8 maoists killed,three arrested and cache of arms recovered

Aimar

16th Jan 2010

MIDNAPORE: At least eight Maoists have been shot dead and several others injured in an encounter between the rebels and joint forces in the Maoist affected West Midnapore district of West Bengal.

The exchange of fire at Ranja forest near Lalgarh, around 30 km from district headquarter Midnapore town in West Bengal, was still underway when reports last came in. West Midnapore superintendant of police Manoj Verma said there were three women among the eight dead and believed the toll could rise as several others, including top Maoist leaders, could have been seriously wounded.

"Eight bodies have been recovered by the police after daybreak. We have also seized a cache of arms that include an AK 47 assault rifle, an SLR, some pistols and ammunition," he said. Police believe the arms and ammunition were among those looted from police armoury in the past.

According to Verma, Maoists have been active in the area between Lalgarh and Salboni for quite some time. Police had information that a large number of rebels had gathered in the Ranja forest. They received more specific information about their movement after interrogating 13 persons from a nearby village on Tuesday. Apart from 10 members of People's Committee against Police Atrocities, a resistance group that has since turned into an armed militia, three persons from Kolkata — a scientist, a college teacher and a writer — were also arrested. All of them have been labelled as Maoist sympathisers.

Eight Maoists killed in police encounter in West Bengal - India - The Times of India

PATNA: Activists of the Communist Party of India (Maoist) set ablaze a railway station and a bank in Bihar late on Monday night to enforce their 48-hour shutdown against the arrest of two of their comrades.

Around 100 rebels also attacked the Rohtas police station and a camp of the Special Auxiliary Police, only to be repulsed by the Gorkha battalion stationed there, DGP Neelmani said.

Railway officials said the Maoists torched the Ismailpur station in Gaya district, throwing services out of gear.

What is surprising is that these kind of activities are considered major attacks of terror when they happen in Pakistan.. Indian members here seem to be mum about Maoists till they kill one or two of them.

It's about time you 'felt' the threat no ?

hey dude there is a sticky thread about maoist put it there!! thanks.

good to see that we have started taking out maoists.

What is surprising is that these kind of activities are considered major attacks of terror when they happen in Pakistan.. Indian members here seem to be mum about Maoists till they kill one or two of them.

It's about time you 'felt' the threat no ?

You are right the attacks that we consider it major when it happen in pakistan...actually you are right we should not consider it a major strikes when it hapens in pakistan..what happens in India are serious one becuase its not that common like in pakistan...about the threat...dont compare the threat of Maoist to India withthe threat you face in your country.

P. Chidambaram:- Mere pass Army hai, Airforce hai CRPF hai, Tumhare pass kya hai??

Naxalties:- Humare pass, Humare pass MA-O hai..:sniper:

P. Chidambaram:- Mere pass Army hai, Airforce hai CRPF hai, Tumhare pass kya hai??

Naxalties:- Humare pass, Humare pass MA-O hai..:sniper:

th_ROFLMAO.gif

they killed so many Indians and god know how many they can kill in future

just 8

i want all the rats rest in hell

they killed so many Indians and god know how many they can kill in future

just 8

i want all the rats rest in hell

Dude, this is not Sri Lanka. Its India. You cannot do that to your own people. It will have severe repercussions. We will be in civil war if that happens. Look at South America, they are fighting this insurgencies from as long as i remember. The world is watching us. Look how much bad PR Sri Lanka has got for the war.

You can kill all of them but can you kill their ideology? Maosits are not the enemy, its the ideology that fosters them.+(Mamta Banerjee ):rolleyes:

However, the approach of Indian Government is best at this moment. Talk and resolve. They are not asking for separate state or country, all they want is somebody to listen to them.

Agreed, we have lost civilians. But who's at fault. They? i guess no. First hear them fulfill their reasonable demands and then see the results.

P.S. I am not a Pro-Mao. I simply hate and disgust what they r doing.

Dude, this is not Sri Lanka. Its India. You cannot do that to your own people. It will have severe repercussions. We will be in civil war if that happens. Look at South America, they are fighting this insurgencies from as long as i remember. The world is watching us. Look how much bad PR Sri Lanka has got for the war.

You can kill all of them but can you kill their ideology? Maosits are not the enemy, its the ideology that fosters them.+(Mamta Banerjee ):rolleyes:

However, the approach of Indian Government is best at this moment. Talk and resolve. They are not asking for separate state or country, all they want is somebody to listen to them.

Agreed, we have lost civilians. But who's at fault. They? i guess no. First hear them fulfill their reasonable demands and then see the results.

P.S. I am not a Pro-Mao. I simply hate and disgust what they r doing.

That will never work , people died , in the thousands

Someone has to be held accountable , talk to moderates , i know they exist.

But you can't really expect to forgive all those murders do you.

Our stand with the maoists is simple , Put down your arms and enter negotiations.

Or be obliterated , if not now sometime in the future.

They are in the spotlight and every attack will make the latter reality.

But viewing the Maoists as a singular group is a mistake , you have to have a different approach to every region.

That is why GoI is trying all possible alternatives at one , only thing they have not done is send in the army.

Give me the official number of people killed by maosits an compare it with people died in 2005 Monsoon Crisis in mumbai, road accidents and lack of healthcare.

How many times have we forgiven our neighbors and r still ready to.
Using army is an option but not now at later stage.

Maosits are not the enemy. Its ideology of theirs. Yes but it does make sense to elimnate them.

Give me the official number of people killed by maosits an compare it with people died in 2005 Monsoon Crisis in mumbai, road accidents and lack of healthcare.

How many times have we forgiven our neighbors and r still ready to.
Using army is an option but not now at later stage.

You have me there , i can't argue with that.

But it's still not right.

Maosits are not the enemy. Its ideology of theirs. Yes but it does make sense to elimnate them.

I am not saying we should , but as long as they hold a gun they are combatants and it's either kill or be killed.

It's not as if we haven't offered them talks and such , but they never lived up their end.

I don't want the army running around central India shooting people any more then you.

I have always said the Army is not the police and should not be expected to behave as such.

But we are running out of options and every new attack , pushes us towards that decision.

In the short term there will be collateral damage , it will be bad.
But long term it will help us.

You have to be pragmatic about what can be done

That will never work , people died , in the thousands

Someone has to be held accountable , talk to moderates , i know they exist.

But you can't really expect to forgive all those murders do you.

Our stand with the maoists is simple , Put down your arms and enter negotiations.

Or be obliterated , if not now sometime in the future.

They are in the spotlight and every attack will make the latter reality.

But viewing the Maoists as a singular group is a mistake , you have to have a different approach to every region.

That is why GoI is trying all possible alternatives at one , only thing they have not done is send in the army.

Bro, to create even the slightest chance of success for talks, it is important that GoI negotiates from a position of strength. For that to happen, it is important that first telling casualities are inflicted on these chaos drunk goondas.

Most of the support will fall off with the initial strikes on their goonda base and over time the movement will be a lot more amenable to talks.

Hence, first it is important to set in the fear of god in these murderers. Fear will do most of the job for the moderates to come around.

That said, any trust by GoI needs to be earned and this neglect of the tribals need to stop. We better get our act together in that region. We will surely not get another chance there after this one.

You have me there , i can't argue with that.

But it's still not right.

I am not saying we should , but as long as they hold a gun they are combatants and it's either kill or be killed.

It's not as if we haven't offered them talks and such , but they never lived up their end.

I don't want the army running around central India shooting people any more then you.

I have always said the Army is not the police and should not be expected to behave as such.

But we are running out of options and every new attack , pushes us towards that decision.

In the short term there will be collateral damage , it will be bad.
But long term it will help us.

You have to be pragmatic about what can be done

Agreed. I always enjoy ur posts man.
The country which has withstood enormous sacrifices/relinquish for 5000 years will also absorb this. :thinktank::toast_sign: