"Why did you talk to me in Punjabi?" Lady is upset with the constable for speaking in Punjabi

Well that's the thing. Because they are far less in number than the Bhaiyyas, their bad behavior is kept hidden from the most. Not to mention Bollywood which keeps on glorifying them.
You are blinded by nationalism so you won't get my point.

I don't like outsiders. I don't like uncontrolled migration. Bhaiyyas need to be send back to Bhaiyya land. Punjabis should go back to Punjab along with their Bollywood. Sames goes for Gujaratis and Marwadis. Whether they speak Marathi is immaterial to me. They are not ethnic Marathis and never will be. Marathi language is dying. Upper class Marathi urban kids are not even fluent in it. Marathis in Vidarbha region speak Hindi and are terrible at Marathi. Vidarbha region is filled with North Indian pricks who want to separate that region from Maharashtra. But nationalists like you will never understand.

Existence of India has only benefitted Muslims, North Indians, Gujaratis and Marwadis at the expense of others.

It is my belief that had been Muslims left India after partition like they were supposed, India would have been Balkanized on ethnic lines. Unfortunately that did not happen we have to pay the price.
I think you have way too much insecurity my friend. I have always been a nationalist and will continue to be and there will no compromise on that. And I'm not blinded by nationalism.

My family itself could be called outsiders as my ancestors came from Rajasthan to Maharashtra about 300 years ago. They were most probably Rajputs but then got accommodated as Marathas. So I'm a migrant but I don't have any sense of strong affinity for the state of Rajasthan now and now I consider myself completely Marathi. Similarly, I have seen many non-Marathi speakers speaking fluent Marathi. Why? Because Marathi is a compulsory language according in State Board till the 10th standard. So people automatically have to learn Marathi if they want to stay in Maharashtra. And upper class, middle class kids know their language as well.

I have friends from Vidarbha but not one of them is Hindi. Some are Marwadis but I don't consider Marwadis as threatening as they do their job and are not part of crimes in any way.

I agree that if British were not to come, there would have been multiple independent countries. But currently it's the Indian republic and there will be no compromise on that. And you are now very close to sedition with your views.

I think you have way too much insecurity my friend. I have always been a nationalist and will continue to be and there will no compromise on that. And I'm not blinded by nationalism.

My family itself could be called outsiders as my ancestors came from Rajasthan to Maharashtra. They were most probably Rajputs but then got accommodated as Marathas. So I'm a migrant but I don't have any sense of strong affinity for the state of Rajasthan now and now I consider myself completely Marathi. Similarly, I have seen many non-Marathi speakers speaking fluent Marathi. Why? Because Marathi is a compulsory language according in State Board till the 10th standard. So people automatically have to learn Marathi if they want to stay in Maharashtra. And upper class, middle class kids know their language as well.

I have friends from Vidarbha but not one of them is Hindi. Some are Marwadis but I don't consider Marwadis as threatening as they do their job and are not part of crimes in any way.

I agree that if British were not to come, there would have been multiple independent countries. But currently it's the Indian republic and there will be no compromise on that. And you are now very close to sedition with your views.
Yes. You are blinded by nationalism.

India is like a sinking ship. Muslims, North Indians, Gujaratis and Marwadis would not have survived for so long without us. Now they will force us to sink along with them as well. There will be no survivors.

Yes. You are blinded by nationalism.

India is like a sinking ship. Muslims, North Indians, Gujaratis and Marwadis would not have survived for so long without us. Now they will force us to sink along with them as well. There will be no survivors.
'Without us'? Why do you say so? Every has contributed to the idea that is India. We can't lay claim on it. Everyone has contributed equally. And no, India is not sinking.

If you are pulled over for say driving whilst using a phone - and refuse to cooperate with the police. Are they allowed to arrest you? or do they just have to let you go?

They should be arrested for violation. But how would it be proven?

Having said that, the police personal should have issued citation and let her fight it in court. But that's not the issue here, the women is claiming that this police personal has said something bad in Punjabi, if true that is very unprofessional.

Solution is body camera for every police personal.

She should be happy that she is in Pakistan

whatever was said is playing women card

mid she did this in USA , she would be dead by now

And department would have law suit.

They should be arrested for violation. But how would it be proven?

Having said that, the police personal should have issued citation and let her fight it in court. But that's not the issue here, the women is claiming that this police personal has said something bad in Punjabi, if true that is very unprofessional.

Solution is body camera for every police personal.

And department would have law suit.
Well I agree with you to some level but if you know these type of ladies you will see how they play there games

see it in video , she is not keeping to the incident only if that is true , she is bringing women rights and females In islamic Pakistan etc just to proof herself right

the guy from the police who asked her what was said on punjabi as saying anything in punjabi is not gali she told him to stay away and shush

Its disappointing to see this thread been hijacked by Indians. Mods should clean this thread from Indians polluting in this thread.
@Dubious
As an Indian i apologize and agree that Nilu Phule guy does that deliberately.

Since when it is required in Punjab to speak Urdu in public ? It is not like that an MNA is addressing the National Assembly. If Punjabis can not freely speak Punjabi on Punjabi soil, we seriously have to take a decision if Urdu is a valid language on Punjabi soil. Being liberal has it's limit.
Sir ji let's not make it a Urdu vs Punjabi issue. Her Urdu accent was not proper and probably she is a Punjabi herself.

Punjabis need to understand that their language is beautiful, probably the most beautiful language in the entire country. From the moment I started learning Punjabi, I realized that this language doesn't have a challenger. I have many Punjabi friends I made in UK. Most of them are from Faisalabad. I used to ask them why they don't promote this language.

A Sindhi, Pakhtoon, a Balochi or a Urdu speaker never feels embarrassed when he communicates in his mother tongue. But I have seen so many punjabis who either want to speak in English or in Urdu.

My children can't speak proper Urdu because most of their teachers are native British. For the past one year, there's a curfew in my house on speaking English. There Urdu is now getting better. I don't want them to disconnect from their roots.

Punjabis need to do the same. Urdu and English should only be studied as a subject in schools... Punjabi should be added as a compulsory subject, and at homes the children should be forced to speak only in Punjabi. But first the common people should stop considering this beautiful language as insulting.

I think (I might be wrong), only upper class Punjabis don't want to speak Punjabi. The middle and lower class still have a good grasp of this language.

I think all of them speak it all the time. People in Punjab speak Urdu with strangers.
And what does promoting a language mean? Making films and songs in that language and writing books?
Of course.. making good movies, writing good songs, making good family stage dramas, forcing children to speak only in Punjabi.. they all count towards promoting Punjabi.

Urdu is important for speaking with people of other provinces, but punjabis should never speak in Urdu or English with other punjabis.

By the way, now even Urdu is being considered as inferior. Two Urdu speakers, or Punjabi speakers like to talk in English if they are a little educated and they think speaking in English means belonging to elite class.

Duniya main kaheen nahi dekha ke 2 ham zaban aik teesri zaban main baat karain. You see Arabs, they only talk in Arabic among themselves, Germans or Japanese will only talk in their respective languages. Only Indians want to speak in English even if both are native speakers of a same language. Sadly Pakistanis are also learning from them fast. Not just punjabis, people of other provinces show their English skills whenever they get a chance.

Sir ji let's not make it a Urdu vs Punjabi issue. Her Urdu accent was not proper and probably she is a Punjabi herself.

Punjabis need to understand that their language is beautiful, probably the most beautiful language in the entire country. From the moment I started learning Punjabi, I realized that this language doesn't have a challenger. I have many Punjabi friends I made in UK. Most of them are from Faisalabad. I used to ask them why they don't promote this language.

A Sindhi, Pakhtoon, a Balochi or a Urdu speaker never feels embarrassed when he communicates in his mother tongue. But I have seen so many punjabis who either want to speak in English or in Urdu.

My children can't speak proper Urdu because most of their teachers are native British. For the past one year, there's a curfew in my house on speaking English. There Urdu is now getting better. I don't want them to disconnect from their roots.

Punjabis need to do the same. Urdu and English should only be studied as a subject in schools... Punjabi should be added as a compulsory subject, and at homes the children should be forced to speak only in Punjabi. But first the common people should stop considering this beautiful language as insulting.

I think (I might be wrong), only upper class Punjabis don't want to speak Punjabi. The middle and lower class still have a good grasp of this language.

Thanks brother for understanding and appreciating our language. The problem with Punjabi is the ill repute it has gotten. People think it's a language only of poor and only for jokes, but Punjabi is much more than that. Urdu owes much of its origin to Punjabi.

I think all of them speak it all the time. People in Punjab speak Urdu with strangers.
And what does promoting a language mean? Making films and songs in that language and writing books?

Anyone who lives in Punjab and tells me they don't speak Punjabi is lying. To buy andey and parathey, you even need Punjabi.

We have a saying, "Lahore de kutte billiya vi Punjabi bolde ney."

Punjabi is a diverse language with many dialects, some of which like Seraiki, Hindko, and Pahari can be considered separate languages too.

I speak mostly Urdu in the West, due to not many Punjabi speakers around, mostly Muhajirs and Pukhtoons. I cannot for the life of me read Romanized Punjabi, lol.

But when I am around Faisalabadis, my accent comes out like throwing a fish back in the water.

Even my Faisalabadi Punjabi sometimes tries to get corrected by people from Lahore or Gujranwalla who don't understand the nuance of my accent.

Thanks brother for understanding and appreciating our language. The problem with Punjabi is the ill repute it has gotten. People think it's a language only of poor and only for jokes, but Punjabi is much more than that. Urdu owes much of its origin to Punjabi.
I think the ill reputation is because of dirty Punjabi dramas. Although they are very funny but for just a couple of hours of fun purely for men, they are destroying the respect of a very nice language.

Not gonna lie, I love me some Maula Jatt, Rangeela aur Munawar Zareef, etc. I grew up watching these cheap, overdramatic Punjabi filams.