25-year-old scientist from Peshawar took part in discovery of gravitational waves

Devil Soul

25-year-old scientist from Peshawar took part in discovery of gravitational waves
By News Desk
Published: February 15, 2016
1047193-SCIENTIST-1455513410-491-640x480.jpg

Imran Khan PHOTO: FAST NUCES

After Pakistan-born scientist Dr Nergis Mavalvala made waves for being a member of the team of scientists that announced on Thursday the scientific milestone of detecting gravitational waves, ripples in space and time hypothesised by physicist Albert Einstein a century ago, it has emerged another Pakistani was also part of the team.

Imran Khan from Peshawar has been known to have worked with a team of scientists at Laser Interferometer Gravitational-wave Observatory (LIGO) that recorded gravitational waves for the first time in history.

FAST NUCES
on Saturday
Mr Imran Khan a PHD scholar in Italy and a Graduate of FAST Peshawar is the 2nd Pakistani that worked with a team of Scientist and Engineers at LIGO that recorded Gravitational Waves First time in history of Mankind.
Indeed a great News for FAST and Pakistan

Pakistan-born scientist played part in discovery of gravitational waves

Among the 1,004 researchers from 133 scientific institutions all over the world, the GSSI contributed to the scientific breakthrough with eight researchers, including some of the youngest coauthors of the Physical Review Letters paper. “The ‘discovery of the century’, as it is already called, has also the signature of the GSSI, which contributed with 8 coauthors, six of which are young researchers from Italy, China, India and Pakistan,” the GSSI said.

The detection, announced on Thursday, confirms a major prediction of Albert Einstein’s 1915 general theory of relativity and opens an unprecedented new window onto the cosmos.

Pakistan-born scientist Professor Mavalvala worked with researchers at the US-based underground detectors Laser Interferometer Gravitational-wave Observatory (LIGO) Laboratory to build sophisticated sensors to detect gravitational ripples created from the collision of two black holes some 1.3 billion years ago and had been hurtling through space to reach Earth on September 14, 2015.

Scientists glimpse Einstein’s gravitational waves

Dr Mavalvala, 47, was born to a Parsi family in Karachi where she did her primary schooling.

During her graduation at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) she started working on gravitational waves – which would lead her to one of the biggest discoveries of the century. But the tale was not so simple.

In essence, her work on gravitational waves has spanned for over 20 years leading up to the discovery.

“The big picture mission drives you. When you work in the lab, [it’s like] you bang your head against the wall for weeks at a time, working on a state-of-the-art circuit, for example,” Mavalvala told MIT’s site in 2014. “Yet this is what enables scientific discovery, when the smaller to bigger pieces of experiments succeed, when the whole thing does what it is supposed to, and then you hope nature gives you the event you’ve been waiting for.”

Kudos to this gem, however it is unfortunate that we being a country of 180 million have only 2 scientists participating in this path making project.

Pakistani origin Americans are doing great w.r.t education. It is really great to see more and more of them pursuing education and achieving new heights in the field of science and technology.

P.S I know this Pakistani origin scientist was from Italy.

Wow first a Parsi cousin of ours and now I discover a Pashtun was also involved! Physics seems to be dominated by us Iranic origin peoples :lol: :victory:

Awesome news:pakistan:

Kya pata aur bhi hon :azn:
Lets hope so.

Awesome news:pakistan:

Kya pata aur bhi hon :azn:
Let us hope so

Wow first a Parsi cousin of ours and now I discover a Pashtun was also involved! Physics seems to be dominated by us Iranic origin peoples :lol: :victory:
How can you be certain that he is pashtun, just because he has khan attached to his name and comes from kpk does not necessarily mean he is a pashtun, anyway irrespective of his ethnicity (pashtun/non pashtun) the chap is a authentic scientist.kudos

Lets hope so.

Let us hope so

How can you be certain that he is pashtun, just because he has khan attached to his name and comes from kpk does not necessarily mean he is a pashtun, anyway irrespective of his ethnicity (pashtun/non pashtun) the chap is a authentic scientist.kudos

Why don't you ask him yourself if my comment about Pashtuns gives you such butt-hurt? Imran Khan | Facebook

He doesn't come from KPK he comes from Quetta btw

Why don't you ask him yourself if my comment about Pashtuns gives you such butt-hurt? Imran Khan | Facebook

Since you bought ethnicity into the discussion, I asked a perfectly legitimate question, why the hyper sensitivity or in simple terms why are you so "butt-hurt"?:p:P:p:P:p:P

I intended my comment as a celebration among those of us who are of Iranic origin, God knows we've been given precious little to celebrate in the past few decades. It seems we're to be denied that as well!

If someone told you he was Pakistani, would you ask to check their passport to make sure? If someone in the street pointed out someone else and said they were a Pashtun would you say, "I demand proof!"? The whole thing is ridiculous.

I've given you the opportunity to ask him yourself. Don't hesitate, contact him today! and after that maybe you can tell him that you don't believe him and demand proof....he could be lying you know :lol:

I intended my comment as a celebration among those of us who are of Iranic origin, God knows we've been given precious little to celebrate in the past few decades. It seems we're to be denied that as well!

If someone told you he was Pakistani, would you ask to check their passport to make sure? If someone in the street pointed out someone else and said they were a Pashtun would you say, "I demand proof!"? The whole thing is ridiculous.

I've given you the opportunity to ask him yourself. Don't hesitate, contact him today! and after that maybe you can tell him that you don't believe him and demand proof....he could be lying you know :lol:
Have you contacted him and corroborated his origin? otherwise your celebrations might be in vain LOL just kidding......anyway on a serious note the achievements of Imran Khan need to be highlighted by the federal government and provincial government as frankly speaking their is a serious lack of scientific culture throughout Pakistan.

**** It was a Yousafzia Pashtun who played a critical role in the development of the Pakistan nuclear project. Khudaypyman.

Have you contacted him and corroborated his origin? otherwise your celebrations might be in vain LOL just kidding......anyway on a serious note the achievements of Imran Khan need to be highlighted by the federal government and provincial government as frankly speaking their is a serious lack of scientific culture throughout Pakistan.

**** It was a Yousafzia Pashtun who played a critical role in the development of the Pakistan nuclear project. Khudaypyman.

There has been a serious decline since that oaf Zulfiqar Bhutto destroyed the education system in the 1970's. In the 1940 - 50's there were several Pakistanis who worked alongside Einstein himself.

Kudos to this gem, however it is unfortunate that we being a country of 180 million have only 2 scientists participating in this path making project.

Do You Know About The Pakistani Team Working At CERN??????

You Two Just Have To Start A Troll Fight Over A Issue That Cannot Be Even Considered Petty.This Behaviour I Expect Normally From Indians On PDF This Is Our Forum Show Some Dignity You Two :angry::angry::pissed::pissed::angry::angry:

So Dr Abdus Salam And Dr Atta Ur Rehman Are Iranic Come On Man??????????