What are the wierd wedding traditions you have?

In India, weddings go on for WHOLE NIGHTS. Mine happened in January. It was cold in north India. Even with all the heaters & blowers & what not, keeping awake the whole fking night was not something I liked. At one point, in one ceremony where the couple is made to sit in a corner inside the house (I think its the kitchen) and does some pooja, I go so irritated that i shouted "its enough". It was wrapped up quickly.

Aray baba,
When does the alone time happen?
Wedding is not just for party, its the after-party that matters lol

Mendhi - why do we have mendhis? Why does the bride wear henna? I've noticed in the past some grooms have done too!

Mehndi / Henna is probably thousands of years old, probably came to South Asia via Iran from Egypt. I am not sure about Egypt but in Iran this tradition still exist.
I think mehndi is islamic traditions. Its not cultural.

It's much older than Islam.

Starting from the rishta process:

1. Girl or girl's parents cannot propose to guy or guy's family. It must always be the guy or guy's family propose to girl's family.

2. A girl can meet, talk, hang out with her male friends or cousins but must do pardah with her potential husband. (complete reverse application of Islamic sharai pardah)

3. Heartless and soul-less gifts

4. Jahez. Dowry

5. Wastage of food

6. Showoff even if its mean to sell your house.

7. Late marriages. Bcoz of above reasons

Sir za taso sara completely agree kom.
Khas kar Corona da lasa kho la noram har sa difficult shal.
Ao pa kali k kho hara vraz la sok pa haq rasedali e ao la ye waada v.
Day kaar day para um yo ozgaar khel kas pakar day che agha nora sa nakai bus kala yo zay ta zi ao kala bal zay ta.

Aao kana. Ma kho mor ta mai waile wu che bus de. Da wus ra'ana na keegi.

Sorry to say but most of the traditions in our marriages are unislamic and from hindus. I hope with time these dumb, stupid and wasteful traditions die out. I even am against pashtuns doing aerial firing as it can cause death of someone. The aerial firing is common in punjab too.
Marriages should be made simple, cheaper and easy. We should follow the Islamic way and avoid hindu traditions and waste of money and showoff.

I actually do think firing Kalashinkov is good but it should be done in a controlled manner to make sure nobody can get hurt. As long as firing is done safely, I will always support it.

I'm sure we've all been to many weddings and seen many customs traditions, even partaking in them, without ever knowing their origin.

I'm going to start a list, hoping you guys can help.

Mendhi - why do we have mendhis? Why does the bride wear henna? I've noticed in the past some grooms have done too!

Also what's the deal with all the candles you see in plates nowadays? And why all the oil in people's hair?

Sehra/Kulla - what are they about? Why do you have to wear a hat? I'm not a fan of hats. They make my head warm and mess up my hair.

Garlands/money haar - where did they come from? Who thought about putting money on them?

salami - why do we have to give people cash in every ritual?

Also we have this one where women pose with a decorated pot/kara as we call it.

Then you have a ceremony where they waft garlands over you as you walk. Why? Whats the origin?

Also whats the deal with the decorative lota?

Choor - why do we sent/get a choor?

Also whats with the throwing of colour on people?

just sooo many odd things. just listing it all bought back the trauma of my own wedding.
bhai wedding itself is weird tradition ...