Valentine’s Day Celebrations Banned All Across Pakistan: IHC

Somehow Icarus of Greek mythology preceeds Islam by 2,000 years.
The fact that someone else violated Muslim traditions before does not make it a Muslim tradition.

I bet it can be shown that many more Muslims celebrated Valentine's day before.

I don't have any problem with Valentine day mate, but with your overwhelming ranting.

Those calling others sellouts should first live in Pakistan :-)

Walaikum salam!

Hmmmm I get your point now. Maturity is the key, our society is well our society.
What happened after this ban nothing other increase in police harrasement now they are taking bribes and harrasing married people too(not that harrasing unmarried is any better)

Maybe those wasting money on stupid decorations should feed orphans and homeless people instead of satisfying their degenerate desires.

There's no shortage of people dying of starvation in Pakistan. Go feed them since you have all this money to waste on a pagan (idol worshiper) holiday.
... yet here we are, at Pakistan Defence Forum, following development of (Pakistan's and others) nuclear bombs, missiles, aircraft, etc. Imagine what spending a little less on that could do for feeding the starving in general, orphans in particular and homeless people. The "dogs of war" are pagan too.

If someone thinks something is useless he is free to not participate in it

Cherry picking is new reality of the post truth world

I think they should upheld rule of law, is there a law against such celebration?

This is not our culture even court orders or not..............and it was also not Indian Culture few decades back....but now these Days Bollywood have given you so many movies with Masla (even showcasing **** stars) and mostly of times your actors and actresses are even preaching on national TV that its ok to have relations without Marriage.....and that is destroying your youth and now that's why India is No.1 in Rapes in the whole world..............

The courts is not able to convict well known militants, people who openly work for major terrorist organizations; but they have enough time to ban Valentine's Day celebrations. Something is seriously wrong.

I hardly, if ever agree with Indians when it comes to Pakistani affairs, but I'm sorry to say this: the mindset of so many Pakistani members here is just so unbelievable; this forum is really going down the drain in terms of people that can articulate thoughtful comments.

Our enemies are financing sleeper and terror cells throughout our country, our courts do not take action against enablers of terrorism, and innocent people are dying. Yet, our courts have time to target something as innocuous as Valentine's Day, and Pakistani members here are rejoicing over this decision, on a tragic day where many innocent Pakistanis have died in different cities.

Those calling others sellouts should first live in Pakistan :-)

What happened after this ban nothing other increase in police harrasement now they are taking bribes and harrasing married people too(not that harrasing unmarried is any better)

You already know the reason why they banned Sheesha smoking or sheesha smoking clubs.

We have this tendency of abusing each and everything, that's why I said maturity is the key.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1314558/at-pakistani-universities-fear-rules-supreme-on-valentines-day

At Pakistani universities, fear rules supreme on Valentine's Day
It wasn't always the case, but celebrating Valentine's Day on campus is now an act of defiance.

IMRAN GABOL | SHIZA MALIK
In the free-thinking 1970s, a rule endorsed by Karachi University’s (KU) then vice-chancellor, requiring girls and boys to sit three feet apart on campus, earned him plenty of scorn and ridicule. At the time, most students defied the decree openly and several chose to make a mockery of it by bringing a tailor’s yardstick to school in a dramatic attempt to measure distance.

When right-wing groups like the Islami Jamiat Talaba (IJT) indulged in moral policing, a majority of the student body resisted and male and female students continued to mix openly.

Things are very different today. The KU campus – like many others across the country – is visibly more conservative. And the conservatism is more pronounced than ever on Valentine’s Day.

Header: A Pakistan Ministry of Tourism bus takes western travellers on a sight-seeing ride in Karachi (1974). The slogan on the bus reads, "Enjoy the love".

56bf55a6efcae.jpg

Demonstrators hold posters as they take part in a protest against Valentine's Day in Karachi. —AFP

Outfits of resistance
At several public universities in the country, wearing red on campus is unacceptable on February 14.

“Even if you and your male friend are accidentally seen wearing the same colour – not necessarily red – you are in hot water,” a student currently enrolled at KU shares on condition of anonymity.

Owing to this stress, she, like some of her friends, plans to skip university today.

"Teachers used to check bags for Valentine’s Day presents so girls would stand outside the school stuffing their faces with chocolate they had received as presents."

At the University of Peshawar (UoP), there is a similar sense of fear among women on campus. “Most girls will stay at home on Tuesday and those who attend will ensure that they do not wear anything red,” says journalism student Mamoona Akhtar.

Students recall how, two years earlier, a violent clash erupted on Valentine’s Day when students wearing red clothing were attacked.

52fe27c5a637d.jpg

Police collect evidence and speak to witnesses at a hostel after it was burnt during a clash at the University of Peshawar on Feb 14, 2014. — Reuters

The UoP student body president, who goes by the name ‘Royal Shakir’, describes the clash between the IJT and Pakhtun Student Federation (PSF). “Shots were fired and later they set each other’s hostel rooms on fire.”

Shakir is affiliated with the left-leaning PSF. Like most days, he is wearing a bright red shawl over his light blue shalwar kameez and matching red sneakers. On his head is a red beret with a communist five-pointed star and in his hands, is a shiny red baton. Unlike him, most students will be very conscious of their dress code come February 14.

Shakir insists that he does not care for Valentine’s Day personally, but will be at the forefront, “defending the right of other students to celebrate it”.

58a20c78af6de.jpg

'Royal Shakir,' a member of the left-leaning PSF at the University of Peshawar. — Sara Khan

Thorns and roses
58a21445c50d3.jpg

A 2014 'Haya Day' rally at University of Peshawar. — Reuters
To oppose what it deems is out of place in our culture, the IJT will be observing 'Haya (Modesty) Day'.

At Punjab University (PU), IJT representatives started distributing pamphlets for the counter event days in advance.

As the ideologies battle, Haya Day has been an annual event at campuses across Pakistan in the recent past. Every year, IJT activists hold rallies and discourage any Valentine's Day celebrations.

One student recalls how the right-wing group went as far as stopping students from presenting bouquets of flowers to guests speaking at a university event, which happened to fall on Valentines Day last year.

Three students bringing flowers for the guests were stopped by IJT activists at the gate. All attempts to reason with them were futile, claims one of the students, Hossain Raza.

“They did not listen. They snatched the bouquets and hurled threats of dire consequences [at us],” Raza adds.

58a20e270a400.jpg

A sign instructing students to "Display Decent Behavior" is seen at the University of Peshawar. — Sara Khan

Another student, Sana Naqvi, says that members of the IJT Women’s Wing begin visiting women’s hostels in the run up to Feb 14, warning them against ‘immoral’ Valentine’s Day activities. “If anyone resists their ideology they get thrashed,” she says, adding that the university administration turns a blind eye to such incidents.

Nazim Furqan Khalil, a member of Punjab University IJT, however, denies the allegation of activists thrashing students or stopping others from celebrating the event.

“Valentine’s Day does not match our culture and social norms,” he says. “We [instead observe] Haya Day all over the country and organise walks, rallies and seminars for awareness,” he adds.

58a20f065ce9e.jpg

Students play football at the green University of Peshawar campus. — Sara Khan

Point of contention
Naeem Khan, the PU’s registrar, tells Dawn that there is no restriction over Valentine’s Day celebration on the campus. Khan is of the view that the Pakistani society has different hues “like a rainbow” and it reflects among students. “We can find students of different ideologies at the campus,” he says, attempting to explain the friction.

A member of Punjab University IJT denies the allegation of activists thrashing students or stopping others from celebrating the event.

Anoosh Khan, a professor of Gender Studies at UoP, argues that Valentine’s Day should be celebrated in ‘culturally appropriate’ ways. “When I was young, Valentine’s Day was associated with platonic love; we would give gifts and cards to our friends and even our parents. Because it was a small affair no one paid much attention to it. Today, it has been unnecessarily commercialised and politicised,” she says.

A student argues that young people have sentiments that are not easily suppressed so outlawing activities such as Valentine’s celebrations promotes a culture of secrecy.

“Teachers used to check bags for Valentine’s Day presents so girls would stand outside the school stuffing their faces with chocolate they had received as presents,” she laughs.

58a20fc2bdafe.jpg

Valentine's Day cards are sold at a campus gift shop. — Sara Khan

Although society and campuses are growing more polarised with time, there is definitely a considerable percentage of the student body that wishes to celebrate the day.

At the gift shop on campus at UoP, the shelves are lined with bright red cards and mugs proclaiming messages of love. The shopkeeper says the purchase of Valentine’s Day gifts is often done secretly. “Girls buy presents more often than boys,” he says.

The shopkeeper says the purchase of Valentine’s Day gifts is often done secretly.

UoP student Ali Shah says Valentine’s Day has now become a part of youth culture and women have expectations around it. “Men should give presents and roses to their fiancés and girlfriends so they are remembered,” he says with a cheeky smile at his female friend.

When asked if he will be celebrating Valentine’s he laughs and gestures towards his friend who looks away shyly, “we wish to celebrate it but they won’t allow it,” he quips.

Some names have been changed to protect students’ identities.

You already know the reason why they banned Sheesha smoking or sheesha smoking clubs.

We have this tendency of abusing each and everything, that's why I said maturity is the key.
Yeah i know i used to visit them for same mahool :D
Kiya din thay tab jaib bhi bhari thi or phonebook bhi :D

Larkiyon ko strawberry flavour pasand tha hamain pan and charsi types ko mafia flavour(bohat hard hota hay am banda nahi pe sakta) :D

JUST DESI THINGS
Pakistanis Had The Most Priceless Reactions To Valentine’s Day Getting Banned Across The Country
ec95071f25547d6fc42f613a9e26506c

By Zain Kazi
Posted on February 13, 2017
701-1000x599.jpg

STOP RIGHT THERE. If you were thinking how to spend this Valentine’s day, abort everything. If you are in Pakistan, your plans just got tossed out of the window, courtesy of our government.

Today is 14th of February. You know what day it is. It is the day when you were supposed to go out with your loved one and express your love to them and more (pun intended). You were also supposed to wear anything red to mingle in the notion of Valentine’s day. But then you realize you live in Pakistan and there go all of your plans for Valentine’s day…

valentida-day-370x259.jpg

Source: News Media Live

This year, our government has imposed an official ban on Valentine’s day celebrations in public. It means you cannot go out and celebrate with whomever you were about to. It also means you need to abandon those gift items, flowers, and chocolates which you were supposedly going to present your love interest tomorrow.

Yesterday was Monday and it could not get any worst for some people after the Islamabad High Court released an official ruling against celebrating it all across Pakistan with immediate effect.

crying-gif7.gif

While some may be crying and sobbing in a corner somewhere right now, others took to Twitter to cash in the moment and present us with some of the hilarious and priceless reactions. Safe to say, Twitter is on fire!

PAKISTANIS PORTRAYING THEIR TWITTER RANTING SKILLS TALKING ABOUT VALENTINE’S DAY BAN:

Follow
Amna @AmnaSuleiman

Islamabad High Court prohibits celebrating #ValentinesDay on public places.

Pehle Maa Baap se chupte they ab Police se bhi chupo.

1:09 PM - 13 Feb 2017

Follow

Minerwa Tahir @minerwatahir
We ban love, harbour and promote hate and terrorism. No need for any1 else to destroy #Pakistan, we are good at it on our own#ValentinesDay

3:17 PM - 13 Feb 2017

Follow

Ashar Jawad @AsharJawad
Court verdicts and warnings from religious clerics can not stop people from loving. How do you ban emotions and feelings?#ValentinesDay

2:39 PM - 13 Feb 2017

Follow

Rizwan Saeed @iRizwanSaeed
High Court has imposed ban on celebrating #ValentinesDay to control rapid growth of population in our beloved country.

1:56 PM - 13 Feb 2017

Follow

Saim Rizvi @saim_riz
Islamabadis should announce "Happy Pappi Day" to counter the ban on #ValentinesDay from Islam-Azad High Court

1:46 PM - 13 Feb 2017

Follow

Mir Afzal @not_my_name
Morning shows spread AIDS, not Valentine's Day.

Ban those.

1:39 PM - 13 Feb 2017

Follow

Gharidah Farooqi

✔@GFarooqi

Isbd HC orders ban on clbrtng Valentine's Day at public places and it's publicity. Atypical and outlandish!

12:32 PM - 13 Feb 2017

Follow

Zarmina M Tarar @Socrazeee

Pakistan banned Valentine's Day celebrations?
1f602.png
that really was one of the biggest challenges to the country
1f611.png

3:45 PM - 13 Feb 2017

Follow

Sir Main Dad @SirJohnRoe
'Bike Is Not A Public Place.': Pindi Boyz To Islamabad High Court#ValentinesDay

4:09 PM - 13 Feb 2017

Follow

Ahsan @OyeAhsan
Islamabad high court BANS Valentine day. However, anything to do with HATE has state protection #Slowclap

4:03 PM - 13 Feb 2017

Follow

Valatári @IntoTheStyx
Instead of banning Valentine's day, why don't they make it mandatory to teach people sex Ed? Would do more by the current look of things

4:32 PM - 13 Feb 2017

A MOMENT OF SILENCE FOR ALL THOSE WHO WERE THINKING TO GO OUT AND CELEBRATE VALENTINE’S DAY.
Seems like our government is relieved of the burden of many grave issues surrounding our country that they had to scramble towards Valentine’s day

What do you guys think about the latest ban on celebrating Valentine’s day? Hit in the comments!
https://www.parhlo.com/pakistanis-react-to-valentines-day-ban

CHeck the comment war on parhlo @Hell hound @The Sandman :D

Larkiyon ko strawberry flavour pasand tha hamain pan and charsi types ko mafia flavour(bohat hard hota hay am banda nahi pe sakta) :D

So the concerns are genuine, we don't want anymore suicides. You would remember Rawalpindi and its net cafes.

Didnt change anything things just went underground oh yes i remember are you familiar with Barakahu incidents in 2010?