Zardari Politics. Future of Zardari ?

i dont think he will get re-eleclted. If he does so then we must kill him. Though he will try his best to remain in power to enjoy amunity and to refuse SC rulling. .

To be re-elected Zardari needs simple majority. 2/3 is for impeachment.

My argument is that President house is the safest place for him, else its bravery or stupidity, to be out there 'vulnerable', hence he will try "everything" to ensure that he stays in president house.
So dont you think that the only way for Zardari is constitutional crisis?

how can we avoided or countered that?

Thanks for correcting about the 'simple majority' for the President's Elections. Indeed, then Zardari has a very good chance if he goes through the current parliament and a fair chance even in the next parliament if PPP gets enough in Sindh, southern Punjab, combined with MQM. But 'if' but possible.

I agree that the Presidency is the safest place for him but, short of being hunted down physically, Zardari is not only going to survive but also thrive in opposition once the dust and the shimmer of any new govt. settles down.

And I still don't think Zardari is going to cause constitutional dead-lock to buy time for elections. What good that would do? As it is, the more time to elections, the more Imran Khan gains. As I said, elections -can- be legally delayed but will be hard to without some catastrophic reasons.

Finally, while Zardari may be controversial and all that but his becoming the President is not going to sink Pakistan. He has given up almost all powers and his power now derives from being the PPP Chairman--the party which rules Pakistan. A non-PPP govt. will reduce Zardari's Presidency greatly. So let's not make a martyr out of him. If he wins Presidency again, let it be. Let the 'system' mature, however unpalatable it may sound initially.

Bhugtoo.. democrazy,

Haan !! Democrazy is far more better than Dictatorship, have a look on the history of Pakistan and you will see every big loss to Pakistan is the GIFT of a Dictatorship War 1965 Started because of "Operation Gibralter" Started by pakistan army in occupied kashmir, War 1971 and Loss of Eastern Pakistan, 90,000 Soldiers became prisoners (during dictatorship), Siachin Occupation (during dictatorship), Kargil War (Started by Musharaf without civilian consent), U-Turn on Kashmir Policy which results in water crisis in pakistan (during dictatorship), Pisni + Jacobabad + Shamsi airbases sold to Americans (during dictatorship), in mai say koi 1 airbase b kisi civilian ny de hoti tu ISI nay Puray mulk mai os civilian govt k khilaf Kuhram machaya hota... aur Civilian Govt ka bistar gool kar chuki hoti... DemoCRAZY is faaaaar Mooooore better than Dictatorship. Army ka kaam nai k wo Civilian mamalat mai is had tak mudakhlat kary k apni basic zimmaydariyon mai Sharmindagi othani paray...

@adeel faheem; you have to be honest ---as I said elsewhere in the forum ALL martial laws are the fault of the pseudo political feudal robber barons --the appointed ppl out of turn and / or ineligible in order to facilitate their (the politicos) robbery and loot ---well they got their just desserts -----you are seeing the result of the dregs of society running the "parliament" or "loot mar club"....

Bhai Saleem humari Army Farishta sift nahi hai, Army mai b corruption mojod hai and Elite Officers mai tu buhat he zyada corruption mojod hai (Aisha Siddiqa ke book "Military Incorporation" parr saktay ho) Army and Civilian corruption mai farq yai hai k har new Civilian Govt Rival Civilian Govt ke enemy hoti hai wo dhond dhond k Rival Civilian Govt k Corruption cases nikalti hai jis mai ISI on ke khoob help karti hai takay Civilian Govt nakam he sabit ho, jab k Army Officer 1 dosray ka Class fellow/senior-junior/ Teacher-Cadet or just comradeship ke waja say corruption case out nai honay daitay.

army being angels -- that is precisely my point ---they represent the general morals and mores of the people --- my point is that when it is politicos who are responsible for putting in a position of power people who, the politicos thought, would be weak in morals and character (i.e. would not oppose the shenanigans of the politicos). when they were selected with these criteria - what do you expect? so the responsibility lies with the politicos entirely ---- they were dishonest in selecting poeple and got what they deserved.....why do you expect the khakis to be angels? civil "government" 0they are actually immoral, barbaric dregs of society in reality) fails because they are crooked and corrupt to the core....

you should follow principles and not people -----

Army governance is best system, they are living examples.

Solution to all present problems lies in 10 year governance by army?

Thanks for correcting about the 'simple majority' for the President's Elections. Indeed, then Zardari has a very good chance if he goes through the current parliament and a fair chance even in the next parliament if PPP gets enough in Sindh, southern Punjab, combined with MQM. But 'if' but possible.

I agree that the Presidency is the safest place for him but, short of being hunted down physically, Zardari is not only going to survive but also thrive in opposition once the dust and the shimmer of any new govt. settles down.

And I still don't think Zardari is going to cause constitutional dead-lock to buy time for elections. What good that would do? As it is, the more time to elections, the more Imran Khan gains. As I said, elections -can- be legally delayed but will be hard to without some catastrophic reasons.

Finally, while Zardari may be controversial and all that but his becoming the President is not going to sink Pakistan. He has given up almost all powers and his power now derives from being the PPP Chairman--the party which rules Pakistan. A non-PPP govt. will reduce Zardari's Presidency greatly. So let's not make a martyr out of him. If he wins Presidency again, let it be. Let the 'system' mature, however unpalatable it may sound initially.

like you said "If" and that If is very strong in his favour.

the strategy to delay elections would be to get re-elected by this parliament, like I said there is no convention so, either he delays or get himself elected well before time that would be by 18 november 2012. To me he can easily get it done with help of America, Saudi arab, UAE, and now Turkey would hold strings of Nawaz Sharif, and he probably would do nothing but boycott of the re-election of president as we saw in the case of Musharraf's re-election.

as for Imran gaining is concern, "the others" are not just vanishing, the sad reality, but still a reality, they do alot of propaganda these days against him, they got money resources and everything they need to malign anyone, still the struggle is on and there is alot good chance that he would emerge as the only credible leader but civil war has no leaders.. the catastrophic reasons? simple turn off the electricity for a week and the country will be in chaos, saw it in Faisalabad the other day, hungry and angry people have started looting and attaching private/public property. so that wont be a big thing to start..

Your final point is understood very well, excellent one. :tup: but him being in presidency would be a good omen for PPP in next elections, thats all that worries me, that even if PPP wins elections, people are not going to tolerate them for another 5 years...

@Leader,
By 'catastrophe', I was implying huge natural disaster or an open war against a foreign entity. Shutting down electricity--even in Karachi--will not buy Zardari time. And I don't think Zardari is looking to delay elections. Of course I don't know for sure but I think PPP is electorally not as weak as this forum implies; especially pertinent is that Imran Khan will split the anti-PPP vote. If anyone as old as me--mid 40's--seen Pakistani elections (I have even the 1970 one--vaguely) then they will see that what is now Pakistan has always had electoral/ideological alliance of PPP vs 'the others'. While I was never a Jiyala but I have supported PPP since 1985 or so and only now Imran Khan is moving me away from PPP..but I digress.
To repeat:Elections will be held on time, minus some catastrophe as I mention above. I don't have any predictions to make! I simply don't know Imran Khan's electoral chances. Minus Imran Khan factor, I would have predicted a Nawaz Sharif sweep based on Punjab alone.

And I am glad that you see that a Zardari Presidency is a non-issue in a non-PPP govt. He will be the President Ch. Fazal Elahi II. I hope other forum members too see that.

He will not be re-elected as President. Even if he re-elects himself as President - the next government will have the option to impeach him just like Musharraf was to be impeached before he resigned.

His future is very bright, nobody in Pakistan get caught in wrong doings. So after he is no longer the President, he will sit comfortable in his 'palace' of Pakistan, Dubai or UK and after 5 years when the public is fed up from the next government... He will be treated as good person once again. Just like during the time of 2008 he was suddenly being regarded as Good person and everybody was roaming around him.

Zardari spent 8 years in prison and that's exactly where he will hopefully end up, once his term expires.

You preps don't undrstand the brllance of goffic Zrdari. He's so (s)kull (Geddit, coz I'm goffik?)

Zrdarie should un the county, not some masticating people

He is having huge mansions in Dubai, Uk, and Germany so poor Pakistanis should not think much abut Zardari's future.;)

Democracy is still a better system, if you know.

but here the point is misuse of position..
Democracy is only suited if at least 80 percent of your AWAM is literate,and considering the Pakistani standards of literate i would say at least graduate.
Your current literacy rate doesn't even add up to half of your population.

Bhai Saleem humari Army Farishta sift nahi hai, Army mai b corruption mojod hai and Elite Officers mai tu buhat he zyada corruption mojod hai (Aisha Siddiqa ke book "Military Incorporation" parr saktay ho) Army and Civilian corruption mai farq yai hai k har new Civilian Govt Rival Civilian Govt ke enemy hoti hai wo dhond dhond k Rival Civilian Govt k Corruption cases nikalti hai jis mai ISI on ke khoob help karti hai takay Civilian Govt nakam he sabit ho, jab k Army Officer 1 dosray ka Class fellow/senior-junior/ Teacher-Cadet or just comradeship ke waja say corruption case out nai honay daitay.
Either educate yourself or STFU.
Military least corrupt institution: TIP | The Nation