Devil Soul

This Pakistani restaurant in Vienna runs on trust
KIRAN HAROON
554b42e4ec133.jpg

Afzaal and Natalie Deewan have introduced a new concept in dining at their restaurant Der Weiner Deewan in Vienna — Heribert Corn
As immigrant communities grow in cities around the world, Pakistani, Indian, Chinese, Arabian and other exotic cuisines have found their way into the hearts of a diverse range of people.

In Austria, one set of restaurant owners has introduced yet another dimension to the dining experience — the concept of a 'suggested donation' at an eatery.

'Der Weiner Deewan' in Vienna is a Pakistani restaurant based on a pay-as-you-wish concept: diners pay according to what they thought the food, quality and experience of their meal was worth.

554b438571085.jpg

Der Weiner Deewan from the street. — Sebastian Schoofs
We contacted Afzaal and Natalie Deewan to find out if you can base a restaurant on good karma.

Dawn.com: As the owners, tell us about yourselves.

Natalie Deewan: Afzaal Deewan, a cricket-player, cook and businessman from Mandi Bahauddin, Pakistan, landed in Vienna, Austria, in 2004 as an asylum seeker. There he met me, Natalie, a student in Languages and Philosophy, and we decided to join forces. Deewan would cook and I handled the rest. One year of intensive research later, we opened the Der Wiener Deewan, which translates to the Viennese divan, with the tagline 'Pakistani Food, Essen für alle' (Food for Everybody). It was the first Pakistani curry buffet-restaurant in town.

Dawn.com: How did the idea for pay-as-you-like come about for the restaurant?

Natalie: We wanted it to be a very accessible place, where the two of us, a student and an asylum seeker, as we were at that time, could have been our own guests. The idea of pay as you wish emerged at the very end: it sounded simple, but radical – and funny! People should be invited to choose their own price, according to their satisfaction, the amount they have eaten and their financial means. Deewan was confident people would like his food, so hopefully, they would pay accordingly. We decided to give it a try and see how far we would get.

Dawn.com: How do you manage to make money or break even when you just trust people to pay as much as they want?

Natalie: We give trust and it comes back! We can trust in people’s capacity to think for themselves: if they did not pay at least a fair price and we therefore had to close, where would they find such a good meal for such a cheap price then? We have lots of regular customers who eat several times a week, some even daily, at our restaurant. They want to come again and in order to find the shop open and food ready, they simply have to pay a fair price. It looks like the majority of our guests want us to keep going.

Dawn.com: Is there a minimum amount to be paid per diner, as is the case with most all-you-can-eat buffets?

Natalie: Before leaving, our guests come to the counter and are invited to choose a price that fits. It should be fair and sometimes our take-away boxes (which have fixed prices, ranging from 5 to 10 Euros) serve as orientation. Since we don’t have fixed prices for the buffet, you are not forced to eat all you can to justify an already set price. You can also eat only a small plate or only dessert and then pay a small amount. We just chose to combine two known concepts, all-you-can-eat and pay-as-you-wish.

554b42c801641.jpg

A view of the restaurant's interior. — Sebastian Schoofs
Dawn.com: What have you learned about people and humanity from your restaurant?

Natalie: A lot.

Dawn.com: Why Pakistani food?

Natalie: Deewan is from Pakistan, his mother and grandmother taught him to cook, hence we serve Pakistani food. Just recently we had Pakistani guests who inquired, whether we also served Chinese food. We said, ‘No, we are a Pakistani curry restaurant.’ ‘Only Pakistani food?’ they asked. ‘Yes, only,’ we answered.

Dawn.com: Is the food specific to any regional style, Sindhi, Punjabi, Balochi, Pashtun?

Natalie: According to Deewan, no. According to many guests, it tastes like home, as they say, ‘Like my mother used to cook!’

Dawn.com: Did it seem that it might not work or that Austrian palates wouldn’t be accepting of Pakistani food?

Natalie: Deewan has adjusted the food to suit Austrian tastes, i.e. less hot, so fewer chilies. If some like it hotter, they can spice it up with different chili sauces.

Dawn.com: How have you constructed the menu for Der Weiner Deewan?

Natalie: We offer a buffet of five different curries: two meat-based, chicken and lamb or beef; three vegetarian/vegan, dhal, vegetables and potato curry. We also serve Basmati rice, bread, salad, sauces and sweets. Drinks, including many local and exotic juices, lassis, beer, wine, lots of different teas and coffee, have fixed prices. Tap water (which in Vienna is of very good quality) is served free of charge.

Dawn.com: What are the customer favorites?

Natalie: Our guests finish off the Lamb Palak very quickly. Vegetarians go after the dhal or the Alu Methi Gajar.

Dawn.com: What’s the ratio of Pakistanis/Indians to Europeans coming into the restaurant on a daily basis?

Natalie: Generally, we host quite a transnational and intercontinental crowd, which includes students from all over Europe, travelers from all over the world, and people of African and Asian origin. Maybe around five percent of our customers are of Pakistani/Indian origin, we guess.

Dawn.com: What flavors most represent Pakistan for you?

Natalie: The cardamom brothers.

Dawn.com: Which Pakistani dish instantly transports you back?

Natalie: Beef nihari.

Wow unique concept!! Some things in Europe are on a basis of trust....like some "metro" transportation where you dont have to swipe if you have a certain pass and those without a pass usually take advantage and only when caught would be fined....

I don't know what I am surprised more by, that this restaurent is "pay as you wish" or that this guy has decided to actually call it "Pakistani". Most will avoid using the term "Pakistani" as if it poison and instead hide behind terms like "Desi, Apna, Asian, Indian, Balti" etc.

The question here is....
Do they reserve the right to choose their customers or is it open to all..ie. Rich, poor, bums, etc?

Either way...unique concept and I love it!

Muslims in general have always had a very generous view towards feeding the poor and destitute
Back when I was in Mumbai, it was always good to see that the poor were fed for free outside the Mahim Darga...made me proud that I had such generous countrymen and increased my respect for the muslims...

Keep it up!

I don't know what I am surprised more by, that this restaurent is "pay as you wish" or that this guy has decided to actually call it "Pakistani". Most will avoid using the term "Pakistani" as if it poison and instead hide behind terms like "Desi, Apna, Asian, Indian, Balti" etc.
Amreeka may waisay aisa nahi hai.

Tahoora sweets, sabri nehari.many more etc
Uk walay are crazies or what. Why they are doing this?
Btw southall is littered with pakistani restaurants.

and balti is pakistani.

There has been change. Afzal Deewan is not the only one with Pakistani food label now days.

After all all so called Indian food if its not dosa mosa, then its basically Pakistani food prepared by vegan Indians. If you don't even eat meat why even bother to cook for others?

@save_ghenda
@Shamain

I know but too many times on too many things Pakistani's are afraid almost or even act apologetic in using the term Pakistani. We are now 68 years old. Thus we are older than most Third World countries yet we hide behind terms like "Dhesi, Apna, Asian, Balti, Muslim, Indian".

Nobody else does that. You get 10 Solvaks and you will get shop with big sign "Slovakian Sklep". You get 10 Kurds and you will get restaurent called "Kurdistan" yet there is not even a country called Kurdistan.

Then you get 50,000 Pakistani's you get mile, after mile of shops all singing the "Dhesi Restaurent, Apna Sweet House, Indian Grocery, Asian Cloth House, Muslim Money exchange, Balti Curry Palace" song.

Dawn is a Pakistani newspaper right. Even they suffer from the Indian disease. Do you see how they even manage to sub bracket Pakistani with Indian. If this was a Indian place and Indian newspaper they would never mention Pakistan.

This bull has to stop now. When a Pakistani plants a bomb in London they don't say "A dhesi, Indian, Asian, Muslim did it, they say Pakistan and then add Muslim to it. In for the bad, in for the good. Coin has two sides.

It is like in history. Stuff that happened 3,000 years ago I used to say "present day Pakistan" but then one day I thought hang on. 3,000 years ago there was no India, no Afghanistan, no Britain, no France yet they use their own names retrospectively. Thus now I use the term Ancient Pakistan. If we use it everybody will start using it in time.

Edit: I have had long chats with English about this. They insist it is Indian. I tell them the food has chicken, meat etc. Most Indian;s avoid Chicken like we avoid pork so how could it be Indian. I have had to tell them next time they go ask the workers there !

I know, I know your going to say "hey we slop chicken in India". I am not ignorent. I know you have chicken however as a rule Indian's are vegetarians. What your now going to claim Indians are meat eaters ......

You guys .....

Da fuq, only a small minority of South Indians and Gujrati/Rajasthanis are vegetarians. Your knowledge on India is very limited.

I know, I know your going to say "hey we slop chicken in India". I am not ignorent. I know you have chicken however as a rule Indian's are vegetarians. What your now going to claim Indians are meat eaters ......

You guys .....

I know your the biggest chicken eaters in Asia and India being a veg country is false spead by Pakistani Mullahs.

*Vegetarianism is India's curse, it must be ditched - Comment - Voices - The Independent

You are being juvenile. No one said that there are no vegetarians in India, probably the most in the world. However India is not a majority vegetarian country and the sheer size of the numbers involved will offer a common sense conclusion that the number of Indians who are non-vegetarian outnumber the number in Pakistan by a huge figure. I have little interest in selling you some fantasy, a simple fact & reality check won't hurt you.

Da fuq, only a small minority of South Indians and Gujrati/Rajasthanis are vegetarians. Your knowledge on India is very limited.
+

Well fuq Da then,... !

*Vegetarianism is India's curse, it must be ditched - Comment - Voices - The Independent
*Vegetarianism in India | Indian Child

"Each religion has its own rules when it comes to food preparation and eating, which is mostly governed by cultural and religious history. Majority of Indians are vegetarian. The rise of vegetarianism in India goes back to more than 500 BC, when India saw the rise of Buddhism and Jainism. These religions preached the principle of ahimsa or “non-violence.”

"India contains more vegetarians than the rest of the world combined—roughly half a ..... Leave a Reply to 500 Million Vegetarians In India"

*500 Million Vegetarians In India | Vegetarians.co.nz

"Vegetarianism and religion are strongly linked in a number of religions that originated in ancient India (Hinduism, Jainism and Buddhism). In Jainism vegetarianism is mandatory for everyone, in Hinduism and Buddhism it is advocated by some influential scriptures and religion authorities"

Hinduism
Hinduism’s encourages a vegetarian diet, though not all Hindus are vegetarian. Hindus almost universally avoid beef since they consider the cow sacred. Hinduism’s vast scriptures contain thousands of passages recommending vegetarianism based on the profound link between ahimsa (nonviolence) and spirituality. For example, the Yajur Veda says, “You must not use your God-given body for killing God’s creatures, whether they be human, animals, or whatever.” (12.32)

Mahatma Gandhi, however, took Hindu vegetarian observance one step further by declaring, “The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be measured by the way in which its animals are treated.”

Vegetarianism and Religion

If it was light outside and sun shining you mutts would even challange that and say it is night. Majority of the restaurents and almost all the Balti are Pakistan owned and ran but the idiots tag them as Indian. thus my comment which was directed to my countrymen. The whole world knows that there is a connect with Hinduism and vegetarianism not withstanding your claims to the contrary.

Statisticals of Pakistan Poultry Industry 2012-13
Zaraimedia Team July 28th, 2013 Pakistan Poultry

28 July 2013,

Lahore: Statisticals of Pakistan Poultry Industry 2012-13

• Presently turnover of Pakistan Poultry Industry is about 564 billions rupees.

• There are about 25000 Poultry Farms in the country.

• Poultry Industry is one of the most organized branches of the agro based sector of Pakistan. Its growth rate is 10-12% annually.

• At present over 40% of agriculture produce and by-products of Agriculture are being used in poultry feed.

• 40% of the total meat consumption is being procured from poultry products.

• We are producing 9410 million table eggs and 953.600 metric tons chicken meat annually.

• In Pakistan per capita consumption of meat is only 5.5 KG and 55 eggs annually, Whereas developed world is consuming 25-28 KG meat and over 250 eggs per capita per year.

• As per standard of World Health Organization, daily requirement of animal protein for a person is 27 grams whereas our public is consuming 17 grams only. Therefore we are already consuming less animal protein as per required standards.

• No of Hatcheries : 400

• No of Feed Mills : 150

28 July 2013, Lahore: Statisticals of Pakistan Poultry Industry 2012-13 • Presently turnover of Pakistan Poultry Industry is about 564 billions rupees. • There are about 25000 Poultry Farms in the country.

Consumption of chicken set to double by 2014

PUNE/COIMBATORE/KOLKATA: The eating-out phenomenon, with more quick service restaurant chains opening up, is changing the consumption profile of Indians. The current chicken consumption is under 3 kg per head a year and the poultry industry expects the consumption to double in the next five years.

The Rs 40,000-crore domestic poultry industry produces 240 crore birds commercially every year. To cope with the doubling of demand by 2014-15, the industry will need to expand at a rate of 12-15% annually, requiring an investment of Rs 300 per commercial broiler and Rs 450-500 per commercial layer, not including the land cost, says Venkateshwara Hatcheries' deputy general manager PG Pedgaonkar.

pixel.gif

"While consumption is expected to double in the next five years, it may not become 6 kg per head in 2014-15. It may increase to 4.5-5 kg per head, factoring in an increase in our population," Dr Pedgaonkar said. By then, the poultry industry could become a Rs 60,000 crore to Rs 65,000 crore sector. Other players such as the Mumbai-based Godrej.....

Consumption of chicken set to double by 2014 - timesofindia-economictimes

564 billion Pakistani rupees is roughly equivalent to about Rs.3000 crores in Indian rupees. Versus Rs.40000 crores. those are the figures.

Yaa Allahhh. Insaan deewar say baatain kar lay kisi indian say kabhi argue na karay.