Top 10 Richest Countries in 2050 according to Citibank

Well in my understanding one day India will over take west in income per capita. India embraced capitalism in 1991 and today we have 3 times more billionares than britain and france with almost similiar size economy. Indian corporate sector doesn't lack business expertise. Problems arises when govt doesn't let them expand their businesses and cap their investment and waste time leading to cost over runs and land acquisition problems.

India can't be China, we can't manufacture for the world, we are not capable of that. But our 1.5 billion people are enough to make us the largest economy and richest nation. Better leadership and domestic manufacturing will make it "The golden Bird" again.

Indian politicians need to establish concensus quickly. 200 yrs ago maharajas used to fight in India for superiority, now these stupid politicians fight.

I would rather accept Indian policy makers decision into consideration and their reasoning behind such acquisitions. Band-aid analogy didn't work but got your point. But its one of the solution to meet the demand. Not to forget bad distribution by Indian govt. Most of the land is bought by private players. For Africans, well won't they have jobs to work in the industries set up by foreigners. I think they will happily do job rather let their children die due to hunger or civil war with kids owning AKs. Have you read about Indian and China's version of imperialism which in former case was exactly we fought against.

Africa cannot sustain India plus itself. In addition food is only getting more expensive due to private speculators buying out large amounts.

Exaggeration is obvious, but underestimating is also present. Exaggeration of US might is also questioned especially after what happened in Vietnam and Afghanistan, former made US bleed all over while later one does have some significance in prolonging the war.

US pulled out of Vietnam, prior to the political decision to pull out, they didnt loose a single battle. Afghanistan, well a decade of drones is making an impact, Taliban are ready for negotiating table.
Read more. This are cookie cutter stereotype arguments that aren't really true.

I agree with 20 min ride situation but aren't things worsening in west too. Haven't people gone bankrupt and other problems rose. Its about decline in relative term. You can't measure US and China's growth in every house or city term. $100 increase of pay in US may not means a LOT but it means more to any Indian or Chinese living outside 20 min ride zone. If you have to compare is to compare the past living of standard and problems in your country and ours in our country.

At the risk of being blunt and insensitive, no matter the standard, every home has a sewage and electricity connection with no power cuts. Even the poorest. i dont mean this in a bad chi-bot troll way, but before comparing you could take that into account and start to appreciate all the hard work you have to go through first.

Half a century ago, things were completely different, USSR came to same level as of US and now we are talking about 4 decades ahead. I think you know Leap Frog Advance in science and other areas.

Sun Tzu won't risk getting weak by indulging in war with small but potent nations and give the bigger and more advanced nation to have a chance to increase the gap i.e. US. China can afford to loose few islands but can't afford to loose the momentum in every every area especially in economy.

You paint a best case scenario. in which everyone goes backwards but by some magic India and China progress. Go take a look at the recent Chinese economy data, how much lower the growth is without western customers + the bubbles of gov injecting money in the economy for the last few years so that the reduction in growth doesnt result in a hard crash, but rather a softer landing. It's already loosing momentum....open your eyes.

I won't comment on possible structure of Asia in economy wise or geo-political wise, but technological level can be understood, exceptions will be there but most of the technologies will come to same level.

Man, we work on (mil. grade) lasers, robots, fusion reactors, ion rocket engines, autonomous cars, private companies preparing to mine near earth asteroids, theorycrafting about possible low scale antimatter production in the not so distant future (20 yrs)....:undecided: and you have troubles with liquid fueled rockets. How is that gap shrinking in these truly ground breaking research fields?

Now ofcourse your reply will be, yes India will work on that in 20 years and catch up, but again you come from a position where everyone else stands still for that amount of time.

I actually wasn't thinking about a classical land war, more like precision munition strikes on key military targets near the coast to deny operation.

In this case, USA has clear superiority.

Japan, Korea, India more covertly?

Iran doesn't have nukes and is in almost constant conflict with the US in the last 30 years and they still havent been attacked.

err, a large percentage of world oil reserves is there, id say thats a bit more important then some rocks and whatever is beneath them.

Yup, all these points make sense.

Multi-party democracy is hardly the only option forward for progress. Think Singapore-style authoritarianism.
A benevolent dictator like Lee Kuan Yew is a rarity. Most Chinese rulers are only in it for himself.

The political situation between Taiwan and China will certainly change before 2050, regardless of what direction it goes.
A communist China of 2050 would still be a 3rd world country, Taiwan being prosperous.
A democratic China of 2020 would be a developed country, and Taiwan's KMT may opt for unification and take a part in mainland elections.

Disregarding rabid Korean netizens, the Korean government has been relatively liberal, indeed even more liberal than Japan has been, and will not likely go with social apartheid-style governing of the North.
That IS the plan.

That, and to secure FDI for North Korea it will have to "open up". In the miniscule chance that the South does go with apartheid

You clearly do not understand the ROK's post-Kim administration plan of the North.

When the ROK takes over the North, the partition stays. The North Koreans are not allowed to migrate to the South, and the Southerners are not allowed to relocate to North without a justifiable cause and a permission. The North's currency will stay as is, only exchanged to new bills without Kim family's faces. All the hints of past Kim regime will be removed, and those on the ROK's persecution list will be arrested and tried for crimes against humanity.

Some things do change immediately, such as freeing of all political prisoners, a freedom of speech and demonstration, and the flooding of food in North Korean market system.

The North Korea under the ROK administration becomes an extremely attractive place for Southern and foreign investment, because it is covered by the FTA with the US and EU, and possibly with China(In the process of negotiation). Accordingly you can expect a tsunami of companies trying to exit from China and relocate to North Korea, the only place on earth with 3rd world wages, but covered by FTAs with all major economies and a 1st world legal system(North Korean legal system will be run by the ROK). This is how the ROK plans to reconstruct the North Korean economy, not with aid, but a tsunami of companies relocating from China into North Korea.

The ROK's problem then becomes figuring out how to keep Chinese companies(considered undesirable) out, not how to attract companies into North Korea.

South Korea today is having difficulty supporting some 10,000+ North Korea defectors socially and financially, how will they deal with an influx of several million North Korean refugees into their territory?
This is exactly the reason for the sealing of NK borders. North Koreans do not need to migrate to South to seek jobs; jobs will come to them.

Well in my understanding one day India will over take west in income per capita. India embraced capitalism in 1991 and today we have 3 times more billionares than britain and france with almost similiar size economy. Indian corporate sector doesn't lack business expertise. Problems arises when govt doesn't let them expand their businesses and cap their investment and waste time leading to cost over runs and land acquisition problems.

India can't be China, we can't manufacture for the world, we are not capable of that. But our 1.5 billion people are enough to make us the largest economy and richest nation. Better leadership and domestic manufacturing will make it "The golden Bird" again.

Indian politicians need to establish concensus quickly. 200 yrs ago maharajas used to fight in India for superiority, now these stupid politicians fight.

The very fact that you have more billionaires, and less GDP, signals a gross income disparity. Add the fact that you have almost 20 times the population of UK, the picture becomes very bleak.

It might look bleak to you, but not to us. Our country is doing fine, you better worry about urz.

Well that is your subjective view. The point is any nation with the mentioned characteristics does not tend to have comparable living standards to nations with the opposite.

Analysts @Citi and other western 'economic' research groups, never fail to amuse me!

* In 1980's it was their firm belief that India would implode and would be dirt poor at the turn of the century, with a famine struck population of a billion

* In 1980's it was the firm belief of economists that China would not be able to handle food shortages in the future.

I can continue for future decades as well, however, what's the ******* point?

On topic: Geographically small nations don't make rich or poor countries, they make pawns. Only countries that we need to watch out in the future are.

* India
* China
* Brazil
* USA (which will remain leader for generations)
* Germany
* Saudia (maybe)
* Canada
* Russia
* Turkey
* Norway (relatively big and huge oil and gas supplies)
* Korea
* Sweden
* Australia (Maybe, as they've done nothing till date that shows some sort of initiative that they want to be on any list!)

Note: There is no apparent order above.

Rest of the minuscule nations, pretending to be a hot-shots will remain under influence of countries above...
Add Pakistan to this and I am not kidding...........Check this out
National Power Index - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
It's criterion are also good........GDP, Defence Spending, Population and Technology
Sounds Legit........Ofcourse It only measures Hard Power, but then Hard power earns more influence than Soft Power

Add Pakistan to this and I am not kidding...........Check this out
National Power Index - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
It's criterion are also good........GDP, Defence Spending, Population and Technology
Sounds Legit........Ofcourse It only measures Hard Power, but then Hard power earns more influence than Soft Power

Why is India before Japan, France and Germany?

And If France wanted to overtake India in this index, what variables would it need to improve?

With $85 trillion, how India can become world's largest economy

According to a study by US banking group Citi, India will be the world's largest economy within 39 years. Indian GDP in 2050, measured by purchasing power parity (PPP), will be $85.97 trillion. China, in second place, will have a GDP of $ 80.02 trillion and the US $ 39.07 trillion (see chart).

10699840.cms

With $85 trillion, how India can become world's largest economy - Economic Times

this analysis hasn’t included positive effects by inflow of foreign money into India also when half of the developed economies will have been collapsed till 2020. Mr Mittal could become 4th richest man by 2008 because he could understand the likely economic fall of ASEAN and shifted his money from there to those markets which were going to rise. Similar thing is happening right now as it is believed that earning by Indian export for past one year, (in 2010/11) also included black money as Western markets are going to collapse and those who have black money there are bringing it back (as per the report). one more example is seen when we have a look on the hefty number of Indian professionals returning back to India from US during last 3 year as an environment is there that US's companies have no more future and even if salaries in Indian companies is lesser, they would rise in future. these Indian professionals now find their future brighter in India, not in US. Also, this type of analysis generally predicts on the basis of “Linearity”, with a sense of continuity, and things don’t work like this. things change rapidly and many times dramatically. my one Pakistani friend in Australia, Faraz, told me that many people are crying who bought made in US car in 2009 for 20lacs rupees while same type of made in China car is now available for 10lacs only in Pakistan.

in fact, GDP of India even around $100tn on PPP by 2050 doesn’t surprise me but GDP of US and EU even around $20tn each by 2050 looks overly estimated. Once an environment will be prepared that money/ investment is just not safe in today’s Industrialized countries, there will be a fun to see how world markets behave. also, how rise of Asian tigers will affect Western Markets, we have yet to see before we would make any prediction based on Linearity. Most of Industries of today's 'Industrialized' countries have been shifted to Asian tigers, mainly to China, and they now have to keep buying cheap products from China until their per capita income comes below to that of China, making them cheaper to be produced domestically. at the same time China/ India keep buying whatever industries/ big brands are still left in West. we have to wait for a while before making any prediction..... :coffee:

by 2050 ?? don't know about rest world but we Indian and our beloved pakistani brothers ll be facing same problem i.e. stupid corrupt politicians . aur humare bachhe kisi forum par aise hi trolling kar rhe honge jaise we all used to do here.. n hope so ye pyar bna rahega un k bech me bhi :D...

btw i think China ll be on biggest economy not India.. India ll be on 4-5 or more then..

This is why China is expected to be overtaken by India soon, as China too faces a Japan-like aging society in less than 20 years and the growth sputters accordingly. All the economists project India to be the biggest economy(so the 21st century is technically India's Century, not China's) because the average age of India would be low, which helps to sustain the economic growth.

So your "China is expected to be overtaken by India soon" is base on India's 5.5% growth?
That's why Singapore PM said " China did while India talk". Maybe 2100 or 2200 will make more sence.

And why an Indian like to use a Korean frag to praise themself. I have some Korean friends, none of them care about anything of India .

Have a look realistic .. China GDP is 7.3 trillion dollars with 8% growth , while India GDP only 1.5 trillion with 6% growth .

Chinese car sales is ten times of India and still maintain 8% growth, while India dropped 19%, and most of them is "micro ones".

In coming 40 years, I said Vietnam\Philippines\ Mongolia will have the fastest growth.... And India? This country with Chaos\ignorance\corruption\poverty\self satisfaction\ will as same as 20 centry.