US takes aim at Israeli antitank missiles in Indian arms market

That should tell u there are other problems in nag missiles.
There is a good chance that we are not being told the truth,,,,otherwise had it been ready there would be 0 point of getting new atgm from foreign vendors:coffee:

@Omega007
Whats ur take on nag??

I think drdo is bluffing again,,,looking at we are buying even kornets in huge quantity,,and now we want jevelin/spike even though nag seems to be ready??:o:

Nope,there is no problems with Nag,be rest assured,since it has already passed the user validation trials and has been cleared for production.Otherwise,knowing the mentality of our beloved IA,they would've never cleared Nag for production.

The issue is,Indian Army needs atleast 80000 shoulder fired ATGMs to replace and enlarge its current inventory of ~50000 second generation atgms like Milan 2T and Konkurs M.And these can not be replaced by the Nag since at 40 kg per missile,it's simply to heavy to be fired from one's shoulder.It's as simple as that.

There is a good chance that we are not being told the truth,,,,otherwise had it been ready there would be 0 point of getting new atgm from foreign vendors:coffee:

@Omega007
Whats ur take on nag??

I think drdo is bluffing again,,,looking at we are buying even kornets in huge quantity,,and now we want jevelin/spike even though nag seems to be ready??:o:

Nope,there is no problems with Nag,be rest assured,since it has already passed the user validation trials and has been cleared for production.Otherwise,knowing the mentality of our beloved IA,they would've never cleared Nag for production.

The issue is,Indian Army needs atleast 80000 shoulder fired ATGMs to replace and enlarge its current inventory of ~50000 second generation atgms like Milan 2T and Konkurs M.And these can not be replaced by the Nag since at 40 kg per missile,it's simply to heavy to be fired from one's shoulder.It's as simple as that.

@Omega007
Whats ur take on nag??

@Omega007
Whats ur take on nag??

Lets wait then,,,hopefully

Oh theek hai bhai,,,no need to reply 3 times:lol:

@Omega007
Whats ur take on nag??

@Omega007
Whats ur take on nag??

@Omega007
Whats ur take on nag??

all Indian project should be done with joint venture corp because most of them dont go far and take a long time and waste money

Damn!!My server kept showing failed yet my comment is here!!What the f*ck!!

all Indian project should be done with joint venture corp because most of them dont go far and take a long time and waste money

Yeah yeah,now get the f*ck off.

Dude @OrionHunter ,you are acting like an world class jerk here.Do you even know the difference between the Nag and Javelin??

So what if both are equipped with passive IIR sensors??IA needs Javelins to replace their existing 2nd generation shoulder fired ATGMs like Milan 2T and Konkurs M.Should fired are the key words here.Good luck operating the 40 kg Nag from your shoulders!!

Do you even know that Nag has actually completed its user trials and has been cleared for production??Definitely not!!But now the Army has again done what it has been doing ever since - they have suddenly found new drawbacks in the carrier vehicle Namica itself and has asked for upgrades just when Nag was approaching towards its FOC!!So now the missile is ready but the carrier isn't!!Whose fault is this now then??

Now coming to the warhead part.You sure don't know that Nag,just like Javelin is also equipped with tandem shaped charge warheads??And do you what the penetration capabilities of the warheads depend on - it's not just the explosive or the jet forming material,but the cone diameter of the jet material also playes a very significant role.
Penetration value = cone diameter X 6 to 7.
The diameter of Nag and Javelin is 190mm and 127 mm.Now just do the math which one of them will have better penetration values.

Besides,you probably don't even know both missiles make use of different kind of seekers,do you??The FGM 148 Javelin is fitted with an uncooled long wave seeker,where as the Nag is fitted with a cryogenically cooled mid wave seeker.This seeker was particularly custom built for use in the summer heat of Thar desert and has definitely higher resolution than the seeker onboard the Javelins.But you sure didn't check these things out before clapping your flaps,because it's easier to blindly curse someone than doing it the harder way to collect all the relevant infos necessary to make the judgements.

But I can't really blame you here,you are acting just like a true officer of the Indian Army,you are no different than that Brigadier on the other forum.
Cool your radiator dude before you blow a few brain cells and die of a stroke. You seem to be a DRDO/BEL fan boy peddling stuff like a salesman gone berserk. You could have started your discussion without using cuss words like calling me a 'world class jerk'. Made you look immature and pretty silly. Grow up. Courtesy doesn't even cost a fig. Try it.

Do you even know that Nag has actually completed its user trials and has been cleared for production??Definitely not!!But now the Army has again done what it has been doing ever since - they have suddenly found new drawbacks in the carrier vehicle Namica itself and has asked for upgrades just when Nag was approaching towards its FOC!!So now the missile is ready but the carrier isn't!!Whose fault is this now then??

Whose fault? The electro-mechanical systems of the two NAMCIAs used during trials (both made by BEL) were found to be below Army's expectations in tough dessert terrain conditions, including reliability concerns propping-up. The Indian Army’s bone of contention is with the NAMICA’s limited capabilities. The Army has sought additional features such as a panoramic sight for two commanders, against the present system of having only one such facility for the gunner. Hence, an overhaul in the designing of the NAMICA is being suggested by the Army. Also, an innovation in the chassis system and alteration in the pneumatic suspension can increase the mobility of the NAMICA.

For a weapons platform to be formalized, the complete weapon system (Nag + NAMICA) has to be tried and tested where the NAMICA was found to be below the Army's expectations.

The question is: Will it be the NAMICA being re-groomed by Bharat Electronics Ltd (BEL) or the one being nurtured by Larsen and Tubro (L&T)? Adding twist to the tale is the possibility of the best of both systems being taken and rolled into a single macho carrier.

Let's wait and see.

Cool your radiator dude before you blow a few brain cells and die of a stroke. You seem to be a DRDO/BEL fan boy peddling stuff like a salesman gone berserk. You could have started your discussion without using cuss words like calling me a 'world class jerk'. Made you look immature and pretty silly. Grow up. Courtesy doesn't even cost a fig. Try it.

Whose fault? The electro-mechanical systems of the two NAMCIAs used during trials (both made by BEL) were found to be below Army's expectations in tough dessert terrain conditions, including reliability concerns propping-up. The Indian Army’s bone of contention is with the NAMICA’s limited capabilities. The Army has sought additional features such as a panoramic sight for two commanders, against the present system of having only one such facility for the gunner. Hence, an overhaul in the designing of the NAMICA is being suggested by the Army. Also, an innovation in the chassis system and alteration in the pneumatic suspension can increase the mobility of the NAMICA.

For a weapons platform to be formalized, the complete weapon system (Nag + NAMICA) has to be tried and tested where the NAMICA was found to be below the Army's expectations.

The question is: Will it be the NAMICA being re-groomed by Bharat Electronics Ltd (BEL) or the one being nurtured by Larsen and Tubro (L&T)? Adding twist to the tale is the possibility of the best of both systems being taken and rolled into a single macho carrier.

Let's wait and see.

See,now you have made a complete U-turn in your argument.Earlier you were cursing the DRDO on the account that "Nag has files","no user trials","can not prove itself in field conditions" and what not,when in fact Nag had cleared all those and had been cleared for production!!All the info is available in the public domain,you just had to f
dig it a little.But what did you do??
And now that I corrected your misinformation,I suddenly became a salesman!!Nice going sire,I've got nothing more to say to you since you already know every damn thing.Now I've no doubt about your past affiliations with the Indian Army.You indeed have been an officer there,just the same!!
Yeah,courtesy doesn't cost a fig.Nice words,now try to preach that yourself too sometimes and give some to the technocrats working in DRDO whom you love to curse so much!!Try it ya.

And as for the NAMICA vehicle,pray telling me which organisation had issued the GSQR??And why did it take our holier-than-thou Army so many years to find the glitches in its electro-hydraulic systems??They had been testing the prototype vehicles for a decade may be and didn't found the glitches through out yet when after all these years Nag was finally coming to pass the user validation trials and light could be seen from the end of the tunnel,they suddenly found those "crippling glitches",so serious that they had to scrap that thing totally and had to ask for total redesign,driving the project into further delay!!Oh @orion........you see where I'm getting at with this??

Moreover,both you and @HeMan were wrong in your most basic reasoning over which you based your arguments!!That it was dur to the unavailablity of the Nag,Indian Army has to go with the FGM 148 Javelin.But this argument itself is totally flawed in the sense that Nag and Javelin are both different of weight class and hence can not substitute one another;in other words,even if Nag had already been inducted into operational service with tens of thousands of rounds in service,still it couldn't have replaced the need for import of Javelin or the Spike.Because at 40 kg per missile,Nag is simply too heavy to be man portable.I don't know any other way to put in it more simple terms,perdon my lack of english skills.Because I one of those "stupido village bumpkins" as you guys say in the army.

But I know all these talks are futile because the years in the army has shaped your mind,your way of thinking and I'm cool with that.I would never even dare to change all that beliefs or whatever.Just wanna ask you one simple question directly - how much resources the Indian Army has so far dedicated in the Nag or the Arjun project from its share of the defence budget like the western armies do??

Let's wait and see.

See,now you have made a complete U-turn in your argument.Earlier you were cursing the DRDO on the account that "Nag has files","no user trials","can not prove itself in field conditions" and what not,when in fact Nag had cleared all those and had been cleared for production!!All the info is available in the public domain,you just had to f
dig it a little.But what did you do??
And now that I corrected your misinformation,I suddenly became a salesman!!Nice going sire,I've got nothing more to say to you since you already know every damn thing.Now I've no doubt about your past affiliations with the Indian Army.You indeed have been an officer there,just the same!!
Yeah,courtesy doesn't cost a fig.Nice words,now try to preach that yourself too sometimes and give some to the technocrats working in DRDO whom you love to curse so much!!Try it ya.

And as for the NAMICA vehicle,pray telling me which organisation had issued the GSQR??And why did it take our holier-than-thou Army so many years to find the glitches in its electro-hydraulic systems??They had been testing the prototype vehicles for a decade may be and didn't found the glitches through out yet when after all these years Nag was finally coming to pass the user validation trials and light could be seen from the end of the tunnel,they suddenly found those "crippling glitches",so serious that they had to scrap that thing totally and had to ask for total redesign,driving the project into further delay!!Oh @orion........you see where I'm getting at with this??

Moreover,both you and @HeMan were wrong in your most basic reasoning over which you based your arguments!!That it was dur to the unavailablity of the Nag,Indian Army has to go with the FGM 148 Javelin.But this argument itself is totally flawed in the sense that Nag and Javelin are both different of weight class and hence can not substitute one another;in other words,even if Nag had already been inducted into operational service with tens of thousands of rounds in service,still it couldn't have replaced the need for import of Javelin or the Spike.Because at 40 kg per missile,Nag is simply too heavy to be man portable.I don't know any other way to put in it more simple terms,perdon my lack of english skills.Because I one of those "stupido village bumpkins" as you guys say in the army.

But I know all these talks are futile because the years in the army has shaped your mind,your way of thinking and I'm cool with that.I would never even dare to change all that beliefs or whatever.Just wanna ask you one simple question directly - how much resources the Indian Army has so far dedicated in the Nag or the Arjun project from its share of the defence budget like the western armies do??

Hmm.. Interesting offer. Must be looked at.

See,now you have made a complete U-turn in your argument.Earlier you were cursing the DRDO on the account that "Nag has files","no user trials","can not prove itself in field conditions" and what not,when in fact Nag had cleared all those and had been cleared for production!!All the info is available in the public domain,you just had to dig it a little.But what did you do??
Yeah,courtesy doesn't cost a fig.Nice words,now try to preach that yourself too sometimes and give some to the technocrats working in DRDO whom you love to curse so much!!
Don't invent fiction. I said nothing of the sort. Check out my post. With so much blather, it seems you don't have much work to do in the DRDO.

Moreover,both you and @HeMan were wrong in your most basic reasoning over which you based your arguments!!That it was dur to the unavailablity of the Nag,Indian Army has to go with the FGM 148 Javelin.But this argument itself is totally flawed in the sense that Nag and Javelin are both different of weight class and hence can not substitute one another;in other words,even if Nag had already been inducted into operational service with tens of thousands of rounds in service, still it couldn't have replaced the need for import of Javelin or the Spike. Because at 40 kg per missile, Nag is simply too heavy to be man portable.I don't know any other way to put in it more simple terms, perdon my lack of english skills.Because I one of those "stupido village bumpkins" as you guys say in the army.
Your blabbering is getting funnier by the minute. Did you know that DRDL is working on the, 'Man Portable' Nag missile very soon? It would weigh less than 14 kg. But how will you know that? So your verbose argument above, has fallen flat as a pancake.

What ignorance! The DRDO does not come under the Army. It comes under the Department of Defence Research and Development of the Ministry of Defence. Funding is done by the MoD which is about Rs 14000 crores for 2013-14. I thought you are aware of this, being in the DRDO yourself? Why should the Army fund the DRDO out of its meager resources? Next you'll say that the Air Force should fund HAL too!

Leave it man. The more you scribble your baloney out here the more you sink into the rabbit hole. And don't make this as a skirmish between the DRDO and the Army. It seems you're making it so, seeing that you're pissed off at the latter.

Its interesting to wait for Israeli offer after this. :lol:

How can they even gain from javelin ? The former are Helicopter launched. The later is shoulder based

There are different applications for these ATGMs, Javelin can be shoulder launched or mounted on vehicles, same can be done by SPIKE + it has it's varients for helicopter launch too. The issue in this case is ToT, since it needs to be a licence production and India don't want to remain with basic production parts of hulls anymore and demand more critical techs in return for the money we spend. The US realized how big and importand this market is and have lowered their export laws, but still not even close to the levels we want / we get from Russia, Israeli or Europe. That's why this deal remains to be a pending one and maybe even a milestone in the Indo - US defence relations. Either they get closer to our demands, or they will lose out in another big defence competition.

Its interesting to wait for Israeli offer after this. :lol:

I don't think they have to offer much more, since they are likely to be ahead in ToT and possibly even at costs. The fact that we could use the same SPIKE missile for shoulder, vehicle and even helicopters of IA, would be a major advantage too, which would further increase the order of SPIKE.

why you angry :)