Why has Imran Khan and the PTI failed to deliver?

PPP and PMLN are a national security threat. For how long are you going to do this dance with the devil?

Forever apparently. Maryam is ready. Her son is in the wings. Soon Pakistan will be lightened by the return of half a dozen thieves from London, the money laundering capital of the world.

Pakistan needs a TOTAL revamp in so many areas. Entire restructuring of government bodies, grassroot reform, revamped intakes, etc. --- and a new constitution.

All well and good, but just one question? HOW?

Kehne main sab batain asan hoti hain, but HOW?

No one in this country can come in and do these things in a 5 year term, that too with a coalition government. What you have said is all fine and dandy, but not practical in the current scenario.

This brings us to the second point then. In the absence of a utopian scenario, what is the next best option? And that is Imran Khan. And that is why he is still the only choice in the current political setup.

Would you rather keep waiting for that perfect ideal candidate for the next 40 years, or make do with what you have right now, even if it's a 30% improvement?

100% imran khan own fault

People who stay put with him in PTI struggle for 20+ years were side lines by him and brought lotas with ATM card

He himself was so blind he thought he will do whatever he want and no one is going to question him

Good points.

Except that the wobbly coalition and deep-rooted problems didn't force him to appoint incompetent people at key posts. There are some things that he is alone responsible for.

But they did. Tariq Bashir Cheema, Monis Elahi (I hope you remember the blackmail of Q league to get him appointed), Khusro Bakhtiar, Amin-Ul-Haq, Ghulam Sarwar, and the list goes on. All these people had to be appointed precisely due to the sham of paraliamentary democracy in this country and a coalition government.

If IK had taken MAJOR steps to cleanse the system and appointed the best team Pakistan had ever witnessed and yet still failed, it would be more forgivable. But he failed to take the most important first step of the best people. His cabinet hardly has any real visionaries. They're all recycled status quo clowns, save a few.

Please enumerate those MAJOR steps. He tried to bring in people. He brought in Raza Baqir, and you know the backlash he got. He brought in the health minister, and you see the backlash. A personal story I know, he brought in Amer Hashmi for STZA, and the kind of backlash that guy got is unbelievable. There is a reason STZA is operating from PM Sectt and is in direct contact with PS to PM and not to any other two nut secretary or bureaucrat.

This is my biggest gripe with people. Whoever thought keh in 5 salon main sab theek ho jaye ga, and we will be on the fast track to progress, they are in a fool's paradise, aur ghalti unhi ki hai to believe all that.

The reality of our politics is that when you go to a jalsa in Okara or Jhang or Bajaur or Khairpur, you don't need to tell those guys a detailed economic plan or whatever. You make bold claims, which you yourself know won't be completed. But that is what sells to the uneducated masses. They want the blockbuster headlines, hard hitting punches, main dolat wapis laoon ga, main yeh karoon ga, woh karoon ga. But any rational person knows keh yeh sab nhn hoga and this is only for pre-election campaigning. He is promising 100%, but any sane person knows it would 30%. It is your fault if you actually believed that everything would be done, like crore naukrian and all that.

But at least he has stepped into the right direction. Housing loans and mortgages, sehat card, increasing our industrial base, creation of dams, economic stability, emphasis on exports, and much more.

Coming onto the electables, these people are waderas of their towns and villages. They are used to having 1000 people talk to them as if they are God, and have a certain ego. When in government, you need to placate their egos. PML did this very well, they gave them bribes, contracts, jobs in SOE's, or a front row seat in a press conference. PTI did not, it didn't soothe their egos, didn't pamper their childish tantrums, and here we are. I was listening to an MNA from South Punjab, and his gripe was that the police does not listen to him (i.e. does not treat him as the absolute God of the area), and the south Punjab sectt is not fully functional. At least PTI made a south Punjab sectt, unlike PPP and PML who are actively blocking the creation of a province.

Anyways, at the end, he is still waaayyyy better than Billo or JUI or PML, that's for sure.

100% imran khan own fault

People who stay put with him in PTI struggle for 20+ years were side lines by him and brought lotas with ATM card

He himself was so blind he thought he will do whatever he want and no one is going to question him

I believe now in next election he will go for the PTI worker, but question is, will he win with them?

I don't have high hopes from the good people of this country, and that is why he won't.

People of Gujrat keep on electing Pervez Elahi and Monis Elahi, that tells you all you need to know.

I don't think western style democracy works in some countries, and Pakistan is one of them. Pakistan needs a strong institution to guide it, keep its people in line and help the nation progress. Civilian governments have 99% of the time been weak and very corrupt, the army seems to hold the stabiliser role. The governance needs to change as the leaders chosen are some of the worst (Imran Khan I think is better out of the ones previous to him, his an easy scape goat given the mess last few decades other administrations have done.

because of corrupt bureaucrats and civil administration.. They want him to fail so temjey can go back to corruption..

He thinks that the problem is at the top, that if he were to remove the three stooges out of the picture, everything would sort it self out. Utterly a waste of time and energy. In my opinion, the problem is society wide. It calls for major structural reforms which he does not have the capacity to comprehend or formulate.

To start off, we need land reforms and shielding of administration from political interference. These two things alone can fix most of the problems.

Imran Khan compromised his principles and relied on turncoats, Kaaf league, MQM etc, just so he could become the PM. He never had the absolute mandate needed to bring major changes. Plus superstition is the most plausible explanation of Buzdar's CMship, make of that what you will.

I've heard that Pinky Peeni has predicted that if Buzdar goes, so will Imran. That's probably why IK hangs on to him as if his life depended on it.

One thing I have learn that corruption and incompetence destroy both nations. Corruptions can’t be get rid of within one day but incompetence can destroy empire within a second.

Better to have competent corrupt whose mind is economy-driven which may benefit the nation to boost an economy than incompetency that benefits none.

Incompetence is like self-destructive button so I don’t see how that is good thing and we are learning now why is that.

We are talking about hundreds of Ottoman Empire in ruling that always had bits of corruption in practice but as long as they served well to the empire boosting economy and strengthening foreign policy to strength the army and position of empire in overseas, it was great.

All it takes is one idiot leader and it is over. We thought Donald Trump would be that man but he proved to be competent leader given his background on economics whereas Biden is single-handedly destroying USA as we speak.

And Imran Khan is second Biden in making unfortunately. Even Armies are baffled and troubled while they don’t see the way out.

Armies might lean towards caretaker in government from their hand-picked in current or former Generals since most of Generals are competent whereas Imran Khan if left unmonitored may prove to be Biden in the long run which is not good for Pakistan, Allahu Alim.

I don't think there are many very big land owners. Jinki bahut ziada land thi wo bachon main divide hotay hotay kam hogai ha. And 70s main Bhutto na bhi land reforms ki thin. Small average farm size is the biggest reason behind low yields in Pakistan
Sindh and parts of South punjab are still home to big landowning famlies

But yeah role of landowners is highly exaddurated in Pakistan, they're not the power center anymore except for a few lota politicians here and there

I don’t know - I think fundamentally the problem is not political but economic and, in particular, it’s an issue of political economy. The fact is that prices of commodities in Pakistan are so low due to Bhuttoism (neo-Marxism) and its after effects, that the Pakistani awam does not understand that they live in the cheapest country in the world. They consume local gas at 10% the cost of what it is on the international market and have done so for 50 years or so. Wheat is sold lower than India and Afghanistan.

Now you might think this is good, and it might be for a short time, but in the long run, it means that it won’t make sense to produce said commodities in quantity that we could export anything. So an agricultural country like Pakistan ends up importing wheat due to shortages because setting prices so low domestically means that a black market thrives where the wheat is smuggled out to Afghanistan. Likewise, setting local gas prices so low also means that there are no new explorations and we have supply problems there where LNG is imported at 10x the price.

Now you may hate this but the fact is that all those countries (SK, Taiwan, Singapore) that we speak about that achieved phenomenal growth, they all had periods of high inflation -double digit - and that’s what Pakistan needs to be competitive. Namely it needs to stop being the cheapest country in the world and somewhere in the middle where it makes sense to export and not just import because of unreasonable pricing in a poorly commanded command economy.

I’m also not saying that NS and AZ are the solution. Yes, corrupt governments that are competent can deliver - but not this corrupt. I remember reading Eqbal Ahmad who said that you can have two types of corruption- one type is the type that can still allow for growth and the other is the ultra corrupt corruption that means that no growth can happen whatsoever. And he went on to state that both NS and AZ are ultra corrupt. Smart guy (he said this in the 90s and you can see why he mentored Chomsky, etc)

As it stands, IK - with all his flaws, and he has many - is not ultra corrupt but AZ and NS definitely are. But until we address the political economy problem, I don’t see how he or anyone else can move forward.

One start for any govt should be land reform. Land lord system should be abolished.