Temple stampede in Uttar Pradesh kills 63 people

More to do with hunger and free food. This happened because people are tring to get some free food. They need to be better organize to eleminate such incident.

sir

i have not seen ur condolence in whole thread only hunger etc.

RIP to the dead.

The people have died because the huge Gate have fallen and the panic spreads which caused the stampede.

For example if u goes to ur office and a bomb explodes and kills u then one can't say u died because of "going to office" but because of bomb blast. hope u understand the difference. and sorry for weird example.

thanks

:cry::cry:
Stampede for free clothes at Hindu temple in India kills at least 63

A stampede at a Hindu temple in northern India killed at least 63 people today – mostly women and children – as thousands of devotees rushed to receive free clothes and food.

Local officials said another 44 people were injured in the crush at a temple compound in Kunda, a small town 110 miles (177km) southeast of Lucknow, the capital of the poor northern state of Uttar Pradesh.

Thousands of farmers and villagers had gathered at the temple at noon to mark the anniversary of the death of the wife of Kripalu Maharaj, a local religious leader, according to local police.

They appeared to have panicked after the temple’s wooden gate collapsed.

Related Links
India temple stampede leaves 145 dead
Students trampled to death in school stampede
As a handful of police struggled to control the crowd, some were crushed under the gate, while others fell and were trampled under the feet of those trying to flee.

"The children fell first and the women in their attempt to save them fell on them," said Shiv, a witness, who only gave his first name.

"The crowd just trampled on whoever fell on the ground."

By late afternoon police had cleared the compound and started the process of identifying the bodies, police said.

Mahesh Mishra, a senior local police officer, said that at least 37 of the dead were children and 26 were women.

Hundreds of people gathered at a nearby hospital for news of their family members.

“She had just wandered in to see what was happening,” said Gudal, a 38-year-old farmer whose daughter, Ranjana, 7, was killed.

Leelawati, 32, wept as she waited to see the body of her 11-year-old daughter, Lakshmi, who was also killed.

Deadly stampedes are relatively common in India, especially at temples where large crowds often gather in small areas without the necessary facilities or police to control them.

In 2008, more than 145 people died in a stampede at a remote Hindu temple at the foothill of the Himalayas

Stampede for free clothes at Hindu temple in India kills at least 63 - Times Online

Post # 1 does not mention Prasad. It does however mention free clothes & food .

Possibly some philanthropist or orgnisation distributing this - they do this often.

Poor crowd control, wonder if the local police was informed to make bandbast in advance.

It is the duty of Organizers to inform police, take permission and ask for bandobast.

If the organizers didn't do this, Police can file charges against them.

GB

:cry::cry:
Stampede for free clothes at Hindu temple in India kills at least 63

A stampede at a Hindu temple in northern India killed at least 63 people today – mostly women and children – as thousands of devotees rushed to receive free clothes and food.

Local officials said another 44 people were injured in the crush at a temple compound in Kunda, a small town 110 miles (177km) southeast of Lucknow, the capital of the poor northern state of Uttar Pradesh.

Thousands of farmers and villagers had gathered at the temple at noon to mark the anniversary of the death of the wife of Kripalu Maharaj, a local religious leader, according to local police.

They appeared to have panicked after the temple’s wooden gate collapsed.

Related Links
India temple stampede leaves 145 dead
Students trampled to death in school stampede
As a handful of police struggled to control the crowd, some were crushed under the gate, while others fell and were trampled under the feet of those trying to flee.

"The children fell first and the women in their attempt to save them fell on them," said Shiv, a witness, who only gave his first name.

"The crowd just trampled on whoever fell on the ground."

By late afternoon police had cleared the compound and started the process of identifying the bodies, police said.

Mahesh Mishra, a senior local police officer, said that at least 37 of the dead were children and 26 were women.

Hundreds of people gathered at a nearby hospital for news of their family members.

“She had just wandered in to see what was happening,” said Gudal, a 38-year-old farmer whose daughter, Ranjana, 7, was killed.

Leelawati, 32, wept as she waited to see the body of her 11-year-old daughter, Lakshmi, who was also killed.

Deadly stampedes are relatively common in India, especially at temples where large crowds often gather in small areas without the necessary facilities or police to control them.

In 2008, more than 145 people died in a stampede at a remote Hindu temple at the foothill of the Himalayas

Stampede for free clothes at Hindu temple in India kills at least 63 - Times Online

Wrong headline by manipulative Britishers, the people have not rushed or fighting for food and cloths but the huge gate have fallen and caused panic resulting in stampede.

Just for the information, isnt that mostly the prasad people give to the temple is taken by the pundit in most of the cases ??

Partly ture, its mostly depends on who in charge. Some Pandits are greedy and they take a lot of them, I have even heard some of them sell the packed mithai back to seller for cash. To my irony I feel most of the time the person who is suppose to be preaching religion to other, does not follow it one bit.

(Before anyone attacks me, I am a Pandit myself, not the one who sits in temple though, I believe is saying right as right, wrong as wrong without a bias).

Partly ture, its mostly depends on who in charge. Some Pandits are greedy and they take a lot of them, I have even heard some of them sell the packed mithai back to seller for cash. To my irony I feel most of the time the person who is suppose to be preaching religion to other, does not follow it one bit.

(Before anyone attacks me, I am a Pandit myself, not the one who sits in temple though, I believe is saying right as right, wrong as wrong without a bias).

I neither a pundit nor Hindu.

Now correct me if I am wrong.

The prasad is offered to Pundit as in ancient times that is what on which he used to make leaving. (Prasad)

These days there is Dakshina in terms of money.

The local Ganpati that my mohalla has (headed by a muslim leader) a very small amount of prasad is given to pandit.

Rest is distributed to devotees. Same thing happens even in Siddhivinayak which you can see live through TATA Sky.

GB

P.S:- Many temples have notice boards saying that all pundits are salaried and nothing should be offered to them.

There are separate counters to accept donation, prasad etc against which one gets receipt.

sir

i have not seen ur condolence in whole thread only hunger etc.

RIP to the dead.

The people have died because the huge Gate have fallen and the panic spreads which caused the stampede.

For example if u goes to ur office and a bomb explodes and kills u then one can't say u died because of "going to office" but because of bomb blast. hope u understand the difference. and sorry for weird example.

thanks

Sorry about that. Let their soul be in peace however point I was tring to make is that this source of this incident is poverty and it could happen else where in sub continent.

In USA Christian church literally offer free food to attract devotees but not many show up because of food here however the reality of sub continent is that some one offer free stuff and thousands show up. Nothing to do with law and order situation.

Sorry about that. Let their soul be in peace however point I was tring to make is that this source of this incident is poverty and it could happen else where in sub continent.

In USA Christian church literally offer free food to attract devotees but not many show up because of food here however the reality of sub continent is that some one offer free stuff and thousands show up. Nothing to do with low and order situation.

It was the gate that collapsed and panic started.

You will see hundreds of poor people seating patiently outside of temples and Dargha's across India in wait for food. Such incidents don't occur. This happened because of the gate collapse.

GB

In this

I neither a pundit nor Hindu.

Now correct me if I am wrong.

The prasad is offered to Pundit as in ancient times that is what on which he used to make leaving. (Prasad)

These days there is Dakshina in terms of money.

The local Ganpati that my mohalla has (headed by a muslim leader) a very small amount of prasad is given to pandit.

Rest is distributed to devotees. Same thing happens even in Siddhivinayak which you can see live through TATA Sky.

GB

P.S:- Many temples have notice boards saying that all pundits are salaried and nothing should be offered to them.

There are separate counters to accept donation, prasad etc against which one gets receipt.

My POV does not contradits yours, my response was to Jana's question and I agree that happens at times.

People like you and Ejaz are Jewel of India, I am proud of both of you, I know a lot of places in India we have Hindu Muslim harmony (love to see it expand * 100).

Ohh bhai dont embarrass me by calling jewel of India.

The Hindu muslim harmony do exist a big time.

I know many hindus who are hafiz and many muslims who are masters in Sanskrit. Many hindus even go to madrassa for their education.

GB

very sad news by the way i love prasad specially that karha prasad at Gurudwara and Besan ke ladoo at Hanuman Mandir.

It was the gate that collapsed and panic started.

True but
Did the gate collapsed by it self or massive rush to get to the free food was the reason behind it which reestablished my theory that poverty is the main source of this incident.

Let some guy offer free food in Suburb of mumbai and you will find out almost no one show up except some street beggers.

True but
Did the gate collapsed by it self or massive rush to get to the free food was the reason behind it which reestablished my theory that poverty is the main source of this incident.

Let some guy offer free food in Suburb of mumbai and you will find out almost no one show up except some street beggers.

They offer free food outside mahim dargah everyday. There is a heavy and fast traffic on a very narrow mahim causeway and yet no incident coz everything is disciplined. The recipients of the food seat quietly and calmly with patience which probably would have been the case here as well.

I don't know why gate collapsed. We have to wait till police investigation report comes out.

GB

P.S: - Stampedes do occur in Mecca and Medina too. Every now and then. Discipline is more to do than anything else in such cases is my point here.

What the hell hindu muslim so called harmony get to do with this thread?

Lets not divert this thread.

UP: Criminal case against ashram after stampede: Rediff.com India News

A day after 63 women and children were killed in a stampede in an ashram, a criminal case has been registered against its management for allegedly causing death due to negligence.

"A case has been registered under Section 304 (A) (causing death by negligence) against Kripaluji Parishad, under the banner of which yesterday's (Thursday) function was organised," Pratapgarh Superintendent of Police Mahesh Kumar Mishra said on Friday.

He said there was no further rise in the toll and all the deceased had been identified and their bodies handed over to family members after postmortem.

The stampede had taken place at the ashram of Kripaluji Maharaj in Mangarh village, about 60 km from Pratapgarh, where a feast had been organised for poor villagers in the memory of the Maharaj's late wife.

Free meals were to be distributed at the ashram and every visitor was to receive a gift of a stainless steel plate, Rs 10 in cash, a 'laddoo' and a handkerchief.

The stampede has also left more than 100 injured, 40 of them seriously.

Those seriously injured were admitted to the SRN hospital in Allahabad. Doctors said their condition continues to be critical.

Meanwhile, a heavy deployment of police continued to be in place around the sprawling ashram "as a precautionary measure", police sources said.

The Uttar Pradesh [ Images ] government has ordered an inquiry into the stampede and asked the divisional commissioner of Allahabad to submit his report.

No compensation has so far been announced for the victims by the state government even as the ashram has announced a solatium of Rs 50,000 to each of the families of those who have lost their lives and Rs 10,000 to every injured person.

The state government had blamed the ashram's management for the tragedy on Thursday, saying the local administration was never informed about the holding of such a huge function.

However, local Member of Legislative Assembly Raghuraj Pratap Singh alias Raja Bhaiya, who had visited the site of the incident on Thursday, rubbished the claim saying "everybody in Pratapgarh is aware that a gathering of this magnitude takes place here on this day".

The matter was also raised in the Lok Sabha on Thursday, where Samajwadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav [ Images ], whose party is in the opposition in the state, demanded that the Centre should seek a report from the Uttar Pradesh government in connection with this tragedy and make a statement in the House.

Congress Member of Parliament from Pratapgarh, Rajkumari Ratna Singh, also demanded that a compensation of Rs 5 lakh be given to the next of the kin of the deceased.

GB