Tillerson: Terror Group Ties Could Cost Pakistan Territorial Control

Pakistan still a valued partner: Tillerson
The Newspaper's CorrespondentDecember 14, 2017

WASHINGTON: US Secretary of State Rex Tillerson has said that Pakistan is still an important and valued partner for the United States, although he does not enjoy dealing with it.

Mr Tillerson and Defence Secretary James Mattis are leading US efforts to reengage Pakistan and both have visited Islamabad for talks aimed at reversing the downward trend in bilateral ties.

And the Pentagon’s chief spokesperson Dana White told a news briefing in Washington on Monday that the secretary had “very fruitful conversations” with Pakistani leaders about “where we can find common ground” when he visited Islamabad on Dec 4.

Officials in Washington told Dawn earlier this week that there have been “follow-up meetings” between the two sides after the visit and those meetings have “created a positive environment.”

ARTICLE CONTINUES AFTER AD
“Dealing with Pakistan — I don’t enjoy that. But I enjoy dealing with (Assistant Secretary) Alice Wells and Ambassador (David) Hale on it,” said Secretary Tillerson when asked at a US State Department Town Hall on Tuesday if he enjoyed his job.

“Pakistan is still an important and valued partner of the United States. Over the last decade, the relationship had drifted, and we’ve got to bring this relationship back to one of common interest. Today that’s just not the case,” he added.

The deterioration in US-Pakistan relations began in 2011 when the United States located Osama bin Laden in Abbottabad and eliminated him without informing Islamabad. Relations have continued to deteriorate since then.

“So we’re engaged in very, very frank discussions with Pakistan over the concerns we have about their own stability and their own future and the threat they’re under by allowing terrorist organisations to operate in their territory,” said the top US diplomat while underlining US concerns about Pakistan.

The US-Pakistan talks, he said, also focused on how the two countries could work together to bring stability and peace to the South Asian region, “a lot of work left to do.”

Mr Tillerson explained that new US strategy for Afghanistan emerged from “a heavy, heavy emphasis on counterterrorism” in South Asia because “that’s really the big threat that we’re dealing with there”.

The new strategy, he said, had committed the US to a conditions-based fight in Afghanistan, which had no timeline. “We’re there until this thing is brought to a conclusion. It’s not a blank check. It’s not a forever. But we’re going to stay on the ground and support the Afghan government,” he said.

Mr Tillerson also emphasised the need for the Afghan government to deliver on the needed reforms and create the conditions to have an inclusive government that allows for participation of all the groups, including the Taliban.

“When the Taliban are ready to come to that negotiating table, there will be a place for them to participate in a future Afghan government,” he added.

Under the new strategy, the United States wants to defeat the Taliban in the battlefield to force them to join the peace process and seeks Pakistan’s cooperation for this purpose.

While Pakistan backs the US suggestion for encouraging reconciliation between the Taliban and the Afghan government, it also says that a military solution will not work. Instead, it suggests working with those Taliban who want to talk and fighting those who do not.

Secretary Tillerson, however, said that a pivotal point in the new US strategy was to deny any safe haven to terrorist organisations, because a number of terrorist organisations were still operating in the Afghan-Pakistan region.

“Our policy is, deny them the ability to have a safe haven where they can organise, they can recruit fighters, they can raise money, they can plan and carry out attacks against our allies, our own homeland, as we know they did in the past,” he said. “The entire (US) policy in South Asia is to achieve that.”

And this can be achieved by eliminating the safe havens, having some organisations who today have been fighting, decide they don’t want to fight anymore, they’d rather talk about how to live, and create the conditions for a reconciliation process within Afghanistan and ultimately a peace process,” Secretary Tillerson added.

Published in Dawn, December 14th, 2017

WASHINGTON: US Secretary of State Rex Tillerson has said that Pakistan is still an important and valued partner for the United States, although he does not enjoy dealing with it.

Now thats an oxymoron or as as one Einstien here would term it 'cognative dissonance'.

They are smoking some good shit in Washington. Message to America. Try to gain territory in Afghanistan first. You cant even leave your bases

Ofcourse. Thats why sukuk\eurobonds exsist. Lot of effort involved too!

at least no such stunts from Pakistan..

India could barely finance three weeks’ worth of imports which led the Indian government to airlift national gold reserves as a pledge to the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in exchange for a loan to cover balance of payment debts.[1]

Bonds are better option :rofl:

Are there no Taliban controlled areas in Afghanistan? I thought Americans are there in Afghanistan to wrest the control from Taliban.

Ppl didnot read news carefully , he was indirectly warning pakistan by hiding behind afghan talibs n haqqanis name that pakistan harbors these groups, if some days these groups' interest shift towards islamabad then they will try to capture it and pakistan will lose its territories to haqqanis and afghan talibs

He is warmongering n playing malign pakistan thru media by portraying that pakistan is weak against these groups so tht if they ever try attacking our territories we wont be able to protect ourselves

@Irfan Baloch news might interest u

ISIS it seems is ready to launch the big attack on Pakistan.

And Pakistan will be blamed for this attack as well.

But it's wishful thinking of USA that we will loose territory.

With border fence and PA dominate western front we will fry these proxy pigs 5km into Afghanistan.

Like I said shift heavy artillery western borders and concentrate on oblieration of Nuristan and supporting pakhtun liberation of Afghanistan.

Ppl didnot read news carefully , he was indirectly warning pakistan by hiding behind afghan talibs n haqqanis name that pakistan harbors these groups, if some days these groups' interest shift towards islamabad then they will try to capture it and pakistan will lose its territories to haqqanis and afghan talibs

He is warmongering n playing malign pakistan thru media by portraying that pakistan is weak against these groups so tht if they ever try attacking our territories we wont be able to protect ourselves

@Irfan Baloch news might interest u
I read it differently. He is warning Pakistan about loosing territory to American aggression directly or with the support of recently ferried ISIS terrorists from Iraq and Syria into Afghanistan as per allegations of former Afghan President and Ally of the Americans who is no friend of Pakistan. together perhaps with BLA and TTP support.
time and again Americans have expressed no desire in Peace but continuing with this perpetual war, there is no intention of bringing this conflict to closure and no set time to leave the region. on one hand America demands Pakistan to help bringing Afghan taliban to negotiating table but on the same time targets their negotiators or leaders and stalling the negotiations time and again. it targets them through its assassins or drones sites preferably inside Pakistan and uses the incidence as a proof against Pakistan's collusion hiding the fact that Pakistan was supposed to be helping with negotiations on American requests and the people representing the adversaries are accorded safety.

This is direct warning by Tillerson,do not take this at face value.Consider Ghani's statement about ISIS-K logistics provided by USA and yesterday's statement by Iranian minister
that is correct. Americans are warning Pakistan of same tactics used against Iraq and Syria and as Karzai has claimed that Americans themselves have brought their new version of Al Qaeda via Helicopters into Afghanistan, so they intend to use them against Pakistan and Iran alike.

Ok come and take the territory
militarily its no problem for them.

it might seem impossible from the safety of your room behind the computer but we have third world military aimed mainly to defend against India.

LOL what are you waiting for.
they are not waiting. our men are being killed in Ambushes and IED blasts. Americans can repeat the Salala incident whenever they want. there is simply no contest here. Americans have full spectrum dominance over Russia and China. we are no where close so lets not be too generous when boasting and daring a super power.

This is the time China should send some SUs and air defence systems for long term live exercises. Afghanistan is going to become real hell for USA. Pakistan has been quiet and nice too long fighting someone else's fight, its time to fight for our own country.
Chinese are businessmen not fighters. the best they do is some kicking and stone throwing contest with Indians over their border dispute.

they wont risk their trillion dollar investments with America for Pakistan

it might seem impossible from the safety of your room behind the computer but we have third world military aimed mainly to defend against India.

The other option is bending over...

Its not question of capabilities but survival
Which North Koreans and Iran seem to do alot better.... and frankly it's shame full

This is what happens when 4 Star General discusses foreign policies with refined corporate CEO who happens to have enough credential supported by a department and policies . Its time we as armed forces step back in foreign policy specially in case of Afghanistan and Kashmir since we did more harm then good already we loose market to India in Afghanistan and recent propaganda of Indian backed Ashraf Ghani is horrifying in which he is a living the Pakhtoonistan card once more .

Tillerson holds separate meeting with COAS Bajwa
http://nationalcourier.pk/back-page/tillerson-holds-separate-meeting-coas-bajwa/

But every one makes his own choice I guess... some people like it ... bending over

they are not waiting. our men are being killed in Ambushes and IED blasts. Americans can repeat the Salala incident whenever they want. there is simply no contest here. Americans have full spectrum dominance over Russia and China. we are no where close so lets not be too generous when boasting and daring a super power.

Baloch bhai you are a very intelligent person, but some times you forget the real world situations and act like those you tube videos where they say this many tanks this many jets and this many motorcycles and this country is the winner and they end the entire world war with a balance sheet. USA has no current world strategy and they cannot even touch Pakistan. North Korea na USA ko danda de rakha hai aur aap mujhay ajeeb khani suna raha hoo. I think too studies make one more uneducated. ever since I have known Pakistan and from what Americans know Pakistan has never feared initiating it's objectives. Trump signed a 700 million $ payment for Pakistan and Tilli is making threats. Baloch you think I am an idot. Ba(Badmash) L(Lucha) O(Washi) Ch(CHoor), Jab Pakistan apnay kaam pay ata hai tab America choro linning tower of pizza bhi sidha ho jata hai.

Back to threatening.I think in coming days more attacks will happen in fata region as us is itself supporting the terrorist in Pakistan.
their main asset on the political front is Nawaz league and Mehmood Achakzai. both have sabotaged the FATA reforms and it will be a political death of Pakistan hater Mehmood Achakzai if FATA joins the Khyber Pakhtun province.
so they will encourage political discourse and provide support to people like Nawaz to continually bad mouth the military and mock the state of Pakistan and its ideology (recall Nawaz's speech to Indian media during Modi's inauguration).

on Baluchistan they have support of Indians and BLA specially to target any progress and for the rest of Pakistan there is TTP. I wont be surprised if they target any Pakistani check posts again which they have done many times

Baloch bhai you are a very intelligent person, but some times you forget the real world situations and act like those you tube videos where they say this many tanks this many jets and this many motorcycles and this country is the winner and they end the entire world war with a balance sheet. USA has no current world strategy and they cannot even touch Pakistan. North Korea na USA ko danda de rakha hai aur aap mujhay ajeeb khani suna raha hoo. I think too studies make one more uneducated. ever since I have known Pakistan and from what Americans know Pakistan has never feared initiating it's objectives. Trump signed a 700 million $ payment for Pakistan and Tilli is making threats. Baloch you think I am an idot. Ba(Badmash) L(Lucha) O(Washi) Ch(CHoor), Jab Pakistan apnay kaam pay ata hai tab America choro linning tower of pizza bhi sidha ho jata hai.
Mera Bhai
I am not influenced with youtube comparison videos, I have military background and I have lived and served time on the borders on the east and the west of Pakistan including LoC.

Iran
Vietnam
Afghanistan
and North Korea
are not a good example to follow for Pakistan. we dont have the stomach to face the economic and social hardship. even in current conditions surviving 2018 will be a big challenge.