Taliban Attempt to Kill Right-Wing TV Anchor and Politician in Pakistan

RiazHaq

Qazi Husain Ahmed, a leading Islamist politician, and Hamid Mir, a GeoTV anchor and champion of right-wing causes, have recently been targeted by the Tehrik-e-Taliban Pakistan (TTP) assassins.

Fortunately, both men escaped unhurt. The TTP spokesman Ehsanullah Ehsan has claimed responsibility for the suicide attack on Qazi Husain and for planting a bomb under Mir's car.

In spite of TTP's claim of responsibility, JI's former chief Qazi Husain Ahmed has blamed the US for the suicide bombing attempt by a female bomber in Mohmand Agency in FATA, the Federally Administered Tribal Area of Pakistan .

Pakistan's newspaper The News reported that Qazi was targeted by the TTP "because of his April 2012 interview wherein he had described the Afghan Taliban’s resistance against the US-led Coalition Forces in Afghanistan as 'true jehad' and that of the Pakistani Taliban in Pakistan as 'un-Islamic' ".

In a video released earlier by the TTP, its chief Hakimullah Mehsud criticized Qazi Husain Ahmed for making alliances with Shia leaders. And then he said to Qazi Husain Ahmed: “There was a time when educated people, students, ulema and others used to respect you a lot. But I can no longer trust you, Qazi sahib. Why are you calling our battle “fasaad” instead of jehad?”

Accepting responsibility for assassination attempt on Hamid Mir, the TTP spokesman Ehsan told AFP: “Life and death is in the hands of Allah. Allah saved his life but we will make a similar attempt again". Ehsan further said that “Hamid Mir earlier shot into prominence for working in the interest of Islam and Muslims. We targeted him because now he is working against Islam and Muslims."

These latest assassination attempts are a clear indication of the fact that the Taliban have now turned into Frankenstein monsters bent upon destroying the very people who have created or fostered them for decades.

While Qazi Husain publicly insists on blaming the Americans, he and other Islamists must be very worried in private because these latest episodes point to a deep divide within their ranks. Both moderates and radicals among Islamists share a fairly common base of support. But a growing chasm among them has manifested itself across the Islamic world for sometime with the radical salfis challenging the more moderate and pragmatic Islamists in Egypt, Gaza, Libya, Tunisia, Pakistan and elsewhere.

As the Islamists in Pakistan face this deepening crisis in their ranks and feel threatened by the extremists, there is a window of opportunity for mainstream politicians to forge a new national consensus with the moderate Islamists to deal with the militant Taliban threat. What is needed is a two-pronged strategy combining peaceful persuasion and judicious use of force as follows:

1. A broad-based national campaign to educate the people about the serious threat posed by the Taliban militants and various sectarian outfits which are ripping the nation apart. Such a campaign requires broad support by the national media as well as all the political parties which believe in Pakistan's constitution, democratic institutions and political process.

2. Use national consensus to back selective use of military force in FATA and elsewhere to quell militants who refuse to lay down their weapons.

Haq's Musings: Pak Taliban Target Right-Wing Media & Politicians

Here's a video discussion of the subject which I recently participated in:

i dont understand. Suicide attacks have been successfully done by TTP in the past then why they just plant a bomb in the Mir's car, why not a Suicide attack this time as it has 100% killing assurance. Mir itna TTP k against nahi bolta jitna Military Establishment k against bolta hai.

Why don't you ask Ehshanullah Ehshan??? He will tell u better...

Mir has always been a drama baaz. He and Shahid Masood can do ANYTHING for fame. Why would TTP even think of harming them when their agenda is same; damage Pakistan, create chaos, discourage investment and spread dis-information

These all r fake attempts, never created to harm targets but to misled the public opinion,& to show that they r innocent?
Any way this is a good example how really good controle CIA is hving on pakistan,s internal situation hope someone knows TTp is a sponsored outfit?

These all r fake attempts, never created to harm targets but to misled the public opinion,& to show that they r innocent?
Any way this is a good example how really good controle CIA is hving on pakistan,s internal situation hope someone knows TTp is a sponsored outfit?

Dear AdeelFaheem,

The truth is that terrorist organizations like the TTP pose as much of a threat to the U.S. as they do to Pakistan. This is what the Taliban spokesman, Ahsanullah Ahsan, said after the attack on the U.S. convoy in Peshawar last year: "The diplomatic staff of all Nato countries are our targets. We will continue such attacks. Pakistan is our first target, and America is our second." Our nations are at war with these terrorists. And these terrorists are fully focused on infiltrating the region with terrorism. Our failure to see the truth shifts the advantage in their favor, and weakens our position. Our governments realize the importance of working together to combat these terrorists. And that’s why both of our nations are working hard to create a good working relationship. We must hold these obvious culprits responsible for their actions and support our governments in their mission to bring peace and stability to the region.

LTC Taylor,
DET, United States Central Command
U.S. Central Command

Dear AdeelFaheem,

The truth is that terrorist organizations like the TTP pose as much of a threat to the U.S. as they do to Pakistan. This is what the Taliban spokesman, Ahsanullah Ahsan, said after the attack on the U.S. convoy in Peshawar last year: "The diplomatic staff of all Nato countries are our targets. We will continue such attacks. Pakistan is our first target, and America is our second." Our nations are at war with these terrorists. And these terrorists are fully focused on infiltrating the region with terrorism. Our failure to see the truth shifts the advantage in their favor, and weakens our position. Our governments realize the importance of working together to combat these terrorists. And that’s why both of our nations are working hard to create a good working relationship. We must hold these obvious culprits responsible for their actions and support our governments in their mission to bring peace and stability to the region.

LTC Taylor,
U.S. Central Command

good to see this , great & real will of yours to fight terror, can you plz take down mullaha fazl-ullaha who is a wanted criminal & a commander of TTp, living in afghanistan,s kunnar province!
plz take him alive if you can & plz hand him over to PAKARMY, to show your great friendship towards pakistan!
yes we are commited to kill terror in all forms all over the world!

Dear AdeelFaheem,

LTC Taylor,
U.S. Central Command

Will you like to tell us something about this TV show? :D

Last Resort (U.S. TV series) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Dear AdeelFaheem,

LTC Taylor,
U.S. Central Command

when will you target fazlullah?

good to see this , great & real will of yours to fight terror, can you plz take down mullaha fazl-ullaha who is a wanted criminal & a commander of TTp, living in afghanistan,s kunnar province!
plz take him alive if you can & plz hand him over to PAKARMY, to show your great friendship towards pakistan!
yes we are commited to kill terror in all forms all over the world!

Dear batmannow,

Our leadership continues to address our shared concerns. We are aware of the fact that our common enemies are present on both sides of the border and that’s the reason we regularly emphasize the importance of shared cooperation between the regional partners. We’ve been able to capture some of the top Taliban leaders through mutual cooperation. You can rest assured that those who are working against our efforts to restore peace in the region will be targeted. We are committed to bringing peace and stability to the region and will not let terrorists succeed with their evil mission.

LTC Taylor,
U.S. Central Command