We have our share

Thebignag

New Recruit

A Pakistani national, who had come to pursue a course in production from Whistling Woods International Institute in Mumbai, was beaten up at a Malad mall last week for sporting a tattoo in Urdu on her back. The incident scared the girl so much that she left for Pakistan on Friday.

Saba Najam, 22, was roughed up at Hypercity Mall in Malad last Monday after some people spotted a tattoo in Urdu on her back. The incident took place at around 8.30 pm when Saba had gone to the washroom of the mall.

Some women suddenly approached her and assaulted her over the tattoo which read ‘Shukr Alham Du Lillah’, meaning ‘Thank you, God’.

Riyaz Ahmed Talukdar, a member of Jan Seva Sangh, a local NGO, had first spotted the tattoo on Saba’s back and informed his mother, Shabana Talukdar. Riyaz said, “When I saw the tattoo I was furious as holy words from the Quran were on her back.” Shabana, along with a few other women, then came to the mall in the next 15 minutes and confronted Saba in the washroom.

They slapped the girl several times before the mall management intervened.

“Since both the parties concerned are our patrons we simply referred the matter to the police,” said Manvir Singh, spokesperson of Hypercity Mall.

The group, along with Saba, were taken to the Bangur Nagar police station.

According to Bangur Nagar police, Saba apologised profusely and said she hadn’t known that the tattoo would hurt anybody’s sentiments.

Danaji Nalavde, inspector in-charge of crime at the police station, said, “There was nothing objectionable about the tattoo and there are no legal provisions under which we could have booked her. But since the group of people were agitated we asked Saba to give her statement in writing.”

In her statement Saba said she was sorry and that she would get the tattoo removed through laser surgery in the next three days. Nevertheless, the cops referred the matter to legal experts to see if they could book Saba for hurting religious sentiments or under any other legal provision.

On Friday night, however, Saba left for Lahore. Ravi Gupta, executive director of Whistling Woods told Mumbai Mirror that Saba seemed extremely disturbed after the incident.

“We had spoken to the cops who assured us that there was no case against her. We told her there was nothing to worry about but she was too scared,” he said.

Saba hails from Lahore in Pakistan and had come to Mumbai in 2007 on a student visa. She joined Whistling Woods in 2008.

She got the tattoo done from a tattoo parlour in Bandra in February 2008.

Saba was unavailable for comment. Meanwhile, Riyaz says he is happy Saba has left the country.

Comment : I sincerely apologise to Ms. Saba, for the behaviour of my fellow citizens.Hope she will comeback and continue her studies.

Posted On Monday, January 19, 2009 at 02:52:24 AM Indiatimes

To be honest, she had it coming. First of all, Sporting a tattoo with the words "Shukar alhamdullilah" from the Quran on her "Back", visible for everyone to see? She clearly knows that it wouldn't have been acceptable in Pakistan, then what makes her think that it can be acceptable in another country with a large Muslim population?

Secondly, Inking and inflicting pain on your body (By going through a tattoo procedure) Is Haraam (Not Allowed) in Islam. Using words from Quran to go against that teaching of Islam is not just an act of hypocrisy but also quite stupid.

Idiocy at it's best.

In Pakistan this would've gotten her a blasphemy conviction faster than she could say 'oh!'. What was she thinking?

In Pakistan, she wouldn't have gone through this as her Parents would've not allowed that to happen due to OBVIOUS reasons which I mentioned in my last post. Refer to post #2.

I didn't see your post when I was posting. We both posted a few seconds from each other. :angel:

Did learn something new today: tatoos are haram in Islam.

Btw: This says quite a lot about Muslims getting equal opportunity in India to mete out vigilante justice :D

Riyaz Ahmed Talukdar, a member of Jan Seva Sangh, a local NGO, had first spotted the tattoo on Saba’s back and informed his mother, Shabana Talukdar. Riyaz said, “When I saw the tattoo I was furious as holy words from the Quran were on her back.” Shabana, along with a few other women, then came to the mall in the next 15 minutes and confronted Saba in the washroom.

They slapped the girl several times before the mall management intervened.

Assault (Battery) . In Fiji, Shabana and her cronies would have been booked for assault

Nevertheless, the cops referred the matter to legal experts to see if they could book Saba for hurting religious sentiments or under any other legal provision.

Do you job, cops !! Writing 'thank you God' should not be a crime in a free society. assault causing bodily harm is !

Instead of speculating on what would have happened to her in Pakistan, why dont you shed some light on the disgusting behaviour of your fellow hoodlum countrymen. The girl is back in Pakistan now as we talk, i'm yet to hear any news about her getting beaten what to talk of blasphemy, in Pakistan. Tatoos, i believe dont get removed so easily. What a shame/..........

Once again you amaze me with your stupidity. What light do you want me to shed? The whole story is pretty much out there. She didn't get beaten up, she got SLAPPED. I've gotten slapped more in elementary school than this woman did on that day. Moreover, you are surprisingly quiet on the fact that these were Muslim women who beat her up. NOT "Zionist Hindu Brahman Nazis" or whatever you love to blame everyday.

To be honest, she had it coming. First of all, Sporting a tattoo with the words "Shukar alhamdullilah" from the Quran on her "Back", visible for everyone to see? She clearly knows that it wouldn't have been acceptable in Pakistan, then what makes her think that it can be acceptable in another country with a large Muslim population?

Secondly, Inking and inflicting pain on your body (By going through a tattoo procedure) Is Haraam (Not Allowed) in Islam. Using words from Quran to go against that teaching of Islam is not just an act of hypocrisy but also quite stupid.

Idiocy at it's best.

Its her choice. But why shukar alhumdullilah... she could have had some other nicer tattoo with better words...:cheesy:It seems stupid to have a shukar alhumdullilah tatoo... damn i have never seen anyone in my life do that... but some girls are real attention seekers... absolute idiots. To have someone look at their backs they can do something this stupid... lol

Maybe she could have had something more attractive tatooed there... i guess... i have Pakistani f4 life on my back... urdu writing and a little nasty looking angry dragon... i really like it... next i will have a snake and the 3 disciples on Hazrat Jinnah the Quaid... :agree:

But she did have it coming. I agree. Why did she go to India to study anyway? Despite being a Pakistani she goes to India? She wants to raped by shiv sena bajrang dal or RSS etc etc? Does'nt she know Indian terrorists are in coming to control the country? It is risky to be there for foreigners anyway. :agree:

Anyway I think I would like to meet the poor girl to give my condolences... anyone know which area of Lahore did she stay in? I could go as journalist. My freind arranges licenses cauz hes in dawn... :cheers:

I didn't see your post when I was posting. We both posted a few seconds from each other. :angel:

Did learn something new today: tatoos are haram in Islam.

Btw: This says quite a lot about Muslims getting equal opportunity in India to mete out vigilante justice :D

THEY ARE NOT HARAM!!!! :angry::angry::angry::angry::angry:

Who said they were haram. Putting something from the Quran in writing on ur back is quite controversial and may hit of some debate but normal tatoos are a different thing.

Also alcohol based and tatoos using gelatin are haram but in islamic states there is no content of these materials.

I think berzi was refferin to the fact that some scholars say that in prayers no depiction should be made of anyone or anything etc. In the case of prayer however what i do if i am wearing a shirt with a picture is wear a pictureless button shirt or jacket when i pray... sooo... that is allowed. In same way since a shirt or something is covering up the tatoo picture on ur back in this case while you pray it is okay... :agree:

THEY ARE NOT HARAM!!!! :angry::angry::angry::angry::angry:

Who said they were haram. Putting something from the Quran in writing on ur back is quite controversial and may hit of some debate but normal day to day tatoos are a different thing.

Also alcohol based and tatoos using gelatin are haram but in islamic states there is no content of these materials.

I think berzi was refferin to the fact that some scholars say that in prayers no depiction should be made of anyone or anything etc. In the case of prayer however what i do if i am wearing a shirt with a picture is wear a pictureless button shirt or jacket when i pray... sooo... that is allowed. In same way since a shirt or something is covering up the tatoo picture on ur back in this case while you pray it is okay... :agree:

You seriously must be going crazy with the hormonal outburst right now because of your plans to meet the girl who got beaten, at the convenience of your friend who can issue you with a Journalism licence. Because CLEARLY you don't know what you're talking about.

Tattoo's are Haram in Islam. You need to do your homework dude before someone grabs you in the mall one day while you're trying to explain everyone how they're PERMITTED in islam! :lol:

Yaar kya ho gaya hai... tu canada mein rah raha hai... yahan pey parents honey ke bawajud jo pakistani larkian harkatein karti hain tumhein nahi pata?...

Basically in pakistan there are all sorts of people. All of them do what they please. The bad ones hate the mullahs though and mullahs equally hate them...

Why did she go to India to study anyway? Despite being a Pakistani she goes to India? She wants to raped by shiv sena bajrang dal or RSS etc etc? Does'nt she know Indian terrorists are in coming to control the country? It is risky to be there for foreigners anyway. :agree:
:

You always provide me a good laugh brother..!!!!:lol:

Well back to the point, she shouldnt have sported the tatto, which might have hurt relgious sentiments, but its absolutely wrong by the shabana and the other people too to slap her, they are not given the moral policing rights by our country right.. Case should have been registered against them for assualting a guest of the nation..!!!!

You seriously must be going crazy with the hormonal outburst right now because of your plans to meet the girl who got beaten, at the convenience of your friend who can issue you with a Journalism licence. Because CLEARLY you don't know what you're talking about.

Tattoo's are Haram in Islam. You need to do your homework dude before someone grabs you in the mall one day while you're trying to explain everyone how they're PERMITTED in islam! :lol:

U aren't serious... how are they NOt permitted in Islam?

But she did have it coming. I agree. Why did she go to India to study anyway? Despite being a Pakistani she goes to India? She wants to raped by shiv sena bajrang dal or RSS etc etc? Does'nt she know Indian terrorists are in coming to control the country? It is risky to be there for foreigners anyway. :agree:

Lots of foreigners study in India. The colleges in my home city, Pune have many Chinese students.

Then there is this:
The Hindu : Karnataka / Mangalore News : In search of quality healthcare

You're welcome to visit India anytime too.

THEY ARE NOT HARAM!!!!

Thanks for the clarification. Btw, if you're so angry, you probably have a tatoo yourself :P