with a Sajoa Corps officer, they'll give you a better reply.

I think, the Burmese terrain is wet, marshy, hilly and full of trees-not that suitable formovemet of heavy tanks there. In case of border with India, NE, SE & SW are all unfit for MBT movement. I understand, it is fit only in the terrain surrounding BD's NW and probably Tripura..

For the similar reasons, Indian or Burmese MBTs are almost incapable to stage a heavy tank attack inside BD terrain. Their tanks will bog down in our marsh land full of ponds and wet paddy lands.

The Japanese used light tanks in jungle warfare very effectively.

In precisely the territory mentioned. I suggest you young gentlemen read up on the campaigns in Burma/Myanmar and the present-day Manipur and Nagaland, especially the climactic battles of Kohima and Imphal.

49th Bengalees were the only regiment during WW1 to have composed of completely Bengali soldiers. Please google yourself before throwing another assumption. The Indian pioneer corps also had Bengali units, by Bengali means Bengalis. Not X, Y,Z Bengal units. There's a friggin reason why they were called 49th Bengalee regiment/Bangla Paltan instead of 49th Bengal regiment.
Thanks for the correction 49th was the first and only Bengali regiment and was disbanded in 1920.

The other Bengalis served in "Ambulances services".
And kindly learn to understand first before throwing another assumption.
The British themselves recorded that 1 lakh plus
ethnic Bengali soldiers faught for their side, they're not counting how many soldiers of Bengal army faught for England
.can you provide a link for that?

And this isnt what I think just by the name "Bengal." The Brits recorded these datas themselves. Many Bengalis also served different Indian regiments during the war, these are recorded actions by the Brits themselves.

Your logic is really poor. First you were claiming Bengalis never served under British army, than you brought Bengal army which was absorbed in the British Indian army and again you claim that 49th Bengalees had nothing to do with Bengalis( our national poet served in that unit). You're also talking about original commonwealth army (wtf is that?) which isn't making any sense at all.

Sire didn't I just provide you a link regarding composition of so called Bengal army which was recruited from Awadh,Bihar,Panjab,Nepal etc?
image.jpeg

Here is a link -- the author is a Bangladeshi army officer ;

http://www.thedailystar.net/contribution-of-bengalis-in-ww1-55959

Indian generals waited till December in 1971 for reasons other than that you have cited. They waited until December because it would disallow a Chinese advance through the snow capped Himalayan passes.

Even then IA did not bring in their heavy tanks. But, even the 15t mini tanks could not advance, they bogged down in the clayee irrigated lands of BD..

You might like to check for yourself when the Chinese attacked in 1962. And where. This was quoted as a reason, but it is difficult to believe that people of the level of Jake Jacob wouldn't have remembered that most of the battles with the Chinese were fought in October and November.

December was chosen for three reasons, one of them certainly being the greater difficulties for the Chinese to make any supportive moves.

And will the BA airlift and drop these tanks across the border?

No.

Horsemen riding white Arab stallions will descend and pull along those tanks.

It's been done before.

Your pictures do not show the reality unless the heavy tanks were air-lifted at a later time and photographs were taken that were shown to Indian public for publicity. Do not be silly to speak loudly that your T-55s can swim over even our small
rivers, let alone our mighty rivers.

So, be happy with the photographs which were meant to feed the appetite of ignorant like you.

You are really ignorant, aren't you?

Thanks for the correction 49th was the first and only Bengali regiment and was disbanded in 1920.

The other Bengalis served in "Ambulances services".

.can you provide a link for that?

Sire didn't I just provide you a link regarding composition of so called Bengal army which was recruited from Awadh,Bihar,Panjab,Nepal etc?
View attachment 320562
Here is a link -- the author is a Bangladeshi army officer ;

http://www.thedailystar.net/contribution-of-bengalis-in-ww1-55959

Why are you talking about a unit that was absorbed as a command? You're continuesly jumping from Companies Bengal Army to Brtish Army.

Quotes from Origins of the Bangladesh Army (Book): British historian Andrew Mollo gave the following percentage in his book 'The Armed Forces of World War II : Punjab 50 %, United Provinces 15 %, Madras 10 %, Bombay 10%, NW Frontier Province 5 %, Ajmere and Merwara 3%, Bengal 2% and Central Provinces 5%."

There were 170000 Bengali soldiers in the British Indian Army during the Second World War (Source: Colonel Brian Cloughley " A History of the Pakistan Army (Second edition, page 141). It was also mentioned in Asian Foundation History of Bangladesh series.

Buy those books and read.Dont ask for a link.