Xeric
RETIRED THINK TANK
Tujhay kitnio baar kaha hai k yawian na mara kar.Chicken - Kargil mein bhiii beeemar honeiii ka bhanaa banaa liyaa thaaa !
Jokes aside - How are you Xeric Bhai ?
Once i was in this US military institution and we had this discussion on PTSD. i was surprised that the US had an elaborate system to manage soldiers' post employment problems like PTSD; till then i didnt know that there is one. Then i was even more surprised by the large number of soldiers undergoing the rehabilitation program. They said that soldiers coming back from Iraq or Afg tend to get into Domestic Violence issues (related to PTSD). But i was happy to tell them that we dont require any such program as of yet.If you can tell me something that I've often wondered - Are their instances of suicide within the Pakistan Army because our soldiers can't cope with the fighting & the killing like there are in other armies around the world (those deployed in combat) ? I ask because I couldn't find any mention as such !
The reasons i told them were:
May be by being Muslims we have natural ways of 'disinfecting' ourselves through activities like Namaz etc.
Then, when we go to war we do it through a special kind of conviction driven by our nationalism and religion.
Also, we have an excellent way of 'cleansing' ourselves as we have a well-knit family system, with all those dadas, chachas, cousins and parents, we dont feel 'alone'. Actually, we dont just rely on our girl/boy friends for the purpose. Just to qualify this statement i would quote a colleague of mine in the US military who when asked what's the saddest part of not having a boy-friend, replied; "you know when you are off that carrier or the plane back from Afg or Iraq and you see other soldiers being hugged and kissed by their lovers, and no one is there to receive you, it Sucks, it sucks big time."
i mean, if my gf (hypothetically..i knw @Armstrong nay ismay say bhi mazay lainay hain) doesnt keep contact with me or isnt there when i come back from a war, i can shed away my catharsis with the help of my family, instead of killing someone or burning someones body, no?
Lastly, may be we have not been into this war for long enough, may be after another 10 years we also require to have PTSD and domestic violence solutions, but i seriously doubt that.
Many.Any kind of ''shooting matches'' at all, against India?