Atheists Rise in India while Fall in Pakistan

Westerners did a microscopic study of the Indic literature back in the reformation days.

The western thought system largely relies on borrowings made from Hindu philosophy.

Yaara mai aur tu bhi kuch batein vedon se glean kar saktein hain..in a few months or years..but that is hardly termed as understanding the text itself. :tup:

In Hinduism believers and non believers have equal places and both have equal opportunities to meet/ reach the supreme soul. There no definite or ONLY defined method to gain higher grounds on spirituality.

It's been surviving for thousands of years. Faith and devotion are the two main ingredients not submission or fear of wrath of supreme-power..

So if some one have to worry ... those must be people believing Abrahamic religions.

He got claps for it, respect too. But respect from goras sans understanding of what is actually being propounded would have scarcely elated the revered Swami. He probably never thought about it a second time for the rest of his life.

You are right. He was talking about a very complex philosophy which is too hard to understand for anybody.

Yaara mai aur tu bhi kuch batein vedon se glean kar saktein hain..in a few months or years..but that is hardly termed as understanding the text itself. :tup:

The effect of their stupidity is felt around the world today and will continue for a long long time.

It is important to discuss in that context.

I think those 6% were JOBLESS,,,, bharosa uth gaya hai becharon ka ,,,

They still call themselves Hindus and are Hindus.

Hindu is a person who loves India as a Mother and culturally Indic.

The Western Universalism and its stupid -isms may show a different picture, but they do not make a difference on the ground!

That's why most Hindus don't follow Upanishads and Vedas but worship fantastic idols.

All well and good. But let us not discard what we knew of Karma and kal..causality is scientific as anything gets and that is Kal and karma...let us preserve that..that is the true identity of a Hindu from where his Dharma springs. Beyond that good news for an "atheist" like me.

Absolutely agreed. I was born Hindu too, and I like to celebrate festivals like Holi, Diwali, and identify myself as a proud Hindu by birth. But it ticks me ff when politicians try to use religions (all religions, not just Hinduism) to justify their backward thinking and agendas.

Bhai netaon ki baat na kar. The less said the batter..lets have a havan to bring down the rains..forget the fact that we, Hindus, were building river diversion projects 2000 years ago for agriculture.:hitwall:

What would be the reason for Indians to become more atheists? Does economic boom has a role behind this?
Repetitive Congress Aka UPA Government for 2 Terms ... they have lost all hope in God... :omghaha:

If Kangress Wins 3rd term it would rise to 100% atheism in India by 2014... :laughcry:

But wasnt the break up was that 80% say they are religious?

Atheism is rising..not dominant. That is obviously only applicable if one conflates a simple absence of belief in organized religion with atheism. If one were to grant that then what this report is stating is that the percentage proportion of people who do not believe in any organized religion has arisen in India. A good development over all.

What would be the reason for Indians to become more atheists? Does economic boom has a role behind this?

81 % say they are religious which means they are either majority followers of Hindu gods and among them meager number of those who follow their faith's gods.

only 6% more this year say they are ethiests. now its funny many Hindus here claim they ehthiests and at the same time also worship hindu gods. now if its new breed of ethiests then well oh we are also ethiests :P

Awsome.. Good to see my community is on the rise. I am a born Sikh but practicing Atheism. I believe every human is equal. I dont see any black, Dalit, Hindu, christian, Muslim etc. We are all Indians. Atheism FTW