Why Bhutan Hates India? Thimphu leans towards China

Hahhaa this looks very entertaining news site.

Kya complex hai yaar. Identity crisis ???????
Only those who wish ill of india take that site seriously as it fulfill their *********. Too bad the site is as fake as their dreams.

Anyway, who cares about that site, one thing for sure we know the ground realities.

you must be kidding. hahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahhahahahahahhahahahah

India and Indians should invest in such web portals like these mischief mongers (wardat karnewale) of Rupees News have, who have been suffering from imprint of 1971 war and communal hatred spewing venom against India.

I am quite amazed by their dare that they have been lying without knowing the repercussions, their state may suffer because of animosity they are promoting.

They have been debunked and humiliated many a times not only by Indians but many western Pakistan watchers for their fallacious claims and conspiracy theory laden propaganda.

They are the same people having tin pots like Ahmed Qureshi; a suit wearing, having British accent, a criminal mind who doctored wikileaks and many more like Zaid Hamid etc. Not only they are conspiring against India but their own people from media personalities and ministers of federal govt. of Pakistan.

Bhutan's revenue wont survive if they turn hostile.

You forgot about China...are we going to sit idle to see them sufer??? :coffee:

We have army base inside bhutan .

What is that mean? a regime change if they give middle finger to India??? :lol:

Himalayas make it a little difficult for the chinese , besides they also have small border dispute with China i heard. Bhutan is way to integrated with Indian system , infact it feels like visiting 29th state of India except for the currency:sick:..

Himalayas is difficult for Chinese??? we're unstoppable, that why India is so scare of China building Infrastructures in Tibet. As for border issue, we will settle with them peacefully. If you swallow Bhutan, we will swallow india and make it another Tibet. :woot:

Bhutan switches focus to China

For the first time in the history, Bhutan is asserting its right to have formal ties with China, its northern neighbor and India's arch-rival. New Delhi might need to amend its policy on the tiny nation of about 700,000 people, which is seen as exclusively loyal to India.

At the monthly "Meet the Press" conference in Thimphu last week, Bhutanese Prime Minister Jigmi Y Thinley called China "a reality," when asked if he met Chinese Premier Wen Jiabao at a UN conference in Brazil in June. "It is best that we do not ignore, but accept, the reality," said Thinley, who is likely to win a second term in the 2013 general election.

After the Rio+20 conference, Thinley denied Beijing's claim that he had expressed his willingness to establish diplomatic relations with China. The statement by Thinley's office, which claimed he and Wen had only discussed bilateral issues and multilateral cooperation, was seen as meant to pacify New Delhi, which is believed to have tremendous influence over Bhutan's foreign and defense policy and has been its largest trade and development partner for decades.

Barely five months later, Thimphu appears less apologetic and more assertive. At last week's press conference, Thinley acknowledged having "a very special relationship with India," but went on to affirm that "it does not mean that we make enemies of all others."

Reports about Thinley's first-ever meeting with his Chinese counterpart in Rio raised concerns in India thanks to the race for dominance between New Delhi and Beijing in South Asia and beyond, and China's "string of pearls" strategy to encircle India in the maritime domain.

China has long pressed Bhutan to have diplomatic relations and give access to a disputed patch of land bordering India in northwest Bhutan. "It became evident from the very first that China was more interested in developing direct relations with Bhutan than resolving border issues," according to a policy paper entitled, "Security of Bhutan: Walking Between the Giants," published in Journal of Bhutan Studies in 2004. "During the second round (of talks over border issues) in 1985, China talked of expanding contact, saying it has diplomatic relations with all SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation) states, but not with Bhutan."

The paper also noted how China meant to target India. During an 11th round of Sino-Indian talks held in Beijing in 1996, "China proposed to exchange 495 square kilometers area with an area of 269 square kilometers in the north-west Bhutan," which "would seriously undermine India's security by shifting the Bhutan-China border to the south," the paper added.

However, Thinley is more concerned about Bhutan's interests. He told reporters last week that analysts in India had little awareness about the vulnerability of a tiny nation. Thimphu apparently fears both neighbors, as evident in the emphasis it lays on preserving the visible aspects of the nation's culture.

In the 1970s, Bhutan's fourth king Jigme Singye Wangchuck famously said the nation did not have "economic power or military muscle," but its "unique culture" can "strengthen Bhutan's sovereignty."

Bhutan seeks to mark, and protect, its territory through its cultural distinctiveness. To look different from India and China, it adopted a mandatory Driglam Namzha, the official behavior and dress code, which requires citizens to wear the national dress - the gho for men and kira for women - in public places. Art and architecture are also required to conform to the country's traditions.

"I think it's time we have our own foreign policy experts," Thinley told journalists.

India, which inherited the suzerainty over Bhutan after the independence in 1947, has enjoyed almost exclusive influence on that nation. Thimphu, for its part, derived a sense of security from its relations with New Delhi, especially after China "annexed" Tibet, Bhutan's northern neighbor, in 1959. However, Bhutan, which struggles to sustain itself financially due to its difficult terrain, got weary of overdependence on New Delhi after its western neighbor, Sikkim, was "absorbed" by India through a referendum in 1975.

A 1949 treaty required Thimphu to be guided by the advice of New Delhi in regard to its external relations; the clause was removed in a 2007 treaty - only on paper. But now, Thimphu seems to think the time has come to actually pursue a foreign policy independent of India.

Bhutan is aggressively seeking a role in international relations apparently to assert its sovereignty in all matters. Thimphu made an unsuccessful bid for a non-permanent seat in the United Nations Security Council last month. It managed to get 20 votes in the 193-member General Assembly. Thinley said during the press conference that Bhutan's participation in the UNSC election was in itself an achievement.

In July 2011, Thimphu was able to get the UN General Assembly unanimously adopt a resolution placing "happiness" on the global agenda and empowering Bhutan to convene a high-level meeting on happiness as part of the 66th session of the Assembly in New York. This perhaps further reassured Bhutan that it deserves to be independent of foreign influence.

In August, about two months after Thinley's meeting with Jiabao, India's concerns didn't deter Thimphu from hosting China's Vice Foreign Minister Fu Ying, who made another public pitch for establishing diplomatic relations with Bhutan in a speech in Thimphu (http://www.kuenselonline.com/2011/?p=35042). "About six weeks ago Premier Wen Jiabao and Prime Minister Jigme Thinley met for a historic, first-time meeting between the two countries at the head of government level in Rio de Janeiro on the sidelines of the Rio+20 summit. The two leaders reached new and important common understanding on the development of China-Bhutan relations," Ying reiterated. But Thimphu did not issue a public statement on Ying's visit.

New Delhi is expected to react. India's ambassador to Bhutan, Pavan K Varma, resigned in late October . Varma, who enjoyed good relations with the government of Bhutan as well as its people, had sought extension as an envoy in Bhutan, but New Delhi refused to oblige apparently for his failure to foresee and preempt the growing proximity between Thimphu and Beijing.

According to media reports, India's incumbent ambassador to Syria, VP Haran, is expected to replace Varma in Bhutan. Haran was deputy chief of the Indian mission in Nepal during the crucial last days of King Gyanendra in that country in the early 2000s. And India is believed to have practiced carrot and stick diplomacy in Nepal.

In the coming months and years, both Bhutan and India will need to take important decisions.

Bhutan, which is seeking to lead the world in environment conservation, could perhaps look at how resource and strategic interests-hungry China deals with other nations in Asia, such as Burma and Sri Lanka. And India should re-evaluate its nature of diplomacy in nations like Nepal, where New Delhi is increasingly losing influence despite alleged interference in that nation's domestic affairs.

Asia Times Online :: South Asia news, business and economy from India and Pakistan

Interesting video of China-Bhutan meeting in Chinese

Himalayas is difficult for Chinese??? we're unstoppable, that why India is so scare of China building Infrastructures in Tibet. As for border issue, we will settle with them peacefully. If you swallow Bhutan, we will swallow india and make it another Tibet. :woot:

well I guess even Mariana Trench is not deep enough for Chinese why don't you take a dive and never come back here?? If Bhutan in future like to join the union I'll have no problem, they decide what they want , we are never going to send our tanks there or build a road there unless they want it... By the way sikkim joined the union of India what the folk did you do ??? nothing ...

That's a secret deal between China and India: we recognize Sikkim as India's and India recognize Tibet as China's....We got a land 100 x size, you got peenut....that was official deal...comprendo?

as for Bhutan...look at their flag, they're even more closer to China than India in the pass, we both share the Imperial dragons, only their dragon has four claws we chinese got five. And sure have a sweet dream to claim it as your 29th state, you wouldn't dare to send tank to annexe it or Bhutan will certainly allow China to entrangle your chicken neck and make you completely lose your north east.

Flag_of_Bhutan.svg

they hate india b'cause they want to merge with ultra glorious celestial dragons. ;)

That's a secret deal between China and India: we recognize Sikkim as India's and India recognize Tibet as China's....We got a land 100 x size, you got peenut....that was official deal...comprendo?

as for Bhutan...look at their flag, they're even more closer to China than India in the pass, we both share the Imperial dragons, only their dragon has four claws we chinese got five. And sure have a sweet dream to claim it as your 29th state, you wouldn't dare to send tank to annexe it or Bhutan will certainly allow China to entrangle your chicken neck and make you completely lose your north east.

Flag_of_Bhutan.svg

Good luck with that buddy.. Until you have North east have this
depositphotos_3722842-Funny-banana.jpg

they hate india b'cause they want to merge with ultra glorious celestial dragons. ;)

Wrong, They just want to get away from been controlled and dominated by India, we Chinese just want to have a friendly relation with them. I guess Bhutaneses have learned a great deal of how other South Asia countries been treated...they're preparing themself a plan "B"

You forgot about China...are we going to sit idle to see them sufer??? :coffee:

You have no idea of what you are talking about and is just repeating Jingoism.

Bhutans main revenue is power sector, tourism sector and banking which is very much dependant on India only .

The majority revenue making companies of Bhutan.

1.Tala Hydropower Authority ( completely funded by India and sells only to India)
2.Druk Green Power Corporation (DGPC) ( exports completely to India)
3.Tourism Council of Bhutan -(Most tourists are from India)
4 Royal Monetary Authority
5 Bhutan Power Corporation -( domestic power supply)
6 Department of Lottery -(sells its lotteries completly to India which is a major revenue)
7 Bank of Bhutan (BoB),
8 Road Safety & Transport Authority (RSTA) and
9 Bhutan Telecom (BT)

Ref:Druk Green: Druk Green at Work
Tala Hydroelectric Project - Power Technology
Ministry Of Finance, BHUTAN
Bhutan Observer » Power sector still tops revenue generation

So how do u plan to replace India.. buy power from Bhutan ??? LOL China already produces what power it needs
Or do u plan to buy bhutan lotteries from Bhutan and market it in China.

So dude before you quote me, better think twice , i dont buy the usual argument like "china will step in" wont sit idle bullsh!ts". You will have to take these silly arguments with somebody else.

Wrong, They just want to get away from been controlled and dominated by India, we Chinese just want to have a friendly relation with them. I guess Bhutaneses have learned a great deal of how other South Asia countries been treated...they're preparing themself a plan "B"

who in whole blue world china is friendly with,except pakistan and n.korea. Bhutanese are smart enough to understand that without indian support china will slurp then in a moment.

after that what China will be gang raped by the rest of the world from an onslaught conventional or nuclear does not matter, but be rest assured that India will not go down without a fight. It will make china a nuclear wasteland that won't even have single tree's for you guys to create new chopsticks.

Now Stfu and get back to the topic, Bhutan is free to choose who it favor's we don't care but in the end of the day when widespread communism spread's and the Bhutanese crap their pants we will be happy to reply to them with the middle finger.