US reviewing " Swat operation" as model: Athar Abbas

EjazR

ONLINE - International News Network

RAWALPINDI, : Director General ISPR Athar Abbas has said that major gains have been made during the 8 year war against terrorism we have managed to break the back bone of terrorists and realizing our successful strategy in Swat the US is thinking of applying the same strategy in Afghanistan .

In an interview with a private TV channel here on Thursday he said due to our enormous successes the US is taking review of Swat operation as a "Model of success". Now America is learning lesson from Pakistan’s Army’s successful strategy and seriously thinking to apply the same strategy in Afghanistan to tackle with terrorism.

He said that during our eight year operation against extremism 1900 Pakistani army troops have been martyred, 5000 injured, 4000 miscreants killed and 3000 have been arrested

While during Malakand operation 340 Pakistani army troops including officers have been martyred, 1800 miscreants were killed and 2000 were arrested.

The cases have been filed against the arrested and after the court decision their release or punish would be decided.

He said that about 1046 check posts have been set up at Pak-Afghan border for stopping the external interference and 100,000 troops are manning the border

He said that the success of operation in Malakand operation was much more than anticipated.

He said that operation is still going on in Malakand, Bajor, Mehmand Agency and Khyber Agency.

He said that however of the political leadership fails to live up to its responsibilities than all our successes would go to waste

YES WHY NOT THE ARMY WHICH WAS TRAINED TO BATTLE HER ENEMY ON HOSTILE FLAT PITCH BATTLEFIELD OF EASTERN HEMISPHERE AND WAS NEVER TRAINED FOR COUNTER-INSURGENCY OPERATIONS HAS NOW TAKEN OUT A WHOLE OF MALAKAND DIVISION FROM RUTHLESS "TALIBAN INSURGETS" THAT'S A TRUE "TESTING MODEL" FOR ANY MILITANCY EFFECTED COUNTRY

Wow..definately G...Pakistani Army did this jod in one or two years which USA couldn't do for more then eight years..anyhow there is a difference in situation also, Afghanistan is much greater then SWAT. Moreover i think Mush policies or strategy was not too effective as it is in case of Kayyani, as Kayyani wins the trust of local people, weaponize them and let them fight against intruders by themselves due to which repute of Army also improved a lot in those areas and people started love Army, while these things are lagging in Mush period who disarm them and let FC fight with low support due to which PA have to face lot of causalities..But i visited SWAT last week and everything seems to be under control MASHALLAH. Long Live Pakistan.

YOU MUST GIVE HIM CREDIT INSTEAD OF BLAMING SIR MUSHARRAF .IT WAS HIS BOLDNESS THAT HE TAKE THE MOST CRUCIAL DECISION OF PAKISTAN'S ERA THE DECISION OF GOING IN THE WAR ON TERROR
IT WAS HIS GUTS THAT HE TAKE ARMY IN THE MAINLAND OF MILITANTS IN WANA WHERE NO ONE WOULD DARE TO GO
AND AS FAR AS MILITARY SUCCESS IN CONCERN
DURING FIRST OPERATION IN WANA DURING SIR MUSHARRAF's TIME IT WAS FOR THE FIRST TIME THAT OUR ARMY WAS BATTLING THESE INSURGENTS IN A HOSTILE GORILLA WARFARE(IT SHOULD BE NOTED THAT OUR ARMY IS TRADITIONALLY NOT TRAIN FOR COUNTER-INSURGENY OPERATIONS) CONDITION SO THAT 'S WHY AT THE INTIAL YEARS OF COIN OPERATIONS IN NORTH WEST OF PAKISTAN FROM 2004-2007 OUR ARMY's DEATH RATE WAS PREETY HIGH
IN THESE YEARS IT TOOK ARMY THREE YEARS TO BATTLE OUT TALIBAN BY LEARNING OUT THEIR TACTICS AND BATTLE STYLE
SO THAT'S WHY AT INITIAL PHASE DEATH RATION FOR PAK ARMY WAS PREETY HIGH....NOW AFTER LAL MASJID (OPERATION SILENCE0 THE ARMY WAS FOR THE FIRST TIME KNOW THE KNOW HOW OF "GORRILLA WARFARE" AND LUCKILY IT WAS IN KAYANI's TIME FOR THE FIRST TIME TIME ARMY USED IT'S EW STYLE OF BATTLING OUT TALIBAN AND GET MAJOR SUCCESS IN MALAKAND AND BAJAUR,MOHMAND AND KHYBER AGENCY​

Musharraf could not do much as every Pakistani was like ye tu hamary apnay he log hay inko kio mar rahay ho.Pakistanis did not get any aqal until these terrorists start blowing up in major cities and taking over Swat Valley..

That, plus the political parties and their bosses overseas made it very difficult for Musharraf to bring about consensus -- this should be a lesson. The same PPP and PML-N and JI who gave Musharraf such a hard time, are now fighting the war that Musharraf could have won had gthey supported him in the name of Pakistani national interest.

If Musharaff was allowed to do what he was doing in WANA back than without the political disparities and people crying and screaming we wouldn't have Bajaur, Buner, Swat or any of that nonsense. Our people are to gullible, emotional and can't differentiate between whose a good muslim and whose a bad muslim.

That, plus the political parties and their bosses overseas made it very difficult for Musharraf to bring about consensus -- this should be a lesson. The same PPP and PML-N and JI who gave Musharraf such a hard time, are now fighting the war that Musharraf could have won had gthey supported him in the name of Pakistani national interest.
They would argue that it was Musharraf whose bosses were overseas. Musharraf didn't do a good job of selling the war to Pakistanis. His perceived pro-American attitude, no matter how misunderstood, did not help the matter either. I do not believe that anything meaningful could have been achieved by Musharraf because he had just too much power and control over the country. There is little wonder that the political parties didn't support this, too much power in one man's hand is something that cannot be allowed in a Democracy, especially a corrupt one. Consider that we've been there for 8 years, and didn't accomplish anything substantial until recently, after the people joined the war. You can't put all that blame on political parties and their bosses overseas. There were serious problems with the way Musharraf ran things. When he came in, he had all the support a leader could hope for. Then throughout his term, his approval dropped, to the point where the average Pakistani could not stand him anymore. Was this all due to the political parties? Rhetorical question. If he were to come back and run as a politician, it would be different. I don't believer he had a bad character.

But, lets not turn this into a political discussion.

YOU MUST GIVE HIM CREDIT INSTEAD OF BLAMING SIR MUSHARRAF .IT WAS HIS BOLDNESS THAT HE TAKE THE MOST CRUCIAL DECISION OF PAKISTAN'S ERA THE DECISION OF GOING IN THE WAR ON TERROR
IT WAS HIS GUTS THAT HE TAKE ARMY IN THE MAINLAND OF MILITANTS IN WANA WHERE NO ONE WOULD DARE TO GO
AND AS FAR AS MILITARY SUCCESS IN CONCERN
DURING FIRST OPERATION IN WANA DURING SIR MUSHARRAF's TIME IT WAS FOR THE FIRST TIME THAT OUR ARMY WAS BATTLING THESE INSURGENTS IN A HOSTILE GORILLA WARFARE(IT SHOULD BE NOTED THAT OUR ARMY IS TRADITIONALLY NOT TRAIN FOR COUNTER-INSURGENY OPERATIONS) CONDITION SO THAT 'S WHY AT THE INTIAL YEARS OF COIN OPERATIONS IN NORTH WEST OF PAKISTAN FROM 2004-2007 OUR ARMY's DEATH RATE WAS PREETY HIGH
IN THESE YEARS IT TOOK ARMY THREE YEARS TO BATTLE OUT TALIBAN BY LEARNING OUT THEIR TACTICS AND BATTLE STYLE
SO THAT'S WHY AT INITIAL PHASE DEATH RATION FOR PAK ARMY WAS PREETY HIGH....NOW AFTER LAL MASJID (OPERATION SILENCE0 THE ARMY WAS FOR THE FIRST TIME KNOW THE KNOW HOW OF "GORRILLA WARFARE" AND LUCKILY IT WAS IN KAYANI's TIME FOR THE FIRST TIME TIME ARMY USED IT'S EW STYLE OF BATTLING OUT TALIBAN AND GET MAJOR SUCCESS IN MALAKAND AND BAJAUR,MOHMAND AND KHYBER AGENCY​

you may be right..but i think i am not wrong either..Mush did good works but i have my own view points dear...Every person is different from other and thats why their views are also different..i am not against him..i may be or i am against some of his policies..but yar be honest he is much much better then PPPs and ML (N) and (Q)..so i am not blaming in that way but he did some mistake that cause longterm demage..like disarming tribals due to this our western border became unsure and PA has to move its 100000 personal their..Pro-Amercian decisions but he is not one in this case, almost all have this problem, secondly hatred towards Balochis..and comments like WE WILL HIT YOUR FROM EVERYWHERE. moreover lot of bend towards india..Lal Masjid operation there are many other ways to stop them..and Lal Masjid has no issue before Mush. thirdly invitation to USA drone..Fourthly he put the pressure on PAF to buy chiness products and not the western this is according to Air Marshall. I think if he is that right then he should come to the court without any fear..but he even don't like to come to Pakistan..I think Pakistan needs democracy in true sense not the democrary of Mush or Zad. But believe me i am sure he is much better then PPP and ML (N) and (q)...baki mistakes are conducted by every person but personally i don't like Mush and not Nawaz or zad either.

My Dear Muse,

The PPP and PML-N are not fighting the war, it is the PA supported by the FC and the PAF which is fighting the war, the complete credit goes to Gen. Kiyani for the successes in Swat / Waziristan and I must add here that it was the PA under Lt.Gen. Nadeem who clearly organised the IDP refugee camps as both the federal and provincial govt's failed miserably in their efforts.

Also please remember that we are very quick to blame our ills on the US but they were the only country which quickly approved US$ 225m for IDPs rehablitation whereas the muslim world including S/Arabia and UAE did not fulfill their pledges of emergency aid for the IDPs and as far as I know, only 22% of the aid pledged to the UN for IDPs was received.

Please remember this date 7th May, when our In-Domitable PM threw the "Responsibility" in the lap of CoAS Kiyani saying "this is your problem, we cannot manage it" after the so-called "Peace Deal" with Mullah Fazlullah failed miserably.

So, No Sir - they (political parties) have done squat !!!

fatman respectfully i would have to disagree. i am not saying that all the credit goes to the clowns in islamabad but lets face facts it is those clowns that used there political clout with average folk to convince the pakistani people that this option was the right won.
even the people in the army agree that one of the contributing factors to the success of this mission was that the political consensus was for the first time behind the military operation

Musharraf could not do much as every Pakistani was like ye tu hamary apnay he log hay inko kio mar rahay ho.Pakistanis did not get any aqal until these terrorists start blowing up in major cities and taking over Swat Valley..

It is a slap on the faces of those people that hated Musharraf for operations like Lal Masjid and sending troops to the western borders. The thing is that the people who are always saying "yeh apne log hain aur in se dialogue karen" are useful idiots.

They are terrorist sympathizers who are part of the problem. They have in the past been successful in using the media for propaganda against this war, but after the brutality of the TTP they have been embarrassed. But to give some of them credit (Imran Khan) they still do support the "peace deals" Some people can never get their heads out of the sand and Imran Khan gets a lot of credit for that :tup:

Well I might offend people here , but Musharaf had a big mouth , he tried to sell to the Pakistani public that this is some sort of ideological fight in which there are 'moderate mulsims' and 'extermist muslims' which quite franky was a non starter from the word go.

These people should have been always dealt with as criminals wihtout trying to associate them with Islam and very foolishly Musharaf tried to do the exact opposite. One has to question his wisdom , he grew up in Pakistan and yet he was and is oblivous to the sentiment on the street.

This is the reason for his failure to bring about national concensus on such crtical issue. If a leader cannot bring about national concesus then he is no leader.

The current government , however bad it is , has very wisely not uttered anything that remotely mentions religon in the on going operations.

In fact they have sought the active help of main stream religous scholars to tell the public that this fight is not about idealogly , its about fighitng the enemies of Pakistan and not about 'enlightened' and 'extemist'

The current COAS has kept mum on making any staments that are seen as fundmanetal idealogical shift from main stream Islamic belief.

The media too have made a concious effort to prove , with Islamic references, that these miltants are wrong and their actions are contrary to Islamic teachings.

Not the way Musharaf tried to go about it by talking to 'enlgitened moderation' and promoting nusances that irritate the common man on the street. You can never bring about any concensus in Pakistan by trying to re-package the ideological frontiers of the federation. The way Musharaf tired to package this war was doomed to failure from the start.

In this Holy month of Ramazan , Allah has given us a moment of joy by giving victory to the ones who fought for truth and were patient

"InnaAllah ma'as sabireen.” (Verily Allah is with those who have patience).

Mr. Musharaf needs to step back and think why he could not bring about national concensus on such a critical issue where as Mr 10% government has done just that.

In this there are lessons for the arrogant fools in the United States of America that if your media like CNN, FOX and your arrogant zionist-funded government continues to stigmatize Islam and and associate these crimnals with Islam and make stamtents to this accord you can forget about having any closure to your already failing efforts and in Pakistan you'll have no good will.

If we compare the US effort in neighbouring Afghanistan then the US efforts have largely failed for the same reasons I mentioed above where as in Pakistan now we can see real progress ( God be Thanked ) against criminal elements that were acting as enemy proxies.

YES WHY NOT THE ARMY WHICH WAS TRAINED TO BATTLE HER ENEMY ON HOSTILE FLAT PITCH BATTLEFIELD OF EASTERN HEMISPHERE AND WAS NEVER TRAINED FOR COUNTER-INSURGENCY OPERATIONS HAS NOW TAKEN OUT A WHOLE OF MALAKAND DIVISION FROM RUTHLESS "TALIBAN INSURGETS" THAT'S A TRUE "TESTING MODEL" FOR ANY MILITANCY EFFECTED COUNTRY

Pakistan do have some experience in counter insurgency operation incase of Bangladesh.

He said that during our eight year operation against extremism 1900 Pakistani army troops have been martyred, 5000 injured, 4000 miscreants killed and 3000 have been arrested

What do they mean by '3000 arrested' ? Arrested who? and by who?

Is he saying Taliban arrested 3000 soldiers?

Just have a look at these figures, we lost countless soldiers in a war that wasnt even ours and yet international community dont give us any credit. Our politicans are beggar, because of 'aid' they have fogotten about our soldiers and our nation.

Now we have to rely on US to give us 'Aid'. How sad. Enough is enough. We should stand up now and stop begging the world and do something for this nation.