Russians to take more time to deliver Gorshkov

i guess there are problems . everywhere . i just wish it was not with the navy , they are doing an amazing job.

ye kya ho raha hai bhaiya ye kya ho raha.... kuch nahi kuch nahi DELAY ho raha hai...

FFS!! Is there ever any good news coming out of Russia in terms of Indian defence procurement?? Thank god MIG-35 was kicked out of MMRCA. but really the real problem lies with the Indian side who have not failed to implement strict enough penalties that should discourage this BS. Late fines should be placed on all defence procurements. Look at US- the deliver on time, on budget and are, rightly so, proud of this and boast about it. It seems in the past that some in the Indian defence establishment have been lured in by low price of Russian products but in reality with delays and $hit aftercare the product is more expensive and less efficient than competitive products. Happily now the situation seems to be changing and the voices of the Indian armed forces who have been stating their case for years, are now being listened to and Russia is the worse for it. You had your chance, you were a good friend in the Cold War but things have dramatically changed, so no more "mister nice guy" act from India can be expected anymore.

So its not funds now, its steel. Tomorrow it will be what "Cables"????.....This should be the last Russian Hardware we must buy....

Unfortunately, many more are in the pipeline.

Not easy to reduce dependence on a country whose supplies form almost 70% of your military machines.

Hi Dash, the problem is, so far there is no alternative for us to Russia! There is no other country in the world that offers us comparable arms and techs, or the chance to co-develop these things. That's why no matter what problems we have with costs increasings, or reliability, they will remain our prefered arms supplier for a long time and imo that's even good, because we shouldn't forget how trusted this partnership is over the decades!
What we have to do now and already are doing, is get more participation in the projects and the possibility to not only customize Russian arms with some western or Indian techs, but to have our own production and spare capacities. If we, not only produce FGFA in India, but also most of the spares, or are free to get them from other sources, the fighter will be way more reliable and we will be less dependent on Russian aftersale, or spare supply. So if we take our chances, the Russians can offer us latest arms and techs at good prices, with no restrictions in the whole defence field (carriers, subs, fighters, tanks...), but I would love to see a similar close relation of us with France , because they are the only western country that could offer us the same. Having 2 such trusted and advanced partners would give Indian forces and industry many advantages, besides our indigenous developments!

nah man Cables was yesterday, Steel today and Russian piece of junk carrier tomorrow????.... Why didn't we ask french to build us a carrier based on CDG while we built IAC-1 on same design at home. Then there was no need for MMRCA we could just pick Rafale and get it over with.

BRAVO.......

*clap clap*

look at the bright side, both Vikramaditya and IAC-1 will be launched together.

Viraat was supposed to be in the junkyard by now and Vikramaditya was supposed to be a stop gap between Viraat and IAC-1.

Viraat is 51 years old already. There is nothing bright or positive in Vikramaditya delay.

Which makes me wonder when it was the last time Ruskies deliver something on time?

Akula was supposed to be inducted last year so do the 80 Mi-17's.

Not a single new Mi-17 is in service yet.

GB

nah man Cables was yesterday, Steel today and Russian piece of junk carrier tomorrow????.... Why didn't we ask french to build us a carrier based on CDG while we built IAC-1 on same design at home. Then there was no need for MMRCA we could just pick Rafale and get it over with.

Because the initial idea with Gorshkov was to get a carrier as fast as possible and replace INS Viraat with it. Gorshkov was planned to be inducted in 2008 I think. A newly build carrier would have not be ready in such a short time, but today we know it was not a good idea.

Well , Russia has to make sure that it performs all checks , and its safety related world safety

Because the initial idea with Gorshkov was to get a carrier as fast as possible and replace INS Viraat with it. Gorshkov was planned to be inducted in 2008 I think. A newly build carrier would have not be ready in such a short time, but today we know it was not a good idea.

Exactly the French would have easily delivered us a CDG sized carrier by 2012 had we signed the deal even in 2008. and we could build IAC-1 based on it under TOT.

I'm actually glad that the Russians have been doing things the way they are. They have no right to blame India for looking elsewhere for new contracts and if they feel dissapointed, then they should be dissapointed at their own inefficiency. If Gorskhow gets delayed even more, then that will only be more damaging to Russia's own reputation as a reliable supplier.

I guess the main reason for these delays is that the Indian side is too easy going on the matters and there is nothing for Russia to gain from speeding up the process (Unlike development of PAK-FA where the benefit is mutual).

Exactly the French would have easily delivered us a CDG sized carrier by 2012 had we signed the deal even in 2008. and we could build IAC-1 based on it under TOT.

Dont count much on the French. No one can deliver a carrier in 4 years. The French couldn't deliver CDG functioning properly in 12 years. You think they can deliver to you something like that in 4?

fine not 4 maybe 6???? atleast it would be a new carrier. And the 1st carrier delays will not plague the successive carriers. It was much better option compared to Gorky that even lacks in the Mig complement. CDG has much more punch in it. we had to go to Russians cause we couldn't build both in India which is a pity we should have atleast 2 shipyards capable of constructing Carriers.

And I hate to admit it but a second hand, 45k tonne, ex-helicopter carrier, with 16 Mig complement with 10 years post delivery warranty The Gorky has been a rip off and how long do u expect it to be in service it was launched somewhere in the 80s????