Saraswati river sprouts to life after 4,000 years in Haryana

It either didn't exist at all, or was somewhere else for it was said to be as mighty as Indus. Do you think that laughable, seasonal "naala" like Ghaggar Hakra is as mighty as Indus? Gimme a break.

Yeh ek aur mahan insaan hai........ek aur naya logic....bhai ab saraswati bhi pakistani river hai kya?

Both the rivers are in Afghanistan, idiot.

how can Sarasvati be revived in Haryana, what about its glacier, from which it originated, knowing that its course has been destroyed....

This rain fed nala (calling it river will be insult to rivers) never originated from mouintains. There has been scientific study done on this nala few years ago.

Congrats!!! Now please spare Indus Valley and stick to your Sarswati Valley --- Change your country's name to Sarvia

Recently published on-line in Geology is a paper which might not appear on the surface to be very archaeobotanical, but which is important for thinking about the past agriculture of the Indus valley. This is by Clift et al (2012) on "U-Pb zircon dating evidnece for a Pleistocene Sarasvati River and capture of the Yamuna River".

This paper provides sources for the headwater sediments in the various rivers of the Indus system based on zircon finger-printed (geological source dating in the 1000s of millions of years). These dated source profiles in turn are stratified in the Pleistocene and Holocene river sequences which have been dated by OSL. These river systems include the now extinct Ghaggar-Hakra river, often equated with the 'lost Saraswati" of Indian epic.

The paper shows that while the Ghaggar-Hakra used to be much larger in the Pleistocene, drawing on the headwaters that now feed the Yamuna, tha Yamuna had begun to flow east into the Ganges before the End of the Pleistocene, and therefore well before the start of Harappan urban societies. :rofl: (but Indian civilization is millions of years old so who knows right?) Throughout the Holocene, including the Harappan period this river was fed only by seasonal monsoon rain in the east. This rain-fed Ghaggar-Hakra was active until after 4.5 ka and was then covered by dunes before 1.4 ka. What this means is that the Ghaggar-Hakra, unlike any of the major Indus tributaries, was not fed by snow melt, which begins in Spring and may be unpredictable, but was entirely reliant on swelling its banks from the summer monsoon.

This means it would have been an ideal river for winter crop agriculture, along the lines of the Nile flood regime which is keyed to the Blue Nile's monsoon source, with sowing of wheat and barley in Oct.-Nov. as the monsoon flood began to recede to leave behind a rich floodplain. These could then be left to mature until harvests in March or April, without fear of early snowmelt floods ruining crops. It really should come as no surprise then that so many Harappan Bronze Age sites concentrated in this valley.

Nevertheless as monsoons gradually weakened (already underway during the Harappan period) with the flood water source retreating eastwards, and the Thar desert expanding, the valley became gradually drier and eventually choked with desert sands. This, however happened in Iron Age or post-Iorn Age times, so thus there is no basis for correlating any catastrophic shift in the Ghaggar-Hakra with the end of the Harappan civilization-- a notion which has often appealed to archaeologists.
[edited for typos 9.2.2102 DF]

It either didn't exist at all, or was somewhere else for it was said to be as might as Indus. Do you think that laughable, seasonal "naala" like Ghaggar Hakra is as mighty as Indus? Gimme a break.
Well we can consider Ghaggar Hakra as a reminiscent of mighty Saraswati which dried up 4000 years ago. Satellite images in possession of ISRO and ONGC have confirmed that the major course of a river ran through the present day Ghaggar Hakra river.

upload_2015-5-9_21-9-31.png

The dotted lines represents the dried up part of Saraswati.

sarasvati-map-crop.jpg

hmmmmm......India can't hold water of this river in haryana:tongue:

Yes thats true...

Yeh ek aur mahan insaan hai........ek aur naya logic....bhai ab saraswati bhi pakistani river hai kya?

Real historians believe Saraswati river mentioned in Rig Veda is one of first rivers aryans found along the way, so Afghanistan or even somewhere in central asia make sense before they entered Pakistan.

Well we can consider Ghaggar Hakra as a reminiscent of mighty Saraswati which dried up 4000 years ago. Satellite images in possession of ISRO and ONGC have confirmed that the major course of a river ran through the present day Ghaggar Hakra river.

View attachment 219858

Bhai Ghaggar nala was not even part of indus basin system.

"Throughout the Holocene, including the Harappan period this river was fed only by seasonal monsoon rain in the east. This rain-fed Ghaggar-Hakra was active until after 4.5 ka and was then covered by dunes before 1.4 ka. What this means is that the Ghaggar-Hakra, unlike any of the major Indus tributaries, was not fed by snow melt, which begins in Spring and may be unpredictable, but was entirely reliant on swelling its banks from the summer monsoon."

It either didn't exist at all, or was somewhere else for it was said to be as mighty as Indus. Do you think that laughable, seasonal "naala" like Ghaggar Hakra is as mighty as Indus? Gimme a break.

Both the rivers are in Afghanistan, idiot.

lol naala is right word for ghaghar.

Pity on you Converted Pakistanis.. You cleansed your own history and start believing in Arab History... As an Indian I know history of Sindh, Taxila and may other place whihc is now Pakistan.. But once were Hindu-sthan...

I don't get why you have a pain in arse? Okay we cleansed the history, what about you?

Real historians now believe Saraswati river mentioned in Rig Veda is one of first rivers aryans found along the way, so Afghanistan or even somewhere in central asia make sense before they entered Pakistan.

Bhai Ghaggar nala was not even part of indus basin system.

"Throughout the Holocene, including the Harappan period this river was fed only by seasonal monsoon rain in the east. This rain-fed Ghaggar-Hakra was active until after 4.5 ka and was then covered by dunes before 1.4 ka. What this means is that the Ghaggar-Hakra, unlike any of the major Indus tributaries, was not fed by snow melt, which begins in Spring and may be unpredictable, but was entirely reliant on swelling its banks from the summer monsoon."

lol naala is right word for ghaghar.

Bhai - Agar Indians ko on ka river mil gaya hai tu tum ko kia masla, at-least now they will stop stealing history of the region which doesn't belongs to them.

They can be proud of Saraswati nala civilization, but they will drag indus with it.

Also Saraswati is mentioned as mighty river, and we all know nothing come close to indus river in south Asia or central asia.. So must likely saraswati is one of the first rivers they saw along the way when they moved out of steppe.

They can be proud of Saraswati nala civilization, but they will drag indus with it.

Also Saraswati is mentioned as mighty river, and we all know nothing come close to indus river in south Asia or central asia.. So must likely saraswati is one of the first rivers they saw along the way when they moved out of steppe.

They will dig few more pits and the river will become mighty, they already found much older civilization in haryana, so i don't think there is now any need for them to steal history of Indus valley. Only remaining thing is that they have to find evidences that rigveda was written in haryana and that's not big deal. But anyway former Punjabies will still be superior than rest of India.

View attachment 219858

Do you have any source to back up your claims? I need proper geological studies, not some crappy Indian science. By all studies, Ghaggar Hakra has been a seasonal naala since the past 11000 years. And are these two naalas(Ghaggar and Hakra) even connected to form a proper river?

And man, I thought muslim extremists were irrational and illogical, but then I saw these hindutva nutjobs. Some person here even declared 40% of IVC sites to be located around the Gaghar Hakra naala. The so called Saraswati was said to be as might as Indus, yet even the open sewer of Islamabad-Pindi; the naala lai is mightier than this sorry excuse of Saraswati that they found.

Here's the mighty Indus, which not only is mighty in its own right, but also forms 5 other mighty tributaries(Jhelum, Chenab, Sutlej, Ravi, Beas):
52ef7e327e9fb.jpg

Here's the Saraswati river hosting 40% of IVC sites according to hindutva archaeology department:
images

Even my gutter is mightier than this latter "river".

This rain fed nala (calling it river will be insult to rivers) never originated from mouintains. There has been scientific study done on this nala few years ago.
yes there are scientific studies, and by these you are wrong... here is a link with several theories and scientific studies on river saraswati......

decodehindumythology.blogspot.in/2011/10/finding-saraswati.html?m=1

Recent Research on the Sarasvati River

yes there are scientific studies, and by these you are wrong... here is a link with several theories and scientific studies on river saraswati......

decodehindumythology.blogspot.in/2011/10/finding-saraswati.html?m=1

Recent Research on the Sarasvati River

The "most recent research" on Saraswati in the link was done in 2002, and cited in the website called "hindunet.org". Haha. Hindu nuts should be banned from this forum just like muslim extremists are.

website which posted it is stephen-knap.com and it also cites news.bbc.co.uk , times of india, frontlineonnet.com, the-week.com and newindpress.com but you wete able to see hindunet.org.....?? please dont be ao ignorant... further what is the problem in name until the reference is valid?? and what about the first website reference?