Tendulkar is no god. Kapil Dev is bang on

Tendular was a run machine but a selfish one. He did not win matches for India. Look at DeVilliers, Ponting, Waugh brothers, Sangakarra. These batsmen are lesser achievers in terms of runs but look at the impact they had for their teams. We cant say this about Tendulkar.
why don't you take a look at the statistics and then talk ?

Tendulkar is an Indian god at best. Rest of the world doesn't believe in Human gods.

What good was he when he had a golden duck handed to him by Shoaib Akhtar?

And about Kapil Dev, that man is old, a bygone era. His comments are irrelevant in today's cricket world.
You do understand when people call a player a 'God' they use it as a metaphor, do you ? Or you're actually dumb enough to take that literally ?

Kapil Dev & Virender Sehwag came from Punjab/Haryana/jatt/kshathriya background hence they displayed their natural aggressive characteristics in their carrers while Sunil Gavaskar & Sachin Tendulkar came Marathi/Brahmin background hence showed their natural characteristics of their mind controlling their aggression to play the copy book cricket.

You would notice how aggressive Gavaskar & Sachin could have been if their minds did not check their aggression. And that's what Kapil is alluding to that.

Seriously lol.. one of the weirdest analogies ever. Wonder why they used to call Sachin the 'Master Blaster' ?

All i am saying is, Indians think that whatever they claim is true around the world. It isn't.

Cricket is a sport played not just in India, but many other countries and they've never made such big deals and claims.

Right now i am celebrating Pakistan's Test win over England and South Africa raping India in Mumbai.

But cricket is not religion, and hence, Sachin is god of nothing.....

okay bhai sachin god nahin cricket religion nhi hai aur bolo why so serious and argue out of nothing.You were living in past by coming with shoaib akhtar and now you are talking about pakistan.I never celebrate defeat of pakistan until it is not by India as we don't even care.Yet I am not surprise by your interest in India SA match

You do understand when people call a player a 'God' they use it as a metaphor, do you ? Or you're actually dumb enough to take that literally ?

I think a lot of Indians take it literally.......because of the fervor with which they keep mentioning it or being pissed off when someone challenges their ill-informed notion.
But good point. They must all be truly dumb.

Afaik the "God" term was used by some one from west, not an Indian, The media used it as a tool to project his importance in the team...... You are entitled to have your own views.... Have no issues with that.....

...but i only hear Indians say that repeatedly, even in their commentary on TV (many times i have heard Ravi Shastri use that) and as well as online/print Indian media......

I think a lot of Indians take it literally.......because of the fervor with which they keep mentioning it or being pissed off when someone challenges their ill-informed notion.
But good point. They must all be truly dumb.

...but i only hear Indians say that repeatedly, even in their commentary on TV (many times i have heard Ravi Shastri use that) and as well as online/print Indian media......
If you think they take it literally, then you are just one of them!

Tendular was a run machine but a selfish one. He did not win matches for India. Look at DeVilliers, Ponting, Waugh brothers, Sangakarra. These batsmen are lesser achievers in terms of runs but look at the impact they had for their teams. We cant say this about Tendulkar.
In his time, Sachin did his job well. Rarely there was another batsman sticking on the other end to assure a win. There was a time when the Indian team won only if Sachin scored. In those times, it was better to leave the team at a respectable score than rushing to the pavillion quickly.

why don't you take a look at the statistics and then talk ?

Thats what Indians have been looking. Tendulkar was a record machine but I m talking about the impact. Sachin was not an impact player. Thats what Kapil is mentioning too.

Take a look at what Kapil Dev gave to India. He changed Indian cricket. He was an impact player. One of the top four all rounders in 70s.

Thats what Indians have been looking. Tendulkar was a record machine but I m talking about the impact. Sachin was not an impact player. Thats what Kapil is mentioning too.

Take a look at what Kapil Dev gave to India. He changed Indian cricket. He was an impact player. One of the top four all rounders in 70s.
I'm specifically talking about the records in which he has been the most important player, contributing to team victory.

Have seen Tendulkar bat all my life, somehow, I reckon that his only aim sometimes was to score a hundred.After achieving it, if at all , there is a room for him to play for the team, he did,yet, there are not many examples to quote here.Somehow I felt, the likes of Ganguly anf Laxman were more of the team players.

When Kapil Dev speaks of the Bombay school of batsmanship, hard to look it in that way, yet, it could be a grudge against the maharashtrian brahmin supremacy and dominance in cricket, fundamentalists as they were, when it came to the correct cricketing technique, being criticized by 'living of the land' rugged and tough punjabi jatt who played his cricket filled more from his heart then his brain.