The Encroachment Dilemma & Debacle

Average Pakistani; Mr Prime Minister, We want you to fix Pakistan.

Prime Minister; OK

Average Pakistani;Wait I know that's illegal, but its my pet project leave that alone.

Prime Minister;OK

Average Pakistani; Hey stupid (Prime Minister) Law should be equal for all

Prime Minister;WTF.

Some people are feeling sorry about so called "kachi basti" because they are not aware of the ground realities and tactics used by the qabza mafia. I know it through a personal experience. Our land was grabbed by this mafia and what they did was to make a camp site with 600-700 people overnight and then they took a stay order from the court so it took 3 years and huge amount of money to get our land back and most people told us it is still a short period..people spend decades fighting over such cases.

It works like this the mafia has people who are their captives ...mostly kidnapped kids or poor people; beggars and petty criminals. When the qabza mafia finds an empty piece of land which has not been taken care of, they swarm that place and take it over within a day or a week.. and when the owner of the property find out and asks them to vacate, they use all kinds of dilatory tactics from emotional blackmail ..."sahab hum kahan jain gay" to prays "Allah apka bhala karay" to ill-prays "Allah tumhain bhi yeh din dikhay" and if he seeks help from police and court (which the mafia wants), then they have lawyers and NGOs who support them ..basically patrons of this mafia..so they get a stay order and in most cases, the owner does not have enough money, time and energy to fight against them since our crappy judicial system supports the mafia..
So I'm really happy that these kacchi bastis are being removed.

366166_5858460_updates.jpg

As much as we applaud the PTI government's countrywide anti-encroachment drive, I'm somewhat dismayed by some of the harsh decisions taken by carrying out this exercise.
Knocking down some walls and shops is one thing but demolishing Plazas, Marriage halls, restaurants and other multi storey buildings is certainly open to questions. For the same effort, the authorities could have taken over these businesses and place it's own administration thus preserving the livelihood of hundred and thousands of workers employed on these premises. The income or profits could have either ended up in the treasury or diverted to other projects.

Or the authorities could have made some deal with the occupiers by taking away their ownership and rent out the premises to those willing to remain. Not considering the future of the poor workers employed by these establishments and other consequences, i feel PTI has blundered in going after the encroachments with a single mind track.
Not at all. It sends a very potent message. Do not encroach. Anybody in the future thinking of doing such a thing would think twice. In UK there is no way you could even build a shed on public land let alone grandiose buildings. But that is why roads that were laid 150 years in Victorian times still have the same width and intact pavements. Not one inch has been 'shaved off' or encroached on.

True that but i was thinking since all the man and material has been utilised, why not apprehend some of the structure and utilise it to the maximum benefits.

Average Pakistani;Wait I know that's illegal, but its my pet project leave that alone.

Prime Minister;OK

Prime Minister;OK, Give one lac rupees and get register.

As much as we applaud the PTI government's countrywide anti-encroachment drive, I'm somewhat dismayed by some of the harsh decisions taken by carrying out this exercise.
Knocking down some walls and shops is one thing but demolishing Plazas, Marriage halls, restaurants and other multi storey buildings is certainly open to questions. For the same effort, the authorities could have taken over these businesses and place it's own administration thus preserving the livelihood of hundred and thousands of workers employed on these premises. The income or profits could have either ended up in the treasury or diverted to other projects.

Or the authorities could have made some deal with the occupiers by taking away their ownership and rent out the premises to those willing to remain. Not considering the future of the poor workers employed by these establishments and other consequences, i feel PTI has blundered in going after the encroachments with a single mind track.

Are you serious? Thats inviting more land grabbers to take what ever land they wish.

Bhai..Railway ki ek zameen ha jaha par koi club ha...If they bulldoze that also.....to implement court orders..
I am bit sad watching kachi basti to get destroyed Instead they should be given on lease

There are 2 types of katchi abadis. One is purely for land grab, the land grabbers put in front women and children. And then there is genuine cases of poor in katchi abadis.

True that but i was thinking since all the man and material has been utilised, why not apprehend some of the structure and utilise it to the maximum benefits.
I see your point but the problem is we have to look beyond the life of this government. With our ignorant electorate don't be surprised if Nawaz is sat back in PM House in 2013. Then all his cronies are going to push to get back their possessed properties. Knocking them down erases their dodgy claims. It offers zero possibility of return on the money they invested which is about as potent a message "don't encroach".

Some people are feeling sorry about so called "kachi basti" because they are ignorant to the realities that are used by the qabza mafia. I know it through a personal experience. Our land was grabbed by this mafia and what they did was to make a camp site with 600-700 people overnight and then they took a stay order from the court so it took 3 years and huge amount of money to get our land back and most people told us it is still a short period..people spend decades fighting over such cases.

It works like this the mafia has people who are their captives ...mostly kidnapped kids or poor people; beggars and petty criminals. When the qabza mafia finds an empty piece of land which has not been taken care of, they swarm that place and take it over within a day or a week.. and when the owner of the property find out and asks them to vacate, they use all kinds of dilatory tactics from emotional blackmail ..."sahab hum kahan jain gay" to prays "Allah apka bhala karay" to ill-prays "Allah tumhain bhi yeh din dikhay" and if he seeks help from police and court (which the mafia wants), then they have lawyers and NGOs who support them ..basically patrons of this mafia..so they get a stay order and in most cases, the owner does not have enough money, time and energy to fight against them since our crappy judicial system supports the mafia..
So I'm really happy that these kacchi bastis are being removed.

Exactly, in many cases these katchi abadis are nothing more then cover up for land grab.

That sets a wrong precedence. All illegal construction must be demolished and land returned to rightful owner. Even a mosque can't be built on illegal land.

Yes obviously it's not PTI workers doing this hence the SC could have considered other options.

A 0 tolerance policy should be adopted on illegal construction and land occupation

So you mean an NRO with land grabbers. Wow. I don’t believe we are discussing this thing.

Matlb ggareeb ki shop ya dewaar giry to teak hy, pr ameer kay plaazy q giraany ulta usky saath partnership karo. Wahh... abi aisa keh rahy hy, agar government aisa karti phir kehty initiative “accross the board” nahe hy. PAKISTANI IS A HELL OF A CONFUSED NATION.

5 lakh logon keh liye 22 caror ko zaleel nai kia jaa sakta! good move by govt!

ab gov parchoon ki dukan general store lagay gi ? demolish them so no one will invest next time .

So you mean an NRO with land grabbers. Wow. I don’t believe we are discussing this thing.

Matlb ggareeb ki shop ya dewaar giry to teak hy, pr ameer kay plaazy q giraany ulta usky saath partnership karo. Wahh... abi aisa keh rahy hy, agar government aisa karti phir kehty initiative “accross the board” nahe hy. PAKISTANI IS A HELL OF A CONFUSED NATION.
Did you even understand what i said, let me make it easy for you.....The land grabbers and other corrupt officials will never go hungry, they would have their fingers in so many cookie jars, what about the poor waiters working in the restaurants or marriage halls or the security guards or others doing menial jobs to earn a few pennies, what options do they have.
Here in UK, if you don't pay your mortgage or loan or fines, the authorities will arrest your bank account and confiscate your house, car, tv or any other valuables, auction them and recover the money.
Similarly the Pakistani authorities could have confiscated some potential businesses and sold them to a third party while retaining the ownership of the land and property.
ARE YOU STILL CONFUSED.