Update: Indian troops killed soldier after questioning: Pakistan Army

Gandalf

Killed infiltrator identified as Pakistani soldier, body returned.
Jammu, Feb 15, 2013, (IANS)

A militant killed near the Line of Control (LoC) in Rajouri district of Jammu and Kashmir Thursday while trying to infiltrate into India was identified as a Pakistani soldier, army officials said. The body was returned to the Pakistani side Friday.

According to army sources Friday, the killed militant had been identified as Mohammad Ikhlaq, a soldier of Pakistan's 60 Punjab regiment. An army spokesman here said that at approx 3 p.m. Thursday, Indian troops at Laam post in Rajouri sector, about 170 km north of Jammu, "observed suspicious movement along the Indian side of LoC" and a patrol party challenged the infiltrator.

The infiltrator, however, "opened indiscriminate fire" injuring two soldiers. Fire was returned, killing the infiltrator. "One AK-56 rifle along with some other warlike stores was recovered. The body of the deceased was later handed over to the state police," said the spokesman.

The spokesman said that Friday morning, Pakistan's Director General of Military Operations (DGMO) made an unscheduled call to his Indian counterpart requesting that the soldier's body be returned.

"Acceding to this request, the body was returned to Pakistan Army personnel in the same sector in the evening with military respects," the spokesman said.

The Defence spokesman had Thursday issued a statement that army had foiled an infiltration attempt and killed a militant in combat dress, adding that an Indian soldier was also injured in the fire fight.

Pakistani soldiers had Jan 8 intruded into the Indian side in Mendhar areas of Poonch district, killed two Indian soldiers and beheaded them. This resulted in escalation of tension between the two countries, but the situation eased after a flag meeting between the two sides Jan 14.

Killed infiltrator identified as Pakistani soldier, body returned

this poor chap paid the price of Jan 8 intrusion and ambush by Pakistani soldiers. Had that not happened, this could have been just an arrest and return, but I guess after that episode, the trigger fingers would have been very itchy... Sad...

Hahaha innocent Indians .
They cut your mans head at the loc , take it away with them and show a middle finger when asked to return .
Now our beloved army returns the body of the Pakistani soldier well within 24 hours of encounter with full respect and honour .

Aek taraf pride bhi hota hai aur doosri tarak :hitwall: :hitwall:

I salute Indian Armed Forces who have not followed Tit for Tat policy. It is very cruel and abhorrent what Pakistani Armed Forces have done with the dead bodies of our soldiers whom they have killed by deceit. There is no need to show any leniency to our enemies. But once the enemy is killed, it is inhuman to disfigure the body. Now, the Pakistani authorities should hang their heads in shame. The only atonement for the sin they have committed towards our soldiers, is they should publicly seek apology from Indian authorities and families of our martyred soldiers and promise not only to Indian authorities but to the international community of not repeating such inhuman and barbaric act.

On topic! i hope PA would return ur soldier/s alive next time instead of paying you in the same coin....

Fortunately for you we are not those who carry out beheadings and lateron not return the head.Unfortunatley we don't have Leaders who pay their dalals for carrying out beheadings in lacs....sad really sad!!

It is to be noted that the infiltrator was at first thought to be a militant,had he been identified as a PA soldier,may be it would have been tried to capture and return him.

this poor chap paid the price of Jan 8 intrusion and ambush by Pakistani soldiers. Had that not happened, this could have been just an arrest and return, but I guess after that episode, the trigger fingers would have been very itchy... Sad...

thats right
and hats off to you and people like Krait
you guys kept your comments graceful unlike some people of course who wanted to troll and chest thump it

even in the worse of tensions, such crossings are not unheard of but this proved fatal for that guy because of our recent border fights. the locals claim to have seen that guy being questioned by the Indians who halted him. there is an agreed standard operating procedure where soldiers of both countries are told what to do when challenged after crossing the border by mistake.
mostly there is some intense questioning and a local flag staff meeting where the problem is resolved in a day or so

we already had our two soldiers snipped after the alleged beheading of Indian soldier so both forces knew that everyone was alert and looking out for any opportunity so any misadventure was out of question(which is being suggested by chest thumpers).

any way rest in peace is all i can say and at least Indians had the decency to return the body unlike that of an unknown Pakistani soldier whose' skull was shown to Berkha Dutt (confessions of a war reporter) .

I hope that Pakistanis dont decide to avenge this unfortunate death and for the sake of peace give Indians the benefit of doubt although unfortunately they are claiming a gunfight and our patriotism will dictate which version to accept.

Indian Helicopters have strayed into Pakistan not just the soldiers hopefully the people who are celebrating and trolling will keep that in mind that such incursions can end in tragedies as well. Hopefully captured Indians would be allowed back once their innocence is confirmed like in the previous such cases.

It is to be noted that the infiltrator was at first thought to be a militant,had he been identified as a PA soldier,may be it would have been tried to capture and return him.

there is an agreed protocol and SOP in place between the two sides. the person who has strayed the wrong side is to halt and identify himself when there is no chance that he can cross back safely of course.

more on this news

Indian troops killed soldier after questioning: Pakistan Army | Pakistan | DAWN.COM

thats right
and hats off to you and people like Krait
you guys kept your comments graceful unlike some people of course who wanted to troll and chest thump it

even in the worse of tensions, such crossings are not unheard of but this proved fatal for that guy because of our recent border fights. the locals claim to have seen that guy being questioned by the Indians who halted him. there is an agreed standard operating procedure where soldiers of both countries are told what to do when challenged after crossing the border by mistake.
mostly there is some intense questioning and a local flag staff meeting where the problem is resolved in a day or so

we already had our two soldiers snipped after the alleged beheading of Indian soldier so both forces knew that everyone was alert and looking out for any opportunity so any misadventure was out of question(which is being suggested by chest thumpers).

any way rest in peace is all i can say and at least Indians had the decency to return the body unlike that of an unknown Pakistani soldier whose' skull was shown to Berkha Dutt (confessions of a war reporter) .

I hope that Pakistanis dont decide to avenge this unfortunate death and for the sake of peace give Indians the benefit of doubt although unfortunately they are claiming a gunfight and our patriotism will dictate which version to accept.

Indian Helicopters have strayed into Pakistan not just the soldiers hopefully the people who are celebrating and trolling will keep that in mind that such incursions can end in tragedies as well. Hopefully captured Indians would be allowed back once their innocence is confirmed like in the previous such cases.

there is an agreed protocol and SOP in place between the two sides. the person who has strayed the wrong side is to halt and identify himself when there is no chance that he can cross back safely of course.

more on this news

Indian troops killed soldier after questioning: Pakistan Army | Pakistan | DAWN.COM

I have actually stopped second guessing these events.. Just feel sad for people who die on both sides..and their families who are left behind.