Just give the T-72 modern sights and ERA and despite the engine, they still more or less comparable to AK and T-90.Even AZ program is better than ancient T-72s with night blindness & bursting barrels.
Source: Upgraded Arjun Mark-II tanks undergoing trial at Pokhran | Page 3
Come on supa powaa ... I'm saying fge sad truth... Don't cry me a river.
MBT-2000 is an export version of AK.. Exported to several nations..
Arjun is an insult..
JF is a 60:40 joint venture.
AK is a Pakistani project with not a single Chinese sub system.
Arjun the inbred retarded cousin of Leo.
Coz it's a Pakistani project my bharati dost.
It used to have but we moment started producing them in Pakistan changed almost all Chinese parts with parts from Ukraine and Europe. Mainly from France and Spain Europe. So get your facts right before talking.Lying has no bound!!!! AK has not a single Chinese part!!!
Like Su-30 MKI does have a single Russian part in it!!!! Why same AK aka MBT-2000 exists in other countries where china exported them????
Control your horse DF, this is too much BS!!! Pakistan never built a motor cycle till now.
MBT-2000 is an export version of AK.. Exported to several nations..
Arjun is an insult..
JF is a 60:40 joint venture.
AK is a Pakistani project with not a single Chinese sub system.
Arjun the inbred retarded cousin of Leo.
Coz it's a Pakistani project my bharati dost.
It's actually war on fuckin terror..
Swat is a small town and a success story-- KPK not FATA..
And what do you even know about Federally Administered Tribal Areas or FCR!
ZarbeAzab was started in late December of 2014!
Can you point me out 1 insurgency that has ever survived in such terrain? Don't be a dumbass!
Dumbass Shawal valley borders Afghanistanُ - Durrand Line .. Did you ever understand what they showed in the program!
Douchebag we have face Indian proxies in Sindh,Baluchistan and KPK before and smoothed them out! Aswell as fought and observed in other states .. Including Sri Lankan war!
Do you? Tanks are used to 2 effects -- psychological war and destruction !
Keep
Shut appu.. ! Thank you come again!
JAISALMER: The upgraded version of the series of Arjun Mark-II tanks are undergoing trial at the Indian Army core level excercise at Pokhran field firing range. The tank, Arjun Mark-II, is being tested for different parameters here.
The first test will examine its missile firing ability, while the second one will look into tank's automotive aspects, that is, its running, especially with added load.
A defence source said successful testing will pave way for the production of upgraded Arjun. In all, 124 tanks of the first series have been produced so far. Indian Army has two armoured regiments, both deployed in western desert sector, which comprise of Arjun-I tanks.
The tank is produced by the DRDOs, combat vehicles research and development establishment near Chennai.
A major modification involves equipping the new version of the tank with missile firing capability. The DRDO aims at firing missiles accurately up to a range of 2,000 km. The missiles, fired through the tank's main gun, are primarily meant for targeting armoured vehicles and fortifications over extended ranges.
Sources said, the automotive trials will test the new suspension of the tank designed to handle weight up to 70 tonne. The engine will be from the same German parentage. This testing trial has been taking place as part of army exercise since the last one month.
It is said, the upgraded version has 89 improved aspects over its predecessor. These include long-range missile firing capabilities, panoramic sights with night vision, enhanced weapon penetration, digital control, better hunter-killer capability, improved auxiliary power unit (APU), better communication equipment and navigation aid. The tank will have frontal explosive reactive armour (ERA) to protect against incoming missiles.
Source revealed that the ongoing trails of Arjun Mark-II in Pokhran field firing range will mainly focus on 19 parametres after army's recommendation. A successful trial at Pokharan firing range would give a green signal for building 124 Arjun Mark-II tanks at the Heavy Vehicles Factory in Avadi. These will supplement the 124 Arjun Mark-I tanks already in service.
Source said "The major upgrades would be missile-firing capability against long-range targets, panoramic sight with night vision to engage targets effectively at night, containerisation of the ammunition, enhanced main weapon penetration; additional ammunition types, explosive reactive armour, an advanced air-defence gun to engage helicopters; a mine plough, an advanced land navigation system and a warning system which can fire smoke grenades to confuse laser guidance. Other upgrades are an enhanced Auxiliary power unit providing 8.5 KW (from 4.5 KW) and an improved gun barrel, changes in the commander's panoramic sight with eye safe LRF, night vision capability including for driver, digital control harness, new final drive, track and sprocket."
Defence spokesperson Lt Col Manish Ojha said upgradation of weapons and equipment through trial is a constant and ongoing process, but at present, no information about Arjun Mark-II tank trial has been provided by the army.
Upgraded Arjun Mark-II tanks undergoing trial at Pokhran - The Times of India
For God's sake guys, when will you people stop blowing things out of proportion. A tank fired 2000 KM missile? i acknowledge world leading technology of Indian military hardware developers but i guess that will be a bit too much for even DRDO. Plus whats next? the ability to fly at Mach 5?The DRDO aims at firing missiles accurately up to a range of 2,000 km. The missiles, fired through the tank's main gun, are primarily meant for targeting armored vehicles and fortifications over extended ranges.
Why dont you tell this to KIDS at TIMES OF INDIA before barging in here and trying to ridicule and insult members here? Then you will say that i or we are biased.DRDO doesn't manufacture tanks kid
The tank is produced by the DRDOs, combat vehicles research and development establishment near Chennai.
Upgraded Arjun Mark-II tanks undergoing trial at Pokhran - The Times of India
few things
1. india is already in process of upgrading all its T72s to the level muhib e watan pakistanies want there so called AK2 be like
2.India already has a large fleet of T90S Bhishma MBTs
3.India alreay has 120 A MK1 & 40+MK2 while some 80 are already on order
4.DRDO is a research lab for R&D onli manufacturing of MBTs are done by HVF avadi
+ the fact ... kahi jane do abhi ke liye itna hi kafee hai
Lying has no bound!!!! AK has not a single Chinese part!!!
Like Su-30 MKI does have a single Russian part in it!!!! Why same AK aka MBT-2000 exists in other countries where china exported them????
Control your horse DF, this is too much BS!!! Pakistan never built a motor cycle till now.
well first about 2000 km missile well that was a misprint/typo error but since you are hell bent to make fun of india and here Arjun MBT i know you will keep repeating it like a broken record cause since your army knows they dont even have anything yet to take on upgraded T72 ajeya type MBTs of indian army you will carres your bruised ego by pointing owt silly typo mistakes so carry onCOME ON ! ! !
For God's sake guys, when will you people stop blowing things out of proportion. A tank fired 2000 KM missile? i acknowledge world leading technology of Indian military hardware developers but i guess that will be a bit too much for even DRDO. Plus whats next? the ability to fly at Mach 5?
Why dont you tell this to KIDS at TIMES OF INDIA before barging in here and trying to ridicule and insult members here? Then you will say that i or we are biased.
T72 to what AK2 may be
Bro, you must be happy and reveled that you military planner are not as dumb as that. NO TANK IN CURRENT INDIAN ARMORED CROPS come close to matching Pakistani tanks. This is a fact that have been debated over and over again and i remember you running out or argument in some of those debates already. I am in no mood to start that old debate again but i will suggest... no leave it,, it wont because i understand this is not why you are here.
So, YES< Keep Going ON... i am already fearing the 2000Km range missiles that your Arjun Mk2 will fire!!
First of all, this is not a post written by some member here but a TIME OF INDIA article so seriously don't know why there is a TYPING error/IF there is one. Secondly, NOT EVERYONE here is for fun and jokes dear, many people actually come here to learn and get some serious knowledge. I understand it if it difficult for your to grasp.well first about 2000 km missile well that was a misprint/typo error but since you are hell bent to make fun of india and here Arjun MBT i know you will keep repeating it like a broken record cause since your army knows they dont even have anything yet to take on upgraded T72 ajeya type MBTs of indian army you will carres your bruised ego by pointing owt silly typo mistakes so carry on
no matter what you say mate they will opnli beleve what they are told to beleve unlike indians they dont have the ability to judge the logicks fed to them by there security establishment and its media stooges and judge on merit as to whats right and whats wrong ..... cheers mateBEIJING: India's indigenous main battle tank Arjun was today praised by a top Chinese military official who said it is "very good" for Indian conditions as the PLA for the first time opened its facilities for Indian media to provide an insight into its massive modernisation.
Chinese military research academy praises India's Arjun tank - The Economic Times
False argument No 1: The Arjun tank, after decades of failure, can’t suddenly have turned the corner!
It hasn’t “suddenly turned the corner”. It turned the corner very gradually, from around mid-2004. A major landmark came in early 2005, when the problem of the hydro pneumatic suspension unit (HSU) was licked. And in June 2005, the Arjun was to prove its capability in comparative trials in the Mahajan Field Firing Ranges (MFFR); the army agreed to comparative trials involving 5 Arjuns, 5 T-72s and 5 T-90s.
That turned out to be a total fiasco! The Arjun’s electronics packed up in the heat and the trials were over even before they began. The generals who came, including the Western Army Commander, laughed all the way back to their helicopters. The chief, who was to fly in for the trials was rung up and told not to take the trouble.
THAT WAS THE TURNING POINT.
The CVRDE put in a huge effort to heat-harden its electronics, which is something that bears fruit today. While the T-90 is now looking for air-conditioners, the post-2005 electronics in the Arjun can function flawlessly through 60 degrees.
In summer 2006, stringent firing trials by 43 Armoured Regiment established --- in the words of the army’s own trial team --- that the "accuracy and consistency of the Arjun tank was proved beyond doubt".
Later that year, the MoD stated to Parliament’s Standing Committee on Defence that, "Arjun's firing accuracy is far superior to the other two tanks."
In summer 2007, when the army was being pressured to conduct comparative trials, the DGMF raised another objection: the Arjun should be able to drive for 20 minutes in six feet of water. By the end of 2007, the CVRDE managed that as well.
In the Accelerated Usage cum Reliability Trials (AUCRT), which was held in five phases over the first half of this year, the Arjun had problems in the transmission system (not the MTU engine as widely reported, but the Renk transmission) during the first three phases. Engineers from Renk GMbH, Germany came and fixed that and in the last two phases, which were the really tough, heavy desert, hot weather phases, the Arjun performed flawlessly.
The process of turning the corner has been a slow one, but it symbolises exactly why one should go for an Indian tank: each drawback was analysed by our engineers, fixed according to the users’ instructions, and then delivered back to the users without charging them a penny. Contrast that with the problems with the T-90’s electronics. Nobody is fixing that problem; instead, the Russians are trying to sell us air-conditioners. Added expense, and an inefficient solution compared to heat-hardening the electronics, the way the CVRDE did.
False argument No 2: The manufacturers of T-90 have 5 decades of experience under their belt. The T-90 is drawn from the bloodline of T-72 and T-55, both of which are battle proven.
Even the Russians are not buying into the myth of the T-90. That tank entered service with the Russian Army around 1996 and, till today, there are barely 250 T-90s defending Mother Russia! India has more T-90s in service than the Russian Army… and once we implement the full contract, we will have 6 times more T-90s than the Russian Army.
I wonder why the Russian Army isn’t accepting such a blue-blooded tank with such a fine pedigree??? The Russian Army prefers to use: 2144 numbers of T-72s, 3044 numbers of T-80s, 689 numbers of T-62s (plus 3000 more in storage), and even 1000 rickety old T-55s.
Sorry, but there are no more orders from Russia for T-90s.
False argument No 3: The soldiers who operate the Arjun doubt its capabilities as a frontline tank.
The Arjun tank has been operated by 43 Armoured Regiment since over a decade; 43 is delighted with the tank. I have a very close friend who commanded that regiment and he always argued that a regiment of Arjun tanks was worth two regiments of T-72s. And this was even before the Arjun turned the corner!
After the firing trials in June 2006, 43 Armoured Regiment pronounced itself delighted with the Arjun’s firing performance. As I said above, 43 Armoured Regiment endorsed in its trial report, “The accuracy and consistency of the Arjun has been proved beyond doubt.” The brigade commander, Brigadier Chandra Mukesh, himself from 43 Armoured Regiment, endorsed that report whole-heartedly.
But the DGMF was quick to strike back. Barely three months after that report, the commanding officer of 43 Armoured Regiment, Colonel D Thakur, was confronted by then DGMF, Lt Gen DS Shekhawat. Several eyewitnesses have described to me how Colonel Thakur was upbraided by Lt Gen Shekhawat for “not conducting the trials properly”. Fortunately for Colonel Thakur, his brigade commander, Brigadier Chandra Mukesh, intervened and argued strongly that the trials had been conducted in accordance with procedure.
Talk to the crewmen, the drivers, gunners, operators… and you’ll get an even clearer endorsement. They all love the modular construction of the Arjun, which makes maintenance so easy. Changing a T-72 engine takes a full day; changing an Arjun engine takes a couple of hours.
Minister of State for Defence Production, Rao Inderjeet Singh recounts, “I’ve spoken, off the record, to officers who have gone through the trials. Even the crews (from 43 Armoured Regiment)… who have been testing the tank… I forced them to choose between the Russian tanks and the Arjun. I said, you’ve driven this tank and you’ve driven that tank (the T-90). Now mark them out of ten, which tank is better? And I’ve found that the Arjun tank was given more numbers than the T-90 tank.”
False argument No 4: The army has several objections to accepting the Arjun. Somebody writes, “After all, this is NOT pakistan where the generals are not accountable to anyone.”
The most astonishing part of the Arjun story is that the army (read DGMF) really doesn’t have a clear list of objections to the Arjun. Their objections vary from day to day, and with who they are talking to. Some of their objections --- such as that of the Arjun’s 60-ton weight --- run counter to the army’s own GSQR.
What is clear is that the MoD is happy with the Arjun. According to the Parliamentary Standing Committee for Defence’s last annual report for 2007-08, the MoD testified before the Committee that the Arjun tank was:
• “A product unique in its class”, and “an improved system over the T-72.”
• “Rs 6-8 crores cheaper than its contemporary system in the West”.
• “Far superior (in firing accuracy) to the other two tanks (T-72 and T-90)”.
• “Driven for over 60,000 kms and fired more than 8,000 rounds. There was no problem.”
So you judge: if that's what the MoD is saying... aren't the generals conveying an entirely false impression?
False argument No 5: The Arjun failed the AUCRT this summer
As I mentioned above, the Arjun performed creditably during the AUCRT, once Renk solved the transmission system problem.
But what is far more important is the fact that AUCRT is not a “performance trials”. It is not possible for a tank to “pass” or “fail” the AUCRT. The purpose of the AUCRT is to run a small number of tanks for thousands of kilometres and make them fire hundreds of rounds, basically putting them through their entire service lifespan in a few months. The aim of doing this is to evaluate what spares get consumed during the life-span of the tank; what maintenance and overhaul tasks should be scheduled at what stage of a tank’s life; an AUCRT evaluates a tank’s logistical needs, not its operational performance.
But when the transmission gave some problems in the first three phases of AUCRT, the DGMF was quick to seize the chance to bad-mouth the tank, and to convey the false impression that the Arjun had “failed its trials”.
THE ONLY TRIALS THAT WILL EFFECTIVELY EVALUATE THE ARJUN’S OPERATIONAL CAPABILITY --- AND THAT TOO IN COMPARISON TO ITS RUSSIAN RIVALS --- ARE COMPARATIVE TRIALS, ORGANISED BY A THIRD PARTY WITHOUT VESTED INTERESTS IN THE OUTCOME. THAT MUST BE DEMANDED BY THE MoD.
Arjun Catapult 130-mm Self-Propelled Gun
Arjun BLT Armored Bridgelayer
Bhim: Prototype 155-mm self-propelled howitzer
Say people from country who changed "the best fighter ever" decision some 5 times in last few years. Who still believe in the make in India concept and consider LCA as indigenous product. Unlike Indians, Pakistanies do not have the ability to judge.... You know i really love your posts, the jibes and sarcastic replies, even though they are contributing nothing to the discussion but are a treat to watch but this one was hilarious man,, simply awesome. I am glad we do not have that kind of logical thinking ability that makes anything that our military have the world leader in that technology. Only to leave us eat our words if the procurement decision are changed. I am sure you do not have any facts to back up your claims with, i still am waiting for your reply to the matter that you have been involved in similar debate in the past, ran out of argument, restored to the same old sarcastic jibes and left the thread only to return with same things in a new one. I know it is of no use at all but there are separate dedicated threads about Ak Khalid tanks, Al Khalid I and reports and rumors about a possible Al Khalid II. If you want to learn about that, which based on my past experiences you do not seem to be in mood of, you can visit them. Any questions there tag me @Dazzler, @Slav Defence @Oscar @TaimiKhan @RescueRanger , as all these may be able to help you with your queries. IN mean time, please refrain from insulting other nationalities. Now if a rate your post here you will start whining so will leave it at that, all these people tagged can read you post and make a decision.no matter what you say mate they will opnli beleve what they are told to beleve unlike indians they dont have the ability to judge the logicks fed to them by there security establishment and its media stooges and judge on merit as to whats right and whats wrong ..... cheers mate