Why India lags behind in the arms race

Failures then excuses then back to failures. Its a vicious Indian cycle.
India has fought in many wars under the British empire, then after a bloody partition India fought with China (during a terrible Chinese famine) and has conflict with most South Asian countries as well as insurrection and wars within.
So much time spent fighting yet so little learned and even rudimentary ordinances must be imported.
Then comes the excuses.

Its Congress fault!
Its vote bank politics!
Its caste system!
Its corrupt ministers stealing arms allocations!
Its Pakistani ISI!
Its too hot here!
Bollywood and cricket is too entertaining!
The Dubawala delivered the wrong rice with curry!

Its China's fault:sarcastic:

Indian domestic arms industry will remain pathetic until drdo maintains it's stranglehold on research funding....

Vietnam stay in defense. If Vietnam tried to invade China, they will be completely creamed and than China can easily counter attack and take over North Vietnam. So offense is not always the best defense. You need to understand your strength and your enemies. Understand the geography. So for India to have a chance against China, it need to think defense and zero offense going up the mountains.

A professional Army with many victories under its belt believes otherwise. It is putting its bets on offense and is putting its own money in that.

I doubt that word of an anonymous member of a forum is all that credible.

A professional Army with many victories under its belt believes otherwise. It is putting its bets on offense and is putting its own money in that.

I doubt that word of an anonymous member of a forum is all that credible.

The next war is not determine by what happened in the previous war. The terrain and the capability of enemy is extremely important. More so than what have we done before.

And if you are talking about India. What had India done in the recent past?

Indian domestic arms industry will remain pathetic until drdo maintains it's stranglehold on research funding....

True that... i think GoI should open another defence agency as to provide some competition in the market... you DRDO has become lazy as it knows it's the sole agency and gets all the research fund... if there are more than one industry, they will be forced to make better products at faster rates so that the research funds continue

The next war is not determine by what happened in the previous war. The terrain and the capability of enemy is extremely important. More so than what have we done before.

Nothing, but we are more mature country than we were ever were... in the past 60's era and during the rule of nehru, the decisions were influenced more on the emotions..which is not the case now

True that... i think GoI should open another defence agency as to provide some competition in the market... you DRDO has become lazy as it knows it's the sole agency and gets all the research fund... if there are more than one industry, they will be forced to make better products at faster rates so that the research funds continue

Nothing, but we are more mature country than we were ever were... in the past 60's era and during the rule of nehru, the decisions were influenced more on the emotions..which is not the case now

Pleazzze God no.....If you want real competition, introduce real competition, if you want another bureaucratic black hole then sure GoI should seek another avenue to dump taxpayers hard earned money....

Sab chor mill baat ke loot rahe, BEML can compete with OFB HVF to produce state armored vehicles , but it doesn't. Even BHEL once produced a prop plane, HAL has enough infrastructure to kick DRDO's butt in numerous projects, BUT THEY DONT!!!!!

If you want real competition, open the the defense industry to private sector.

That is true. Vietnam make it difficult for China to invade it in 1979. In 1962, Chinese troops could stroll into New Delhi if not for potential American intervention. So there is the difference. And the gap between China and India is wider now than in 1962.

It was not because of American intervention but it was because you could not maintain your supply lines. Gap between India and China is much closer. Your rag tag army fought with automatic weapons when we were using the bolt action in 1962. And you used guerrilla tactics for bring your troops closer to attack us which was a very good one. But a war now is not possible from the Chinese side as it will be a big gamble. The loss of a war will spell doom for the CCP's stranglehold on the country. So it is not only the Indian army at stake here but the Chinese CCP's power will also be on the table.

The reasons are On and Off sanctions, tech restrictions from the Western world for a long period of time, Coming to terms with economy, poverty, social welfare etc, but the biggest reason is domestic defense manufacturers were all state owned and with that came a whole lot of apathy.

Pleazzze God no.....If you want real competition, introduce real competition, if you want another bureaucratic black hole then sure GoI should seek another avenue to dump taxpayers hard earned money....

Sab chor mill baat ke loot rahe, BEML can compete with OFB HVF to produce state armored vehicles , but it doesn't. Even BHEL once produced a prop plane, HAL has enough infrastructure to kick DRDO's butt in numerous projects, BUT THEY DONT!!!!!

If you want real competition, open the the defense industry to private sector.
but you know every major defence country in the world has more than one company like boieng, lockeed martin;shenyang,chengdu;sukhoi,migoyan etc..and what india has just HAL .....
privatization se bhi kuch nahi hoga .. jo neta ko paisa dega usi ko tender milega yaha pe...

That is true. Vietnam make it difficult for China to invade it in 1979. In 1962, Chinese troops could stroll into New Delhi if not for potential American intervention. So there is the difference. And the gap between China and India is wider now than in 1962.

1962 is a correct but who stops China to conquer India in 1967 & 1987

@shree835 Please turn your Caps Lock mode off it is against forum rule.

Ofcourse.

And that is the reason why the Army believes that to prepare for the next war it has to do and have something different and new. Something it didnt have before.

That is why they have put out an urgency notice on infrastructure buildup(roads, airbases and ALG's) near the border with China coupled with an entirely new Strike Corps.

A corps that is likely to cost over $12 billion in assets alone.

This is the same Army that just around a decade ago evicted Pakistan Army from Kargil.
That is that they attacked an enemy that was lodged in the highest peaks of the world. An attack against an enemy entrenched up in the mountains.

And if you do not know, Pakistan Army is far more competent in training, professionalism and sheer determination than the People's Liberation Army and that by a wide margin.

I think the records and seriousness on which the Army bases its decisions would not be the whims and fancies of Indians or Chinese on the internet.

Chinese troops could barely move further than the border. They relied on surprise and numbers. 9 Chinese soldiers to 1 Indian, and that to a surprise attack. Beyond borders, they could not maintain supply lines. And Indian reinforcement would have come. Otherwise what was stopping them from annexing Arunachal or other disputed territories?

but you know every major defence country in the world has more than one company like boieng, lockeed martin;shenyang,chengdu;sukhoi,migoyan etc..and what india has just HAL .....
privatization se bhi kuch nahi hoga .. jo neta ko paisa dega usi ko tender milega yaha pe...

Boeing/lockheed/Northropp/dassault, EADS/BAE/Finmecca/Snecma/BAE/Eads etc etc all private players. Commie countries dont count, because when engineers/managers disputed their leaders, they ended up dead or digging trenches in siberia, hence they have to perform to survive "literally"

1962 is a correct but who stops China to conquer India in 1967 & 1987

@shree835 Please turn your Caps Lock mode off it is against forum rule.

I told you before and again I am repeating it...Caps Lock is off...This is just letter size..i.e 3.

A country should only be offensive against the enemy when it is capable of developing and manufacturing its own weapons....rest should only be defensive against the attackers,you cant become dependent on imported weapons to win a war....that's the reason why Nazis were offensive and so were the japs and they were able to bleed the enemy much more than the enemy ever thought....

Strong mindset and atleast two competitor are required to have something valuable on time....you are bound to face problems and failure if you are developing something new.