Violence in Gilgit

Well, look why blame any Indian - it's obvious we have a problem, it's our problem - and we all know what it is but we can't bear to be truthful about it, lest the Indian overhear us, make a laughing stock of us (something we manage quite well by ourselves).

You asked for a comment with regard to :

"how sad it is then that, we, are so far gone now, that we cut ourselves to bleed just so others can take pity on us"

Trust me on this, No One takes pity on us!, No One! We don't take pity on ourselves and we want that others should??

If I may, the reason we don't take pity on ourselves is that we long ago forgot what Pakistan is supposed to be about, we even forgot what our confession is about -- but not all of us, a good number of us prefer slumber, but the sleeper must awaken, conscience demands it, the future depends on it.

Sectarian bigotry whenever it starts against the "other", always ends up feeding on it's own - Quranic verses to justify bigotry and hatred against other religions and confessional groups has ended up where it was always going to end up, in disaster. "Yeh Hum nahi" - tau phir kya hain? The sleeper must awaken.

lest the Indian overhear us, make a laughing stock of us (something we manage quite well by ourselves).

Yes! those are the fears, which some of our good Indian Trolls remind us from time to time, but, I must say, that, I am thankful to EjzaR to have heeded my request. :)

Trust me on this, No One takes pity on us!, No One! We don't take pity on ourselves and we want that others should??

Then it is a state of limbo, going nowhere.

But how will that status quo change?

The leaders arent going to change it, the awaam are way to weak to change it, how............

Righteous

Always, it takes Leadership - Awaam and all that rubbish is just that rubbish, it always takes a leadership. - Just in case it's not clear, leadership is always associated with taking action.

I am becoming convinced that Pakistani police and security agencies are creating by their ineptness, a serious, a very serious situation:

4 killed in firing on Gilgit passenger van

GILGIT: Four people were killed and 10 others injured when unidentified persons opened fire on a passenger van on Wednesday.

Gilgit-Baltistan Inspector General Police Kursheed Alam Khan said four people, including a 13-year-old boy, were killed when unidentified persons opened fire on a van travelling from Basin to Gilgit.

He said the boy was killed on the spot while three injured men died in the hospital, adding that two of the injured were in critical condition. app

Prince Kareem Aga Khan invested lot in development of Gilgit , but again focused more on Shia (Ismaili) population of Gilgit.

WOT is now a multi dimension war , sunni talaban and wahabi arabs fighting with US in Afghanistan but iran and GOP is supporting US also Iran is supporting US in Iraq but supporting Hizbullah in Lebanon againt Israel close friend of US.

Muslim ummah is in real trouble, even not able to identify between friend and enemy.

WOT is becoming more sunni and shia war , which is real objective of israel to weaken the muslim ummah.

I think in current complex situation we must wait and see. 8 years of WoT and we never heart anything in this part of the country regarding security situation.. Now All of sudden violence erupted there.... There are many factors to be kept in mind like timing, GoP announcement of changing political status of NA, Ops in Swat... etc.
What i want to know is has anybody claimed responsibility of bomb blast which triggered all this violence.

Actually there is some history to this - JI was accused earlier of helping to forment anti-shi'ah violence there. The transition and the impositon of the Governor was very very very clumsy, indeed.

why do they kill shia ... whats the taliban or wahabi logic or may be if i put it this way "strategic goal: behind kiling shias !!? can any one shed some light on if they have any info ..!!?

Wahabi or Talaban or deobandi and shia or ismaili shia or bohri shia have differences but their is no fatwa of kufar against each other.

I think in current complex situation we must wait and see. 8 years of WoT and we never heart anything in this part of the country regarding security situation.. Now All of sudden violence erupted there.... There are many factors to be kept in mind like timing, GoP announcement of changing political status of NA, Ops in Swat... etc.
What i want to know is has anybody claimed responsibility of bomb blast which triggered all this violence.

Might be something new for you; but for the shia community we've been hearing of these killings for longer than you can imagine; its not something new that has erupted after the changing of the political status of the Northern Areas. DI Khan, DG Khan; Hangu; Gilgit; Parachinar. People here are just getting killed because they are shias.

Wahabi or Talaban or deobandi and shia or ismaili shia or bohri shia have differences but their is no fatwa of kufar against each other.

No fatwa of Kufar against Shias by the wahabis? You must be kidding me. :argh:

they say pretty open to kill shia and in old times it use to come on bbc ,there were ppl in jhang i remember on his name plate says "always hate or may b it was kill shia.

There is a fundamental problem here and for some reason most of the members are sensitive to talk about it. If we wont talk about it then this religious hatred never leave us and there is no way we can have religious and cultural harmony .Forget the 60 year old vision which our nation us thinking to implement now.

AoA

NA region is very different from the tribal areas in the Frontier where there is a long-standing tradition to own and display weapons.
The only possible exception is the Indus Kohistan region. Untill the 1970s, one could travel from Chitral and Mastuj in the west, to Skardu and Khaplu in the east without seeing a single weapon and with a perfect assurance of personal safety. Hell until the early 80s when I lived in Skardu, murder was absolutely unknown and Baltistan was possibly the most pacifist society in the world. The fact that these areas were populated by religious minorities (almost all of Baltistan is Twelver Shia, Hunza is Ismaili, as is most of the upper Chitral, while Gilgit has an equal mix of Shias, Sunnis and Ismailis) was NOT a source of contention or conflict.
Enter Zia era everything went to hell. In 1988 a 10,000 strong Lashkar recruited from Chalas and Frontier, as well as from among the Afghan Mujahideen (all recruited by Govt. sponsored mullahs) declared Jihad against against the 'infidel' fellow Muslim Shia and Ismailis) and marched onto the Northern Areas raping, looting, pillaging and abducting women and torching what they couldn't carry away. They obviously had the full backing of the government because they had marched up the KKH and passed half a dozen check posts of NLI without even being challenged.
Local accounts place the number of dead at several thousand. No one was punished and the news and a blanket ban was placed on the coverage with not a single news outlet publishing a word about the hell people had gone through! Our government had not only failed to protect its citizens but was in fact complicit in their murder.

When I lived there as an army brat, the military and the people
from down country were widely respected and even revered. Now it blows my mind to meet some of my childhood friends and see their level of discontent with the state and increasingly with the country. These are not isolated sentiments either, one only has to pick up a local published paper to see that.

Hope sanity prevails and this violence come to an end against minorities.May Allah gives us strength and make Pakistan stronger.

AoA

NA region is very different from the tribal areas in the Frontier where there is a long-standing tradition to own and display weapons.
......................................................................==

Hope sanity prevails and this violence come to an end against minorities.May Allah gives us strength and make Pakistan stronger.

I doubt that that Zia started this mullah Army .. why will a leader having a war on borders will help or order killing of his country men? this doesnt make sense

I doubt that that Zia started this mullah Army .. why will a leader having a war on borders will help or order killing of his country men? this doesn't make sense

AoA

The lashkar were well organized and had govt backing. whether Zia himself ordered it or not I don't know.But being the country head the responsibility is on his shoulders.

Anyway lot of things that happen in Pakistan doesn't make sense specially shia sunni violence but it does happen.There is no point in denying the fact that lot of this started during Zia tenure.

AoA

The lashkar were well organized and had govt backing. whether Zia himself ordered it or not I don't know.But being the country head the responsibility is on his shoulders.

Anyway lot of things that happen in Pakistan doesn't make sense specially shia sunni violence but it does happen.There is no point in denying the fact that lot of this started during Zia tenure.

y well thts true eventually responsible is the president , looks like every one has made pakistani soil for their p*sy wars ,
we have iran ,saudi , us and uk + God knows wht else on smal scale