'There is no God,' Stephen Hawking writes in final book

Buddhism Rejects the Idea of God (and the idea of self/soul).

What it focuses on is Observing every thought as it arises in your head ( also nowadays known as mindfulness) , every sensation as you feel it so that ultimately you are able to perceive true nature of reality .

Only weird thing in Buddhism is the idea of Rebirth .

Buddhism Rejects the Idea of God (and the idea of self/soul).

What it focuses on is Observing every thought as it arises in your head ( also nowadays known as mindfulness) , every sensation as you feel it so that ultimately you are able to perceive true nature of reality .

Only weird thing in Buddhism is the idea of Rebirth .

Nothing weird. There is history to that.

I find it weird. If there is no soul( Anatman/Annica) than what is reborn ? Each school and sect tries to answer this question differently .

This question has been discussed and theorised about many great monks throughout the centuries and there is a whole body of text and philosophical discussion associated with it.

What is not in question is that Buddha did believe in Rebirth and existence of "other worlds ".

Here's a sutta about it .

The king said: ‘Where there is no transmigration, Nāgasena, can there be rebirth?’
‘Yes, there can.’
‘But how can that be? Give me an illustration.’
‘Suppose a man, O king, were to light a lamp from another lamp, can it be said that the one transmigrates from, or to, the other?’
‘Certainly not.’
‘Just so, great king, is rebirth without transmigration.’
‘Give me a further illustration.’ ‘Do you recollect, great king, having learnt, when you were a boy, some verse or other from your teacher?’
‘Yes, I recollect that.’
‘Well then, did that verse transmigrate from your teacher?’
‘Certainly not.’ ‘Just so, great king, is rebirth without transmigration.’
‘Very good, Nāgasena!’

I find it weird. If there is no soul( Anatman/Annica) than what is reborn ? Each school and sect tries to answer this question differently .

This question has been discussed and theorised about many great monks throughout the centuries and there is a whole body of text and philosophical discussion associated with it.

What is not in question is that Buddha did believe in Rebirth and existence of "other worlds ".

Here's a sutta about it .

As I said it has to do with the history not philosophy.

India entered the golden age of enlightenment around 400 BC.

This is the age when scholars started the creation of Upanishads. Upanishads basically took all the good of Vedas and discarded all practices which were no longer valid with the change in time. One of the key practice that was to be adopted was the concept of vegetarianism and discard the practice of animal sacrifices to please the gods.

But people have been so much tuned to these habits for ages meant that it was extremely difficult to implement these new concepts. Uneducated God fearing people were also worried about the wrath of the gods if they stopped the practice of animal sacrifices. So these new concepts remained limited to the educated classes of Brahmans (bureaucracy) and Vaishyas (businessmen) only.

This is when Buddha and Mahavira came in and basically took the atheistic position that there is no god. Since there is no god, people are no longer obligated to please the gods through animal sacrifices. Even with this position, it was difficult for people to adopt these new concepts. Only around 300 BC when Emperor Ashoka incorporated Buddhism as the religion of the state did Buddhism grow among the masses. Later Ashoka sent emissaries to SriLanka and rest of Asia to propagate these Buddhist principles. It is ironic that Ashoka was able to spread atheist concept of Buddhism but not the vegetarianism which was the primary reason why Buddhism adopted atheism in the first place.

A millennia later Adi Shankara toured across India to debate and convince the scholars that atheistic model of Buddhism has outlived its purpose and it was time to get back to the concept of believing in god. This is when India turned back to Hinduism from Buddhism.

Hinduism/Upanishads believes in the Big bang theory through the concept of Hiraṇyagarbha while Buddhism believes in the steady state universe to avoid the creation of the universe by god.

But Buddhism adopted atheism as means to implement vegetarianism and stopping animal sacrifices. Atheism was never the goal. This is the reason why it still retained the vedic/upanishad concepts of birth, death, rebirth, samsara and moksha/nirvana.

@padamchen @Suriya @ranjeet @pothead @gadkiri @Panzerfaust 3 @Great Brahmin @HariPrasad @pragmatic_dude

a guy who couldn't move his fingers have all the asnwers
Interestingly, he himself doesn't exist anymore. Let the time pass and the coming generations will question if Stephen Hawking's was real or a work of fiction. :lol:

Your question is very stupid you say how computer or iPhone or car had no creature they simply can’t be just existed or created themselves and I agree with you on this point but don’t you see if we reverse the question and say does anyone created your god or he just existed by accedent
Universe hi har aik cheez Allah kai wajood ki gawahi deti hai laikin tum gongai behrai andhai hogayai ho is liye nahi dikhai de rahi Allah ki nishaniyan ..
Apni ankhain kholo bhai is sai pehlai kai der hojai
Universe ki takhleeq is duniya ki takhleeq yeh batati hai keh yeh khud ba khud nahi bani balkeh koi hai jisne isai banaya hai aur isai insano kai rehnai keliye sazgar banaya hai ..
Aur aap kai sawal ka jawab yeh hai

As I said it has to do with the history not philosophy.

India entered the golden age of enlightenment around 400 BC.

This is the age when scholars started the creation of Upanishads. Upanishads basically took all the good of Vedas and discarded all practices which were no longer valid with the change in time. One of the key practice that was to be adopted was the concept of vegetarianism and discard the practice of animal sacrifices to please the gods.

But people have been so much tuned to these habits for ages meant that it was extremely difficult to implement these new concepts. Uneducated God fearing people were also worried about the wrath of the gods if they stopped the practice of animal sacrifices. So these new concepts remained limited to the educated classes of Brahmans (bureaucracy) and Vaishyas (businessmen) only.

This is when Buddha and Mahavira came in and basically took the atheistic position that there is no god. Since there is no god, people are no longer obligated to please the gods through animal sacrifices. Even with this position, it was difficult for people to adopt these new concepts. Only around 300 BC when Emperor Ashoka incorporated Buddhism as the religion of the state did Buddhism grow among the masses. Later Ashoka sent emissaries to SriLanka and rest of Asia to propagate these Buddhist principles. It is ironic that Ashoka was able to spread atheist concept of Buddhism but not the vegetarianism which was the primary reason why Buddhism adopted atheism in the first place.

A millennia later Adi Shankara toured across India to debate and convince the scholars that atheistic model of Buddhism has outlived its purpose and it was time to get back to the concept of believing in god. This is when India turned back to Hinduism from Buddhism.

Hinduism/Upanishads believes in the Big bang theory through the concept of Hiraṇyagarbha while Buddhism believes in the steady state universe to avoid the creation of the universe by god.

But Buddhism adopted atheism as means to implement vegetarianism and stopping animal sacrifices. Atheism was never the goal. This is the reason why it still retained the vedic/upanishad concepts of birth, death, rebirth, samsara and moksha/nirvana.

@padamchen @Suriya @ranjeet @pothead @gadkiri @Panzerfaust 3 @Great Brahmin @HariPrasad @pragmatic_dude

There is so much untruth in this post that I am not even gonna unpack it but here's the core :

1. No , Buddhism did not reject god as means to implement "vegetarianism and stopping animal sacrifices". Most buddhist eat meat ( Including Dalai Lama who is from Vajrayana school and Theravedans partake in meat consumption too. Only some followers of Mahayana school don't eat meat).

2. Buddhist concept of rebirth is completely different from Hinduism ( AnAtman vs Atman) .

There is so much untruth in this post that I am not even gonna unpack it but here's the core :

1. No , Buddhism did not reject god as means to implement "vegetarianism and stopping animal sacrifices". Most buddhist eat meat ( Including Dalai Lama who is from Vajrayana school and Theravedans partake in meat consumption too. Only some followers of Mahayana school don't eat meat).

2. Buddhist concept of rebirth is completely different from Hinduism ( AnAtman vs Atman) .

Ahimsa is the corner stone of reformed Vedic Hinduism (Upanishads), Buddhism & Jainism.

Ahimsa should have translated to vegetarianism but old habits die hard.

It is not the failure of Hinduism, Buddhism or Jainism. Its is the failure of the followers who do not practice those principles.

Even Jesus/Christianity encouraged Vegetarianism but only few like seventh day advent sect follow vegetarianism in Christianity.

Ahimsa is the corner stone of reformed Vedic Hinduism (Upanishads), Buddhism & Jainism.

Ahimsa should have translated to vegetarianism but old habits die hard.

It is not the failure of Hinduism, Buddhism or Jainism. Its is the failure of the followers who do not practice those principles.

Even Jesus/Christianity encouraged Vegetarianism but only few like seventh day advent sect follow vegetarianism in Christianity.

There is as much violence in us eating meat as there is in us eating plants or a lion eating a buffalo.

It is the law of nature.

Nature created by God.

Cheers, Doc

There is as much violence in us eating meat as there is in us eating plants or a lion eating a buffalo.

It is the law of nature.

Nature created by God.

Cheers, Doc

That is the primary reason why Jainism went one step ahead of Hinduism and Buddhism to encourage people to not eat roots like Potatoes, Beets, Taro, Onions etc as that meant killing the plant altogether.

Eating, digesting and excreting of one animal by another is just a conversion of matter and energy in the whole.

It is perfectly natural. One life forming a part of another.

Cheers, Doc

I do believe that there is some supreme being, but, he/she/it/they is not from some organized religion.

To understand existence of ALLAH ...... it needs to a be very disciplined multi pronged study and research. Stephen Hawkins no doubt was a scholar, I don't hold any authority to challenge his intelligence and work, that's beyond my knowledge, skills and ability .... but what I do feel is that he was a specialist, who was looking at one angle of creation and existence. Whereas it has to be multidisciplinary ..... creation started in a very systematic way, before humans, the place and the whole system for humans was put in place .... so to study it one should first understand the creation of humans themselves and do a reverse research, humans, planet, environment, climate, solar system, universe ....... and while studying humans one must also study what form humans may take after their death or is it just getting born, building, inventing, eating, producing and vanishing (that's too little a purpose if you ask me, for such a complex system). The problem with us Muslims is that we don't want to accept that Quran is an invitation to science (even evolution is mentioned not described in detail but mentioned), research and discovery, in our ignorance we mislead the whole world with us, reducing Islam to mere a religion of rituals and practices. You should sometimes hear informed Hindu scholars or other non Muslim scholars who have tried studying Quran and understanding it, their views may surprise you.

Iska matlab yeh nahi hai jo aap bayan kar rahai ho
See this

If there is no Allah than who made humans ?
Agar koi kahai keh insan khud ba khud bangaya hai aur hum uski baat manlain to kiya pairs mai bhi insan khud ba khud bangaya hai .. narr maada .. male female kai pairs bhi khud ba khud bangayai .. inmai nasal barhanai ka nizam bhi khud ba khud aagaya .. itna sab kiya khud ba khud hosakta hai ?
I dont know logon ki aqal kahan chali gayi hai .. aik anda tordo to yeh sab scientist mil kai koshish karke bhi usko chooza nahi banasakte .. aur yeh sab kuch khud ba khud hogaya ..
مینے یہ نہیں کہا کہ خدا نہیں۔۔۔

میں خدا کی موجودگی پر یقین رکھتا ہوں۔۔

میں نے بس اتنا کہا کہ خدا کیسا ہے۔ آپ میرے پوسٹ پڑھ لیں۔