Worrying signs: 3,400 Pakistanis give up nationality in five years

Who do you think is making more disposable money? The cab drivers in Dubai or the residents in US, UK, Canada who have been here for two to three generations?

In 2013; KSA and UAE were the first and second largest sources of remittances (almost half of all remittances contributed to Pakistan). The contributions of our workers abroad - The Express Tribune

So respect those cab drivers ! :tup:

so your best guess is.. its because those pakistanis could not get hot water or facebook...
is not renoucing a personal choice(with real adverse conseqeuence), taken by people who are already outside pakistan for quite long and most likely to have 24 hour water and facebook?

Sarcasm key taangeii tooor diiin ! :tsk:

In 2013; KSA and UAE were the first and second largest sources of remittances (almost half of all remittances contributed to Pakistan). The contributions of our workers abroad - The Express Tribune

Sarcasm key taangeii tooor diiin ! :tsk:
shit... you got me.
so you meant the opposite.. you mean its understandable why some wont want to be associated with pakistan and they have bloody good reason for it, not some facile and daft reason that forummers will throw up:p:

Who do you think is making more disposable money? The cab drivers in Dubai or the residents in US, UK, Canada who have been here for two to three generations?
I can assure you the "cab drivers" are sending more money because they have wives and kids back home. The residents are living with their families. The most they do is some money for their parents once in a while.

shit... you got me.
so you meant the opposite.. you mean its understandable why some wont want to be associated with pakistan and they have bloody good reason for it, not some facile and daft reason that forummers will throw up

No what I meant was that those Pakistanis who leave Pakistan for genuine reasons have my sympathies and even my respects. Those who spend their days bad-mouthing Pakistan with these trivial issues haven't !

If a Christian Pakistani says that I dunno where my country is going...heck I don't even feel as if I am wanted here anymore and perhaps my future is elsewhere, decides to go abroad - Hes got my sympathy and even my respect !

If some Pakistani from the middle class says that its becoming increasingly difficult to put food on the table for my family and maybe trying my luck in Australia may not be such bad idea; at least I'd be able to send my daughter to a good school or that my wife wouldn't have to work through her pregnancy again like last time because we couldn't make ends meet - I sympathize and respect such a man !

If some turd blossom in Pakistan sitting in his air-conditioned home with a gas generator running outside, a land cruiser parked in his drive way, profitable business ventures lining his pockets and a couple of influential people moving in his social circle, decides to pack up and leave Pakistan on some of the most trivial of excuses - How can I respect such a man ?

And there are countless many like him; many that I've known personally. Pakistan mein kuch nahin hai.....yahan kuch theek nahin ho taaa and some similar nonsense when they have more than most Pakistanis ever will !

These self-righteous, self serving basterds didn't for a second realize that they had things that perhaps 95% of all Pakistanis were denied by fate and instead of acknowledging that they have a responsibility to do something to improve the lives of their countrymen and their country - Their instinct is to jump ship for another country ?

How can I respect such people ? And they are not a minority by any stretch of the imagination because I walk amongst them every day !

No what I meant was that those Pakistanis who leave Pakistan for genuine reasons have my sympathize and even my respects. Those who spend their days bad-mouthing Pakistan with these trivial issues haven't !

If a Christian Pakistani says that I dunno where my country is going...heck I don't even feel as if I am wanted here anymore and perhaps my future is elsewhere, decides to go abroad - Hes got my sympathy and even my respect !

If some Pakistani from the middle class says that its becoming increasingly difficult to put food on the table for my family and maybe trying my luck in Australia may not be such bad idea; at least I'd be able to send my daughter to a good school or that my wife wouldn't have to work through her pregnancy again like last time because we couldn't make ends meet - I sympathize and respect such a man !

If some turd blossom in Pakistan sitting in his air-conditioned home with a gas generator running outside, a land cruiser parked in his drive way, profitable business ventures lining his pockets and a couple of influential people moving in his social circle, decides to pack up and leave Pakistan on some of the most trivial of excuses - How can I respect such a man ?

And there are countless many like him; many that I've known personally. Pakistan mein kuch nahin hai.....yahan kuch theek nahin ho taaa and some similar nonsense when they have more than most Pakistanis ever will !

These self-righteous, self serving basterds didn't for a second realize that they had things that perhaps 95% of all Pakistanis were denied by fate and instead of acknowledging that they have a responsibility to do something to improve the lives of their countrymen and their country - Their instinct is to jump ship for another country ?

How can I respect such people ? And they are not a minority by any stretch of the imagination because I walk amongst them every day !
you are just repeating yourself with increasing amount of text... people who 'renounce' are usually not recent migrant... they must have migrated 5 to 10 years ago.
Renouncing puts you in difficult position if you have to frequently travel to pakistan, or have got people back home, or got property. Am sure most people go for dual citizenship.
So they are not jumping the ship, you dont get any thing extra by renouncing pakistani citizenship(in uk for example), they jumped the ship anyway long time ago, now made up their mind this ship is going to be theirs.

This is a very personal decision, nobody goes public and tells off pakistan before renouncing their citizenship.

:tsk:

Not surprising because:

1. More than seven million Pakistanis have been placed abroad since 1971, out of which approximately 96% of the total is concentrated in six countries in the Middle East – namely Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, Kuwait, Bahrain and Qatar. About 90% of the total are located in Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and Oman alone.

2. There are restrictions in place when you send money from US to Pakistan. I don't know if the same applies to UK as well. These restrictions have led to people sending funds via, let's just say, "alternate unofficial" sources.
:-)

you are just repeating yourself with increasing amount of text... people who 'renounce' are usually not recent migrant... they must have migrated 5 to 10 years ago.
Renouncing puts you in difficult position if you have to frequently travel to pakistan, or have got people back home, or got property. Am sure most people go for dual citizenship.
So they are not jumping the ship, you dont get any thing extra by renouncing pakistani citizenship(in uk for example), they jumped the ship anyway long time ago, now made up their mind this ship is going to be theirs.

Where have I said that they were recent migrants ?

3400 is not a big number out of 180 million but if you look at this number and the profession these people hold then it can be some thing to worry about, the same 3400 may includes Pakistani investors and business men and examples are there like lot of Pakistani invested in Dubai and in Bangladesh, lot of Pakistani brilliant students left country due not having proper environment to prove their skills or to have proper opportunities.. so it totally depends on what kind of people are leaving the country, and im sure these peoples are cream of our society not some street thugs..

how tell the way to do that

Look party people who live in problems, find the solutions for those problems, they don't become part of the problem but the solution. They don't keep crying about their problems, they thrive for solutions.

I can guarantee you 95% of us Pakistanis are happy with the status quo because we ourselves are corrupt, that's why we bribe, we elect corrupt incompetent people to be our governors, we love this current corrupt status and system because we ourselves proudly circumvent each and every law.

You know what is the biggest hypocrisy of us Pakistani Muslims? It is that we know, we boast about it, but in practice we thrash it in our daily life actions. Zuban say keh bhi dia to kya hasil ...................... Jab dil he musalman nahi.

Where have I said that they were recent migrants ?
because you are still talking about people leaving pakistan...
rich people cannot survive outside pakistan, they are the last people to renounce citizenship even if they leave.
They usually got enough financial interest back home to keep at least dual citizenship.
Ask your expats, vast majority of them belong to lower middle class/middle class in pakistan, and started here at bottom and then got rich.

because you are still talking about people leaving pakistan...
rich people cannot survive outside pakistan, they are the last people to renounce citizenship even if they leave.
They usually got enough financial interest back home to keep at least dual citizenship.
Ask your expats, vast majority of them belong to lower middle class/middle class in pakistan, and started here at bottom.

Its an ongoing process.

I suppose its not really about just renouncing citizenship its about the attitude; I probably should've articulated myself better.

Its an ongoing process.

I suppose its not really about just renouncing citizenship its about the attitude; I probably should've articulated myself better.
the human story is incomplete without migration.. nationhood is a relatively recent construct..:p::taz:

But migration shouldn't mean that your attitude is that you've just left a pile of dung for the garden of Eden - It is that attitude by those who have more than the rest of their compatriots and still indulge is such disparaging talk about their country is what I was talking about.

And the State is supreme ! :smokin:

Just because the Queen let you be one of the Royal Bellboys doesn't mean that you've become Gora Sahib ! :tongue:

But migration shouldn't mean that your attitude is that you've just left a pile of dung for the garden of Eden - It is that attitude by those who have more than the rest of their compatriots and still indulge is such disparaging talk about their country is what I was talking about.

And the State is supreme ! :smokin:

Just because the Queen let you be one of the Royal Bellboys doesn't mean that you've become Gora Sahib ! :tongue:
we will see how much you change once you come here... he he
ya I understand non residents commenting on affairs back home is a bit difficult to handle by residents.