So much for your team selection Kaptaan Sahib

Agreed but will he fail?
Not really first two years of weaning away from an import lead growth will be painful but we will see improvements after that
The deficit is already going down

Not really first two years of weaning away from an import lead growth will be painful but we will see improvements after that
The deficit is already going down
Bingo right on target. No one of so called economic experts will take the name of the trade defficit. PTI is the biggest economic success of all govt because when you attack imports it obvious that your economy will get slow. This is a painfull tranisition but it will bring us benefits and PTI doing it with such contained draw backs is something one must credit them for. Every one is crying because PTI is reducing Pakistan's dependency on imports. Yes 2019 will be tough and PTI showed the political will to take the decision harming their own reputation but they will succeed Inshallah.

This is not the first time PTI has been attacked for economic damage did by policies of Govt before it but PTI has more than ample time to make this transition. It took great amount of political balls to move in this direction because if this stunt failed PTI was placing it's entire political future on stake and for Pakistan becoming a production hub this was needed. I hope PTI survives this move because after this all the future is bright.

For Pakistan, failure now is not an option. If PMIK cannot do this, then no one can. An economic collapse will be ugly indeed.
With these bastards roaming freely there is no option other then failure.

Bingo right on target. No one of so called economic experts will take the name of the trade defficit. PTI is the biggest economic success of all govt because when you attack imports it obvious that your economy will get slow. This is a painfull tranisition but it will bring us benefits and PTI doing it with such contained draw backs is something one must credit them for. Every one is crying because PTI is reducing Pakistan's dependency on imports. Yes 2019 will be tough and PTI showed the political will to take the decision harming their own reputation but they will succeed Inshallah.

This is not the first time PTI has been attacked for economic damage did by policies of Govt before it but PTI has more than ample time to make this transition. It took great amount of political balls to move in this direction because if this stunt failed PTI was placing it's entire political future on stake and for Pakistan becoming a production hub this was needed. I hope PTI survives this move because after this all the future is bright.

PTI government has people with import businesses who are crying as well (hence internal blackmailing) but what you and @Zibago have said, majority can't seem to understand. There are no easy solutions.

We are addicted to imports and this weening off will be painful, just like coming off a drug addiction.

PTI government has people with import businesses who are crying as well (hence internal blackmailing) but what you and @Zibago have said, majority can't seem to understand. There are no easy solutions.

We are addicted to imports and this weening off will be painful, just like coming off a drug addiction.

It is a very simple thing. How long can we continue this import based economy? At some point in time we have to stop and shift. I don't want my children to face this hard time of transition it better be me then them. Our energy sector is growing massively with coal and hydro and nuclear plants coming online every day and now is the time to make the industrial transition as well. Let face a year of hardship and lets get over this shit show once and for all. We as a nation once faced hardships for getting a nuclear bomb and to get better economically we can do it once more.

It is amazing to see that in our country, Pakistanis worship their politicians to the point where they are blinded! That people defend the PKR to USD ratio and someone even suggested that the economy was doing better than it was during 2018!

With imports close to USD 60 Billion and exports near USD 25 Billion, a weaker USD is in out strongest interest as opposed to a weaker PKR which could only be good when the situation is reversed. But I guess it is very hard to understand back economics for those blinded by politics. With people suggesting that PML is at fault for leaving the kitty dry and massive loans, they very conviniently forget that PML was left in an even tougher spot by the previous PPP Government and yet PML came out doing wonders.

Not just that, supposedly the PML Government was managing the USD at 100-104, was subsidizing oil, electricity, food, medicine etc., while developing the country, especially Punjab and fighting a WoT (Military Action against Militancy) and a war imposed by PTI (dharna for many months whereby PTI effectively managed to cancel the visits by Turkish, Chinese, Russian and other Heads of States to Pakistan and roadblocks on all attempts at reforms) and PML did this all while engaging in epic levels of corruption!!!

With the height of incompetence and nepotism in IK's team (or rather band of misfits), I used to think that the establishment must have a plan since they ensured IK's 'victory' and would not let him fail, I was hoping for Musharraf's era's prosperity and development...........man, am I disappointed!!!!

It is amazing to see that in our country, Pakistanis worship their politicians to the point where they are blinded! That people defend the PKR to USD ratio and someone even suggested that the economy was doing better than it was during 2018!

With imports close to USD 60 Billion and exports near USD 25 Billion, a weaker USD is in out strongest interest as opposed to a weaker PKR which could only be good when the situation is reversed. But I guess it is very hard to understand back economics for those blinded by politics. With people suggesting that PML is at fault for leaving the kitty dry and massive loans, they very conviniently forget that PML was left in an even tougher spot by the previous PPP Government and yet PML came out doing wonders.

Not just that, supposedly the PML Government was managing the USD at 100-104, was subsidizing oil, electricity, food, medicine etc., while developing the country, especially Punjab and fighting a WoT (Military Action against Militancy) and a war imposed by PTI (dharna for many months whereby PTI effectively managed to cancel the visits by Turkish, Chinese, Russian and other Heads of States to Pakistan and roadblocks on all attempts at reforms) and PML did this all while engaging in epic levels of corruption!!!

With the height of incompetence and nepotism in IK's team (or rather band of misfits), I used to think that the establishment must have a plan since they ensured IK's 'victory' and would not let him fail, I was hoping for Musharraf's era's prosperity and development...........man, am I disappointed!!!!

Countries who peg their currencies have surplus $ to withstand economic shocks, like Malaysia did during the Asian crisis of 1997.

Borrowing $ (with interest) to peg the currency is simply suicide and add to that killing of agriculture and industry by allowing free flow of imports!

Plus loot in rupees, convert to $ at pegged (lower) rate = more $ looted and wire/fly/sail it out to safe havens! Perfect model for money laundering of borrowed $ (that Pakistanis have to pay back!!).

The so-called experienced teams of PPP and PMLN brought us here. Now suffer the consequences of electing these looters who made policies to line up their pockets!

We all put the blame on the previous governments. However we do not consider the role played by the caretaker government that came in between. Their only constitutional role was to hold elections.

Has any government ever checked where and why they crossed their constitutional role.

Countries who peg their currencies have surplus $ to withstand economic shocks, like Malaysia did during the Asian crisis of 1997.

Borrowing $ (with interest) to peg the currency is simply suicide and add to that killing of agriculture and industry by allowing free flow of imports!

Plus loot in rupees, convert to $ at pegged (lower) rate = more $ looted and wire/fly/sail it out to safe havens! Perfect model for money laundering of borrowed $ (that Pakistanis have to pay back!!).

The so-called experienced teams of PPP and PMLN brought us here. Now suffer the consequences of electing these looters who made policies to line up their pockets!

Oh my naive countryman, still believing that 'we' elect the 'selected'.

I think Imran Khan is one of the few honest gems Pakistan has. However, he lacks majority to do anything. He is under blackmail from coalition partners that literally won a handful of seats. Some of these partners are demanding new ministries.

PML-N and PPP made sure that they corrupted an already useless judicial system. You can expect politicians to get bail and clean slate soon. NAB will initially get crooks into jail and then will secretly bail them out by "forgetting" to bring evidence at the lower courts. Bureaucracy is filled with people who are used to earning haraam - collecting money without working. Tell me, how is Imran Khan supposed to make "Naya Pakistan"?

I think this should be an eye-opener for everyone. Secular laws, British parliamentary system, and western democracy will NOT work in Pakistan. I think now is the time to start pushing for pure Islamic-based government, not a pseudo-Islamic government which we have had for decades.

If you had Islamic courts, people would have been hung pretty quickly. Instead you have judges who are politically-affiliated, probably PML-N supporters, taking their sweet time to pass judgement.

Eight months into the PTI government and the economic situation is faltering. To be fair, they inherited that economy, which was in more sh!t than an Indian beach. But but but people have short memories. You can't expect people belonging to a country with a dismal literacy rate to understand the dynamics of the current account deficit and the steps needed to improve your fiscal situation.

Imran Khan chose Asad Umer to be his finance minister. Asad Umer knew in 2016 what we were heading towards. Asad Umer knew years in advance that he would be the finance minister if PTI comes into power. Asad Umer must have crunched the numbers and should have known how much would we need to plug the gap. Asad Umer initially refused to go the IMF, in the name of the saving people from the very same tough measures he was later forced to take. The economy went sluggish without a bailout.

He is going for that bail out now. Those first seven months have been an absolute waste. Running a financial institution means timing is absolutely crucial and there was failure to realise that. Asad Umer so far clearly seems out of his debt. The recovery that should have shown signs of happening by the end of this year is nowhere in sight. We might see more devaluation and in real terms a recession next year.
~

Punjab is critical for PTI. With the current state of the economy and replacing someone like SS, you needed a person who has the Dil jigra to introduce much needed reforms in Punjab. Those reforms would be in the Police , Health and Education sector. The KPK success showed that people seeing change in the thana culture of Police or their local health centers would give you a chance on the economy. But IK chooses Usman Buzdar. IK chose Usman Buzdar because he came to him and demanded a hospital. That was his only qualification. That 30 minute talk with him was enough for IK to decide to delegate the hopes of a 100 million to this man. Well this man as expected has been a spectacular failure. No sign of any major reforms in health, education or police.

~

PTI had absolute majority in the KPK assembly. 5 years of experience and a solid foundation to build around its success from 2013-2018. But IK buckling under pressure from Pencil Khattack chooses another nobody and least qualified to be CM, Mehmood Khan. Rather than build on the major reforms, the new CM has become the face of the BRT disaster.

~

IK has done well in his personal capacity especially on the foreign policy front. He was really good during the skirmish with India. We might not know living in the defence.pk bubble but his success or downfall will depend on his performance on the domestic front. That means people in these three critical positions performing.

This hasn't happened and if the whole IK experiment doesn't work, it would all come down to his poor team selection.
I believe Asad Umar more capable and sharp he is genius.
Punjab is running by different personalities, Tareen, Shahbaz Gill, Governor, Choudhries, Aleem Khan ( Group ) and “‘Buzdar “
But What I more believe the key decision making on important issue doing by IK himself and I doubt advises by spiritual partner also involved in key issues ( mano ya na mano )
Its not fault of Asad problems are somewhere else.

I think Imran Khan is one of the few honest gems Pakistan has. However, he lacks majority to do anything. He is under blackmail from coalition partners that literally won a handful of seats. Some of these partners are demanding new ministries.

PML-N and PPP made sure that they corrupted an already useless judicial system. You can expect politicians to get bail and clean slate soon. NAB will initially get crooks into jail and then will secretly bail them out by "forgetting" to bring evidence at the lower courts. Bureaucracy is filled with people who are used to earning haraam - collecting money without working. Tell me, how is Imran Khan supposed to make "Naya Pakistan"?

I think this should be an eye-opener for everyone. Secular laws, British parliamentary system, and western democracy will NOT work in Pakistan. I think now is the time to start pushing for pure Islamic-based government, not a pseudo-Islamic government which we have had for decades.

If you had Islamic courts, people would have been hung pretty quickly. Instead you have judges who are politically-affiliated, probably PML-N supporters, taking their sweet time to pass judgement.

It is not for those who are living abroad in secular societies to advocate Islamic courts for Pakistan without moving back themselves. Let the Pakistanis decide what they want for their future, and let them have it, whatever they decide.