Yoga classes are secular, says US court

The main problem is the perception of religion
People find it hard to believe that Yoga can be a "religious thing".For centuries they have believed that reigion is "worshipping the unseen" ,this feeling has been percolated into hinduism too.
But we are lot more scientific than we believe.Every hindu tradition has a scientific value,and not merely "worship"

People are brain washed into believing Hinduism is what the Muslims and Christians tell them it is. :sick:

So for the vast majority, "Hinduism" is temple, idol, breaking coconut, caste, sati, etc. ........... That is what the muslim invaders and the later christian rulers told them.

Now they seek to understand and learn about Hinduism from books written by "christian scholars" and Wikipedia while mocking Hindu "gurus" and holy men as "perverts" and quacks.

I only hope we can reverse this in time, or the future is bleak.

One doesn't need to pray to any Hindu god for doing 'asanas'.
Surya Namaskar was found offensive by people as it meant saluting/worshipping the sun, "a pagan thing".
In Malaysia the official group of clerics examined yoga and found it to be anti muslim, and sent out a fatwa.

If you watch the video, she says that she limits what she teaches,and leaves out some things, esp, the spiritual and meditative aspect of it.

Similarly, many christians have now started "Christian yoga" where Chakras have become Christ points (or something like that).
check this out:
PraiseMoves
The Christian ALTERNATIVE to Yoga!”

Also:
Amazon.com: Christoga: Faith in Fitness volume 1: Janine Turner, Mary Cunningham, Faith in Fitness: Movies & TV
"I loved doing Yoga, but hated I was bringing Eastern religions into my home & letting it infiltrate into my children"

There is a strong undeniable hindu element in yoga, they are going around it by giving it fancy names. It's like changing the name of christ and saying look this isnt christianity.

Edit:But theoretical questions aside, I think what the judge was asked to decide on was whether yoga taught across schools and centres was being used indoctrinate hindu concepts or hinduism into people...which I think is not the case, as those aspects are probably kept quite light (or modified/removed) and in any case it is not like they are brainwashed out of their religion.

But to deny yogas Hindu concepts/origins is not right imo.

Why-Boycott-PK,-a-flawed-anti-Hindu-Movie5.png

Moral of the Story ?

Hinduism is silly and primitive.

This is what an patriotic Indian Muslim makes.

While a intelligent christian Westerner makes this.

avatar_movie_hindu_perspective.jpg

A movie about a intelligent civilization in a far away land, where souls can be "reborn" and rebirth takes place, a primitive culture which is forced to drive back the greedy invaders.

Only it needs a "foreign invader" to lead them to freedom. Good thing he 'converted' back into those blue beings, only he did not find the beings 'primitive'.

The main problem is the perception of religion
People find it hard to believe that Yoga can be a "religious thing".For centuries they have believed that reigion is "worshipping the unseen" ,this feeling has been percolated into hinduism too.
But we are lot more scientific than we believe.Every hindu tradition has a scientific value,and not merely "worship"

That is why I say Hinduism is more than a religion.

Abrahamic religions have a narrow view point(not necessarily bad) and they try to fit everything into the mould of their religion.

Hinduism,Buddhism,Confucianism,Shintoism et al(the eastern religions) can not be seen from the prism of abrahamic religions.

Most religious intolerance and its ugly cousin religious violence in the world today stems from "Only I am right, everyone else will burn in hell for all eternity" view point of abrahamic religions.

I attended yoga class for a week and it reduce my weight from 70 Kg to 67 Kg in a week.I also was suffering from stomach pain while streching and after attending class i do not have any pain at all.My cholestrol level also comes to normal.

Yoga now a days very popular in Western countries.

Only it is NOT taught in INDIAN Schools because it is considered "non secular" and "Hindu". See the Irony here ?

Yoga, like Hinduism is designed to help people. It has it own dogmas. Read Patanjali Yoga Sutra to understand that. It was codified by Patnajali in his Yoga Sutra. Vivekananda called Yoga sutra the supreme path to self realization.

Read the Bhagwat Gita to understand what Sri. Krishana has said about Yoga.

vyasa-prasadac chrutavan, etad guhyam aham param,
yogam yogesvarat krsnat, saksat kathayatah svayam,

IT was Veda vyasa prasad which gave the secrete of the supreme Me,
From the eternal supreme Yogi Krishna, who himself told this to Arjuna.

The entire Bhagwat Gita teaches the practice of Yoga and its benefit. The god is called the supreme Yogi (one who practices Yoga).

IT is the very essence of Hinduism. Let them practice it by all means, let them also proudly say its Hinduism and its practice. They are divesting it of the "stigma" of being called "Hindu", because popular Christian propaganda has linked "caste" to Hinduism, not "yoga".

Now they want to reap the benefit of that propaganda. To allow such injustice to go scott free is cowardice, not "secularism".

You mean if I pray to christ and believe in "jesus" as god then I am not a christian ? :cheesy:

Actually yoga is taught in some Indian schools. My sons school teaches Yoga as part of physical exercise and he has been doing yoga for past 4 years. The school is owned by an educator who happens to be a Muslim and students are from different faiths. I haven't met a parent who had any objection with Yoga being taught in school. I guess who doesn't want a flexible body and better health.

how does it matter if a non hindu practices the exercises which were designed by the yogis to keep optimum help. Just because they practice Yoga postures it does not make them Hindu. You can call it by any name if it suits you better.

Call it Gaga for all I care.:sick:

Now WTF is that?? :o: Haryanvi bolne ki try kar raha hai kya?? :p: Please explain didn't understand :partay:

2 numberi Jaat. :lol: When you are able to convert even a single Christian to Hinduism via Yoga then Talk of conversion, not now. :argh:

Know that the Jat is truly dead,only when the rites of the thirteenth day are complete.

In other words,only celebrate the completion of the job once it is done,not before.

I was joking you idiot :hitwall:
Jaat, Jaat hote hai numbers nahi hote humare :lol:

Tau, idiot ko sab idiot lage say! :lol:

People are brain washed into believing Hinduism is what the Muslims and Christians tell them it is. :sick:

So for the vast majority, "Hinduism" is temple, idol, breaking coconut, caste, sati, etc. ........... That is what the muslim invaders and the later christian rulers told them.

Now they seek to understand and learn about Hinduism from books written by "christian scholars" and Wikipedia while mocking Hindu "gurus" and holy men as "perverts" and quacks.

I only hope we can reverse this in time, or the future is bleak.

Target the kids, they are full of innate curiosity and desire to learn that hasn't been beaten out of them by the drivel known as modern education.

Engaging adults who are too arrogant in their limited world view and too closed minded, is a waste of time in my opinion; thus, I rarely bother with them.

Surya Namaskar was found offensive by people as it meant saluting/worshipping the sun, "a pagan thing".
In Malaysia the official group of clerics examined yoga and found it to be anti muslim, and sent out a fatwa.

If you watch the video, she says that she limits what she teaches,and leaves out some things, esp, the spiritual and meditative aspect of it.

Similarly, many christians have now started "Christian yoga" where Chakras have become Christ points (or something like that).
check this out:
PraiseMoves
The Christian ALTERNATIVE to Yoga!”

Also:
Amazon.com: Christoga: Faith in Fitness volume 1: Janine Turner, Mary Cunningham, Faith in Fitness: Movies & TV
"I loved doing Yoga, but hated I was bringing Eastern religions into my home & letting it infiltrate into my children"

There is a strong undeniable hindu element in yoga, they are going around it by giving it fancy names. It's like changing the name of christ and saying look this isnt christianity.

Edit:But theoretical questions aside, I think what the judge was asked to decide on was whether yoga taught across schools and centres was being used indoctrinate hindu concepts or hinduism into people...which I think is not the case, as those aspects are probably kept quite light (or modified/removed) and in any case it is like they are brainwashed out of their religion.

But to deny yogas Hindu concepts/origins is not right imo.

What is your exact problem if the US schools teach only the Yoagasanas to its children for health reasons only?